Richard Ferguson

IRB Shortlist Bok-less

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :All Blacks, In the news, Springboks, Wallabies on 18 Dec 2010 at 07:43
Tagged with : ,

The International Rugby Board and the International Rugby Players’ Association on Friday revealed the shortlist for the Try of the Year Award 2010 – a list that encapsulates New Zealand’s dominance and South Africa’s slide this year.

The Springboks, who slipped to third on the IRB rankings and managed just one Tri-Nations win, do not have a single try on the shortlist of 18 top tries.

New Zealand’s men and women players have five tries in the shortlist, with Australia, England and Wales represented three times each.

IRB Player of the Year for 2008 Shane Williams is the only player to have two tries featured in the shortlist (for the second year running).

Three tries are included from Women’s World Cup 2010 – with England’s Danielle Waterman, Australia’s Cobie-Jane Morgan and New Zealand’s Huriana Manuel all touching down.

The global rugby family can now vote online for their favourite try from a shortlist of 18 superb tries – from the Six Nations, Tri-Nations, Women’s World Cup, IRB Pacific Nations Cup, IRB Nations Cup, June and November internationals.

Fans are invited to visit and click on the Try of the Year to view the tries in contention for the coveted award and then vote for their preferred choice.

“The IRPA Try of the Year is a hugely anticipated Award,” said IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset.

“Last year’s competition, which saw a try scored by South Africa’s Fourie du Preez win the Award, attracted over 10,500 votes with the social media community spreading the word,” added Lapasset.

“This year fans have an opportunity to vote for tries scored by players representing seven nations and I am sure the competition will be close.”

IRPA representatives narrowed the field from 230 tries to 18 for the final selection.

The online poll will close on Monday, January 17, and the winner will be announced later that month.

Votes for IRPA Try of the Year should be sent to [email protected]

The shortlist is:
Try number 1: Shane Williams, Wales v France
Try number 2: Ben Foden, France v England
Try number 3: Shane Williams, Wales v Scotland
Try number 4: Dan Carter, New Zealand v Wales
Try number 5: Felipe Contepomi, Argentina v France
Try number 6: Gonzalo Tiesi, Argentina v Scotland
Try number 7: Mils Muliana, Australia v New Zealand
Try number 8: Israel Dagg, New Zealand v South Africa
Try number 9: James O’Connor, South Africa v Australia
Try number 10: Danielle Waterman, England v USA
Try number 11: Cobie-Jane Morgan, Australia v Wales
Try number 12: Huriana Manuel, New Zealand v Australia
Try number 13: Chrysander Botha, Georgia v Namibia
Try number 14: Nikola Matawalu, Fiji v Japan
Try number 15: Juan Jose Imhoff, Argentina A v Italy A
Try number 16: Chris Ashton, England v Australia
Try number 17: James Hook, Wales v South Africa
Try number 18: Adam Ashley-Cooper, New Zealand v Australia

Article courtesy of Rugby365


  • Embarrassing.

  • Comment 1, posted at 18.12.10 13:33:38 by rhineshark Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Spirit of Rugby
  • I reckon the Ashton try will go a long way!

  • Comment 2, posted at 18.12.10 14:26:15 by Richard Ferguson Reply
    Friend of SharksworldCompetition Winner Administrator
    Richard Ferguson
  • eish why 👿

    where are our guys names 😈 😉

  • Comment 3, posted at 21.12.10 17:53:41 by chaz Reply

  • @Richard Ferguson (Comment 2) : must say that star looks great :mrgreen:

  • Comment 4, posted at 21.12.10 17:54:12 by chaz Reply

  • @rhineshark (Comment 1) : u can say that again

  • Comment 5, posted at 21.12.10 17:58:03 by chaz Reply


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.