The Sharks travel to Kempton Park, to be the first guys to take the Valke on at Barnard Park, their new home.
Will the Valke be able to bounce back from last week’s thrashing at the hands of WP?
Or will the Sharks get one of the two try bonus points that they need with an emphatic win?
Kick off in Kempton Park at Barnard Stadium at 15:00 SA Time.
Television coverage: SuperSport 7, Showsport 4*, NOT on Skysport
*Note: Both the Valke v Sharks and Boland v Lions matches have been advertised on Showsport but there is only one slot being used so it is a lottery as to which game will be shown
Ref: Pro Legoete
TJs: Jason Jaftha, Peet Badenhorst
TMO: Michael Cupido
Falcons: 15 Johan Jackson, 14 Dewald Pretorius, 13 Rouan Cloete, 12 Hanno Coetzee (captain), 11 Frank Wagenström, 10 John Roodt, 9 Gerrie Odendaal, 8 Thabo Mamojele, 7 Gert Lubbe, 6 Uwe Sauer, 5 Nico Luus, 4 Wouter Moore, 3 Nico Pretorius/Dirk Smit, 2 Jody Jeneker, 1 Zane Killian.
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Gavin Whittingham, 18 Marius Coetzer, 19 Daan-Roux van Coller, 20 Freddie van Zyl, 21 Franco Booysen, 22 TBC.
Sharks: 15 Monty Dumond, 14 Waylon Murray, 13 Adrian Jacobs, 12 Francois Steyn, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Ruan Pienaar, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Johann Muller (captain), 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Deon Carstens, 2 Skipper Badenhorst, 1 Patric Cilliers.
Replacements: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Albert van den Berg, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Frederic Michalak, 21 Bradley Barritt, 22 Chris Jordaan.

I see Rob commented that Carstens is out with a calf injury.
Any idea who comes onto the bench then?
This will be my priority match but i will check across to SS1 every few minutes to give score updates on that side.
Right people. I’m off to the slaughtering. Enjoy.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 1) : Jannie to start at 3. Melusi Mtetwa onto the bench
@robdylan (Comment 4) :
cool thanks
“Melusi Mtetwa onto the bench”
Suzie’s brother?
@bryce_in_oz (Comment 6) : Who?
heh heh, suzie matwetwe, now that is something i aint heard in a while.
can you remember where it comes from bryce?
@knersboy (Comment 8) : Slang for what I think it’s slang for?
Hanno Coetzsee startst the game
Ruan boots the kick off all the way back to 8m out from the valke line.
Valke throw skew.
Sharks have scrum 8m out
Sharks win the scrum and spread it.
Steyn passes a 50 50 to Adi and Adi loses it in the tackle.
C’mon Sharks!
Injury to a Valke player. off on the stretcher.
Was in the Steyn Adi move.
Who is that down? Taking ages to sort him out!
Valke flyhalf
@Villie (Comment 15) :
Dunno!
Valke knock 4m out
Sharks scrum
@KSA Shark © (Comment 17) : It’s okay now. I’ve got the game on my pc! Good stuff!
PK Sharks
Ruan going at goal
Sharks penalty
Over
0 – 3 Sharks
4min
isn’t the valke fly half a sharks player next year
I’m surprised Pienaar got the goalkicking duties ahead of Kockott!
3 nil
@try time (Comment 23) :
Yes but NOT the one they are using in this game.
oh. i thought he was faking an injury to get on johns good side
Great try Waylon!
Murray TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Great hand-off!!!!!!
Move started WAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYY back by a Dummond break.
First try! waylon
ugh bad mediazone connex today….it’s like 3 seconds of live action then nothing for a minute..then blackness with only sound
And I just missed the try..grrr.
Conversion missed
0 – 10 Sharks
8min
The guy that went off injured is John Roodt. A club player
one point a minute bodes well
@Milissa (Comment 31) :
and it was an awesome try. not one to miss.
@Milissa (Comment 31) : Milissa
Try…. http://www.myp2p.eu
@KSA Shark © (Comment 32) : Go read that again 🙂 0-8
Sharks PK for late tackle by Valke 8.
LO and maul
TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Pat Cilliers
What a drive…and TRY
Try 2. Pat!
@robdylan (Comment 37) :
😆
0 13
Deysel impresses me more and more every game. I love the way he plays. Won’t be long until he’s a Bok…will be a great understudy for Juan Smith at 7!
Conversion missed
0 – 13 Sharks
12min
Is Thabo Mamojele at Valke now? Jeez…we are becoming their new feeder!
@Villie (Comment 36) :
I love you!!!
Free kick valke
@Villie (Comment 45) : He is indeed
Ref doing well so far
@Milissa (Comment 46) : Glad it’s working for you. Not the greatest but at least its something!
@robdylan (Comment 48) : Wouter Moore, Reg Muller, Gavin Whittingham, Jody Jenneker…..who else?
Killian in trouble
@Villie (Comment 51) : Wagenstroom
Ref had enough now and gives the valke a final warning.
Valke will have a man carded soon
Murray robbed of try #2 coz of crossing in midfield.
Murray over, but called back for obstruction
Now the Sharks are giving away silly penalties
@Villie (Comment 50) :
Definitely. I bookmarke the page, going to check it later to see if I can find the Toulouse game. That would totally make my day since normally I just get the audio from them.
Keegan forces the knock at the lineout. Sharks scrum
PK Valke for Kockott not rolling away at the ruck.
A little difficult considering he was in the middle of the ruck. 😛
Valke take LO
Another valke penalty. Going for the lineout
TMO asked to check if Steyn made a spear tackle
Dangerous tackle. Steyn yellow
TMO says “Reckless and Dangerous Yellow card”
First decision that Cupido makes that takes less that 5minutes and he gets it wrong. 😕
steyn just doesn’t want to be liked
Nobody can believe the decision
@robdylan (Comment 67) :
except TT. he has an axe to grind 😉
he lifted and let go
never tried to put him down softly
if in doubt edon’t eo it.
stupid prick
wish he was going to saracens and not brad
Hanno Coetzee straight through the middle TRY!!!!!!!!
Owen has a new phrase. Red Zone
Wrongfooted Deysel and Kanowski
@KSA Shark © (Comment 68) : Only one? 🙂
in a cc game last week a player was also penalised for exactly the same tackle. he however never got a yellow. we need consistency.
Kankow charges down the conversion 😎 😯
5 – 13 Sharks
26min
Kanko charges down the conversion 🙂
Sharks set up LO from PK
take and maul
JPP TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!
Out wide after the maul was stopped.
mmm could this be griquas all over again. cc lost due to playing the b team.
Jp scores no 3 🙂
as i post
what else can i say to get 10 more tries
@try time (Comment 79) : Dude. Really.
Conversion Over
5 – 20 Sharks
29min
1 needed for the BP
Wolla having a mare by his standards
Keegan taking more lineout ball
@robdylan (Comment 85) : rather this game than next
Steyn back on.
Steyn back
TJ on the far side seems determined to be involved in the game.
Peet Badenhorst (Golden Lions), I wonder if he lives in Kempton. 😕
Pro needs to card a red player now
Here goes one now.
Cilliers stopped short.
Sharks recycle
Silly penalty again
plum is going to give them a good spanking during half time. steyn will love it. 😉
Now sharks have a scrum about ten out. Valke a forward down
Tmo call. Doubt it’s a try
Valke 5 – 20 Sharks
Half time
i am going to get something stronger than a beer. maybe it will make both games look better. lions game has been shi’ite. and the sharks are messing around. they still aren’t building up phases.
looks like I jinxed the Sharks with that ridiculous pick
we’ve got some work to do in the second half, all right.
come out trying to hit sixes right from the get go… need to concentrate on getting the rhythm in the forwards, then build up through the phases and go wide right at the end.
@robdylan (Comment 102) : To stop – start. Loads of penalties and no real continuity. If we score early in 2nd half, the floodgates could open. However we need to do the basics first and not try the flashy stuff. Keep the ball in hand and drive through the forwards, then spread it. No point trying to spread it from poor positions.
Valke knock fro the K/O… Sharks scrum
Sharks need to score about 70 points in the second half for my SB pick to come into play. 🙄
Valke lock gets issued with some hot pants. 😆
tmo for JP’s second…
looks like a foot in touch…
boland scored one f the tries of the season
probably shouldn’t give it, but who knows with Cupido?
foot in touch – no try
Jenneker doing well for the Valke at lineout time
Penalty Sharks – offside
another penalty – now right in front.
Jody last warning.
PK Sharks 5m out
Jeneker gets told “no more” for coming in the side.
Sharks go for LO
Valke back to 15 now… how long will it last?
@robdylan (Comment 117) : not long. Wouter being carded
man – our forwards are just NOT dominating these guys
AGH! This is so frustrating!
Rose slots the conversion from the touchline
10 – 24 Lions
50min
nevermind – Kanko gets the BP try
@KSA Shark © (Comment 121) : wrong thread
@KSA Shark © (Comment 121) : OOPS 😳
5-25… kick to come
kick missed. 5-25 it is
5 – 25 Sharks
48min
BP scored. 😎
ruan’s kicking is shocking.
Murray scores his TRY #2!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Murray number 2!
5-30 now.
Good breakout by Steyn and Adi to thank
60 more points to go.
@try time (Comment 128) :
Just as well coz now that we have scored 5 tries you would have nothing to complain about if it wasn’t. 😳
maybe the extra paint on his back is messing with his centre. he can’t get aligned
Waylon’s turning into a decent wing, huh?
5-32
5 – 32 Sharks
50min
JB getting ready to come on
Burden will be on soon too
jb will get 3 tries
Ryno Barnes on for Jody Jenneker
Burden, Botes, Barrit, Jordaan all on.
Jordaan, Brad, JB and Burds on
Brad on at 12, Jordaan at 11, JB at 7 and Burds at 2.
and my boy stuffs up a certain try
Jinne…the music they are playing at that ground. Can tell its the East Rand! 😆 😆
Macarena still a hit in Kempton. 😀
@robdylan (Comment 143) :
SUN was in his eyes. 😀
if I go quiet, it’s cos my wonderful wife just handed me lunch
Jackson try!!!!
@McLovin (Comment 145) : Ja boet…and they jiving to it big time too!! 😆
Conversion over
12 – 32 Sharks
59min
@robdylan (Comment 147) : Lunch at 3.30? She’s late!! 😆 😆 😆
@Villie (Comment 149) : Seems a sokkie is about to kick off any second. 😆
Now I’m hungry.
Jannie scores try number 6 for the Sharks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
the sharks and stormers love making the shi’ite teams look good. it is their bit for development.
Jannie scores!
Conversion missed
12 – 37 Sharks
61min
@McLovin (Comment 153) : BLT – was amazing. You should come over for lunch one day
and we’ve just conceded another one… this midfield hole is a little worrying, isn’t it?
@robdylan (Comment 158) : Thanks. 🙂
19-37 now
19 – 37 Sharks
63min
how many points is that missed in kicks?
i got ten
One more try to the valke and they go above Boland in the log………
Sharks have gone to sleep… time to wake up, boys
fred on for rory
Sharks back in silly penalty mode
Nkumane mentions the “Red Zone” for the bazillionth time 😉
oh lovely… Sharks called back
Keegan Daniel pulling back a Valke player
“Red Zone” again
kak game all round… looking at a Sharks penalty for a late tackle from Dewald Pretorius on Monty DuMond
that has to be a card
confirmed – Penalty to the Sharsk
yup cupido is shit
GAH! Knock on wit the line a-begging
hope they give Nico Luus man of the match
@robdylan (Comment 172) : He doesn’t have a great rugby vocabulary.
But it’s getting irritating now
Burra is about to come on at prop
referee gives lions a bp by obstructing boland player. he gets motm.
ugh. This is just pathetic now.
End it, ref… do us all a favour
can’t wait for the sharks to get their real captain back. this stand in guy doesn’t rally the troops well.
Melusi Mthethwa is now on for Jannie du Plessis
kiff – they’re playing “Thunderstruck”!
Albert TRY!!!!!!
What a final try…Albet…but Keegans break!
Albert scores our 7th on the stroke of full-time. Keegan made the break and Sykes kept it alive
19-44 is the final score
Valke 19 – 44 Sharks
Log updated
Sharks stay top
Valke stay 8th
come on now, Cheetahs!
I like this Hanno Coetzee… sounds like a decent oke
Ruan gets MOTM, almost by default 😉
@robdylan (Comment 192) : Decent player too!
Not too worried – it was clear that the Sharks wanted to give the forward a work-out. The mauls especially were a sign – who mauls under the ELVs anymore?
What DOES worry me is the individualism amongst our guys – although I know Plumtree is working on that. Guys like Kockott and Steyn need to move the ball wide more.
Barritt was poor – I said that he was to blame for the Marius Delport try by not drifting, and the same happened again with the fullback, Johan Jackson’s try – he should have drifted behind Adi.
On the whole though, I guess one has to understand that this is meant to be a workout more than anything.
anybody in??
im drunk watching football.help me
I think to play poorly and score 44 points and afterwards admit as much is a good sign. 1. that the Sharks can play poorly and win easily, and 2. admit that they were poor.
Remember, Fred didn’t start, Jordaan was rusty, Odwa should be back, Jacques was out, Deon out, Beast out, Bismarck and Stefan rested, John Smit will be returning, I think we have plenty of reason to be upbeat.
I think Frans needs a dose of reality, he hates passing and as BF said, he is too individualistic.
I thought Kockott did nothing to enforce himself as the premier number 9 and think the rest of the tournament should see Ruan and Fred at 9 and 10.
@Baldrick (Comment 199) :
When things click someone is going to get a moerse klap…
@bryce_in_oz (Comment 200) : Next week hopefully. 🙂