KSA Shark ©

New Midfield Mix for Valke

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :Admin on 16 Oct 2008 at 07:10

The Falcons have put their trust in a new midfield combination to defend their Currie Cup status against the Leopards in Brakpan on Friday.

Rugby 365 reports that Former Puk (Potchefstroom University) midfielder Alwyn Burger will make his Currie Cup debut alongside another Puk reject Franco Booysen.

Booysen and Burger will have a point to prove to the Potchefstroom brains trust in their most important game of the season.

The Falcons need to utilise their home-field advantage to get their noses in front of the Leopards in their two-match promotion relegation series.

Booysen, the son of former Red Devils tighthead prop Frans Booysen, has been a hit thus far this season and sport tries against the Sharks and Bulls.

Big Dewald Pretorius returns on the right wing for Frank Wagenstroom, who hasn’t returned from Durban and Burger replaces the injured Johan Jackson.

In the pack Sean Plaatjies has been demoted and could not even find a place on the bench. Thabo Mamojele moves to No.8 with Reg Muller returning to partner Gert Lubbe on the side of the scrum.

The rest of the team that narrowly went down 22-20 to the Bulls has been retained.

Len Olivier makes a welcome comeback after injury, but will start from the bench with captain Hanno Coetzee again starting at flyhalf.

The tight five is unchanged with Nico Luus continuing to help the Falcons defend their Premier Division status.

Dewald Pretorius and Rayno Barnes (Griquas), Gerrie Odendaal (Cheetahs), Olivier (Sharks), Rouan Cloete (Lions) and Nico Pretorius (Biarritz) have signed contracts with other Unions or clubs for next season.

Falcons: 15 Jeff Perkins, 14 Dewald Pretorius, 13 Franco Booysen, 12 Alwyn Burger, 11 Poerie van Rooyen, 10 Hanno Coetzee (captain), 9 Gerrie Odendaal, 8 Thabo Mamojele, 7 Reg Muller, 6 Gert Lubbe, 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Nico Luus, 3 Snoepie Coetzee, 2 Jody Jeneker, 1 Zane Killian.
Replacements: 16 Rayno Barnes, 17 Gavin Whittingham, 18 Wouter Moore, 19 Daan-Roux van Coller, 20 Freddie van Zyl, 21 Len Olivier, 22 Nicky Kritzinger.

Date: Friday, October 17
Venue: Bosman Stadium, Brakpan
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referee: Willie Roos
Touch judges: Theuns Jonker, Peet Badenhorst

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.