KSA Shark ©

Waratahs team finalised

Written by Andre Bosch (KSA Shark ©)

Posted in :In the news, Super Rugby on 17 Feb 2011 at 06:59
Tagged with : , ,

HSBC Waratahs head coach Chris Hickey has named his match day 22 for the historic Super Rugby season opener against the Melbourne Rebels on Friday.

The Waratahs Rugby Media Unit reports that Wycliff Palu has been excluded from selection and is expected to remain on the sideline for three weeks following further assessment of the hamstring strain he suffered in the Tahs’ 38-22 trial victory over the Western Force last Thursday in Nowra.

Ben Mowen will assume the No.8 role while Dave Dennis will start the match on the side of the scrum.

“With someone like Cliffy you do all you can to get him on the park but it’s clear his injury is one which will require a bit of time on the sidelines,” said Hickey. “It’s a long season and it’s particularly important in a World Cup year that the long-term fitness of all players is considered.

“Benny Mowen played the last five matches of 2010 at No.8 and we played some of our best Rugby in that period so we have no doubts of his ability to play that role.

“Dave Dennis has also had a really good off-season and while he is extremely versatile, blindside flanker is probably his best position and I know he’s keen to put his own stamp on the No.6 jersey.”

The HSBC Waratahs’ other two players on the return from injury will both take their place in the match day squad at AAMI Park on Friday. On the comeback from a six-month elbow injury which ended his 2010 season, Rob Horne came through 40 minutes in last Thursday’s curtain raiser against the Australian Barbarians and will take his place in the starting side. Benn Robinson (calf) will line up on the bench after proving his fitness but failing to appear in either of the Tahs’ two trial matches.

“We couldn’t be happier with Rob’s progress,” said Hickey. “He’s ticked all the boxes throughout his rehab and on Thursday he showed us enough to prove he’s not far off his best again.

“Benn’s also done everything asked of him but given he hasn’t had a hit-out yet and Sekope Kepu has performed really well in the trials we think this is the best line-up to put out on Friday.”

Tom Carter will make his 43rd consecutive Super Rugby appearance and bring up his 50th NSW cap in the match, while Al Baxter will reach 116 NSW caps to move ahead of Matt Burke into third on the all time list behind Phil Waugh and Chris Whitaker.

The team will hold its Captain’s Run in Sydney on Thursday before flying to Melbourne ahead of Friday evening’s match.

15. Kurtley Beale (Randwick)
14. Lachie Turner (Eastwood)
13. Rob Horne (Southern Districts)
12. Tom Carter* (Sydney University)
11. Drew Mitchell (Balmain)
10. Berrick Barnes (Sydney University)
9. Luke Burgess (Sydney University)
8. Ben Mowen (Randwick)
7. Phil Waugh [c] (Sydney University)
6. Dave Dennis (Sydney University)
5. Kane Douglas (Southern Districts)
4. Dean Mumm (Sydney University)
3. Al Baxter^ (Northern Suburbs)
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (Parramatta)
1. Sekope Kepu (Randwick)
16. Damien Fitzpatrick (Eastwood)
17. Benn Robinson (Eastwood)
18. Sitaleki Timani~ (Southern Districts)
19. Chris Alcock (Eastwood)
20. Brendan McKibbin~ (Eastern Suburbs)
21. Daniel Halangahu (Sydney University)
22. Ryan Cross~# (Eastern Suburbs)

* 50th NSW Cap
^ 116th NSW Cap (Phil Waugh 127*, Chris Whitaker 118, Matt Burke 115)
# 50th State/Super Cap (Western Force 49)
~ NSW Debut / NSW Super Rugby Debut


  • Just another team or 2 and I can finalize my FL squad 😎

  • Comment 1, posted at 17.02.11 07:06:09 by Jarson (AddicteD) Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
  • Sharks, Force are the only two outstanding teams.

    I’m doing the Brumbies and Blues now

  • Comment 2, posted at 17.02.11 07:08:13 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.