New Zealand, Baby Boks victorious on final day

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :In the news on 21 Jun 2009 at 13:50
Tagged with : , , , ,

New Zealand were runaway winners of the IRB’s Junior World Championship, played in Japan. They beat England 44-28 in the Final in a wet Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium in Tokyo.

New Zealand scored seven tries to three and led 25-14 at half-time.

South Africa had an easy win over Australia to go into third place.

New Zealand vs England

England’s best weapon was their forward driving; New Zealand were far better behind the forwards, England took an early 6-0 lead. Scrumhalf Robbie Robinson made it 6-5 but then England stretched their lead to 11-5 with a try by James Gaskell. Then New Zealand took over. A try by Super 14 wing Zac Guildford and a penalty by Aaron Cruden put the New Zealanders ahead and they did not relinquish the lead. Cruden then scored two tries within five minutes and there was going to be only one outcome.


For New Zealand:
Tries: Robbie Robinson, Zac Guildford 2, Aaron Cruden 2, Shaun Treeby, Brayden Mitchell
Cons: Aaron Cruden 3
Pen: Aaron Cruden

For England:
Tries: James Gaskell, Carl Fearns, Dave Lewis
Cons: Tom Homer, Rob Miller
Pens: Tom Homer 3

South Africa vs Australia

South Africa beat Australia 32-5 to claim third place for the second time in this new competition.

The Baby Boks were soon ahead. François Brummer, the leading point scorer in the Championship, kicked a penalty in the second minute and then Lionel Cronjé intercepted a wayward [pass and scored to make it 8-0. Speedy Gerhard van den Heever the next one with a conversion from fullback Brummer and the Baby Boks led 15-0 and were well on the way to victory.

At half-time South Africa led 18-5 after the Australians had scored in a heap from a five-metre line-out.


For South Africa:
Tries: Lionel Cronjé 2, Gerhard van den Heever, Nicolaas Hanekom
Cons: François Brummer 3
Pens: François Brummer 2

For Australia:
Try: Albert Anae

Other Results

Scotland vs Tonga, 28-25
Japan vs Uruguay, 54-17
France vs Wales, 68-13
Argentina vs Fiji, 27-10
Italy vs Canada, 32-22
Samoa vs Ireland, 9-3

Final Standings

The first 12 qualify automatically for next year’s championship. The bottom four are required to qualify.

1 New Zealand
2 England
3 South Africa
4 Australia
5 France
6 Wales
7 Samoa
8 Ireland
9 Scotland
10 Tonga
11 Argentina
12 Fiji
13 Italy
14 Canada
15 Japan
16 Uruguay

Information provided by the IRB and Rugby365.

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.