We may still have to wait another 11 agonising days before the 2010 Super 14 kicks off, but today marks the start of the third instalment of the popular FNB Varsity Cup tournament. The first of four games kicks off at 14h30, live on SuperSport.
The opening round features two sets of double-header fixtures, one at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University in Port Elizabeth and the other at LC de Villiers Stadium home ground of Tukkies in Tshwane. The Varsity Cup competition will trial a number of interesting variations this season, as always, including the experimental “player 23” law, requiring each squad to name a third front-ranker on an extended bench to avoid the situation of uncontested scrums. Another first will be the introduction of gridiron style “time-outs”, a two -minute break coming somewhere between the 18th and 22nd minute of each half when coaches will be allowed onto the field to spur on their teams, while the players take a water break.
Shimlas, from Free State University, take on UCT in the opening match, kicking off at 14h30. Look out for George Whitehead at fullback for the Free Staters; he made a few appearances for the Cheetahs in the Currie Cup last year. Ikeys, boast two players with senior Currie Cup experience in flyhalf Matt Rosslee and lock Martin Muller, both of whom saw action with Western Province in 2009. Promising loose forward Yassir “Yaya” Hartzenburg is a member of the extended Stormers training squad.
Shimlas: 15 George Whitehead, 14 Divandré Strydom, 13 Earl Snyman, 12 Wayne Stevens (kaptein), 11 Rashied Isaacs, 10 Reinhardt Erwee, 9 Jaco Colyn, 8 Boom Prinsloo, 7 Willie Britz, 6 Hanno Pieterse, 5 Henjo van Niekerk, 4 Joubert Horn, 3 Vaatjie Koorsen, 2 PW van Vuuren, 1 Charles Marais. Replacements: 16 Gert Erasmus, 17 Ian Potgieter, 18 Lebo Zietsman, 19 Pieter Labuschagné, 20 Marlin Ruiters, 21 Beast Ndwandwa, 22 Johan van Schalkwyk, 23 James Hellawell.
UCT: 15 Therlow Pietersen, 14 Marcello Sampson, 13 Marcel Brache, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Paul Cohen, 10 Matt Rosslee, 9 Stu Commins (vice-captain), 8 JJ Gagiano, 7 Michael Morris, 6 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 5 Martin Muller, 4 Don Armand, 3 Grant Kemp, 2 Dayne Jans, 1 Ash Wells. Replacements: 16 Mark Goosen, 17 Chris Heidberg, 18 Yaya Hartzenberg, 19 Levi Odendaal, 20 Nic Groom, 21 Sean van Tonder, 22 Doug Mallett, 23 Wes Chetty.
The hosts from NMMU take on reigning champs Stellenbosch University in the 16h30 game. There are no big names in the home side and they’ll have their work cut out for them against a star-studded Maties outfit who know how to win in this competition. The Maties team-sheet reads like a who’s-who of emerging WP talent and they’ll be captained by prop Lourans Adriaanse, whose brother Jacobie plays for Boland, in the absence of regular skipper Cameron Peverett this week.
NMMU: 15 Aluzant Munnik, 14 Oscar Mazaka, 13 Williams Heydenrych, 12 Wade Roos, 11 Darryl Turner, 10 Willem Laubscher, 9 Lusu Booi (captain), 8 Sameul Borsaah, 7 Ferdie Gerber, 6 Thomaso Farbes, 5 Jannie Fourie, 4 Mathew Lutge, 3 Pierre Hammond, 2 Hugo Lampbrechts, 1 Tyron Williams. Replacements: 16 Werner Kapp, 17 Chariel van Jaarsveld, 18 De Wet De Lange, 19 Kemsley Wesso, 20 JP Kellerman, 21 Hugo van Heerden, 22 Phiwe Lallendle, 23 Ivon Cowley.
Maties: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Danie Poolman, 13 Stokkies Hanekom, 12 Dabeon Draghoender, 11 Thythan Adams, 10 Hayden Groepes, 9 Conrad Hoffman, 8 Tertius Daniller, 7 JP Mostert, 6 Boetie Britz, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Rynardt Elsteadt, 3 Lourens Adriaanse (captain), 2 Matthew Dobson, 1 Mike De Neuilly-Rice. Replacements: 16 Callie Visagie, 17 Johan Roets, 18 Andrew Prior, 19 Josh Strauss, 20 Johan Laker, 21 Stephan van der Merwe, 22 Jonathan Francke, 23 Buhle Mxunuywa.
Meanwhile, over in the capital, the team from Tshwane University of Technology will have their hands full with a powerful-looking lineup from the University of Johannesburg that includes a Lions Currie Cup player (Earl Lewis) and a Baby Bok (David Bullbring) on the bench. The starting pack is a strong one, with prop Wayne Swart and flanker Justin Wheeler both Lions representatives, while Wendell Wehr played Currie Cup rugby for Boland in 2009. TUT captain Emile Verster is no stranger to big challenges, though, having represented both the Blue Bulls and Valke at Currie Cup level earlier in his career. This match also kicks off at 16h30.
TUT: 15 Hansie Graaff, 14 Johan Swartz, 13 Henk de Ridder, 12 Lutho Nyeka, 11 Thabo Motau, 10 Jacques Venter, 9 Manny Raposo, 8 Wikus Botes, 7 Emile Verster (captain), 6 Athi Mtya, 5 Werner Lourens, 4 Johan Steenkamp, 3 Braam van der Merwe, 2 Johan Pieterse, 1 Juan Pike. Replacements: 16 Alfred Khoza, 17 Jacques van Rooyen, 18 Dewald van Deventer, 19 Ryno Lopes, 20 Nico van Zyl, 21 Felix Godlo, 22 Johan Oosthuizen, 23 Johann Visser.
UJ: 15 Aubrey MacDonald, 14 Edrich van Tonder, 13 Clinton de Klerk (captain), 12 Luhan Steenkamp, 11 Lola Waqa, 10 André Smith, 9 Danny Botha, 8 Quinten Minnaar, 7 Wendell Wehr, 6 Justin Wheeler, 5 Marnus van Huyssteen, 4 Martyn Lombard, 3 Wayne Swart, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 KP du Plessis. Replacements: 16 Brett Claassens, 17 JP Olivier, 18 David Bulbring, 19 JP Janse van Rensburg, 20 Jacques Pretorius, 21 Ryno Luus, 22 Earl Lewis, 23 Jaco Claassen.
The final game (at 18h30) sees hosts Tukkies take on last year’s beaten finalists, NWU Pukke from Potchefstroom. The home side don’t look as good on paper, with centres Ernie Kruger and Franco Booysen boasting Currie Cup experience. Pukke are always strong in this competition and they’ll look to Leopards (and former Sharks XV) winger Danie Dames to do the damage out wide. Another familiar face in the squad is that of Cecil Dumond (Monty’s younger brother) while former Sharks under 21 flanker Siya Mdaka starts in the number 7 jersey.
Tukkies: 15 Gert Smith, 14 Dirk Dippenaar, 13 Ernie Kruger, 12 Franco Booysen, 11 Aaron Denenga, 10 Shaun Davids (captain), 9 Ignick Windvogel, 8 Marius Weber, 7 Marius Oosthuizen, 6 Warwick Tecklenburg, 5 Francois van Wyk, 4 Tiaan Nel, 3 Hein Viljoen , 2 Chris Crous, 1 Ettienne Breytenbach. Replacements: 16 Robbie Coetzee/AJ le Roux, 17 Musa Tukela, 18 Joe Walters, 19 Oswin Mentoor, 20 Wesley Marais, 21 Donovan Marais, 22 Fanie Booysen, 23 Danie Oosthuizen.
Pukke: 15 Theuns Kotzé, 14 Dane Johnson, 13 Ruan Jacobs, 12 Wouter Watermeyer, 11 Danie Dames, 10 Niell Jacobs, 9 Andries Mahoney, 8 Thabo Molete, 7 Siya Mdaka, 6 Savvas Nel, 5 Markus Fourie, 4 Dirco Rautenbach (captain), 3 Stephanus Bezuidenhout, 2 Stoffel Duvenhage, 1 Dewald Coetzee. Replacements: 16 BW van Dyk, 17 BG Uys, 18 Francois Robbertse, 19 Jaco Lötter, 20 Cecil Dumond, 22 Wensley Scott, 22 Andrew van Wyk, 23 Johan Coetzee.

Superbtu picks for these early Varsity cup games are always difficult. 🙁
No Worries I should still win 🙂
shimlas, maties, uj and pukke. Simples 🙂
IKEYS!!!!!!!!!!!
Go UJ!!!!!!!!!!!!
i’m supporting the Potch boys. Can’t remember why
I`m with Ikeys as well. What`s the matter, isn`t there a `varsity in KZN?
@Original Pierre (Comment 6) : been thinking about that. Will write an arti a little later
😯 Zaza with the Ikeys? Last I heard he did not passed his matrix. 😉
Go the maroon machine!
@PaarlBok (Comment 8) : maybe that’s why he went to ikeys 🙂
Shimlas and Ikeys about to kick off
Robdylan is supporting the souties from Cape Town
let’s see if we can find the Sharks some centres
3-0 Shimlas
6-0 Shimlas
@robdylan (Comment 12) : Tim Whitehead, Ikeys 12 looks ok
Rosslee makes it 6-3
try in the corner, Shimlas 14 Strydom
kick missed. 11-3 Shimlas
Shimlas hooker van Vuuren is full of running. Looks very useful
Good spread of SB picks here. Seems i am on thw wrong side of the spread at the moment. 🙁
Wallywong Shimlas 16
Short Shark Shimlas 15
geraas Shimlas 13
PaarlBok Shimlas 11
war1 Shimlas 10
Pure Demon Shimlas 10
Bergbok Shimlas 7
Villie Shimlas 7
robdylan Shimlas 7
Ponsie Shimlas 6
rekinek Shimlas 5
Volstruis Shimlas 3
Milissa Shimlas 3
============================
Sandshark UCT 3
PtaShark UCT 7
GirlsRule UCT 7
Fixxxer UCT 8
Dave UCT 9
Eviltwin UCT 9
Whindy UCT 10
molly UCT 14
Jarsonx UCT 18
Whisper UCT 18
taurus UCT 20
Phoenix UCT 21
Ikey fullback Pietersen has superb hands
Superbru will reflect my in-experience with Varsity Cup, I’ll be amazed if I manage a 50% accuracy 😳
@Jarson’s (X + V) (Comment 22) : just pick Maties and Puk to win every match and you’re already halfway there 🙂
the salt-willies are trying to be over-elaborate. Playing lots of fancy rugby between the 22s. Shimlas are just sitting back and watching…
Rosslee converts a beaut of a penalty from the touchline. 11-6. They could be ahead now if they didn’t run kickable penalties
Dutchies look clueless with ball in hand. Maybe they’re copying the Sharks gameplan? 🙂
Ikeys are running some very elaborate moves and accomplishing fuck-all in the process! Stormers rugby at its best 🙂
anyone actually following this tirade, BTW?
heading towards half time and it’s 14-6 to Shimlas
@robdylan (Comment 28) : sort of
@robdylan (Comment 28) : Yep, thanx 😆
Pietersen scores for Ikeys
kick is good! 14-13 to Shimlas
and some woeful defence sees Shimlas breaking out ans running 80 metres to score themselves. Now 19-13
kick missed
good penalty. 22-13. Shimlas easing away
Kom kom nou UCT!
win your 1st game for a change 😈
@Jarson’s (X + V) (Comment 37) : not looking likely, I fear
Shimlas flyhalf Erwee is looking pretty composed. Seems to have lots of time. Also made a superb break just now.
@robdylan (Comment 38) : I know 🙁 everyday you learn something new 😛
@robdylan (Comment 39) : I see you’re scouting 😉 Are you going to mail Straulli?
every time I blink, Shimlas get another penalty. 25-13 now
every time I blink, Shimlas get another penalty. 25-13 now.
And then Pietersen breaks beautifully to set up a try for Sean van Tonder. 25-18
@robdylan (Comment 43) : 1 more try UCT or more
25-20 with ten to go. Pietersen is a real talent
Ikeys spill the ball on attack, it gets hacked through and Strydom streaks through to score his second breakaway try!
30-20 and game over
@robdylan (Comment 46) : George Whitehead misses the tricky conversion, but it won’t matter
@robdylan (Comment 47) : maybe it will! Ikeys score.
Shimlas drop the ball in goal and Ikeys 14 falls on it. 30-27
and then Ikeys 13 blown for being ahead of the kicker. Silly.
Ikeys have a kickable penalty. Can draw the game with the final kick
and that’s it! 30-all. Fair result, I think.
Ikeys don’t lose their first game for the first time in 3 years
so everyone got this one wrong 🙁
@robdylan (Comment 52) :
I GOT MARGIN POINTS AND CLOSEST PIC SHARED. 🙂
I want to watch the UJ match next…
@KSA Shark © (Comment 53) : nice
Reckon Maties v NMMUMNMU is going to be one-sided and boring.
got some weird Bollywood shit going down on SS6…WTF?
looks like livetv4ever.com doesn’t REALLY offer SS6.
NMMU seem to be having a competition within the team to see who can come up with the stupidest hairstyle
MAties are all over these okes. Cricket score coming up
Pullchicken scores under the posts!
7-0 Maties
now 7-3
and Rynhardt Elstead has been carded for tackle infringements. Ref seems a little excitable 🙂
reckon the ref has decided that NMMMUNMMU will be competitive in this game, come hell or high water 🙂
7-6 Maties
penalty fest. Boring. I’m out
I was right. Maties are killing them. Now 56-20.
now 61-20
Pull-chicken has scored 4 tries!
now Groepes gets one… 66-20
68-20
and that’s the final score
I don`t know, I guess I expected more from Ikeys. . .
@robdylan (Comment 72) :
Hey SB allows you to process the score yourself now. 😎
Tuks v Pukke now on… doubt I’ll be able to watch much of it
@KSA Shark © (Comment 74) : yeah, just did it 🙂
those Puk jerseys are lekker 🙂
ah kiff! Ashwin Willemse and Owen Nkumane commentating!
and I’m outta here! Go Pukkies (can’t decide)
@robdylan (Comment 76) :
I’ve done UJ TUT as well
UJ won 28 – 14
For the 1st time in the history of the Varsity Cup pukke have beaten Tukkies.
Pukke 35 – 24 Tukkies.
And Volstruis is the leader in our SB pool after Round 1.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 81) : glad I wasn’t aware of that stat before making my pick 🙂
@robdylan (Comment 82) :
I WAS 👿 :die moer in: 😛
Top 10.
1 Volstruis 4.25
2 Bergbok 4.00
3 GirlsRule 4.00
4 molly 3.50
5 war1 3.50
6 robdylan 3.50
7 rekinek 3.25
8 Sandshark 3.00
9 Eviltwin 3.00
10 Ponsie 2.75
11 Whisper 2.75
12 taurus 2.75
No Grand Slam bonus for anyone this week.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 84) : I personnally sucked 😳 1 from 4