Two predators, both on the rise in recent weeks.
Two weeks ago the Lions were the laughing stock of the Big 5. Last week they gave the Blue Bulls a big scare with the 18 – 32 scoreline flattering the Blue Bulls massively. With this in mind the Sharks will not be taking this clash lightly. Add the factor that there are a few Durban boys in the Lions team who will be lifting their game to prove a point and we could easily an upset, that won’t actually be an upset, today.
The Sharks may have won their last two matches, unfortunately both were against minnows (Pumas and Cheetahs) and we looked anything but convincing. Last week we narrowly managed to snatch victory from the Cheetahs’ claws.
A Lions victory will be anything but an upset.
Ref: Jason Jaftha
ARs: Ben Crouse, Reuben Rossouw
TMO: JC Fortuin
Venue: Absa Stadium, Durban
Kick-off: 17.05
Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Stefan Terblanché (captain), 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Rory Kockott, 22 Riaan Swanepoel.
Lions: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Waylon Murray, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Michael Killian, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Trevor Hall, 6 Derick Minnie, 5 Franco Van der Merwe (captain), 4 George Earle, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Ross Geldenhuys, 18 David Bulbring, 19 Ronaldo Bothma, 20 Chris Jonck, 21 Carlos Spencer, 22 Marius Delport.

S
H
A
R
K
S
Gee KSA going for a 4th silver star are we
eeeeaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh 😉
Okay.. I’ve finally arrived and its 15 minutes before kick off..
under 19s lost, but under 21s thrashed the Lions. Mtembu scored 3 tries!
Province whipped Griquas hey?! Like 50 – 3 or something?
Pumas 30 – 45 Cheetahs
And the dancers are out.. hehe 😆
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 10) : yup.
turns out I was right about the under 21 team. Theisinger DID play 8. Not sure where the official site got the name of Bursey from.
And Lambie’s arms look fine.. just by the way..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 15) : ❓ ❓
Quite chilly here..
Wind is rather gusty..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 16) : You obviously didn’t se the comments midweek about someone’s mate seeing Lambie with arms that looked a bit swollen
Ryan Kankowski injured his calf and won’t be starting the game..
well is their any body that is going to get a BP or MP gee looks like we are only going to get 1 point on SB 😆
Oh looking at the tele missing durbs the sea looks great
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 18) : nope missed those. 🙂
Alberts moves to 8 with Deysel coming into the flanker jersey..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 19) : 😳
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 19) : we are going to miss him 🙁
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 22) :
would love to see the pack weight difference with those two in there.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 18) : that was WPW was it nt or Clayton
Alberts – 119kg
Deysel – 112kg
bugger. Kanko out
Andy capastagnio “the lead was changing with gay abandon in the Bulls match” ❓ ❓ ❓ ❓
it only changed once when the Bulls overtook the Leopards and they didn’t relinquish it again.
Have a bottle of bladen did he?
oh me can’t wait
who won the tickets 😕 ❓
Dumond comes in
Why is Kanko not playing?
Dumond in for Kanowski on the bench, so we’ll never know if kockott CAN play Flyhalf. 🙁
Dumond onto the Bench now..
@Jarson (Comment 32) :
[email protected]Richard Ferguson (Comment 19) :
😛
@Jarson (Comment 32) : Did his calf in training ..
Deysel making an immediate impact..
and the game is on
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOO SHARKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Good break by Burden, just culd not find Mvovo outside him..
I love Jean Deysel!
Deysel looks like he injured himself.. staying down..
hear beeeeeeeaaaaaaasssssssttttttttttttttttttt
@robdylan (Comment 40) : 😯 😉
They calling for the golf cart to take off Deysel..
Botes coming on for Deysel after just 3 minutes..
and I jinxed him
Lambie going for goal.. penalty..
Sharks 3 0 Lions
4 minutes
FOOOOOK 2 loosies lost in less than 5min
Botes gets his century
that’s not the start we want… losing Kanko and Deysel
Elton Jantjes going for goal..
Sharks 3 – 3 Lions
6 minutes
Elton jantjies PK
Sharks 3 – 3 Lions
7min
No loosies left on the bench.
No problem now but in the last 20……
Lost the ball on the attack, 5m out from the try line..
Forwards looking strong and the Lions not able to bring them down..
come on sharks we should of had a try bu nowwwwwwww 🙁
Tackles made
Lions 26
Sharks 3
10min
need a glass of wine 👿
Buys dioing a repeat of last weeks treatment of Jaco Engels by scrumming after the scrum has collapsed and rubbing the other guy along the grass.
Beast will nail him later.
gooooooooooooo sharksssssssssssssssssssssssss
Sharks showing good intent.. running the ball from our own 22m on the counter..
JPP and Ludik run out in the corner.. good play..
Dinner time for me.
please keep the commatary going for the guys who don’t have TV
Very close to getting over there with the long lineout throwin..
Held up
5m Shark scrum
oh lay oh lay eeeeeaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh its a Sharks World out here
@KSA Shark © (Comment 60) : That’s why Im here.. 😆
@KSA Shark © (Comment 60) : 😉
lambieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
LAMBIE!!!!!
PAT YOU LEGEND!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 63) : 😳 😉
Lambie Try!!!
quick tap from the scrum..
played the line and took the gap brilliantly..
Conversion missed
Sharks 8 – 3 Lions
15 minutes
Lambie 8, Lions 3
Lions try!!
Bad mistake by Oupa!
score oh my stop him 👿
ugh.
Van Rensburg scores after a nothing kick from Oom Stef..
Sharks 8 – 10 Lions
28 minutes
i think they must stop giving the snoils beer at ST 😆
Rob…did under 21’s win?
sharksssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
come onnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
😕
lions penalty for a high tackle..
Andries Strauss the wrongdoer
Damn but Stefan is a carthorse!!
oh crap… don’t like the way this one has turned
Jantjes converts
Sharks 8 – 13 Lions
21 minutes
@Villie (Comment 77) : yep and by far 😆
Jantjies’ kick is good!!
This laaitie has potential nuh!! 😎
@wpw (Comment 80) : its time he goes on pension 🙂
Good attacking play from the sharks.
Scrum 5m out..
@wpw (Comment 84) : Yep…we have the players in SA..but sadly we don’t have the brains. If we did, we would be so far ahead of NZ it would be scary!
@Villie (Comment 77) : yes. They stuffed them. Mtembu scored 3
They gonna moer each other in the front rows just now!!
@Villie (Comment 87) : 49-25 final
Sharks penalty..
Lambie should take the three points..
And Stef decidec correctly..
eeee get away snoils in front of the try line we want to score dam it
Lambie scores
Sharks 11 – 13 Lions
25 minutes
shit onlt had a look now 13 to lions / sharks 11 👿
So lambie has scored 3 tries in less than 30min of Rugby. 😎
we the hell is reniek going to gv her hell when i c her we need all the sharks to pull through this one 🙁
Alberts gaining a hell of a lot of meters on attack..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 95) : Good observation..
Botes try!!
eash this is a great game
go sharkssssssssssss gooooooooooooooooooootry going tmo sharkssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
The centurion SCORES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
TMO confirms the try..
Lambie converts
Sharks 18 – 13 Lions
29 minutes
@KSA Shark © (Comment 95) : i think u had ur supper very quickly my friend
welcome back 
Lambie is a legend at flyhalf.. what a pass!!
Tackles made
Lions 64
Sharks 8
30min
got sharks by 17 hope i’m right
@chaz (Comment 103) :
Light dinner, popcorn chicken and mash
@chaz (Comment 106) :
not enough. 🙄
@KSA Shark © (Comment 107) : 🙂 pop corn must be for the tele pudding 😉
Sharks want to counter from their own 22m and manage to run it out, but then concede to a forward paa..
Enterprising stuff
@KSA Shark © (Comment 108) : oh well can anybody change it please
eeeeee 😳
but well any thing can happen
Strauss annihalated Jantjes!!
Is see Buys he who scrums on the ground has been injured and had to leave. 😛
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 112) : Spelling???
GO SHARKS !!!
😳 poor Murray 15m from the line and he knocks on. 😳
Jantjes looks very sore..
that nt a pitty please we want to win this one commator pleas now
I don’t like the way the Lions are loking with ball in hand. We’re missing tackles
This Ref is good
i wouldn’t mind one of those camera’s and then just on ST field eee me get a lot of points 😳
@robdylan (Comment 119) : They are running very good lines.. Hope the Sharks keep making those first time tackles..
@Charlie (Comment 120) :
Good bloke, met him at the Dubai 7s this year, NAUGHTY shit.
@Charlie (Comment 120) : hey adi when are u playing sick leave is over my friend don’t make it longer than it should be
Lions penalty 5m out..
They opt for the 3 points
Doppies looks gevaarlik !
Jason jafta even with his hand outstretched indicating a penalty he can’t be seen above the players. 😆
Jantjes converts
Sharks 18 – 16 Lions
39 minutes
@ Chaz, 4th September 😉
And thats HALF TIME
Sharks 18 – 16 Lions
@Charlie (Comment 129) : 😎
hmmmm…. let’s hope bismarck has a big second half 🙂
our missed tackles stat is appalling…
@robdylan (Comment 132) :
At Flank. 😛
@Charlie (Comment 120) : and looks young 2
I just watched the replay of the silly kick by Oupa – he should know better after so many games…
@KSA Shark © (Comment 134) : funny, that’s what I was thinking too
@robdylan (Comment 133) : almost 50 %??
@Charlie (Comment 129) : hope u been doing ur home work we want this CC asap
@lostfish (Comment 136) : he’s the weak link in that side, sorry to say.
Hargreaves should be skipper
@lostfish (Comment 138) : well, yes… we’ve missed about 50% as many as we’ve made. Means we’ve missed about a third of all tackles
No changes at half time..
And we have Lambie kicking off..
Hey Mike is on TV sitting behind Plumtree. 🙂
@robdylan (Comment 141) : rather a worrying statistic.
Sharks penalty..
Lambie going for goal..
Nails it
Sharks 21 – 16 Lions
41 minutes
Lambie missed an important tackle there..
Ludik should spend less time appealing for a the whistle and more time playing the game.
Alberts high tackle..
Almost took the kid’s head off!!
Alberts going to walk for that.
Alberts likely to get a yellow for that tackle..
Just a warning.. lucky. very lucky!!
head on tackle that was by sharks
Jantjes gets to go for goal though
Sharks 21 – 19 Lions
45 minutes
@KSA Shark © (Comment 149) :
very lucky IMO
Brosniwhine says there was nothing wrong with that, maybe in wrestling where a clothesline is a recognised move.
Mvovo try!!!
Mvovo TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
MVOVOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO TRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
Lwazi you biscuit!
Commentators curse.
They were just blowing smoke up jantjies’ bum and then he does that.
Intercept try.. great stuff Sharks
Lambie converts from in front
Sharks 28 – 19 Lions
47 minutes
Alberts is a brick wall!!
I like to Mvovo move it.
Sharks take the Lions line out..
Good to see them competing
Bezuidenhout throws straight to Sykes on their LO??????????????
Not moaning, just an observation. 😉
@lostfish (Comment 161) : 😛
Nobody on the bench warming up yet.. interesting..
McLeod having an average game tonight.
Margin point 9
i need 8 more points
Our tries scored on
15min
30min
47min
We gotta wait another 11/12 min for the next one.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 165) :
no loosies TO warm up 🙁
@robdylan (Comment 166) : Have to agree Rob.. not looking too flash tonight?!
Hope Alberts stays injury free…
Burden intercept try!!!
BONUS POINT
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 165) :
Capastagnio must be reading SW he just said the same thing.
oh lay oh lay oh lay oh lay gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
burden tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
Looks like a intercept try fest !
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 172) :
who would have thought Vermaak would ever be nailed for holding onto the ball too long before passing
Lambie converts
Sharks 35 – 17 Lions
53 minutes
heartbreak for the Lions. They don’t deserve to get smacked tonight.
20 points by Lambie so far tonight..
I cannot believe Willem Alberts concedes a penalty for a killer tackle… What big boys can’t take on little ones? Pathetic…
Chuffed Beast stuffed up his opposite number, perhaps those cheeky words were his own demise…
Talking of demise I cannot believe Kanko AND Deysel, one huge crashball, then hurts his wrist, and then his knee and or ankle, that really sucked, but right now we are making a game of it, Mvovo and now Burden!
Sharks 35 – 19 Lions
55min
RAHUL.
Don’t give anyone kak in Jhb tonight, they may want to moer you. 😆
shit stop the game fT is going over its time
eeeeee
chaz needs 1 point and me spot on
Bismarck warming up on the sidelines now..
@robdylan (Comment 178) : They deserve to vanish… Go SHARKS!!!
@robdylan (Comment 178) :
wanna bet!!!!!!!
Lambie showed some good pace there to get back to that ball..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 181) : eeeeee oh my 😆
great cover by lambie there.
When Daniel ran from inside our goal area i wanted to moer him. He actually did damn well.
Oh man.. What rugby from the Sharks..
go sharks get the points the hell with the SB 😳 its sharks time
eeeeaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Who’s the backline coach, great work 😈
Bissie comes on for Burden..
BISMARCK!!!!!!!!!!
Bismarck on for Burden
Alberts huge on defence!
welcome Bismarck. But Burden was superb
The Sharks really are on fire tonight..
A few silly errors here and there.. but really a joy to watch.
Bismarck cleaning a bit vigorously at the Ruck.
PLEASE be careful dude.
Van Staden warming up now on the sidelines.. who will he replace?
Eugene Van Staden warming up… Big boy.
Skeate also getting ready now..
Seems we are going to see a few replacements here..
Tendai HUGE in the scrum…
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 200) :
After that PK i’d say Beast
Keegan Daniel what a player!!! Really a joy to watch!
@Charlie (Comment 192) : eish and u are a shark playing 🙄
@robdylan (Comment 140) : I agree with that. Time to put him out to pasture. Let one of the young guys get some experience.
This little Ref is totally in charge !
Mvovo a legend and Jantjies a chop!
The Jackal is on…
Mvovo should get a Bok callup, you know…
@DarkDestroyer (Comment 205) :
DAMN RIGHT
Well played Jantjies…
And the Jackal concedes a penalty…
Oom Stef misses touch from a penalty.. disappointing!!
Spencer gets a nice welcome by first being PKd by the ref and then getting a klap to the back of the head by one of the Sharks. 😆
Alberts picking up a Lions and walking with him!!!
Alberts!!!! POWER!!!!
Alberts what a tackle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
more a carry than a tackle but great nonetheless.
Skeate on for Sykes as Lambie takes the penalty
38 – 19… Skeate is on…
over lambieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
eeeaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh
Lambie converts
Sharks 38 – 19 Lions
65 minutes
good call
PK right in front for the Sharks and going for the 3 points.
We have the BP so lets just get the points on the board.
Over by Lambie, outscoring his age yet again.
Sharks 38 – 19 Lions
66min
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 220) : Why such a bad turnout at the stadium, really sucks!
Rocket comes on for McLeod
aaahhh my feed has died on me.
Rocket must make an impact!
@DarkDestroyer (Comment 225) : No idea.. Its not that cold.. and there is nothing else on in town..
Attendance about 22000 or so.. will confirm figure after game..
Swannie on for Strauss
Kockott on for Mc Cleod.
Capistagnio disagrees with Rob
Cap: “I don’t think I’ve seen mcLeod play a better game”
Brosniwhine of course agrees.
SWANNIE PASSED THE BALL!!!!
Rocket should really be told to pass that thing called a ball..
What has happened to the Sharks?? They’re not boring anymore. 😕
Beast just short!!!
Lambie to goal for goal..
increasing the points difference i suspect..
PK 5m out and we go for posts again
good call.
man, but the Lions are making us bleed for every point!
Lambie scores his 26th point..
Sharks 41 – 19 Lions
70 minutes
@DarkDestroyer (Comment 231) : I know! Amazing… has he lost weight?
Lambie scoring WELL beyond his years. 😀 (26 so far)
Sharks 41 – 19 Lions
70min
Mvovo express scores again!!!
MVOVO TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (FIVE)
HE IS A SPRINGBOK!!! LWAZI SHAYA MVOVO!!!!
mvovo tryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
How fitting is it that the missed tackle on him was by Waylon Murray?
Swannie looking superb!
Lambie converts
Sharks 48 – 19 Lions
73 minutes
Dumond on for Lambie
Conversion by Lambie over (28)
Sharks 48 – 19 Lions
74min
@DarkDestroyer (Comment 243) : him and lambie a legend
sharks!!! Can only shout that here… Not out loud…
ACrlos mouths off at jason Jafta after the kick didn’t go 10m Jafta replies “That is your view not mine” 😆 😆
Plumtree is not smiling because he lost Deysel for the rest of the season you commentator chops…
9 out of 10 at goal for Lambie tonight
28 points..
margin point 29 😳
@Rahul (Comment 251) :
hehehehehehe sneak home tonight and cover the Sharks sticker on your car. 😆
Lambie off
Dumond on
@robdylan (Comment 246) : The time off the park was the perfect tonic!
@DarkDestroyer (Comment 253) : rest of the season? 😯
@Rahul (Comment 251) : u better call on the sharks supporters in where u are
😉
Daniel, Botes and Alberts have gone above and beyond the call of duty tonight playing so well for 80minutes without having the option to be subbed off.
Wilem Alberts Man of the Match
Brosniwhine you plonker it is pronounced Jonck as in “Yonck” Not as in “Johnck” 😕
83min on the clock and the Sharks still attacking
Over in the corner TMO
Sharks 48 – 19 Lions
Try saving tackle by Murray 🙁
No try
Sharks 48 – 19 Lions
Over and Out from the Tank..
well done sharks well done
good result, hey? Man, I was worried at half time!
Alberts jou yster
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 268) : thanks rich
Sharks are gonna get MAMBAD when the bok side is announced
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 268) :
Enjoy a beer and have a good look at the interaction between Plumtree and Mitchell.
Plum gets to keep the trophy. 😆
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 262) : good call… Lambie must have come close. My MVP was Alistair Hargreaves. He was everywhere.
@robdylan (Comment 273) :
NOPE I don’t think so. maybe end of season but not for the Tri nations.
i’ll be PISSED if he calls up Lambie.
geez, could Alberts be a surprise Bok pick? On today’s performance, he’s head and shoulders above Spies…
@robdylan (Comment 277) :
Spies has video of Pdv doing something. 😕 or Else Kankowski would have been ahead of Spies ages ago.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 276) : definitely for the EOYT but not for 3nations.
Wie’s Spies ?
ok… I’ve got new running shoes. Let’s see how my knees like them.
Later guys
@robdylan (Comment 281) : Stretch your ITB’s…
@robdylan (Comment 273) : I think the Bok Squad won’t be too different from the initial squad, with only the players like Juan De Jongh and Aplon becoming more regular. Bismarck and JPP will be gone, but I think Mvovo and co will remain Sharks (Alberts too) – obviously Kanko, but he has just picked up an injury, hopefully not serious, but I fear for the worst with Deysel…
@lostfish (Comment 282) : will do
@DarkDestroyer (Comment 283) : I fear Wolla may have broken his ankle
@robdylan (Comment 284) : That really sucks! I hope he comes back a better player (if that were ever possible) – that really sucks.
@robdylan (Comment 275) : and must say a great player to
@robdylan (Comment 281) : this time of the night or what time is it over there 🙄
can we hv a update of the FL and lms please 😕
has anybody got the Cheetahs game update please ❓ 😉
ok got it cheetahs 45 pumas 30
and that gives me 4 /4
Deysel could be out for up to 6 or 8 weeks..
LOTS of GSPs on SB this week, not gonna be so easy next week
Lions v Cheetahs
WP v Blue Bulls.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 291) : Hey Rich, is that the official feedback your are getting mate?
The Sharks squad is looking good, the players all want to give their best and the players are gelling, and believing… I feel for the men who picked up injuries today and hopefully they recover speedily… Great game of rugby, but to lose Deysel is damaging to the campaign, but good to see Alberts in great form.
Good night all, it is Saturday and there be beers wanting my attention…
Man! What a game 😛 I was getting ready to sulk at halftime. Excellent defence by the Lions in the 1st 40. Its a shame about Deysel, but Alberts, Daniel and Botes were awesome!
I got 5 starting xv tries and my capo scored the bp try 😛
Well done Sharks, well done! 😀
It was an amazing game!!
The best experience at the Tank so far this season.. We dominated them, played to a game plan that actually worked, and we stuck to it..
The sharks wanted to keep ball in hand and not give the Lions any possession. It didn’t work that well in the firsy half, but we sure as hell tired them them out in the first and it paid off in the second..
WOW!!! What an awesome game, super stoked I came down for it. Well played Sharkies!!!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 291) : That stinks!!