All the Round 6 Currie Cup teams

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Bulls, Cheetahs, Currie Cup, Lions, Original Content, Other SA Teams, Sharks, WP on 14 Aug 2009 at 09:47
Tagged with :

Here you go, lads and lasses. We’ve summarised all the important team announcement news here.

The Leopards looks seriously understrength this week, with regular captain Wilhelm Koch and Emerging Bok centre Deon van Rensburg just two of the regulars who won’t be playing.

Leopards: 15 Russell Jeacocks; 14 Jovan Bowles, 13 Basil de Doncker, 12 Berndt Theissinger, 11 Danie Dames; 10 Clayton Durand, 9 Theo van Wyk; 8 RW Kember, 7 Bennie Adams, 6 André Swanepoel (captain), 5 Edrich Linde, 4 Rudi Mathee, 3 Os van der Walt, 2 Gavin Williamson, 1 Divan Kotze.
Replacements: 16 Philip Lemmer, 17 Nardus Lombard, 18 Anthonie Gronum, 19 Rynard Landman, 20 Chris Erasmus, 21 Muhammed Samaai, 22 Cecil Dumont.

Their opponents, the Cheetahs, have lost a number of players to the flu that is doing the rounds and will head to Phokeng without lock David de Villiers and outside centre Corné Uys. Sevens Bok Philip Snyman comes onto the bench, while JW Jonker and Izak de Villiers will both be starting.

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Danwel Demas, 13 JW Jonker, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 JP Joubert, 8 Francois Uys, 7 Frans Viljoen, 6 Johan Wessels, 5 Nico Breedt, 4 Izak van der Westhuizen, 3 WP Nel, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Coenie Oosthuizen.
Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Jean Botha, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Lucas Floors, 20 Tertius Carse, 21 Louis Strydom, 22 Phillip Snyman.

Boland welcome back a few big names this week, but will have to do without both regular captain Conrad Burke and his deputy, Dewey Swartbooi. Hooker Clemen Lewis takes over the captaincy for this game.

Boland: 15 Justin Peach, 14 Deon Scholtz, 13 Hein Myburgh, 12 Lionel Cornelius, 11 Ernie Kruger, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Marnus Hugo, 8 Junior Bester, 7 Carel Hoffman, 6 Zolani Mofu, 5 Rito Hlungwane, 4 Nico Esterhuyse, 3 Kobie Adriaanse, 2 Clemen Lewis (captain), 1 Janro van Niekerk.
Replacements: 16 Harry Vermaas, 17 Jané du Toit, 18 Frikkie Spies, 19 André du Toit, 20 Danie van der Merwe, 21 Mark Harris, 22 Llewellyn Adonis.

Western Province have brought Adriaan Fondse back into the engine room at the expense of Anton van Zyl. The 22 is otherwise unchanged from the unit that narrowly lost to Griquas last weekend.

Western Province: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Morgan Newman, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Luke Watson (captain), 7 Duane Vermeulen, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Adriaan Fondse, 4 Chris Jack, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Replacements: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 JD Moller, 18 Anton Van Zyl, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Bolla Conradie, 21 Paul Bosch, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

The Griquas 22 has been somewhat disrupted due to yet more flu, but they still look a powerful outfit with former Sharks XV lock Nolan Clark starting, along with former WP hooker Simon Westraadt. Key forwards Ryno Barnes and Brendan Snyman may play a role off the bench should they recover in time.

Griquas: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Egon Seconds, 13 Jaco Bekker, 12 Barry Geel, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Naas Olivier, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Jonathan Mokuena (captain), 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Rohan Kitshoff, 5 Jacques Lombard, 4 Nolan Clark, 3 Ruaan du Preez, 2 Simon Westraadt, 1 Steph Roberts.
Replacements: 16 Andries Kruger/Rayno Barnes, 17 Albertus Buckle/Zane Killian, 18 Brendon Snyman/Heinrich Stride, 19 Sean Plaatjies, 20 Dougie Helmuth, 21 Trompie Nontshinga, 22 Gavin Passens

The Bulls have welcomed back some rather big guns, with Dewald Potgieter back in the starting team and a pair of Boks, Cliilboy Rallepele and Zane Kirchner, giving them additional bench options.

Blue Bulls: 15 Tiger Mangweni; 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Jaco Pretorius, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Marius Delport; 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Francois Hougaard; 8 Dewald Potgieter, 7 Jacques Burger, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Derick Kuün (captain), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Frik Kirsten, 18 Fudge Mabeta, 19 Pedrie Wannenburg, 20 Ruan Snyman, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Zane Kirchner.

The Lions have made a few changes too, with Herkie Kruger back in at flyhalf and former Shark Dusty Noble coming in at right wing. Willem Stoltz is in for Joe Snyman as the only other change to the starting 15. The Lions have gambled on a 5-2 split on the bench, with inside centre Doppies la Grange
doubling up as the reserve scrumhalf.

Golden Lions: 15 Earl Rose, 14 Dusty Noble, 13 Alwyn Hollenbach, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Henno Mentz, 10 Herkie Kruger, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Franco van der Merwe, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (captain), 5 Willem Stoltz, 4 Nico Luus, 3 Gert Muller, 2 Hans van Dyk, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Derek Harwood, 17 Kevin Buys, 18 Wouter Moore, 19 Todd Clever, 20 Derek Minnie, 21 Pieter Engelbrecht, 22 Ruan Boshoff.

The Sharks welcome Odwa Ndungane and Deon Carstens back into the starting lineup this week, with Monty Dumond also coming in at flyhalf. Another Springbok, Jannie du Plessis, will be on the bench, while rotational changes at hooker and openside flank see Craig Burden and Jacques Botes starting.

The Sharks: 15 Stefan Terblanche (captain), 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Andries Strauss, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Monty Dumond, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Albert van den Berg, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Patric Cilliers, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Deon Carstens.
Replacements: 16 Skipper Badenhorst, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Michael Rhodes, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ross Cronjé, 21 Guy Cronjé, 22 Waylon Murray.

1 Comment

  • My picks for the weekend:

    Cheetahs Griquas Sharks WP….

  • Comment 1, posted at 14.08.09 13:47:37 by Prof. Ice Babe(Super Girl) Reply
    Competition Winner Ice

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.