De Bruin Rings the Changes

Written by Iza Loubser (Ice)

Posted in :Currie Cup, In the news, Sharks on 27 Aug 2010 at 12:57

Coach Swys de Bruin has made a number of changes for The Sharks Under 21 match against Boland (in Boland) this afternoon, allowing squad rotation to give tired bodies a well-deserved break while providing valuable game time to others in the squad.

A 106-3 drubbing of the Bolanders in the opening match of the first round will hopefully be backed up with another comprehensive display of attacking rugby for the team in second place on the Absa Currie Cup log.

Just a point behind the first-placed Blue Bulls, The Sharks Under 21s have a game in hand and the opportunity to follow the senior team in rising to the top of the log – The Blue Bulls Under 21s have a bye this weekend.

The entire backline has been changed for this match after last week’s 41-14 defeat of the previously unbeaten Province side, Gouws Prinsloo in for Wynand Pienaar at fullback, Quinton Dormehl for Mark Richards on one wing and Sbura Sithole replacing Rosco Speckman on the other.

In the midfield, Arno van Zyl takes over from Piet Lindeque while Howard Mnisi is back in the starting line-up, replacing Dwayne Jenner.

Cobus Reinach and Willie du Plessis form the halfback pairing, completing the backline changes.

Amongst the forwards Cameron Dunlop shifts from flank to eighthman while Adriaan Theisinger is back in the side. Meyer Swanepoel captains the side from lock with a strong front row featuring Julian Redelinghuys, Kyle Cooper and Dexter Fahey.

The Sharks Under 21s

15. Gouws Prinsloo
14. Quinton Dormehl
13. Arno Van Zyl
12. Howard Mnisi
11. Sbura Sithole
10. Willie du Plessis
9. Cobus Reinach
8. Cameron Dunlop
7. Adriaan Theisinger
6. Jaco Otto
5. Meyer Swanepoel (Capt)
4. Peet Marais
3. Julian Redelinghuys
2. Kyle Cooper
1. Dexter Fahey

16. Monde Hadebe
17. Dale Chadwick
18. Roy Godfrey
19. Kene Okafor
20. Ross Cronje
21. De Wet Bergh
22. Daniel Ojiambo

Courtesey from


  • Would like to have seen Dan Ojiambo get a start… Interesting ‘B’ side..

  • Comment 1, posted at 27.08.10 13:06:26 by Oubaas2009 Reply
  • Boland looking forward to another long afternoon . . . 😈

  • Comment 2, posted at 27.08.10 13:20:23 by Original Log Leader Reply
    Original Pierre
  • so Dan is a back this week?

    And to think that Frans and Ruan complained!

  • Comment 3, posted at 27.08.10 13:26:24 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • @robdylan (Comment 3) : 😆 Didn’t even think of that!

  • Comment 4, posted at 27.08.10 13:31:35 by Oubaas2009 Reply

  • Give Dan the Man a start! 🙁

  • Comment 5, posted at 27.08.10 13:43:53 by Big Fish Reply
    Big Fish
  • Our main team is top, our u21s should b top wen the amount of games equalls out. Why are our u19s struggling so much? I no lindeque’s gone up, hav any others?

  • Comment 6, posted at 27.08.10 14:04:12 by RuckingFun Reply

  • @RuckingFun (Comment 6) : I’m struggling to put my finger on why the under 19s are struggling. Can only think that the forwards aren’t up to scratch.

  • Comment 7, posted at 27.08.10 14:31:15 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • I would have thought Sbura Sithole was the 1st choice wing. am surprised that he seems tobe the back-up.

  • Comment 8, posted at 27.08.10 14:47:36 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 8) :

    Ja please dont let Megatron see that!

  • Comment 9, posted at 27.08.10 14:51:01 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Ice
  • @Ice (Comment 9) : 😆

  • Comment 10, posted at 27.08.10 14:55:38 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 8) : Mark Richards is the first choice cos he is one away from the being the top try-scorer!

    Sbu has been shuttled back and forth between the under 21s and the Bok 7s camp, so not surprising they’re a bit loath to pick him. He and Tera won’t be available again after next week anyway.

    I rate Sbu ahead of Speckman, anyway. He was sublime for the Baby Boks

  • Comment 11, posted at 27.08.10 15:03:41 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.