KSA Shark ©

Cross, Chisholm called into action

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :Original Content, Tri Nations, Wallabies on 27 Aug 2009 at 07:44
Tagged with : , , , ,

Robbie Deans has named Ryan Cross in the place of the injured Berrick Barnes for the Tri Nations Test against South Africa in Perth.

Cross has been elevated to the starting line-up, along with Mark Chisholm, who steps in for Nathan Sharpe. Chisholm last played for Aus against Wales in 2008. He has only played two club matches since leaving the field with a dislocated wrist during the Super 14 match in South Africa against the Cheetahs.

Meanwhile eighth man Richard Brown, who is one one yellow card away from a judiciary hearing, has also been included, despite yellow cards in back to back test.

Brown apparently knows he has to tread warily this weekend but has vowed to remain an enforcer.

In the Tri-nations a player who receives three yellow cards has to appear before the judiciary, where he could be suspended for several weeks.

Brown was binned in Cape Town for a professional foul by referee Alain Rolland and last week in Sydney Jonathan Kaplan binned him for a dangerous tackle on Owen Franks.

Brown has been quoted in the Australian press as saying ”I have to learn something from this experience, otherwise I am pretty thick. I am now conscious about where I am on the field and not playing on the edge of the law,”

Let’s hope that the threat of suspension hanging over his head has an adverse affect on his game. With Bryce Lawrence being the man in the middle this weekend, anything could happen.

James O’Connor, Lachie Turner, Ryan Cross, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Peter Hynes, Matt Giteau, Luke Burgess; Richard Brown, George Smith (capt), Rocky Elsom, Mark Chisholm, James Horwill, Ben Alexander, Stephen Moore, Benn Robinson.
Tatafu Polota-Nau, Al Baxter, Dean Mumm, David Pocock, Will Genia, Quade Cooper, Drew Mitchell.


  • SIX Western Force players in the squad.

    Are they going to be a Force in the S14 or is it just a case of Deans and Mitchell being friends?

  • Comment 1, posted at 27.08.09 07:50:43 by KSA Shark © Reply
    KSA Shark ©
  • cross is a dangerous player. Hope Mossie’s defence holds up

  • Comment 2, posted at 27.08.09 08:00:47 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • The Springbok team is (Test caps in brackets):

    15. Ruan Pienaar (33)
    14. JP Pietersen (29)
    13. Jaque Fourie (48)
    12. Jean de Villiers (51)
    11. Bryan Habana (51)
    10. Morné Steyn (6)
    9. Fourie du Preez (49)
    8. Pierre Spies (25)
    7. Juan Smith (60)
    6. Heinrich Brüssow (7)
    5. Victor Matfield (86)
    4. Bakkies Botha (60)
    3. John Smit – captain (87)
    2. Bismarck du Plessis (27)
    1. Tendai Mtawarira (16)


    16. Chiliboy Ralepelle (6)
    17. Jannie du Plessis (10)
    18. Andries Bekker (17)
    19. Schalk Burger (50)
    20. Ricky Januarie (38)
    21. Adi Jacobs (25)
    22. Frans Steyn (33)

  • Comment 3, posted at 27.08.09 09:00:42 by sharks_lover Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.