KSA Shark ©

Weepu at 10 for Canes’ opening match

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super 14 on 12 Feb 2009 at 06:04
Tagged with : , , ,

All Blacks halfback Piri Weepu will run on at first five-eighths for the Hurricanes against the Waratahs in Saturday’s season opener at Westpac Stadium.

Rugbyheaven NZ reports that Hurricanes coach Colin Cooper has opted to continue with the pairing of Weepu at 10 and Alby Mathewson at halfback used by the Wellington Lions during the 2008 Air New Zealand Cup.

Cooper has named a 22-man side that includes four uncapped players at Super 14 level and four more who have previously played for other sides, including winger David Smith who played for the Hurricanes in 2007 and the Blues in 2008.

Dane Coles makes his competition debut in the starting XV at hooker with fellow new boy Ged Robinson his back-up off the reserves bench.

The starting forward pack features two more first time Hurricanes in lock Bryn Evans, who played for the Blues last year, and blindside flanker Faifili Levave who was a Chief in 2008.

The team is captained by Rodney So’oialo at No.8 and includes nine Grand Slam winning All Blacks who toured Hong Kong and Europe at the end of last year.

Should they take the field, Dan Kirkpatrick, Karl Lowe and Api Naikatini will also make their Super 14 debuts. Backs reserve Jason Kawau dons the Hurricanes jersey for the first time after previously playing for the Highlanders in 2006 and 2007.

The 2009 season opener between the Hurricanes and Waratahs will be the 15th Super rugby clash between the two sides since 1996, with the Hurricanes in front 8-6 on the head-to-head ledger.

Saturday’s match will be the eighth between the sides in New Zealand, with the Hurricanes having previously won six of their seven encounters.

HURRICANES: 15 Cory Jane, 14 Zac Guildford, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Ma’a Nonu,11 Hosea Gear, 10 Piri Weepu, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Rodney So’oialo [c], 7 Scott Waldrom, 6 Faifili Levave, 5 Jason Eaton, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Neemia Tialata, 2 Dane Coles, 1 John Schwalger.
Reserves: 16 Ged Robinson 17 Jacob Ellison 18 Jeremy Thrush/Api Naikatini 19 Karl Lowe 20 Dan Kirkpatrick 21 Jason Kawau 22 David Smith.

WARATAHS: 15 Sam Norton-Knight, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Timana Tahu, 11 Lote Tuqiri, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Scott Fava, 7 Phil Waugh [c], 6 Ben Mowen, 5 Will Caldwell, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Al Baxter, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Reserves: 16 Adam Freier, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Chris Thomson, 19 Wycliff Palu, 20 Brett Sheehan, 21 Daniel Halangahu, 22 Tom Carter.


  • Donno how well Weepu you pu we wll pu will play at 10…
    He can kick (and pass since he is a former scrummy)…but that is not what it’s all about…

    But lets see…still think the Canes have it over the Tahs…

  • Comment 1, posted at 12.02.09 17:50:51 by Hmmm Reply
  • Look at this poll I found:

    Viewers poll
    The 2009 Super 14 kicks off this week. Which SA team will finish highest on the log?
    16 % Bulls
    3 % Cheetahs
    18 % Lions
    45 % Sharks
    18 % Stormers
    Vote Archive

  • Comment 2, posted at 12.02.09 17:51:54 by Hmmm Reply

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.