The Cheetahs have tonight announced their sponsor.
The strongest rumour for the new Cheetah sponsor was Toyota. That was the correct rumour.
A three year deal for the naming rights of the Cheetahs has been agreed between Toyota South Africa and The Cheetahs Company. The deal covers both the Super Rugby and Currie Cup teams from Bloemfontein. The team will be known as the Toyota Cheetahs.
Dr. Johan van Zyl, President and CEO of Toyota SA Motors: “We at Toyota are delighted to expand our involvement in the great game of rugby and proud to be associated with one of the premier regional and provincial teams in the country,”
Toyota South Africa has also been the driving force behind the development of young players in the Western Province through the Toyota Rugby School of Excellence – an association that celebrated its 10th anniversary last year.
“We are very excited with our broadened involvement in South African rugby and look forward to a long and fruitful association with the Cheetahs. We wish them well in their endeavours in the upcoming Super Rugby tournament and hope they will lead the way towards Currie Cup glory,” says Dr. Van Zyl

I wonder how much this will be fore. hopefully more news will be forthcoming shortly.
well done Cheetahs. They should call them the “11th-hour Toyota Bail-out Cheetahs” 😉
@robdylan (Comment 2) : So does this mean we get a talking cheetah in the ads now?
@robdylan (Comment 2) :
After Saturday Toyota will change their slogan to “Everything keeps going through Toyotaaaaaaaa”
@KSA Shark © (Comment 4) : 😆 Wonder if they’ll get recalled halfway through the season!
@SharonvanWyk (Comment 5) :
Hopefully NOT because their accelerators got stuck. 😆
@KSA Shark © (Comment 6) : Dude, they’re cheetahs, remember! All acceleration, no staying power!
Bah bah bah take a bath bath
@Ben (Comment 8) : Good idea… been a long day and my jet bath is a calling, as is the Amarula… TTFN! Tot more, tjommies…
Guess Fanie’s Koeksisters lost the bid. Now the talking dog is gna say ” look at these filthy Cheetahs, selling their players to the Lions and comoplaining when the Springboks are rested, Sieees take a bath”
@Mocho (Comment 10) : hahaha
Weren’t the Pumas sponsored by Toyota last year?
The Barloworld Toyota Hilux Double Cab Best 4 x 4 x far Cheetahs!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 12) :
Each player in the team gets to wear one word on his jersey. 🙂
I can just imagine it, the Sharks bus comes into Kingspark, the crowd screams with anticipation. Then a Hilux bakki with 22 players in it pulls up. . .
Good for them.
@Mocho (Comment 14) : Or a Quantum.
Sorry folks, on the mobile, but its def Toyota, blog.fscheetahs.co.za/2011/02/16/toyota-now-the-driving-force-behind-the-cheetahs-rugby-team/
Del this after posting confirmation
Well, Hilux is the weapon of choice in the mielie fields anyway.
I’m sure they tried to convince the company that manufactures Crocs first.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 4) : You’ve been out of the country for a looooooong time. 😛
I was hoping for Tata. The ridicule factor would have been way up there. Oh well.
@Mocho (Comment 14) : Ja. Driven by an oke with a mullet and matching boep wearing a fetching pair of navy rugby shorts, a 5xl khaki shirt and oranje crocs.
@klempie (Comment 19) : Damn, and I was so certain it was going to be the “Easy Off Bang” Cheetahs this year. Oh well theres no accounting for taste.
So the jersey unveiling want of much use. Though I guess the toyota logo will just be added to the jersey launched. But in which colour will toyota be? Maybe red?
@Ben (Comment 23) : wasn’t of much use.
Maybe this will help the States stay of the bottom of the log, seeing as all cheetahs will be fitted will a new advanced hill descent control 😆
@Morné (Comment 17) : my Article IS confirmation, it was only a case of waiting for the details.
@Ben (Comment 23) :
I’ve added a photo. Can’t see one of an orange jersey anywhere.
Not sure how good the red would look on the orange.
Maybe the orange strip will feature ‘Toyota’ in a white square.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 27) : Thanks KSA, looks pretty shit! 🙂
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 28) :
A square would look KAK!!!!!!! So Yeah that is probably what they’s do. 🙂
No seriously i think it will (SHOULD) be teh same as the white Jersey but with white lettering.
The toyota logo is red and white isn’t it?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 30) : Yeah, you’re right, white lettering sounds good.
Must admit that this was a pleasant way to start a Thursday morning at the office….. with a nice 5min chuckle……
VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!
“We are very excited with our broadened involvement in South African rugby and look forward to a long and fruitful association with the Cheetahs. We wish them well in their endeavours in the upcoming Super Rugby tournament and hope they will lead the way towards Currie Cup glory,” says Dr. Van Zyl
Eish dr van Zyl does not seem to have much faith in his new team as far as Super rugby goes.
@Salmonoid (Comment 34) :
Hehehehehe I remember thinking that when I read it and somehow forget to give him stick about it. 🙂
Cheetahs can pat themselves on the back for not just doing the “stick the logo on” thing as the Stormers and Lions did.