The Sharks travel to that Phokeng place up North to take on the Leopards.
The Sharks have lost a few of the regained Springboks and the ones who have been released for the weekend are playing off the bench due to limited time with the team during the week.
The Leopards’ scrumhalf Michael Bondesio, will no doubt be a thorn in the side of Rory Kockott. At the time of writing Bondesio is still not a confirmed starter due to injury.
Lwazi Mvovo has been in great for this season and it should be interesting to see how effective he can be against a smaller union.
Try frenzy anyone?
Venue: Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Phokeng (formerly Rustenburg)
Kick-off: 19.10
Ref: Jaco Peyper
ARs: François Groenewald, Christie du Preez
TMO: Gerrie Coetzee
Leopards: 15 Danie Dames, 14 Deon Scholtz, 13 Jovan Bowles, 12 Walter Venter, 11 Dumisani Matyeshana, 10 Neill Jacobs, 9 Michael Bondesio, 8 Riaan Swanepoel, 7 Wilhelm Koch (captain), 6 Christo van Niekerk, 5 Rynard Landman, 4 Anthonie Gronum/Brad Mockford, 3 Barend van der Walt, 2 Marthinus van der Westhuizen, 1 BG Uys.
Replacements: 16 Gavin Williamson, 17 Johan Coetzee, 18 Edrich Linde, 19 RW Kember, 20 Jean Tiedt, 21 Clayton Durand, 22 Jan van Zyl.
Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanché (captain), 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Rory Kockott, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Keegan Daniel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Ross Skeate, 3 Eugene van Staden, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Patric Cilliers.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Steven Sykes, 19 Michael Rhodes, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Monty Dumond, 22 Riaan Swanepoel.

Lets go sharks! Lets get the 5 points and return without any injuries.
Looking forward to see Alberts run at them..
DOMINATE them boys..
We should be able to open up a very good margin here tonight.
Rustenburg is now Phokeng?? I can’t bloody keep up!! 🙄 🙄
I can’t wait for the game. I’m just bummed that Plum didn’t use the game to introduce one or two younger players. I wouldve picked Lindeque at 13 and shifted Oupa to the wing. At least on wing he won’t try his useless grubber all the time
hey hey hey… under 19s should be on already. Anyone there? 🙂
@robdylan (Comment 6) :
u/21s are on TV at 17:00 SA time hopefull we will have someone with a TV if not at least at the game 😛
GO SHARKS !!!
@Charlie (Comment 8) :
yeah>>>>>>>>>>>>>
GO SHARKS!!!!
Does ne1 no when adi jacobs will b back from injury? we could use him.
@RuckingFun (Comment 10) :
8 September I think, but you could just ask him yourself. @Charlie (Comment 8) :
@KSA Shark © (Comment 11) :
Sorry. Just rechecked. 4 September.
@RuckingFun (Comment 10) : @KSA Shark © (Comment 11) : Adi has been gone so long I think someone wrote a song for him!
Something along the lines of : ” Adi come back”
Was that Big Mountain or maybe Charles an Eddy . . . 🙄
Swanepoel must have bulked up even more if he can run out at no 8 for the Leopards . . .
At least he has lots of experience attacking the first and second channel . . .
@Original Pierre (Comment 14) : so clever – once he is substituted by Leopards he may come off sharks bench
@KSA Shark © (Comment 12) : you sure – wednesdays are much better for coming back from injury – you can even do some training before the game
@KSA Shark © (Comment 7) : ya the Rustenberg games seems to be on tv . must be some royal favour 😉
@Original Pierre (Comment 13) :
@rekinek (Go Klose!) (Comment 16) :
From the horse’s mouth 😉
http://www.sharksworld.co.za/2010/08/07/absa-currie-cup-sharks-v-lions-2/
Comment # 129
@Original Pierre (Comment 14) :
Hehehehhehe, never picked up on that.
@klempie (Comment 4) : Any cricket on the go?
Leopard U21 10 – 10 Sharks U21
30 minutes gone
Enterprising play from the Sharks..
Lindeque has a huge step on him.. Playing well!!
Our scrums are dominating..
Penalty to the sharks.. We should be taking the 3 points..
In stead we taking the lineout 5m out
Sharks try!!
Jaco Otto scores in the corner after a driving maul from the lineout!
Cronje converts!!
Sharks 17 – 10
Stats..
60% possession
86 tackles made
8 tackles missed
I cant watch, the missus is watching a movie now 🙁
Half time score
Sharks 17 – 10 Leopards
Kieff – young Jaco scored the second try
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 23) : jeez, if that pack of ours can’t dominate at under 21 level, then I just don’t know 🙂
@Rob
The pack is doing really well. Cooper looks a machine!!
They just kicked off the second half..
Leopards try!!
Number 12..
Conversion over
Scores level 17 all
Mthembu scores under the posts!!
Quick reply!!
Cronje converts
24 – 17 to the Sharks..
Leopards penalty
Sharks 24 – 20 Leopards
50 minutes
Who is the sharks 12? He just got dumped!!!
Missed tackles stat has jumped to 21 in 10 minutes!!!
Go Sharkies!! Be a positive example to the big boys 😀
This Otto guy is exactly in the mould of keegan daniel hey? He has great speed!!
Cooper being used as the crash runner and making yards everytime!!
Cooper is replaced after 50 minutes
Tera!!! You beauty
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 35) : Howard Mnisi
Jenner should be on soon
Bonus point try!!
Jeandre Marais scores after a tap penalty!!
Sharks 31 – 20
Jenner is on now..
60 minutes gone now..
Otto yellow carded!! Shoulder charging into a ruck.. Silly stuff..
Lindeque putting in a huge hit in the midfield.. The boy aint scared!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 42) : Nice! 😀
Scrummie Cronje scores under the posts..
Sharks 38 – 20
70 minutes
Final Score
Sharks 45 – 25 Leopards
I’m going out now.. Over and out..
Go Sharks!!
Exciting game.
Cronje bros put in another SOLID performance. Front row was very good. Lindeque is class, as is Jenner (Halstead with gas). I really like the speed and power of Ojiambo.
Richards is a very hard-working player – all over the park. I fear his size may count against him though. Heart of a lion though.
Jenner can kick? SWEEET!
well done baby sharks!
just watched a few highlights… Mnisi, apart from the impressive hairdo, seemed to have a very useful game
😎 Now for the big guns 😎
@Jarson (Comment 54) : bring it on! Go SHARKS go!
Bondesio will play
When Plum was asked if we can expect a conservative game by the Sharks, he started laughing
Okay this is it. We need a BP and bog amrgin here tonight.
Black & Whites have taken the field
man, but Nkumane is a terrible commentator
@Jarson (Comment 57) : 😈
He is wanring to make sure we have a good PD come semi finals time
Here we go
Bondesio is there.
Needs to be watched closely
Leo 3 – 0 Sha
1min
56sec
Leopards 3 – 0 Sharks
this ref worries me, takes no prisoners
that stadium is EMPTY!!!
@robdylan (Comment 60) : right up there with Chester
Now we get a PK
Lambie going at goal from 40m out
misses to the left, long slow swing.
No worries: Tries needed. Tries tries and more tries
good kick Louis!
Oh nice downfield punt from Ludik
what is up with all the strapping on Lambie’s elbow? Should we be worried?
Sharks jaag [email protected] aan 👿
Mvovo try 😎
Mvovo!!!
LWAZI on fire again
LWAZI……..YES try time 😆
If only it wasnt forward 😈
So who is responsible for our pathetic scrumming?
It’s a bit embarrassing giving away penalties and free kicks to the Leopards at scrum time…
Lambie penalty
3 – 10 Sharks
20mins
This ref is kak. Certainly doesn’t know what’s what in the scrums.Pat is killing their TH.
that should be a card
@Big Fish (Comment 83) : why does he wait 5 seconds before calling “pause”?
Another Penalty
3 – 13 Sharks
22mins
Nice one Lambie, just keep those kicks going over 😎
@Jarson (Comment 86) : @Jarson (Comment 82) : Leopards has 6 not 3 😳
Correct score
Leo 6 – 13 Sha
24mins
Bloody people phone at the most inoppertune times.
And he is a bloody Sharks supporter as well. 👿
Leopards penalty missed
3RD break attempt by Kockott, and time he gives away a penalty… 🙄
I reeeaaallly don’t like this ref: very inconsistent, particularly at scrums and the breakdown.
we need Charl on NOW
@Big Fish (Comment 91) :
tend to agree, not my favourite ref either.
How many more penalties in the red zone will this clown allow?
As expected, ball is going wide too late from 9…
PAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cilliers starting xv try!!
Pat Cilliers is in my starting XV.
Prop tries are worth HEAPS 🙂
Try Cilliers. Just need another two for the bonus 🙂
@robdylan (Comment 92) :
switch at half time, allowing him not to be affected by altitude in the last 10 or so.
Yes!!
Kockett try!!
Conversion was over
Leopards 6 – 20 Sharks
33min
Kockott TRY being refered to the TMO
@Jarson (Comment 101) : Not! Lost forward!
looks like it is lost forward
How can Brosniwhine say it was a tremendous tackle.
NO TRY!
THAT should have been a penalty try.
If not for the high tackle then a try would certainly have been scored.
Unlucky Kockott: not his fault.
Kockott can’t even score a regulation try!
@robdylan (Comment 107) : its shades of Ndungane
Alberts goes over.
being refered “give me a reason why I cannot award the try”
Alberts starting xv try!!
As was Mvovo!
@robdylan (Comment 107) :
Had he been legally tackled he would have scored it. i can’t believe the ref missed that. 👿
Awarded!!!!!!!!!!!!
long slow swing from lambie but this time it curls in and goes over.
Leopards 6 – 27 Sharks
36min
Try nice one Alberts. Took tmo long enough to decide. 🙄
my margin is only 16 😳
I think Kockett is trying to hard. He should relax and just focus on doing things right.
sorry to harp on this, but Rory is killing our momentum at EVERY breakdown
@KSA Shark © (Comment 115) : Cant remember mine, but it wasnt high either 😳
At least the ref is blind both ways, missing a LOT of illegal joining of the ruck
Ludik BP TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Nice one Ludik 😎
Bonus point 😛 Nice try there Ludick.
Ludik’s first comnpetitive try for the Sharks
sweet bonus point before half time.
@Puma (Comment 122) : typo – meant Ludik
Leopards 6 – 32 Sharks
Halftime!
6 – 32 Sharks!
I just saw the replay of the Mvovo try.
Matyeshana’s defence was a little on the poor side.
Seems the Sharks kept the right wing and let the right one leave. 😎
it’s been a bloody good half from the Sharks. Forwards, in particular, have been superb.
@robdylan (Comment 123) :
You call this game competitive? 😛
Anyone have the Griquas’ score? SS cant handle 2 games simultaneously 🙄
@KSA Shark © (Comment 130) :
The Cows made these guys look good last week.
@Jarson (Comment 131) : nope 🙁
@KSA Shark © (Comment 128) : I thought Lwazi was a left wing
@KSA Shark © (Comment 128) : that was Deon Stoltz 😉
Guys should just play well and work on that points difference.
pens conceded
Leopards 8
Sharks 7
Tackles made
Leopards 42
Sharks 21
Tackles missed
Leopards 9
Sharks 6
Possession
Leopards 35%
Sharks 65%
@Jarson (Comment 131) : let me find it one twitter… I think Gri lead 25-20 at half time
@robdylan (Comment 138) : sorry – make that 22-20
@Jarson (Comment 135) :
Oh it was too. 😳 And “I” was the one during the week who made the comment that Matyeshana abd Mvovo wouldn’t be marking each other. 😳
@robdylan (Comment 139) :
A LOT closer than it should be.
@robdylan (Comment 134) :
Hehehehhehehe
@robdylan (Comment 139) : Eish! To close for comfort
@KSA Shark © (Comment 141) : even closer… Pumas have scored. 25-all
@Jarson (Comment 143) :
GO PUMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😈
What the HELL???????? The Leopards #10 stayed down after that???????????
damn – my feed gone
Kockott scores a REGULATION TRY!!!!!!! 😛
Good try Kockott. Sharks just far too good for Leopards. 😛
How the heck did we lose to Griquas? We could have been top of the log had we not.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 145) : 👿 Go Cheetahs 😉
Kiockott converts his own try.
Leopards 6 – 39 Sharks
46min
@Jarson (Comment 150) : 😈
@KSA Shark © (Comment 151) : 😎 Well done Kockett 😛
Rhodes on for Alberts
My SB margin is 13 😳
Score update please?
Beast on! And Bizz!
@Just a Fan (Comment 156) :
no change since the last one
@Jarson (Comment 155) :
seems like you may need to multiply that by 3 🙂
No injuries now need our players fit for next week against those Province boys… 🙂 Got a bit worried when Mvovo went down there.
Dumond seems to be chomping at the bit to get on but being denied.
Thanks KSA
@Jarson (Comment 155) : 😆 Mine is 12 😳
HEY Nkumanes!!!!!!!!!!!!! It is Daniel not Daniels!!!!!!!!!!!
Stefan TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Stefan try!
Oupa Stefan TRY !
Another try. Sharks on giving Leopards a huge hiding here 😎 Hope we can do this to those Province boys .. hehehe. We just need to beat em. 🙂
Kockott converts
Leopards 6 – 46 Sharks
57min
@Puma (Comment 167) : on = are 😳
The 3 biggest margins on SB for this game are:
PsychoTherapy Sharks by 37
Super Champ Sharks by 38
mbaysharks Sharks by 43
All going to be to little at this rate.
That ball went backwards, come on Mr. Ref !
Mvovoooooooooooooooooo foot on the line 😳
At least the ref saw our forward pass. 😳
Subs causing disruptions 🙁
MvoVo you stepper, Fred Astaire !
Leopards go over for agood try but the last pass to Venter was forward
Lions dont know what they have in Walter Venter 🙄
65min
Leopards 6 – 46 Sharks
this ref is kak
Griquas update anyone??
@robdylan (Comment 180) : nodding my head
GREAT tackle by our Riaan Swanepoel!!!!!!!!
ANOTHER big hit by Swanepoel!!!!!!!!
Stefan TRY (off a forward pass to him) but I’m glad the ref is kak on that call.
Oupa Stef try no2 😎
Swannie is EATING okes on defence! Best I’ve seen him play in a while. 😯
Dumond misses from the touchline
72min
Leopards 6 – 51 Sharks
Daniel knocks on or the Sharks would have had another try. 🙁
Riaan Swanepoel, looking dangerous !
Another try Stefan 😛
Enjoying this but very one sided game. Next week should be a cracker. Wish we still had Deysel for when we play WP.
@Big Fish (Comment 187) : And then a good hand off on attack as well. 😎
Does Stefan get extra FL points for being the oldest try scorer 💡
@KSA Shark © (Comment 185) : 😆
@Puma (Comment 191) :
Bulls will soften WP up a LITTLE this week for us. But i think WP will win by more than 10 points.
@Charlie (Comment 175) : 😀
The best scrummaging lock in SA’s little brother comes on for the Leopards.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 195) : Yeah, I have Province to win by 7. Could be more. If Bulls could win that would be great. 😛 We would top the log. Don’t see it happen though not without their Boks.
45 point margin 😎
Bismarck Penalized after ARs report fo pushing a player in the face after getting up. 😕
Bismarck is an ass! 👿
Bismarck penalized again.
Leopards 6 – 51 Sharks
good win Sharks. No alarms and no surprises, just good rugby. I have a good feeling about next weekend
Well done Sharks! Now do the same to WP.
you doing the logs, oubaas?
@robdylan (Comment 204) :
Especially considering WP will be without their boks.
Well done Sharks. 5 points in the bag and a nice work out. Now for Province next week. That should be a cracker.
Cheers everyone.
@robdylan (Comment 206) :
done.
Keegan Daniel MOTM 😎
Keegan is MOTM 😎
MOTM is Keegs. Another great performance
anyone know how far Griquas lost by? 😈
@KSA Shark © (Comment 207) : the way Pat Cilliers stood up tonight gave me a lot of confidence heading into that game. Skeate was outstanding too.
Fulltime
Griquas 58 – 25 Pumas 😎
Griquas 58 – 25 Pumas
@robdylan (Comment 214) : I agree 🙂
2 from 2 on SB for me, but tomorrow are the games for which the results are not foregone conclusions.
I’m goin from bad to worse with picking margins 😥 Maybe I should aim for the last spot 🙁
@KSA Shark © (Comment 218) : WP and Cheetahs to win 😉
Goodnight all, enjoy 🙂
@Jarson (Comment 220) :
WP and Lions!!!!!!!!!!!
New pic uploaded 😡 😐 😮
Really incredible to have watched the U/21 game prior to the senior romp – I am chuffed that the guys played a good game and came out completely hassle free. Lindique impressed for the Young Sharks and the Cronje twins are each a prodigy, their handling of and reading of the game was incredible. Senior boys, fantastic game… Everybody played really well, Skeate played a full game which would’ve given him confidence, Michael Rhodes looked good and hungry, same for Swannie, really impressed, really chuffed, the guys seem to be enjoying their rugby and I think Plum is really coming to the fore, great coach – well played for the loyalty, I have a good feeling for this tournament. Lwazi is phenomenal – has to be EOYT Bok player… Alberts impressed – I’ll shut up – great performance guys!
… Awesome watching the French Top 14, only just heard that IRB have sanctioned 8 subs on the bench, that is a great leap forward for rugby… Player 23 is no longer a Vodacom irritation, HE IS A PLAYER… (thumbs up)
Well done Sharks but we’re still gonna beat you next weekend!! 😈
@Jarson (Comment 222) : approved.
@wpw (Comment 225) : In your dreams maybe.
eish what a game well done guys
i was hopeing to win some tickets but none and that was the first chance to c our Sharks in action 🙄 😉
@robdylan (Comment 6) : they were great
and what a win i think if i’m correct it was also in the 48 sth like that and the points 2 date wow and moved up to 2nd place or was that u21 😳
@Jarson (Comment 222) : great pic even the Sharks of the sea is open mouth so they can swallow all the rugby teams and we take over the CC
@wpw (Comment 225) : in yr dreams 👿 we are going to eat the team alive even
Jarson pic is waiting with open mouths 🙂 😉
Well what happened at the scrums Pat can’t even get the scrum right 👿 we lost how many scrums shit they hv to work a lot on the scrums,
and Bismark i can’t even think he is a dame SB for crying out aloud and BEAST of all the moves nearly cost us what was he thinking 👿
And that tackle on Lambie shit he could of got hurt 👿
And that ref it look s times he was for the other team 😳
But a win is a win and my it was good