Sharks XV named for Boland opener

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 27 Feb 2009 at 13:21
Tagged with : , , , , ,

Sean Everitt takes a strong team down to Wellington to take on Boland in the Vodacom Cup this afternoon. kick-off is at 16h30.

Late breaking news is that former KES boy Dylan Rutherford will slot straight in at hooker, after Craig Burden had failed to recover in time from a bout of flu. The props will be Dave Hawksworth and Wiehahn Herbst, the same pair who played for the Sharks in the early-season Super 14 warmup in Witbank. Barra Mthethwa picked up an injury last week and will presumably come back into the team when fit. Former Valke utility frontranker Frik Venter will be on the bench. This is somewhat unusual, since I thought a team had to have five recognised front-rankers in the 22. The Sharks XV only has four this week.

Joe Snyman contributes his solitary Currie Cup cap to the tight five. He will pack down with another youngster, Nolan Clark, in the second row. Sabelo Nhlapo and Mike Rhodes will both provide cover, although the latter is also a pretty useful loose forward. Speaking of the loose forwards, the combination looks a little strange. Justin Downey, despite being the identified backup for the Sharks at blindside flank, will operate in the number 6 jersey for the Sharks XV. Nik Blignaut will be at 7, while the impressive Warren Whiteley is at number 8. The unknown Nick Claasen is the fourth forward replacement.

The backline boasts a fair bit more experience than the pack does, particularly at Currie Cup level. Scrumhalf Charl McLeod, flhyalf Len Olvier, captain and inside centre Andries Strauss and fullback Monty Dumond have plenty of Currie Cup caps between them. Wingers Chris Jordaan and Lwazi Mvovo also played a few CC games for the Sharks last year, while JP Pietersen and Odwa Ndungane were with the Boks. Outside centre Ian Adendorff is the only uncapped player in the backline – although he is a capped Sevens Bok.

Here is the Sharks XV

15. Monty Dumond
14. Chris Jordaan
13. Ian Adendorff
12. Andries Strauss
11. Lwazi Mvovo
10. Len Olivier
9. Charl McLeod
8. Warren Whiteley
7. Nikolai Blignaut
6. Justin Downey
5. Nolan Clarke
4. Johan Snyman
3. Wiehahn Herbst
2. Dylan Rutherford
1. Dave Hawksworth

16. Frik Venter
17. Sabelo Nhlapo
18. Michael Rhodes
19. Nick Claasen
20. Neil de Bruin
21. Andrew Borgen
22. Carl Bezuidenhout


  • ok – so for all those wondering where the big locks are…

    Former Valke lock Ruhan van Jaarsveldt has been named in the Shark XV extended squad.

    Try 2.05m and 120kg.

    That makes him second tallest in the country after Bekker

  • Comment 1, posted at 27.02.09 13:28:32 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • @robdylan (Comment 1) : hope he steps up for a position in the s14 squad then

  • Comment 2, posted at 27.02.09 14:11:00 by jarsonx Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
  • I hope he knows how to kick… 🙄

  • Comment 3, posted at 27.02.09 14:39:31 by blackshark Reply

    blackshark - I'm back!
  • @blackshark (Comment 3) : I hope he spends so much time hitting rucks that he never has the chance to kick :mrgreen:

  • Comment 4, posted at 27.02.09 14:44:43 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • well, there’s absolutely no way to follow this match online

  • Comment 5, posted at 27.02.09 17:25:02 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.