Both teams have a point to prove.
The Pumas want to show that their victory over the Blue Bulls was not a fluke and the fact that their only other victories of the season were over the lowly Leopards means nothing. (Is there a company called Lowly? Maybe there is a sponsorship oppertunity here.)
The Sharks want to prove to their coach and fans that their loss to the Blue Bulls last week WAS a fluke and that they do have the killer instinct and can bury a side when the game is in the bag.
Ref: Lourens van der Merwe
ARs: Matt Kemp, Stefan Breytenbach
TMO: Johann Meuwesen
Venue: Puma Stadium, Witbank
Kick-off: 19.10 (17.10 GMT)
Pumas: 15 Johan Jackson, 14 Braam Pretorius, 13 Tiaan Marx/Shaun Venter, 12 Ashwin Scott, 11 Allister Kettledas, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Christo le Roux, 7 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 6 Corné Steenkamp, 5 Marius Coetzer, 4 Andries Kruger, 3 Ashley Buys, 2 Hannes Franklin (Capt.), 1 Ronnie Uys.
Replacements: 16 De-Jay Terblanche, 17 Dawie Steyn, 18 Willem Serfontein, 19 Jaco Bouwer, 20 Ricardo Croy, 21 Siviwe Magaba, 22 Sphiwe Sithole.
The Sharks: 15 Stefan Terblanche (Capt.), 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Andries Strauss, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Eugene van Staden, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Patric Cilliers.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Michael Rhodes, 19 Skholiwe Ndlovu, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Andre Pretorius, 22 Louis Ludik/Luzuko Vulindlu.

Show us what you got.
Cummon Sharks!! Go out guns blazing!
Pumas not playing their main lock hmmm wonder what happened to him…
All things considered Pumas doing well in the CC. good for competition.
@Ice (Comment 2) : we wish !
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 4) :
That one win over the bulls is the ONLY win they have other than beating the Leopards.
Played 9
Lost 6
Won 3
@KSA Shark © (Comment 6) : they gave helluva fright to the Lions and teh Sharks not exactly walked over them in the first round.
just noted something interesting. Riaan Viljoen from the griquas spent some time at the Sharks U/19`s…
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 7) :
True.
I just DON’T rate them at all.
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 7) : Yep,
bulls over pumas in pretoria 38 – 15
pumas over bulls in witbank 22 – 21
21 point turnaround
sharks over pumas in durban 27 – 17
pumas over sharks in witbank by 11 points?
@Greg (Comment 10) :
Maybe if the Witbank Boys come out in full force with their “supped up” Datsun 1400 bakkies. 😛
@VanWilder (Comment 8) : uhh ❓
and it was such a nice Friday so far.
i don’t like this guy.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 11) : Just beware of complacency, sharks’ biggest enemy
@Greg (Comment 13) :
I’m a supporter not a player. 😉
The players will be proving a point to their coach tonight.
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 12) : u dont like me or u dont like riaan viljoen?? 😕 ❓
LMS picks this weekend.
Western Province 37
Sharks 6
Cheetahs 3
Golden Lions 1
No Picks made 3 (all three picks already lost their lifelines so at least 3 deaths this week)
@KSA Shark © (Comment 16) :
3 default deaths
3 Cheetah pick deaths?
We could lose 5 players this week. (2 of the Cheetah pickers have already lost lifelines)
@KSA Shark © (Comment 14) : I have seen complacency in supporters too, CC semi 2009 in durban springs to mind, but yeah, sharks players will be out to prove a point. Pumas in witbank are a tough nut to crack though.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 17) : A surprise win by the leopards could be interesting then!
@Greg (Comment 19) :
You have NO IDEA how that would please me.
I’m ALL about people losing when it comes to LMS. 😛
😆 😆 @KSA Shark © (Comment 20) : It would please me too, not only because of lms, but also just because I am not a big wp fan 😆
@VanWilder (Comment 15) : i’m getting myself into troubles today 🙄
I don’t like Rian Viljoen – of course, you – i like 😛 😉
i read your post as if Viljoen may have sth to do with the Sharks and got unhappy – because i don’t really rate him. and I dislike this smirk of his when he does sth stupid in particular.
now that I read it again it dawned on me that it was in the past 🙄 😳
@KSA Shark © (Comment 20) : i’m sharing this bloodthirst but not when I pick WP 😈
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 22) :
was it beer or Wine with the Calamari? 😛
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 23) :
I also picked WP. 🙁
@KSA Shark © (Comment 24) : pssst …. i think there is a rule about when under influence
😉
if I were an accountant at least I could claim to read what I WANT
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 23) : @KSA Shark © (Comment 25) : GO leopards!!!
@Greg (Comment 27) : go Griquas 😈
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 28) : Doesn’t knock me out of lms 😛
@Greg (Comment 29) : it’s all about causing some unpleasentness 😈 😉
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 30) : 😛
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 30) : Why would you want to do that, I am such a nice person ❓ 😆 😆
All in all I am looking forward to this weekends matches.
I am a little pissed that the WP game isn’t being shown. I’m keen to see Lionel Cronje in action.
jeez… by the time the game starts, we won’t even be able to load this thread any more cos it will have 1000 comments already 🙂
@robdylan (Comment 34) :
😛
kiff to the max… guess who just got Piet Lindeque on BBM 🙂
@robdylan (Comment 36) :
Okay who is Piet Lindeque? Or better yet if he is nobody now. Who will he be in the future? 😛
@KSA SHARK: SA SCHOOLS CENTRE 09
@Greg (Comment 18) : Fans in Durban been complacent all year. WP got 48 000 2 weeks in a row. Sharks getting about a third of that.
@KSA SHARK: jp du plessis was in the academy side,saw some clips of him playing for paul roos last year-gone to aus for 2 year rugbyleague contract..but know that he was also recommend to sharks by gerhard combrinck..kid has great feet,balanced runner..shifts the ball in the sidestep(left to right or vice versa to keep ball away frm tackler and use his handoff).
@Baldrick (Comment 39) :
exact same reason we never have big concert sell outs in Dbn.
Dbn people have a very laxidazical attitude.
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 33) : Isn`t it on live streaming tomorrow?
@Original Pierre In Mourning (Comment 42) :
if it is, it will only be in SA. I’m not. 🙁
okay dinner time for me, BEFORE the game.
back in a bit.
@Greg: yes,their support is awful 🙁
Hey bergshark think he been drafted in by da melbourme rebels, so we mite get 2 c him play
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 41) : honestly think half of kzn has gone 2 cpt, gauteng, or are overseas. Look how many sharks supporters there were at loftus last week
Go Sharks! Hope the guys give us a good show tonight.
@RuckingFun: great news for him,might nt be such great news for sa rugby
@Greg (Comment 32) : just comes out naturally when I’m not watching 😆
@robdylan (Comment 34) : no
@robdylan (Comment 34) : @rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 50) : way ❗
@Baldrick (Comment 39) : you’re right … Kings park is not famous for filling the stadium except knock-outs , not even then 🙄
sometimes it feels to me like there are more sharks supporters in gauteng than in durbs.
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 41) : i would think such attitude would conform with attendance of social events – it’s not work we’re talking about.
@RuckingFun (Comment 46) : when it comes to loftus games I think local supporters clubs take special effort to mobilise the crowd.
And…..Action!
Where are all the Sharks guys and gals??
Hey Nita!! 🙂
@wpw (Comment 56) : Were all being Wp and Stormer supporters for a while (wearing pink)
tonight’s gonna be a good goood good night 😀
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 57) : isn’t the next week the pink week?
Hi wpw 🙂
Why does Plum always look the same? I wonder if he’ll be wearing pink next week?
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 59) :
Yip it is, but I’m going pink a little early.
@Nita (Comment 61) :
Uniform i guess, but you’d think he’d have more than one shirt. 🙁
come on Sharks!
These guys have the crossing time for the CC as 19:55. It is now 20:04 and all i’ve seen so far is UFC and NFL adverts. 😳
@robdylan (Comment 64) :
Is DB with you?
Oh Joy of joys.
not ONE of the commentators is even half decent.
Chester and Owen.
Botes TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1:51
try botes !!!!
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 68) : beat me by 2 seconds grrrrr!! haha
TRY!! Great run CB and even better catch by JB and a nice smile from Lammetjie as he converts.
Converted by Lambie
Pumas 0 – 7 Sharks
3min
Elgar Watts try!!!!!!!!!!
try pumas nooooo!
And all the Sharks dissappear 🙁
Converts his own try
Pumas 7 – 7 Sharks
5min
ironic that Burden made the 1st try and gifted the ball for the 2nd try. 😛
Can someone please tell me why the HELL Burden attacked a gap that WASN’T there?? 🙄
try mvovo!!!
Mvovo TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5:54
MVOVO!!
Vovo’tjie jou doring…try!!!
Mvovo’s pretty slow… 😕
Lambie misses
Pumas 7 – 12 Sharks
7min
@klempie (Comment 83) :
ja who spewed that last week?
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 85) : Not me. But he is!
Possession
Pumas 18% – 82% Sharks
😎
Lambie PK from the 10m line
Pumas 7 – 15 Sharks
11min
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 77) : @KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 80) : now if you could just get your name in pink…
@klempie (Comment 86) :
As I told the last guy who spewed such kak. When you smoke to much dope everything seems slow.
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 85) : I wasn’t being sarcastic dude.
Did you say that fullback chase him down from nowhere in that 2nd try?
@Rahul (Comment 89) :
howzit ou!!!!!!! make any money at pool?
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 90) : See 91.
@klempie (Comment 91) :
I didn’t say anything like that? 😛
It’s obvious Odwa’s not going to get any ball tonight! 😆
Is McLeod breaking to often?
try oddies!!
Ndungane TRY!!!!!!!!!
15:18
@klempie (Comment 95) : I stand corrected, but let’s be honest, he’s had to play out of position for that!!! 😆 😆
@klempie (Comment 95) : spoke too soon dude!!
@klempie (Comment 95) :
Bwhahahahahhaaha that showed you.
Lambie misses
Pumas 7 – 20 Sharks
17min
I’m sorry but I really don’t know how anyone can say Lambie’s a good kicker. Wasn’t that you last week Andre? 🙄
After 18min
Tackles made
Pumas 32
Sharks 3
Tackles misses
Pumas 9 – 22%
Sharks 3 – 50% 😯
burden try!!
Burden BP TRY!!!!!!!!!!
20:02
BUUUUUUUURDEEEEEEEEEEN!!!
BP try in 20 minutes!!!
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Maybe Lambie can convert this one….
@klempie (Comment 103) :
Yes it was me. He is having a shocker with the boot tonight
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 92) : didnt even make it out… Too old:-( bonus point try in 20 minutes:-)
He manages to.
Pumas 7 – 27 Sharks
21 mins
Is CB out to proof a point tonight? He’s on fire!
Lambie converts
Pumas 7 – 27 Sharks
21min
@Rahul (Comment 110) :
You’re not an old balie dude!!!! 😛
How long before they fall asleep and snatch defeat from the stomach of victory?? 😐 😐
Why collapse it when you shoving them backwards?
Lambie’s not a consistent place kicker…
Kankow steals the Pumas LO ball 5m from our line.
@Charlie (Comment 117) : Thank you!!
Nice hands by Strauss to Botes on our line there! 😎
Take the tackle oddwon!
Not able to watch again!!!
Fucking frustrating this Mnet thing!!
World class commentators, i hope supersport have them commentate for the RWC next year? The amount of knowledge they inject into this game is golden
30min
Pumas 7 – 27 Sharks
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 122) :
Is it on RSG?
PK Pumas for Botes not rolling away at the tackle.
Pumas set up LO 10m from our line.
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 125) :
I dunno.. Im visiting at the potential in laws..
Have to try and keep updated on the score..
33min
Tackles made
Pumas 38
Sharks 33
Missed
Pumas 13
Sharks 6
They’ve certainly increased our work rate
@ruggabugga (Comment 100) : let him talk – seems to be working.
This ref is letting us get away with the tackler NOT releasing before he tries to play the ball.
@Charlie (Comment 117) : bring on monty 😈
Good interplay by Pumas forwards and backs…
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 127) : good luck, hey 😉
Pumas LO 5m from our line.
puma’s try
Pumas take the LO and maul us over
TRY!!!!!!
Corne Steenkamp the try scorer
Conversion over
Pumas 14 – 27 Sharks
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 109) : kicking is definatly his archilles!!
@ rekinek, who Percy ?
I see they’ve fallen asleep while I was away noshing on taco’s. 🙄
kak last 20 mins, Sharks
@ruggabugga (Comment 139) :
kicking at GOAL. He is pretty good in general play when required to kick
@klempie (Comment 141) :
They had nobody’s criticism to spur them on.
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 143) : So you admit he’s missing us points then? 😐
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 144) : Useless MOTHERSSS!!! 👿
Will that help?
this big Puma pack is giving us some problems, it seems. Struggling to retain possession.
Need to tighten up and commit some more players to those breakdowns. Can’t play this game without the ball.
@klempie (Comment 145) :
Did you not read my comment #109.
Dude if you want to debate with me you HAVE to stay awake and be on your toes.
😛
@robdylan (Comment 147) :
yeah and in 20minutes when they can’t carry all that fat around anymore we’ll run rings around them.
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 148) : It’s not just tonight though dude. I’ve noticed throughout the tournament.
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 149) : ja… true. Reckon the Sharks are content to let them play themselves out, knowing the tide will turn in the 2nd? Makes sense.
If we can hold these okes for 10 more minutes, they’ll be finished and the try-fest can begin
@Charlie (Comment 140) : dumond – he ‘s been probably the most consistent goal kicker at the sharks over last few years. i know AP took his place on the bench.
@klempie (Comment 141) : i’m discovering wasabi peanuts.
I am loving Sharks rugby again. 😎
@klempie (Comment 150) :
I noticed the same thing ages ago, not just in this tournament. You just aren’t up to speed enough to debate with me. 😉 😛
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 153) : 😯
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 153) : Ballsy!! 😯
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 155) : Then what the hell are you going on about?? The last two weeks you’ve had a go at me for having a go at his kicking!! 🙄
😯 GREAT take from Hargreaves at the front, turns and shoots it to Botes at the back who then mauls.
@klempie (Comment 158) :
Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ❓ I was talking about your debating abilities in my last two comments.
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 156) : @klempie (Comment 157) : yes, my eyes are out of their sockets, pretty much as the icons u both used 😆
@klempie (Comment 158) :
He is only letting us down (and only a little) with his kicks tonight. And ONLY tonight.
@klempie (Comment 157) :
Either that or she’s gonna grow some. 😛
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 160) : You’ve lost it old man. And I’m not referring to your hair…
lambie penalty
Lambies goes 4 from 6 for the night
Pumas 14 – 30 Sharks
49min
fat props doing some mischief
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 162) : KAK!!
where’s the frikking ACCURACY?
@klempie (Comment 164) :
Let’s look at the end of the game and talk about his percentage then. currently 4/6
@robdylan (Comment 169) : in durban ?
😯 How quick was that use it or lose it?????????? The ref hardly finished saying it and his whistle was in his mouth. 😯
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 170) : look at dan carter .. still good 10 despite shocking place kicking of late.
HOW did we lose that ball to the Pumas on their line????????
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 174) :
replay shows the ball going back off our tackled playewr and their tackler while still holding our guy rolling it back with his hand 3 times.
And the ref allows it. 😯
Ronnie Uys using ALL his weight to bring McLeod to ground.
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 175) : its pumas – they need all help they can get 😉
alberts bit quiet tonight
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 177) :
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 178) :
other than that lovely steam roll of his a few minutes ago he HAS had a quite night.
Handling Errors
Pumas 3
Sharks 7 😯
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 180) : i typed it on purpose to kick him into action
61min
Pumas 14 – 30 Sharks
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 181) : only 3 points in the second half 😕
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 182) :
😆 😆 😆 😆
How many flippen reset scrums have we had at this scrum now? 👿
Our structure’s a little bit messy right now…
the sharks must score
Owen “Try Time” Nkumane now Owen “Big defense on him” Nkumane.
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 188) : it gets a bit embarrasing ….
great kick terblanche
@klempie (Comment 189) :
Sharks have fallen asleep again. SO frustrating!!
70 min
Pumas 14 – 30 Sharks
Tackles Made
Pumas 80
Sharks 54
Missed
Pumas 24
Sharks 8
This ref is trying his best and seems like a good sort, but he does make some strange calls…
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 184) : exciting stuff… wake me up when its over
AP and Kockott on
Oh NO! Pretoors is coming on!! I CAN’T think of a worse combination than Kockott/Pretorius1!
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 197) :
oops not yet
Rory on – yey 😛
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 199) : 😕
Mvovo has an absolutely DEADLY step!! Almost as good as Shane Williams!
And the Sharks go to sleep in the 2nd half… 👿
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 201) :
On Now.
AP on for entire 6 min – very dangerous call 😯
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 204) :
@ 74min
what’s the purpose of kockot taking penalty 😕 go for try ❗
75min
PK Sharks 5m from the line and Kockott goes at goal.
Why Kockott and not AP?
MISSED
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 207) : told you so.
Ndlovu and Rhodes on for Alberts and Botes
We’re losing the 2nd half right? 3 points to…?
plenty of knocks or loosing the ball in a tackle by sharks 😕
@klempie (Comment 211) : the sharks – pumas have not scored in second.
First 20 minutes 34 points. The next hour 10 points… 🙁
@klempie (Comment 211) :
Nope
Half Time was Pumas 14 – 27 Sharks
We’ve scored 3 points in the last 3 quarters. PATHETIC!!!
@Rahul (Comment 214) : oh … you woke up early..
@klempie (Comment 216) : let me stress against PUMAS !!!
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 218) : EXACTLY!! 👿
Pumas 14 – 30 Sharks
Kak game Sharks!!
Was like watching paint dry…any way GO SHARKS ! We won !
ugh… that was UGLY.
Cheetahs must be licking their lips after seeing that
in summary :
first twenty looked like the concept of defence is unknown
next 60 – like concept of effective attack unknown
🙄
Margin poin t for me on SB. 😎
@Charlie (Comment 222) : 5 points ❗ somehow…
@KSA Shark © (Comment 9) : ya …..
@KSA Pink Shark © (Comment 225) : i put sharks by 37 😳
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 217) : he he he… Next week the guys will be more motivated… In pink:-)
@rekinek (back to rugby) (Comment 228) : If they hadn’t gone to sleep you would have been on target.
Hey ksa…. When is the draw for s15 done?
@klempie (Comment 230) : i need to take sleeping time into account when I make predictions next week 🙄
@Rahul (Comment 231) :
No idea. But there won’t really be a draw.
SA play only SA, Aus only Aus, etc in RoundI’m waiting for final proof of the schedules to see how we can work the LMS around the new format.