Big test for Sharks juniors

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :In the news, Sharks on 2 Oct 2009 at 13:50
Tagged with : ,

The Sharks Under 21s take on the Lions Under 21s in their final pool match of the Absa Under 21 competition in the curtain raiser to the main game, kick-off at 3pm as they look to entrench their position on the log.

Michael Marnewick, Sharksrugby.

Homeground advantage is crucial in the knock-out stages – any team will testify to that – and currently in second place on the log, they, like the senior side, have Western Province waiting for a slip-up.

The Lions are in fifth place but have an extra game to play next week and could sneak into the semis, ditto for Western Province who trail the junior Sharks by a point but with a game in hand which means they could overtake the Durban side. Province and the Lions will meet in the final game and this could well determine if Province get a home semi over the Sharks or the Lions win and manage to get into the top four.

In personnel changes, Rosco Speckman is back on the wing for Milo Nqoro who will play off the bench in the only change in the backline. Luvuyiso Lusaseni, Lambert Groenewald and Siya Mdaka continue their useful loose trio partnership while Jandre Marais is re-united with lock partner Anton Bresler after Lee Thompson stepped in last week.

Julian Redelinghuys, Alfred Ries and Dale Chadwick remain as the front row protagonists in a more than useful line-up.

Meanwhile, The Sharks Under 19s also play in their final game of the pool stages, hosting the Lions Under 19s in the 1pm fixture. Having slipped into fifth place on the log, a win over the fourth-placed Lions will see them leapfrog their opponents to end in the top four.

It goes without saying that for all three of The Sharks sides in action tomorrow, victory is of paramount importance.

Sharks Under 21s

15. Patrick Lambie
14. Mark Richards
13. Arno van Zyl
12. Jerome Pretorius
11. Rosco Speckman
10. Guy Cronje
9. Tian Meyer (Capt)
8. Luvuyiso Lusaseni
7. Lambert Groenewald
6. Siya Mdaka
5. Anton Bressler
4. Jandre Marais
3. Julian Redelinghuys
2. Alfred Ries
1. Dale Chadwick

16. Kyle Cooper
17. Sabelo Nhlapo
18. Lee Thompson
19. Nic Claasen
20. Alex Kock
21. Gary Collins
22. Milo Nqoro

Sharks Under 19s

15. Gouws Prinsloo
14. Mandla Dube
13. De Wet Berg
12. Dwayne Jenner
11. Sibusiso Sithole
10. Willem du Plessis
9. Jacobus Reinach
8. Francois Kleinhans
7. Brynard Stander
6. Chris Cloete
5. Kene Okafor (Capt)
4. Peet Marais
3. Nicholas Schonert
2. Shaun Malton
1. Njabula Mkize

16. Monde Hadebe
17. Tom Botha
18. Johan Schoonbee
19. Carel Greeff
20. Charlie Purdon
21. Nico van der Westhuizen
22. Chrislyn van Schalkwyk

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.