KSA Shark ©

Heineken Cup ABC

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news on 13 Dec 2008 at 07:47
Tagged with : ,

The Heineken Cup is filled with Southern Hemisphere players, but it’s not always easy to follow. Here is a simple “ABC”

24 top flight club teams from six countries compete in the Heineken Cup.

These will include a minimum of:

France: 7 teams (selected by performance in Top 14 Championship)
England: 6 teams (selected by performance in Guinness Premiership and EDF Energy Cup)
Wales 4 teams (selected by performance in Magners League)
Ireland 3 teams (selected by performance in Magners League)
Scotland 2 teams (selected by performance in Magners League)
Italy 2 teams (selected by performance in Super 10 Championship)

For the 2008/09 season the 23rd Heineken Cup team will come from France.
For the 2008/09 season the 24th Heineken Cup team will come from Wales.

Deciding the quarter finalists:

Four points for a win, two points for a draw (match points). A bonus point will be earned
by a team scoring four or more tries and by a team losing by seven or less points. The six
Pool winners and two best placed runners-up will qualify for the quarter-finals and will be
decided by the following criteria:

The Pool winner will be the Club with the highest number of match points earned in
each Pool. The runners-up will be the two second placed Clubs from all six Pools with
the next highest number of points. For the quarter-final round, the Pool winners will
be ranked 1 – 6 in terms of the number of points earned. The runners-up will be
ranked 7 and 8.

The 2008/09 pools:

Pool 1
1. Sale Sharks
2. Munster
3. Clermont
4. Montauban

Pool 2
1. Leinster
2. Wasps
3. Edinburgh
4. Castres

Pool 3
1. Leicester Tigers
2. Ospreys
3. Perpignan
4. Benetton Treviso

Pool 4
1. Harlequins
2. Stade Francais
3. Ulster
4. Scarlets

Pool 5
1. Toulouse
2. Bath
3. NG Dragons
4. Glasgow

Pool 6
1. Cardiff Blues
2. Gloucester
3. Biarritz
4. Calvisano

Fixtures :

Round 4
Fri, Dec 12 Scarlets v Ulster 20.00 Parc y Scarlets
Fri, Dec 12 Castres v Leinster 21.00 Stade Pierre Antoine
Sat, Dec 13 Gwent Dragons v Toulouse 14.30 Rodney Parade
Sat, Dec 13 Bennetton Treviso v Ospreys 14.35 Stadio Comunale di Monigo
Sat, Dec 13 Biarritz v Cardiff Blues 14.35 Parc des Sports Aguilera
Sat, Dec 13 Gloucester v Calvisano 15.00 Kingsholm
Sat, Dec 13 Munster v Clermont Auvergne 15.30 Thomond Park
Sat, Dec 13 Harlequins v Stade Francais 17.30 Twickenham Stoop
Sat, Dec 13 Montauban v Sale Sharks 19.00 Stade de Sapiac
Sun, Dec 14 London Wasps v Edinburgh 13.00 Adams Park
Sun, Dec 14 Glasgow Warriors v Bath 14.00 Firhill Arena
Sun, Dec 14 Perpignan v Leicester Tigers 16.00 Stade Aim

Round 5
Jan 16-18 Clermont Auvergne v Montauban
Jan 16-18 Edinburgh v Castres
Jan 16-18 Gloucester v Cardiff Blues
Jan 16-18 Leicester Tigers v Bennetton Treviso
Jan 16-18 London Wasps v Leinster
Jan 16-18 Munster v Sale Sharks
Jan 16-18 Gwent Dragons v Bath
Jan 16-18 Perpignan v Ospreys
Jan 16-18 Calvisano v Biarritz
Jan 16-18 Scarlets v Stade Francais
Jan 16-18 Toulouse v Glasgow Warriors
Jan 16-18 Ulster v Harlequins

Round 6
Jan 23-25 Bath v Toulouse
Jan 23-25 Bennetton Treviso v Perpignan
Jan 23-25 Biarritz v Gloucester
Jan 23-25 Cardiff Blues v Calvisano
Jan 23-25 Castres v London Wasps
Jan 23-25 Glasgow Warriors v Gwent Dragons
Jan 23-25 Harlequins v Scarlets
Jan 23-25 Leinster v Edinburgh
Jan 23-25 Montauban v Munster
Jan 23-25 Ospreys v Leicester Tigers
Jan 23-25 Sale Sharks v Clermont Auvergne
Jan 23-25 Stade Francais v Ulster

Quarter finals
April 10-12

Semi finals
May 1-3

May 22-24

SA Players playing overseas:

Bath – Peter Dixon, Butch James, Michael Claassens
Biarritz – Trevor Hall, Eduard Coetzee
Bristol – Mathew Turner
Brive – Antonie Claassen, Gerhard Vosloo, Ronnie Cooke
Clermont – Brent Russell, Marius Joubert, Grant Esterhuizen
Harlequins – Gary Botha, De Wet Barry
Leicester Tigers – Heyneke Meyer (coach), Derick Hougaard, Marco Wentzel
Leinster – CJ van der Linde, Stephen Knoop
Munster – Justin Melck, Shaun Payne (manager)
Northampton – Juandre Kruger, Regardt Dreyer, Brett Sharman
Perpignan – Philip Burger, Gerrie Britz
Saracens – Cobus Visagie, Wikus van Heerden, Neil de Kock, Brad Barritt
Stade Francais – Falie Oelschig
Trieviso – Franco Smith (coach), Hottie Louw
Toulon – Tiaan Liebenberg, Norman Jordaan, Ross Skeate, Joe van Niekerk
Toulouse – Daan Human, Shaun Sowerby
Ulster – BJ Botha, Robbie Diack
Wasps – Pat Barnard (qualifies for England)

Article Courtesy of Sport24


  • I see there is a player or two missing from the above list.

    Gavin Hume And Steve Meyer both play for Perpignan

    Who else is there?

  • Comment 1, posted at 13.12.08 07:51:05 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©
  • Fred Michalak of the Sharks now plays for Toulouse

  • Comment 2, posted at 13.12.08 08:20:23 by Baldrick Reply
  • Last Night’s results.

    Castre 18 – 15 Leinster
    Scarlets 16 – 16 Ulster

  • Comment 3, posted at 13.12.08 08:21:21 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©
  • @Baldrick (Comment 2) : :mrgreen:

  • Comment 4, posted at 13.12.08 08:23:16 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©
  • Danie Saayman plays for Castres

  • Comment 5, posted at 13.12.08 09:33:37 by robdylan Reply
  • @robdylan (Comment 5) : as do SuperKees and Darron Nell

  • Comment 6, posted at 13.12.08 09:34:35 by robdylan Reply

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.