Sydney – Australia won the toss and decided to have a bat in the third one-day international against South Africa at Sydney on Friday.
Despite having won the second match of the series Australia has made three un-enforced changes to their team. Ben Hilfenhaus and Ryan Harris are replaced by left-arm seamer Mitchell Johnson and fast bowler Shaun Tait. In one other change off spinner Nathan Hauritz replaces Cameron White.
South Africa enter the match with an unchanged side from that which did duty at Hobart.
The Proteas’ Jacques Kallis enters the match needing 16 runs in order to become the first South African to pass 10 000 runs in one-day international cricket. Kallis is also four wickets shy of reaching the 250 ODI wickets mark.
Teams:
Australia:
Shaun Marsh, David Warner, Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Brad Haddin (wk), James Hopes, Nathan Hauritz, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Bracken, Shaun Tait
South Africa:
Herschelle Gibbs, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, Neil McKenzie, JP Duminy, AB de Villiers, Mark Boucher (wk), Albie Morkel, Johan Botha (captain), Dale Steyn, Makhaya Ntini
www.sport24.co.za

Aus 188/5 after 32.3 overs
Thanks wpw. That was annoying.
Sweet- Cricketworld is back on…
Botha going for a fiver… 🙄
Aus still looking set to make a reasonable total…but good job by the spinners so far…
Botha is doing well isn’t he???
If we do manage to win the series without Biff it would have been a great effort.
I hope Kallis manages to reach 10K runs today 😎
Albie back into the attack (replacing Jiminy Cricket)
Boy oh boy but don’t Hersh and Amla owe us some runs today??
Not too mention KSA Shark’s favourite wicketkeeper… 😈
Did you guys see this???
‘Ponting said the plan against South Africa would be to try and contain JP Duminy.
“We want to try and make it difficult for him to score easy runs. What makes it difficult is that he hits the ball so well in any direction. We have to try and make it difficult for him to score runs so that he becomes frustrated and plays irresponsible shots.
“It’s something we’re working on, but we’ll have to see if it succeeds.’
@wpw (Comment 8) : Why bother about him…he slows us down anyway… 😉
@wpw (Comment 7) : Those dudes owe us big time…
Aus 217/5 after 41.1 overs
I wonder if we’ll be able to chase down 280+ without Biff. 🙄
@wpw (Comment 11) : If Hersch doesn’t get thirsty… 😳
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 12) :i actually hope he is babalas,he has played some of his best games after crawing out of Galaxy
234/5 after 44.1 overs 🙄
Duminy about to bowl his 9th over. Our spinners have done a great job thus far. 😎
Hey Slayton! Howzit??
45.1 Ntini to DJ Hussey, OUT, hah, he’s missed a rank waist high full toss! Ntini slips it out and Hussey just does not pick it as he opens the face to steer it fine, no contact and back goes middle stump
DJ Hussey b Ntini 36 (44b 2×4 0x6) SR: 81.81
hussey gone.howdy wes
Well done Makhaya!!! 😎
@PJLD (Comment 13) : 😀 You should’ve mentioned this yesterday- we could’ve made a plan …
@wpw (Comment 17) : Great stuff …
Damn Johnsom just hit another 4 now.
253/6
bowling boykie
Johnson OUT!!!
255/7
Let’s restrict them to less than 280!!!
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 20) : and dr jules say Gala was rukking last night.
Hauritz out! 😛
Steyn takes a wicket!!!
262/8
‘Expert over on return from Steyn during the slog. Three runs and a wicket.’
Stupid connection. 👿 Great comeback Proteas! FANTASTIC effort!
Another wicket! Can we bowl them out? 😯
48.5 Ntini to Hopes, OUT, oh well taken, Botha! Ntini gets another by pitching full down leg stump, getting the ball to swing in with the angle, Hopes chips it off the pads low in the air towards Botha, staying back on the circle, who then runs across and dives to hold a very sharp catch
JR Hopes c Botha b Ntini 33 (56b 2×4 0x6) SR: 58.92
HAHAHAHAHA run out! 269…more than gettable
Just when we look down and out…we have a way of getting back to the game. Good job boys…now we need a better effort with the willow…
@klempie (Comment 32) : Ok…sweet…270 it is…
woohoo.all out.
Time for Old No. 09…
Duidelik!!!
Now we just need our ‘batters’ to come to the paaty.
I HATE the word ‘batters’ 👿
‘So South Africa do well to dismiss Australia inside 50 overs. Still, a target of 270 is not easy under lights. There has been a good crowd in and they are looking at a competitive total. The spinners, especially Botha, bowled very well and tied down runs as well as taking wickets. Duminy did well under pressure. South Africa will back themselves to chase this.’
@wpw (Comment 37) : Yeah…it’s so Yankee and basebally… 👿
@wpw (Comment 38) :
Damn right we’re chasing this…Go HERSCHELLE!
shaky start by both batsmen
@PJLD (Comment 41) : SOUNDS like it…
Let’s go PROTEAS! Let’s GO!!!
both of them were dropped,in the same over
@PJLD (Comment 44) :
I know, crazy stuff…
Gibbs is not wasting time now…
lets hope he doesnt waste his wicket.beauty of a shot
And then Amla? 👿
oh my,how did that just happen
shot!
Kallis 2 down…14 runs to go…
Radio 2000 commentators going on and on about Gibbs and rehab 🙄
tell them to go on about that moerse 6 he just hit.
@PJLD (Comment 51) : He he…NEWS time…
unlucky.kallis facing.no run
2 runs and then 4 more
morning, cricketworld 🙂
kallis needs 7 more for ten k.7 off the last ove and the score is 58/1 off 9
@robdylan (Comment 55) : morning brad.kallis 4.
@PJLD (Comment 56) : ten k? Jeepres, what’s the score?
OK I’m back. Meetings. 👿 Great start!
@robdylan (Comment 58) : 😆
@robdylan (Comment 55) : morning poppa Dylan.
GO HERSCH!!
Kallis 9999….. and counting. 😎
@robdylan (Comment 58) : He he, funny… 😀
Still counting… 🙄
Kallis is on 9999 ODI runs …
Gibbs 36 off 31 so far… 😎 Keep going son.
@McLovin (Comment 65) : Nervous 9 thousands… 🙄
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 68) : hehehe. not many who can say that.
And there’s the 10 000!
Well done JK – 8th person to achieve this… 😛
10000 runs for Mr Cricket!!
Well done bru!
At bloody last…
shot Gibbs.
Kallis 286 matches 10000 runs 45.45 average
@klempie (Comment 61) : howzit pal. Hope you’re not soiling my son’s good name 🙂
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 68) : 😆
Current partnership 53 runs, 8.0 overs, RR: 6.62 (Kallis 21, Gibbs 26)
GIBBSY IS BAAAAAAAAAAAAAACK!!!
Gibbs klapping fours left right and centre. 😎
10000 club
SR Tendulkar (India) 16422
ST Jayasuriya (Asia/SL) 12918
Inzamam-ul-Haq (Asia/Pak)11739
SC Ganguly (Asia/India) 11363
RT Ponting (Aus/ICC) 11252
R Dravid (Asia/ICC/India)10585
BC Lara (ICC/WI) 10405
JH Kallis (Afr/ICC/SA) 10000
50! Well done Hersch! Proud of you boet!
@klempie (Comment 79) : Give the man a drink.
Keep going Hersch!!!
Gibbs 50 runs 36 bals 9 fours 1 six
Strike Rate 138.88
@robdylan (Comment 76) : That makes no sense. Why would I soil your kid’s name when you named him after me? 😉
After 15 overs Aus were 88/0
SA are 100/1
And Gibbs is on fire. 😎
101 of 15 overs! HAHAHAHA
@McLovin (Comment 83) :
So he can see 2 balls? 😯
Ah well…he’d probably middle both of them anyway… 🙂
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 89) : If you only see two you’re not drunk enough. Need to see 3 and then hit the one in the middle. 😉
South Africa RR 6.77
Last 5 ovs 40/0 RR 8.00
Required RR 4.78
Australia RR (5.45) 5.38
Current partnership 76 runs, 10.1 overs, RR: 7.47 (Kallis 26, Gibbs 43)
Hopefully we don’t lose any unneccesary wickets.
@McLovin (Comment 93) : which wickets is it necessary for us to lose? 🙂
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 91) : Almost going at 7 an over. 😎
@robdylan (Comment 94) : 😆 😆
Drinks
112/1 – 17 overs
Aus were 98/0 at the same stage.
Current partnership 83 runs, 11.4 overs, RR: 7.11 (Kallis 30, Gibbs 46)
South Africa require another 158 runs with 9 wickets and 33.0 overs remaining
@klempie (Comment 86) : strange to think of it, but I can’t recall a Matthew playing for the Sharks. Anyone?
@robdylan (Comment 100) : lots of Poms. Stevens, Tait, Perry
Gibbs out.
Damn,- well played bru! :standing ovation:
Bowling powerplay…
AB gone 👿
Australia 269 (49.2 ov)
South Africa 140/3 (21.4 ov)
AB out.damn.
Aaaaagh bliksem. Just what we don’t need.
Jiminy Cricket comes on…
This is all we have left :
ND McKenzie, MV Boucher, J Botha, JA Morkel, DW Steyn, M Ntini 🙁
Come on boys!!!
Will Duminy save our souls again?
South Africa require another 130 runs with 7 wickets and 28.0 overs remaining
No need to panic. Yet.
AB was Bracken’s 150th ODI wicket…
Kallis gets his 50 off 57…what a snail… 🙂
@McLovin (Comment 111) : Correct…but we need these two to chop off the big part of that deficit…
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 113) : Absolutely…
150/3 🙄
Current partnership 13 runs, 4.2 overs, RR: 3.00 (Kallis 8, Duminy 4)
@robdylan (Comment 100) : Damn. 👿
Things have slowed up a bit, but run rate required is still under 5.
@robdylan (Comment 94) : Are you starting crap again? 👿
Duminy needs 67 more runs to reach a thousand ODI runs.
@robdylan (Comment 101) : Well it’s perfect then since he’s going to play for England one day.
JP…bowled. 👿
JP gone… 😥
McKenzie next…
@klempie (Comment 122) : Noooooo!!!
AWWW GEEZ OKES!!! Kallis gone.
Kallis out!!! 👿
Now we’re deep in it…
I see a fan, and a turd heading towards it at great speed.
@McLovin (Comment 127) : We can’t even count on number 11 for runs.
@klempie (Comment 128) : Hopefully we won’t need any runs from number 11.
We haven’t taken the batting PP have we? 😕
South Africa require another 100 runs with 5 wickets and 20.0 overs remaining
@klempie (Comment 130) : No idea….
100 needed off 20. Still doable but we need a 50 out of these two to make it safe.
@McLovin (Comment 132) : I don’t think we have.
Look we just need to play normal cricket and we can get close.
Current partnership 10 runs, 3.0 overs, RR: 3.33 (Boucher 3, McKenzie 7)
So McKenzie and Boucher at the crease. Yippee!!! 🙄
We’ll be fine as long as we don’t panic.
Albie can win this for us and Botha is also no mug with the bat.
@wpw (Comment 138) : Neither is Daley.
why is everyone so negative?
@PJLD (Comment 140) : I’m positve. O positive.
Required Run Rate 5.57
Free hit coming up.
Aussie ads are awful! LOL
Nothing off the free hit…
Current partnership 17 runs, 6.0 overs, RR: 2.83 (Boucher 7, McKenzie 9)
Bouch keeps giving me heart attacks with bloody inside edges! 👿
One run at a time boys…
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 148) :
Or 4…or 6… 😎
Four from Mac to all you Mac haters. 😎
South Africa require another 84 runs with 5 wickets and 14.4 overs remaining …
How close can it get…
@klempie (Comment 150) : I love Mac…. 😉
@McLovin (Comment 152) : 🙂
South Africa require another 81 runs with 5 wickets and 14.0 overs remaining
Is Mac not married/attached to some model?
@McLovin (Comment 155) : Married to Kerry McGregor you pagan!
Run required now 6. Run a ball is all we need.
@klempie (Comment 156) : Ja, that’s the one. Not bad.
Hot Saffer in the crowd being given airtime…. 😉
Bracken has now bowled 6 overs for just 10 runs. 😯
@klempie (Comment 156) : For that reason alone he will always get respect(and high fives)wherever he goes.
@klempie (Comment 159) : Male or female? You know what those aussies are like. 😉
TOOOOO SLLLLOOOOOOOWWWWWW. Poor old Albie will have to come in and score at 13runs per over again
South Africa require another 74 runs with 5 wickets and 12.0 overs remaining
6.16 an over required.
@McLovin (Comment 162) : A smoking hot pop. 😉
7 runs off the last over. 😎
@Pokkel (Comment 163) : Please man. 6-7 an over off the last ten is easy.
@klempie (Comment 166) : Bikini?
@klempie (Comment 168) : Not at the current rate and why wait till the last over anyway 😯
only 2 runs from the last over. 👿
South Africa require another 72 runs with 5 wickets and 11.0 overs remaining
Last 5 ovs 18/0 RR 3.60. If this goes on for another 5 overs we’re in trouble
72 from 66 balls needed.
@klempie (Comment 168) : Then the 2nd ODI should have been won easily by us as well.
We still have our powerplay to come. 😎
Wow a 4 ….this is one day cricket afterall
10 runs off this over so far!!!
Ag…I hate run-outs!!! 👿
yawn. Is there any rugby on?
Albie and the Powerplay….now the fun starts
South Africa require another 61 runs with 4 wickets and 60 balls remaining
Albie!! FOURS off his third and fourth balls.
I think Mc ran himself out on purpose!
Go Morkel!!
thanks for that Albie
albie dropped and the ball runs for 4
Tait drops Albie off the last ball and it goes for four.
South Africa require another 47 runs with 4 wickets and 54 balls remaining
@PJLD (Comment 186) : @klempie (Comment 187) : 😎
Morkel 14 from 6
bouch 4
Bouch makes sure we make the rate for the over with a “reach” shot.
Two more PP overs but I’m not sure we need to risk it.
Free hit coming up. Come on Bouch! Over the fence!
jeez.wasted
4 an over needed. Piss easy.
MORKEL!!!
6 from Albie!! Game over!!
Albie!!!
what a boykie
4!! This is a hiding now.
Albie Morkel!!! Game over!!!
PRRROOOTTTTEEEEAAAASSSSS!!!
Nutha one! HAHAHA
…and he goes…
Well played… we need to take it easy and just win the game now…
Albie for president.
Morkel out.Jobs done.What a boykie
Awwwwwwww…he’s out. NVM. Well done Albie!
40 off 22.
Albie “ZULU” Morkel… 😎
@McLovin (Comment 205) : That goes well with your avatar…
Tait now has to do a Langers against WI. 😉
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 209) : Sacrilege.
@klempie (Comment 208) :
Slow…
He got 40 off 18 in the 1st ODI…
@klempie (Comment 212) : ha ha ha
VICTORY!!!!!!!!!
Great stuff. Well done SA!
Bouch smacks one through the covers. Game over. A hiding at the end of the day.
MAGIC…….
thats the game.thanks
@klempie (Comment 211) : That was pretty cool…
Cricket doesn’t get better than RSA vs AUS… 😛
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 220) : Deffo!
AWESOME!!!
And to think you okes were giving Boucher a hard time just the other day.
Shows how much you know about cricket!!!
Where is KSA Shark btw??? (hint hint) 🙄
Cricinfo:
The winning runs, once again, come off the captain’s bat. A rather comfortable win in the end, largely due to Boucher’s patience and that frenzied cameo from who else but … Albie “I’ll be there for you” Morkel. It got tight in the middle there when Australia hit back with big wickets, but Albie and Boucher changed all that.
Just a quick recap for anyone who was late to join in. Australia batted first and set a target of 270. Despite a quick start, they were bowled out for 269 in 49.s overs. Botha was in the thick of things, taking 3 for 32 in his 10 overs and two smart catches. In reply for South Africa, Gibbs found some forms in the way he knows best, belting the cover off the ball. Australia were fairly bad with their catching, dropping two in the first over and then allowing the dangerous Albie a chance during the batting Powerplay. Gibbs had some fun, Kallis propped up the innings with a fifty, crossing 10,000 ODI runs today, and then Boucher and Albie played good hands. South Africa lead by 2-1 with two games to go. Those dropped catches made if fairly easy.
Not much dispute in the fact that Albie is the Man of the Match for his 22-ball 40.
“Albie there for you” – 😆 Those guys at cricinfo are funny…
Yes- credit to Boucher for holding things together…he did what was required of him. (Where’s Hmmm?)
Good job all round- Botha and Co made some good decisions today.
The bowling changes went well – and we took the batting PP at the right time. Congratulations to the whole team.
Let’s go and win this thing on Monday!!!
@blckshrk – PROTEAS (Comment 224) :
Hmmm is gonna be pissed at Gibbs’ slow batting… Eish!! 😉
@wpw (Comment 225) : hehe
Did anyone see this?
Rob Houwing’s TV sport column
Martin van Jaarsveld’s unorthodox, once-in-a-lifetime catch came under some scrutiny on the BVP cricket magazine show on KykNet this week, with studio guest Omar Henry – correctly, I think — suggesting there was little cause for doubt over its legality.
If you didn’t see it, look out for it in SuperSport promo clips down the line, because otherwise it’s one you won’t be able to tell the proverbial (or even not so proverbial) grandchildren about!
For the record, early in the disappointingly one-sided MTN Domestic Championship final at Bloemfontein last Friday, the stalwart Titans batsman and Kent kingpin was fielding at solitary slip as Eagles opener Morne van Wyk faced up to left-arm spinner Roelof van der Merwe, who had shared the new ball with Ethy Mbhalati.
Right-hander Van Wyk stooped to play a sweep and as he did so Van Jaarsveld, in a split second of freak anticipation, started moving over from conventional slip toward leg slip; he stuck out his left hand, quite low, and amazingly took the catch as batsman Van Wyk assumed he’d safely tickled the ball to fine leg.
The dismissal was rather out of the ordinary and I was pleased acting anchor Jeremy Fredericks (Fanie de Villiers has been in Australia) brought it up with Henry on BVP.
After all, the laws of cricket state (Law 41.7) that “any significant movement by any fielder after the ball comes into play and before the ball reaches the striker is unfair” and that in the event of it “either umpire shall call and signal dead ball”.
Pertinently, that particular clause ends with: “Note also the provisions of Law 42.4 (deliberate attempt to distract striker).”
I say pertinently because the one thing you could not accuse Van Jaarsveld of was “distracting the striker” – his movement came behind the batsman’s back as Van Wyk played his chosen stroke.
As Henry noted, the fielder only moved well after the bowler had delivered, and as he observed Van Wyk stooping into “sweep” routine: Omar felt it was simply an inspired bit of fielding.
The only quibble you could have with Van Jaarsveld’s uncanny “premonition”, I think, was that the ball had not quite yet “reached the striker” in terms of Law 41.7 as he moved across to his left.
Veteran international umpire Rudi Koertzen happened to be the official at the bowler’s end at the time, and had no hesitation in allowing the dismissal.
When I rang him at his Port Elizabeth home this week, Koertzen confirmed he “never had any doubts” about its legality.
“It was really a fluke event. If you look at the replay (Van Jaarsveld) was very tight in, behind in his ‘keeper, and so didn’t have to move very far across. He couldn’t even see the ball until it stuck in his hand. He also only moved as Morne started the sweep, so I was quite satisfied it was (in order).”
Personally, I felt it was one of those marvellous moments of anticipation and near-subconscious skill – yes, even like KP’s much-debated switch-hitting — that make the game great.
Any letter-of-the-law folk out there who disagree? The floor is yours …
WoooHoooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I was out at a friends place without internet but DID have TV.
Morkel you beauty, Boucher you slowcoach!!!!!!!!!!!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 228) : Boucher you slowcoach!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙄
Steady wins the race boet.
Did you know that you can determine the temp outside by counting the chirps made by crickets? 😯
Count the number of chirps in 25 seconds, divide by 3, then add 4.
So 48 chirps divide by 3 = 16
16 + 4 = 20 😎
@wpw (Comment 225) :
Gibbs was the bomb…he really went at it well….
And Kallis also kept the rate up in the 80’s…
@klempie (Comment 229) :
We did not need Boucher to steady the ship…
He and McKensie did not look like they were going to make it on their own…we needed that wicket of McKenzie…
But if you have a batting partner batting at 200% SR…then you can almost forgive Boucher…
Wonder what’s up with Amla…he usually bats quite quick…
But Bracken has been bowling well…
People that let the batting:
everyone that got less than 10 with special mention of Amla and JP….
But you cannot expect them to perform every time….
What is it with the Aussies?
Do they reserve their weekends for drinking and chasing sheep?
Why play the ODI’s on Friday and Monday and nothing over the weekend?
Mark Boucher is out of the rest of the series with a broken toe.
@McLovin (Comment 236) :
now the Strike rate will go up. 😎
But we may have keeping issues. Who is the back-up AB Div?
yebo
@PJLD (Comment 238) :
you going to the game?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 239) :
I am at Newlands at the moment, no sign of Slayton yet.
Will try and give you some updates during the game.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 235) : Monday is National Sheep Rooting Day aka Australia Day. 😉
I have just placed my first ever bet. Am I bad person? Discuss.
@klempie (Comment 242) : yes 🙂
@MorneN (Comment 240) :
Awesome thanks.
@robdylan (Comment 243) : OK you have one for. Any against? 😉
@klempie (Comment 245) :
we have 😳
@klempie (Comment 242) : On what?
@McLovin (Comment 247) : 300 big ones on SA to win tomorrow.
@klempie (Comment 248) : Cool. 😎 Odds?
@klempie (Comment 242) :
On here? http://www.sharksworld.co.za/have-a-flutter-on-the-sharks/
@McLovin (Comment 249) : Well Aus were at 1.something and SA at 2.25. I thought it was a no brainer with Bracken out.
@klempie (Comment 251) : Excellent. Hope your nerves last. 🙂
Score [email protected]MorneN (Comment 240) :
@KSA Shark © (Comment 250) : Nah on bet365.
How many teams play in Heineken?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 250) : he he… 🙂
@klempie (Comment 255) : 24
@McLovin (Comment 257) :
Only 8 now for the rest of this season though. 😉
@KSA Shark © (Comment 258) : Correct. One more match to go. Should be a cracker. Bath Toulouse. Loser might go out.
@McLovin (Comment 259) :
That is tonight I think? Not on Supersport. 🙁
@McLovin (Comment 257) : Ta.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 260) : Yes it is. 😯