Our beloved Sharks get their 2010 Currie Cup campaign under way in chilly Kimberley.
The home side have picked a strong team, full of experience and hard men. Will the youthful Sharks be able to upset them withΒ exhilaratingΒ running rugby?
Or will they join a long line of big-name teams to get bogged down in the Griquas lair and emerge with their tails between their legs?
Griquas: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Rocco Jansen, 13 Wilmaure Louw, 12 Matt Rosslee, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Naas Olivier (captain), 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Leon Karemaker, 7 Davon Raubenheimer, 6 Wesley Wilkins, 5 Cecil Kemp, 4 Hendrik Roodt, 3 Albertus Buckle/Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Rayno Barnes, 1 Steph Roberts.
Replacements: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Buckle/Adriaanse, 18 Frikkie Spies, 19 Gerhard Human, 20 Barry Geel, 21 Richard Lawson.
Sharks: 15 Patrick Lambie, 14 Louis Ludik, 13 Stefan Terblanche (captain), 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Steve Meyer, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Keegan Daniel, 7 Michael Rhodes, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Patric Cilliers.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Anton Bresler, 19 Skholiwe Ndlovu, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Monty Dumond, 22 Andries Strauss.
GWK Park, Kimberley – Kick-off: 15.00
Referee: Jaco Peyper (SARU)
Assistant referees: Jason Jaftha (SARU) Linston Manuels (Boland)
TMO: Gerrie Coetzee (Free State)

C’mon Sharkies.. Show dem!!
ok -who’s here for this?
Go Sharks!!
Sharks β β
Gotta feeling this is going to be one of our most difficult games the season.
A good win today will make all the difference…..
Why cant we start against weak opponents and get some momentum going from the start π
Has the game started yet
3-0 Griquas
present
c’mon sharks
lovely intercept by KD…
A few LMS picks for the Sharks, none for Griquas
Anton Bresler looks like he’s kakking himself π
I need the sharks for the grand slam point on SB.
@robdylan (Comment 14) : Give him the ball, no one will want to tacle him π
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 15) : Hehehe! Cheetahs or WP?
LWAZI!!!
MVOVO!!!!!!!! TRY!!!!
Nice try sharks, keep them coming
Province obviously.. I don’t think its gonna be all that close to be honest.. WP to walk it..
@JarsonX (Comment 16) : eew
Mvovo starting XV π
good kick Rory. 3-7
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 21) : I picked Cheetahs π³ I’ve been praying ever since.
Rory starting XV
π³ oops nearly forgot my own game gotso busy with clean the collection π³
GO SHARKS GO
howdy everyone
I’m seeing positives here… Burden’s throwing, for one thing
@JarsonX (Comment 25) : Cheetahs to take it
@mbayshark (Comment 29) : I hope so
kimberley field is great for a winter season
try Stevie Meyer!!!
Should be getting my 5th star pretty soon now π
conversion is missed.. 3-12
Nice one Steve!
What a great catch was that by the Sharks πΏ
Oh my miss the Boks π
@Jarson (Comment 33) :
ugh… where’s the finishing?
@Jarson (Comment 35) : Should hv my 5th star by the end of the week-end
The Lions have 5 log points. π―
How is Meyer going?
Go Sharks β
darn. try by Ryno Barnes
@klempie (Comment 42) : looking ok so far
kick missed. 8-12
anyone know if this game has a live feed?
Rory lining up a penalty right in front
@robdylan (Comment 44) : His name is not even in the match 22 π―
eeaaaaahhhhhh GO SHARKS GO
8-15 Sharks
@Jarson (Comment 49) : griquas hooker
We should win this with 5 trys π
@Jarson (Comment 49) : π³ was looking in the backline, and he’s a hooker π³
Rhodes flops over the line
@klempie (Comment 41) : Don’t worry, they won’t be there for long π
try given!
22-8… feeling better now
Go Sharks
oh no teams season only started don’t fight π
man… penatly turned for JB punching
J Botes we need 15 on the field not 14 πΏ
I’m glad I’m recording this π
ah man – and carded!
@Jarson (Comment 63) : why if u are watching π
JB is in my starting xv π
One other question as I have been a bit out of it lately. Was the Barney Lions move ever confirmed?
@Jarson (Comment 66) : π mine 2
@chaz (Comment 65) : not watching π
@robdylan (Comment 64) : does his 10mins continue after the break?
8-22 is the halftime score.
It’s far from perfect from the Sharks, but it looks a lot better than I feared it might.
HT i hope they get a good talking 2 when the get in the cahnge rooms π
and c a nother and different team we need sm good PD
@Jarson (Comment 69) : why are u also talking the kids for a hair cut π π
@Jarson (Comment 70) : i think so π
40mins to score the BP TRY π
@Jarson (Comment 75) : If this is anything like the super14 the sharks have scored their last try of the game. Hopefully the new generation will be able to turn that corner..
didn’t see the JB punch, it seems so out of character for him as well . . .
@Jarson (Comment 75) : and get more trys for that PD it make alot difs in the end and look at the Bulls score and snoils so we must get a move on with the trys
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 76) : The Sharks have scored 23 tries thus far, 20 against weaker teams, but tries are tries π
@Jarson (Comment 79) : that 20 tries was during practice games though
@war1 (Comment 77) : more likly the Q did the first punch and we get carded π
@Jarson (Comment 79) : 23 tries thus far?? In the first gameof the season π Send me whatever your smoking… The rugby starts now and the try count is 3.
@Jarson (Comment 70) : alas
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 76) : yep but its the 1st game so i think it will get better well it better π
@chaz (Comment 81) : retaliation is always worse
which is still 3 more than the Bok try count in the trinations..
bugger the pints difference. Let’s win the match first
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 82) :
@robdylan (Comment 87) :
yes and agree but it would be great to get the PD as well π
@Jarson (Comment 85) : well next week got hubby 50th birthady and my like 60 are coming so me won’t be on SW π₯
@robdylan (Comment 87) : Amen to that!!
shit stop him πΏ
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 91) : π Amen
shit… superb griquas breakout and Steph Roberts scores for Gri
Whens the break over πΏ
15-22 now
oh my we better start working at that score and win by far π
eish miss the boks π
Eish!
go sharkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkssssssssssssss goooooooooooooo
@klempie (Comment 67) : ANYONE?? π π
Tackle is the name of the game πΏ
JB back on eeeeaaaahhhhh
Botes back on
@klempie (Comment 100) : π
@klempie (Comment 67) : Dont know π
Come on Sharkies come on its CC and a win we need π
Come on Sharks. Do it coz u can!
Talk about Januarie being slow at the ruck – what is Rocket waiting for???
@Jarson (Comment 107) : Do it cos they should
@klempie (Comment 109) : Jip π
come on sharrrrrrrrrrrkkkkkkkkkksssssssssssss π
Can someone please call Supersport and get the message through to the dipshit commentators that itΒ΄s DANIEL not DANIELS!
Crap, another try for Griquas π
How much time remaining??
[email protected] now way what happened its not the u 21 or 19 come one sharks πΏ
u c why i say the PD
shit Griquas score again… how’s that points difference looking, guys?
π
@Jarson (Comment 114) : like 24 mins
Basson is in my FL squad and thas my 5th try for the weekend π
TMo for Mvovo try
YES!! MVOVO!! BONUS POINT!!
looks like mvovo try going to lmo π
and tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
looks good… bonus point?
yes! Good try and we have 1 point…
Now we need 4 more
Starting XV Mvovo BP try!!! π
Lambie misses the conversion
Lambie no oooooooooooooooooo convertion π
Lambie misses the kick. 22-27
Go Sharks π π
@robdylan (Comment 124) : π
we hv 5 point if we win what 4 more do we need trys yes
McLeod and van Staden are on
@chaz (Comment 130) : π³
BIG FL points for Lwazi this week
griquas pen. 25-27
And I’ve been promoted to S14 player π Check out my 5 stars. So shiny π
@Jarson (Comment 129) : 5 stars great
How much time left?
Hope Keagan D got that one oh my pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee let it be a tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
TMO for keegan try
Go Sharks. We should win this!
SHITTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
sorry
don’t think you can give that… no indication of grounding at all
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 137) : like 18 min
@Jarson (Comment 140) : we better π
@Jarson (Comment 119) : π
@Jarson (Comment 135) : Welcome to the club. π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 145) : hi ouboet enjoying the holiday
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 145) : Oubaas you back from Yankland?
we REALLY needed some points from that…
So far I’ve got 5 starting XV tries and on FL bench warmer try π
this van staden is a bit of a walking penalty…
Swanepoel is not having a good game. We really need some spark at 12.
griquas hit the lead 28-17
oh my this becoming a kak game πΏ come on sharks we can’t loose our first game π
@Big Fish (Comment 152) : lucky we have Strauss on the bench π
I get the feeling it’s going to be another looooooong CC season…
Oh my -Andries Strauas in on…
Mcload look before you throw the ball πΏ
yay! Monty and Dries are on…
Come on Sharks! Go for Gold!
@robdylan (Comment 159) : yay! π
come on… still 14 minutes and only 1 point behind. Let’s not lose hope JUST yet
mvovo catch great now get some points pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee
@klempie (Comment 148) :
Nope here until the 18th.
kicking back by the lake drinking beer, watching TDF and TRYING to catch fish. π
ohlay ohlay ohlay ohlay ohlay
Sharkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkksssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
@chaz (Comment 147) :
lovin it.
Shit no man!!!!!!
Geez these Sharks are almost as awful as this morning’s Boks…
Wilkin scores and we’ve lost this game now
@robdylan (Comment 162) :
THAT’S the spirit
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 164) : put down the beer, you might catch some π
Oh my this is just great sharks we are going down that parth again all over again πΏ
come on pleeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaassssssssseee π₯
Geez, this is piss-poor.
35-27. Gone
@Jarson (Comment 171) : use dog food and bread it works and pujt some beer in maybe they are need some of it
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 164) : I’ve never understood how people get so much satisfaction out of tossing hooks out into water to catch creatures that have memories no longer than a few minutes.
Ah hell no Sharks!
I think I’m a Kwasse fan for the rest of the season.
another by Basson
u know i’m down down got so much work to do and me watching a u 21 game this is just shit and that is that πΏ
sorry to say it, blokes, but that’s twice that Lambie’s been done for pace. He’s not quick enough to play fullback.
40-27
And we wont even get a losing BP π₯ At least my FL seems to be doing ok
@Jarson (Comment 171) : @Jarson (Comment 171) : soory that was meant for KSA π³
First the Bokke, now the Sharks definitley going to drown my sorrows in OB’s
How pathetic is this performance? They’re making STUPID mistakes. The whole squad should get a good hiding for this.
aaaaagggggggggggg neeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
kom sharkiesssssssssssssssssss
assebliefffffffffffffffffff πΏ
If the 1st line of defence picks up a notch, Lambie might not seem that awful
@Just a Fan (Comment 185) :
Cilliers try!
Hope for a BP after all.
40-34
Pat Scores!
Six points…we can still do it!
40-34… 2 bonus points at least
no wonder the guys don’t get SB they are playing like the babys πΏ
Oh well
@robdylan (Comment 182) :
Seems like Meyer and Dumond are really delivering the goods. π
Cooper and Bresler on for their debuts. Both looking strong
@Just a Fan (Comment 192) : hope so but not the way they are playing now πΏ
My comments are getting through slowly. TIME??
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 196) : so let’s use Pat at 10…
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 196) : @robdylan (Comment 197) : hope u are keeping us hope up high π³
@Jarson (Comment 199) : 78 minutes. Viljoen kicking from his 10m. π
@Jarson (Comment 199) : about 3 mi
@Jarson (Comment 199) : 77:57 min into the game
@klempie (Comment 202) : Just drops short! π―
So it is going to be one of those seasons again. They really don’t make it easy for us supporters do they.
well if by a big if we get another 7 point it will be 41 to 40 π
That was a shocking lineout kick from Monty given the situation! π
@Farlington (Comment 206) : no they don’t at all πΏ
Sigha!! Watching club rugby, Village better save my day…
@Farlington (Comment 206) : The Kwasse have far more heart!
what losers? π―
@robdylan (Comment 200) :
π
With this performance that sort of makes sense. (you have me on board) π
and that’s all she wrote.
We lose, but at least get 2 points.
Plum… read my lips.
YOU CAN’T PLAY DANIEL AND BOTES TOGETHER IN THE SAME LOOSE TRIO.
EVER.
well must say this game was just [email protected] hope they go and do the HW πΏ
Sigh…here we go again.
@Big Fish (Comment 216) : Indeed.
guys, you’ve gotta be fair. We have lost pretty much our entire pack to boks and injury. We were outclassed in the forwards, but the guys showed some heart.
Well done Griekwas!
Sharks, thanks again for farking up my day again.
@robdylan (Comment 181) : told you about lambie, only now you’re seeing it. π
@robdylan (Comment 214) : i still think that tree must go he’s making us look bad
and then another 3 years oh my what a long wait πΏ
Sharks really need to work on their defence. 5 tries should never happen against us again.
ooops π³ we gave it away – unfortunately π
@Megatron (Comment 212) : You said it! And the worst part is that Griguas were not even that good. The Sharks made them look good.
@Jarson (Comment 222) : i would add few other things to the “working on” list : do not loose the ball and the gamne is 80 minutes (always !)
color=”#000000″>robdylan (Comment 181) : i was thinking about the same thing π maybe he just flowers when the big guys play π
@robdylan (Comment 214) : good for the away game (against WP or Bulls but not Griquas really).
@robdylan (Comment 218) : Agreed Rob, still think this was one of the toughest games this season. Griquas at full strength against most of the other sides B-teams.
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 225) : missed u my friend π
@Megatron (Comment 220) : I’ve been calling for him at 10 all along, bro. Go dangle that bait elsewhere…
@mbayshark (Comment 228) : not an excuse – this is not sharks B team : THis is our CC A team.
Go Sharks! Go beat the Bulls next week!
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 227) : Griquas, on that performance, would have taken WP,the Lions and possibly also the Cheetahs. They are not a small team in a weakened Currie Cup.
@chaz (Comment 229) : hi there π was very busy abusing argentina and england’s supporters (sorry here for your team) and hiding from spanish π
As I said before, none of the better teams will be shitting themselves looking at this squad. We desperately need decent forwards and proper finishers, like Bjorn Basson.
Same old, same old in Sharks land, IΒ΄m afraid.
If anyone had any doubt that Mcleod and Monty is our best 9/10 combo, today would have cleared that up.
@robdylan (Comment 230) : well i am starting to think he might do well at 10 and then see what happens because he is nt the lambie that we know π
@robdylan (Comment 233) : i respectfully disagree. The Sharks had them on the plate and let it slip. Credit to Griquas for taking their chances but it looked to me like they were allowed to take them and not like they forced them.
Just remind me not to pick the Sharks for a win with their 1st game, they seem to lose everytime. CC ’09 – lost to WP, S14 ’10 – lost to Chiefs, CC ’10 – lost to Griquas π
@Jarson (Comment 232) : if it goes like today well we will loose that one 2 πΏ
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 196) : was looking specially for meyer. he scored a try but not much more from him. i am not sure about him yet β β β
what do you think ?
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 237) : Hey, you must make your choice – Podolski or Klose π
@Jarson (Comment 238) : that is why i went for bb did that mistake only once in the S14 π³
@Farlington (Comment 206) : oh well. we are supporters no matter what π
@rhineshark (Comment 241) :
Podolski is very vocal about being Polish at heart – so very tempting. But right now – 2 more goals for Klose !!! and at leat one somersault π
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 243) : u can say that again shark stays a Shark π
@robdylan (Comment 230) : no bait mate π just that i’d said lambie lacks pace sometime this week and the likes of wpw retorted with sarcasm. Now the Griquas have shown him up. π
Griquas weren’t exceptional – we were just very poor.
@Big Fish (Comment 247) : amen π
I suppose with Poles, opposites attract, hey?
LetΒ΄s hope tonight goes well, otherwise this weekendΒ΄s a disaster. π₯
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 237) : I would generally agree with Rob on this one, but not today. They were far below par and we gave them the game. “Lyfstraf” is the only answer. Kry die rotang uit en gee al die spelers a helse pak slae.
@rhineshark (Comment 249) : Poor Klose always get a lot of scorn from the Poles (though after Podolski scored his 2 goals against us in 2008 they wanted to take away his Polish passport π )
sorry to admit here but my emotional capital for today is invested in the evening game ( π π )
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 251) : GO DEUTSCHLAND!!!
Go Germany!! Do it for my SB survival!
@Jarson (Comment 253) : π
BTW : what happened to X.
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 254) : was dragging me down, got my 5th star as soon as I left it behind
@rhineshark (Comment 252) : π
i’m sending you an email – but it takes ages to load a photo.. π
@Jarson (Comment 255) : congrats π do you remember your breaking through comment β π
@Jarson (Comment 125) : @rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 257) : This one
Didnt notice it immediately π³
@Jarson (Comment 258) : π that’s cool π
at least it was not sth moany about tjetas as my one π
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 256) : Cool. Come live here – no problems with internet speed π
IΒ΄m off to go braai outside – aangetroude familie is visiting from Hamburg. Say howzit to M!
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 259) : π π
@rhineshark (Comment 260) : have fun and will do π
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 240) :
Didn’t see the game. sitting in the USA.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 263) : lucky you
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 264) : π
Walalalalalallalalalalalalallala Rob why is your question for the sharks ticket so difficult? Is it because I am a Kimberley bokkie? π
I do not even understand this π³
Name any two players who have represented both the Sharks and the Bulls at Currie Cup level (or higher)
SHarks and BLue bulls should not even be in the same sentence….
@dawnwallenkamp (Comment 266) : you better hop to it… already have one good answer.
Hint – the tosser who commentated on Saturday’s game is one.
JB? This soccer has messed my head up, I need to get back into the rugby mode!!!
Oooooh I am giving up – not even the internet has the answer
@dawnwallenkamp (Comment 270) : WB
@dawnwallenkamp (Comment 271) : course it does… the internet has the answer to everything