Joe Van Niekerk will earn his 50th test cap today if he takes to the field against Argentina at Coca Cola Park in Johannesburg.
The Springboks have never lost to Argentina before.
Can the Argentinians make history this afternoon?
Or will it be business as usual for the Boks?
Kick-off in Johannesburg at 15:00 SA time (13:00 GMT) on Supersport 1
Weather:
1pm – 16° C – Sunny
2pm – 18° C – Sunny
3pm – 19° C – Sunny
4pm – 21° C – Sunny
5pm – 20° C – Sunny
Referee: Wayne Barnes (England
Assistant referees: Matt Goddard (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: Geoff Warren (England)
Teams:
South Africa:
Starting XV: 15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Adrian Jacobs, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Butch James, 9 Enrico Januarie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Luke Watson, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Brian Mujati, 18 Andries Bekker, 19 Joe van Niekerk, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Jaque Fourie, 22 Percy Montgomery.
Argentina:
Starting XV: 15 Bernardo Stortoni, 14 José María Núñez Piossek, 13 Federico Martín Aramburu, 12 Miguel Avramovic, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Felipe Contepomi (captain) , 9 Nicolás Vergallo, 8 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 7 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, 6 Martín Durand, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Rimas Álvarez Kairelis, 3 Pedro Ledesma, 2 Mario Ledesma , 1 Rodrigo Roncero.
Replacements: 16 Alberto Vernet Basualdo, 17 Marcos Ayerza, 18 Esteban Lozada, 19 Álvaro Galindo, 20 Alfredo Lalanne, 21 Benjamín Urdapilleta, 22 Rafael Carballo

Go Boks
Bokke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by 29 IMO.
Go Beast! I hope he gets to make a few 40 metre runs like he did against Aus. 😀
Boks by plenty.
And please no injuries.
Yeah baby
Argentina first with score on the board…
3-0 Argentina
4 minutes
Vic Mutfield gives away a PK and the Argies go at goal
pumas kicking for poles again …..
and the kick is good
extending the lead to :
6-0 Argentina
8 minutes
Has Watson just broken a rib?
No! Damn it must have been wishful thinking 🙄
Barnesie thinks the Pumas are softies and penalises bakkies for coming into the ruck with a shoulder and gives Mutfield a warning for Bakkies
69 – 31 possesion to us.
16min
CJ vd Linde rising to the bait thrown by the Pumas. 👿
Need to be careful.
Pumas 4m out now after 6 phases.
leadership on the field is amazing as The ref nails us for numbers 4 and 5 coming in the side at the ruck.
Not very good so far. Trying to do all the flash stuff without doing the basics first!
Pumas going at goal
Mutfield you Beautician!!!!!!!!!!!
This ref is an idiot
Kick just misses to the right.
0 – 6 Arg
20min
Has Spies done anything yet? flippin useless…
Is it just me or are my two favourite players having GREAT GAMES 🙄
Ksa, matfield + 46? lol
@wpw (Comment 19) :
Yes he just got away with a head high tackle 😉
This is vrot. 👿
@wpw (Comment 21) :
Yes 🙁 👿
Jantjes playing well. Another penalty to the pumas. Our 4wards r nowhere
@KSA Shark © (Comment 20) : No-one has stood out for Boks so far!
@McLovin (Comment 23) :
baie vrot!!!!!!!!!
Pumas get PK and go at goal
@Villie (Comment 26) :
Except Mutfield and Watson with their mediocrity.
Over, Boks 0 Pumas 9
Over
0 – 9 Arg
25min
Not to worried though, our 1st choice guys will come on in the 2nd half.
@wpw (Comment 25) @wpw (Comment 25) : What has he done WPW? He does a few decent things but his positional play for a 15 is poor!
We are playing as if its a Barbarians game. No structure at all!!
Bakkies goes off and Bekker comes on 🙁
bekker starts off with a high tackle. 🙁
Ref seems lenient on those. Thank goodness
Finally.
Brilliant from JDV!!
Adi Jacobs TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cock up turns into a try.
Great by JdV to set that up.
Butch converts
SA 7 – 9 Arg
33min
Now we need to play to our strengths + quit playing sevens rugby… Jdv having a brilliant season
Jantjes gets caught with the ball when quick hands were needed
Nokwe!!
Nokwe TRY!!!!!!!!!!
Try nokwe!
Nokwe dances through. 😀
Brilliant!
@wpw (Comment 41) :
Playing a captains game.
Oh no wait some other doos is the captain 👿
@wpw (Comment 41) : Agree with this one. He’s been superb and has saved Boks on a number of occasions. At times he looks like the only backline player that can unlock opposition defences!
Butch Converts off the upright
SA 14 – 9 Arg
36min
In off the post. Boks 14 Pumas 9
I wish SA fullbacks would do something else other than the damn up and under…..sooooo predictable!!! 🙄
The scrums are going incredibly well today. The Beast is doing a great job!
Springboks 14 – 9 Argentina
What a balls up! I blame the Bulls players. And Luke
@robdylan (Comment 55) :
Loved the way Butch bowled him over when he got in Butch’s way.
Butch ROCKS!!!!!!!!!
Luke isnt playing too badly. 4get the guys personality + history + judge him as a rugby player for goodness sake…
Bloody Sharks supporters! FJELN! 👿
2nd half on
@wpw (Comment 57) :
I am. He lost the ball in the one tackle, got in Butch’s way……..
nough said
Where the hell r our forwards?
That was great by JP!!
Spies TRY!!!!!!!!!!!
Woohoo!!
Brilliant try! well done 46, JP + Spies
@wpw (Comment 61) :
In nthe F&*$EN BACKLINE 👿 Did you see Watson pass to JPP there 👿
Butch ran into him dude- is jy blind? lmao
@wpw (Comment 65) :
46 should not have been in the backline 👿 We had numbers wide and a back would have used that to score out wide.
Conversion Over
SA 21 – 9 Arg
44min
Damn, im starting to sound like Hmmm. Best i tone it down a bit…
@wpw (Comment 67) :
only blind in the one eye 😉
Ok ksa. I will remember that the next time beast is in the backline. 😉
great chip by Adi sets up LO on the Arg 5m line
Butch is our best player so far. Jdv not far behind
@wpw (Comment 72) :
no worries but make sure you don’t confuse Beast taking a crash ball with Luke playing flyhalf or center 😉
JPP TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Go JP
JP starting to get some form back!
JPP you beauty !!!
26-9 Boks
49 minutes
Did u see that nice flip pass by 46?
and the kick is …..
absolutely fabulous
28-9 Boks
50 minutes
Butch sitting on 4 from 4 😎
Percy gets #99
@wpw (Comment 80) : hehehe must have been on KSA’s blind side 😉
@wpw (Comment 80) :
pass?
My Captain goes off and Jaque Fourie comes on
Watson playing a blinder… 😀
Juan Smith seems to have the [email protected] Jou Ek Pass nie syndrome again
Matfield isolated. Well done Vic
f dupreez try !!!!
bloody awesome boks
Try FDP
and the kick …..
(what would you expect from a shark 😉 )
35-9 Boks
55 minutes
Hier kom die Bokke… Hier kom die Bokke. Da dada da da dee da
Butch sitting on 5 from 5 😎
Big Joe comes on for his 50th. 😎
Arg over, TMO pending …..
Luke Watson has saved a try!
Luke Watson has saved the try 😳
TMO says
“we have a foot in touch”
no try 😀
Jaque Fourie stays down 👿 🙁
Its not ur day is it KSA Shark? lol
Fourie goes off 😳 👿
Spies to cover at wing now?
Butch is my MOTM so far.
@wpw (Comment 99) : hehehe sharks won, boks gonna win, he’s getting homemade banana bread in a bit, think he can live with #46 having a good game 😉 😆
Fdp to start against Nz?
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 102) :
😎
Life is good 😎
Homemade banana bread? is that wot u call it? niiice!
What a move that was!
JOE SCORES ON HIS 50TH!!!!!!!!!!!!
Great run Adi
Try big joe
@wpw (Comment 105) :
No THAT is still called napping 😉
Enjoy the ‘Banana bread’ KSA Shark
Butch is on 6 from 6 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎
SA 42 – 9 Arg
62min
After 30 minutes we were 9-0 down. I would never have guessed this would be the score at this stage!
BIG JOE SCORES #2!!!!!!!!!!!
ANother try for Big Jie. GREAT rugby! Watson is playing VERY well KSA! 😆
Try no 2 for Joe
Big Joe…not Jie! 😳
Hehehe. Go Luke Watson…
Butch goes to 7 from 7 🙄 🙄 🙄 🙄 🙄 🙄 🙄
SA 49 – 9 Arg
63min
Oh crap…Jaque Fourie has a fractured cheekbone! How unlucky is that? 🙁 🙁
Confirmation that Jaque Fourie has a fractured cheekbone. 🙁
@wpw (Comment 117) :
You left out HOME 😉
Loffie Eloff is gonna be pissed off if JFourie has a cracked jaw. Eish
@wpw (Comment 122) :
cheekbone
@wpw (Comment 122) : I am MORE peed off. JF is my favourite player to watch!
@wpw (Comment 122) :
unjustifiably pissed off IMO.
That bang to the cheek could have happened anywhere in any game
Jaw/cheekbone. Same thing. Villie- plse watch Mujati closely. Wot a move by the Boks. Brilliant
Unfortunate for J Fourie. Shit happens unfortunately. Get well soon.
Jantjes is down now 🙁
@wpw (Comment 126) : It’s not me you need to convince about Mujati…it’s Hmmmm.
I am the one that rates Mujati!
We need to report back to hmmm, re: Mujatis scrumming. Lol
Uncontested scrums now.
Jantjes back up
Im watchn the game with my mom btw. 😳
Largest margin of victory over the Argies before today was 32
http://www.rugbydata.com/argentina/southafrica
So PDV sets yet another record?
@wpw (Comment 130) : Even if Mujati marched his opposite number back 50 metres, Hmmm would argue the point and contest that he’s still rubbish!
@wpw (Comment 132) :
Good man.
I want 50 points from the Boks.
Butch plants a great bomb that rolls out 5m from the Arg tryline
@KSA Shark © (Comment 133) : Dicm Muir’s influence is starting to shine thru. PDV was very wise when selecting his backroom staff. He has some quality there.
BISMARCK TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Do you get free coke at coke park?
Fdp is back! he MUST start against NZ.
Butch 100% James. 😎
Butch slots it and goes 8 from 8 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎
SA 56 – 9 Arg
71min
@McLovin (Comment 142) :
100kg james keeps 100% record
JPP INDIVIDUAL TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Beautiful!
Has Percy touched the ball?
Butch goes 9 from 9 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎 😎
SA 63 – 9 Arg
77min
Knock on
Leguizamon TMO TRY pending
Not awarded. 😳
Come on luke. Score a try, just for KSA Shark…
Crowd confusing Mujati 4 Beast. Lmao.
Springboks 63 – 9 Argentina
Well Done BOKKE!!!!!!
And to the naysayers………

Good work.
Game over. 63-9 to the WORLD CHAMPIONS.
@wpw (Comment 153) :
They all look the same to us 🙄 😉
Congrats to Mr de Villiers & his team.
Okay I need to take the children swimming.
What a wonderful weekend.
Hope Walter’s team wins as well 😉
Adi Jacobs MOTM. Well done…
Charlie must be chuffed.
Wasn’t Andries Bekker great?
I just hope that PDV saw that whenever we got numbers to the breakdowns, we were brilliant. And equally pathetic when NOT!!!
I was going to name outstanding players, but given the huge win, it would be impossible. The good win should not give us the idea that we are invincible though. To be honest, there were far too many times that we were actually outplayed.
In the end an impressive scoreline and a lot of delightfull moments!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 2) : Kak prediction.
Hi all. Long time. Guess who’s going to the Bok/Aus game on the 30th? 😉
@klempie (Comment 164) :
That reminds me I need to set up the tickets for the SB winner.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 165) : Need my name and address??? 😀 😀
The more i see matfield captain the boks the more i come to realise that he is not a captain… He doesnt even deserve to start 4 the boks based on his current lack of form
@wpw (Comment 167) : You have my vote on that. To answer @robdylan (Comment 162) : I think Bekker are pushing extremely hard for a regular place.
Some people will say I’m just hating on him, but I thought Look X did more bad than good.
He is always committed, brave and makes some good tackles and turnovers, but he is far too often in the way of the backs and generally trying to play flyahlf. Even Butch had to eventually shove him out the way when he impeded what had been a beautiful run.
I don’t get his play in the backline either – he always just receives and passes. Where is the value of that?
@Big Fish (Comment 169) :
don’t get his play in the backline either – he always just receives and passes. Where is the value of that?
Eventually one of his passes will result in something good happening and then he can claim a valid reason for the watermelons for a few days.