The Highlanders go down to Cape Town for the second of their South African matches.
The question in my mind is whether there will be a “correction” to the form on display thusfar this season or if the correction occured at the start of the season?
I am afraid the Stormers will have to up their game to beat this Highlanders team.
Ref: Steve Walsh (Australia)
ARs: Jaco Peyper (South Africa), Marc van Zyl (South Africa)
Venue: Newlands – Cape Town
Kick-off: 19:10 RSA time
Stormers: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Danie Poolman, 13 Juan De Jongh, 12 Jean De Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Pieter Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Rynhardt Elstadt, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 CJ van Der Linde.
Replacements: 16 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 17 Frans Malherbe / JC Kritzinger, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Nick Koster, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Gary Van Aswegen, 22 Jaque Fourie.
Highlanders: 15 Ben Smith, 14 James Paterson, 13 Kendrick Lynn, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Siale Piutau, 10 Robbie Robinson, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Nasi Manu, 7 Alando Soakai, 6 Adam Thomson, 5 Josh Bekhuis, 4 Jarrad Hoeata, 3 Chris King, 2 Jason Rutledge, 1 Jamie Mackintosh (captain).
Replacements: 16 Mahonri Schwalger, 17 Bronson Murray, 18 Tom Donnelly, 19 John Hardie, 20 Aaron Smith, 21 Tony Brown, 22 Telusa Veainu.

OUR SB picks
57 Highlanders picks
84 Stormers picks
13 To fast asleep to pick (including Kette 🙂 )
Overall SB picks
Picks for Stormers 46989 (63.74%)
Picks for Highlanders 26545 (36.01%)
Picks for draw 191 (0.26%)
Go Stormers!
It would be best for the Sharks if the Stormers win this, but I have a feeling it isn’t going to happen.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 4) : I have a feeling it is. Just like I had a feeling that today wasn’t going to be a walk in the park game for us, especially with all the “Sharks by 20” predictions flying around.
Stormers by 1 😛
@KSA Shark © (Comment 1) : I hope most of those 57 are above me, if the Stormers lose then I hope they were below me 😈
Brok harris not playing.
CJ Moved to TH and JC Kritzinger starting at LH
Brok out.
CJ tighthead.
Blaauw in I think.
Stormers once again show that they are all about the looks. rollng their shoulders looking like a bunch of pratts in the match lineup previews. 😕
Ohhhhhh Habana shaved. 😯
@KSA Shark © (Comment 10) : Don’t all teams do that? 😈
@McLovin (Comment 12) :
I’ve noticed ONE of the Highlanders doing it but no other teams. But then I haven’t watched that much. 😛
Grant lining up a PK from 1m inside the Landers half.
Over
Stormers 3 – 0 Landers
3:41
Already the good service to the back from Duvenage is evident. Bullet passes with no steps.
I’m fence sitting this one. Always enjoy a Stormers implosion, but I’d also like to get some breathing space at the top of the overall log.
Cowan and Habana having a go at each other off camera.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 18) : Howzit hanging, Oubaas? 😎
Cowan deciding Habana is to small and sommer goes for Elstadt
@klempie (Comment 19) : to the left. 😛
Is it just me, or is Walsh trying to steal the spotlight? 😐
@klempie (Comment 22) : Trying to give some “payback” to his former compatriots?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 23) : P’raps.
Grant slots a PK
Stormers 6 – 0 Landers
12:28
great steal of the looseball by Duvenage and the Stormers get onto the Highlanders 22 only to give away a PK for holding on on the ground.
Aplon dances through about 5 Highlanders but the Stormers get stopped short and gain a PK
Grant going at posts
Morning all ….. is there rugby on this morning ! 😳
Grant slots the PK
Stormers 9 – 0 Highlanders
18min
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 29) : Hey hey Stranger.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 31) : True !
Robinson slots a PK to get the Highlanders on the board
Stormers 9 – 3 Highlanders
21min
Habana passes straight to Bekhuis and the Highlanders go over the line.
being refered to the TMO
Absolutely outstanding from start to finish ! Don’t you think Robinson is class !
No try IMO it looks like JdV got his leg underneath the ball.
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 35) : I thought so last week. so so this week.
Habana needs a kick up the bloody backside. 👿
Go Highlanders!!
no try. Highlanders scrum 5m out
Hands in the scrum should be a red card .
@McLovin (Comment 38) : IMO he was looking at who was going to tackle him instead of thinking of the pass.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 37) :
They’re fit….. long way to go !
Eish,Landers..
Robinson goes 1 from 3 as he hits the upright
Stormers forwards starting to walk
Would be great for other sa teams if weepee lost
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 43) : No I mean Robinson in particular. i think you guys will win this game.
Tackle the weepee!
Awesome steal from Thompson as Haban places the ball at the tackle before there is anyone there leaving it uncovered.
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 46) : Skinstad just echoing your sentiments “Stormers looking out on their feet” and that after only 29min
Still in this ….. big time !
Landers!!!
Robinson PK
Stormers 9 – 6 Highlanders
29min
tempo …..tempo….. tempo
Not watching the game..how elstadt going?
why do they get away with these water breaks
@bergshark (Comment 56) : hardly heard his name other than the off the ball with cowan
Hope Landers can put a big one over the weepee..(Evil)
Duvenage got FLATTENED by one of the BIG Landers
@dewald duvehage: heehaa cowboy!
@bergshark (Comment 56) :
is he on the park ….. like the rst of the stormers looks like he is playing in mud up to his knees
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 57) : later in the game they will make no difference 😉
Why the landers still trailing?? Is this ref cheating them?
Worried ’bout ref.
Bekker and one of the Landers having a FULL go at each other.
Bekker and Hoeata Yellow carded.
So some oke punches the other, only one throwing pucnhes but both get binned? 👿 👿 👿 👿 👿 👿
Wait an off the ball and no Duane Vermeulen involvement? WOW!
Hoeata is one man you don’t want to punch !
@bergshark (Comment 64) : He’s doing his best to keep them in the game.
If yo wanna fight on the rugby field ,then you should look for another sport..maybe mma or boxing?
Grant PK
Stormers 12 – 6 Highlanders
37min
@McLovin (Comment 68) :
Liked to see what he did to bring that reaction….. he’s got to go back on !
@beet (Comment 69) : Duane “I wanna be” Vermeulen was in there but he came from behind (very fitting 😉 ) and only tugged a jersey
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 70) : [email protected]Hertford Highlander (Comment 70) : Hows Treeby? Right up their with Jared Payne as 2 of my most underrated players of the season
Weepee leading 12-6.. C’mon ref,stop being so blatant! 😉
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 29) : Howzit boet. 😎 Good season so far for Sharks and Highlanders alike. 😎
@beet (Comment 76) : …don’t know how he does it !
Stormers 12 – 6 Highlanders
Ref almost cost the Stormers another 3 points. At least one of the touchies has got 20/20 vision.
@beet: when the first games in kzn schools’ rugby season ?
Quite impressed with Poolman. Habana really needs to take a break from ALL rugby for a couple of months to recharge his batteries. His form is so poor and it doesn’t look like he is enjoying rugby anymore.
@McLovin (Comment 81) : 🙄
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 35) : He’s a poor man’s Pat Lambie. 😎
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 74) : You mean grabbing Bekker round the neck when Bekker was doing nothing illegal? And then throwing a volley of punches. He should have received a red card. 😈
@Villie (Comment 83) :
Just make it permanent and put us all out of our misery ! 😆
@KSA Shark © (Comment 75) : I think he’s been sussed out now so he’s not nearly as effective as previously. Needs to vary his game more!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 75) : Hehehe. Gotta say Habana has done a bang up good job filling that huge void left by Januarie.
@McLovin (Comment 68) : BAHAHAHAHA
Suck it up Brokeback Mountaineer! 😈
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 87) : You don’t just lose your class…so I reckon he can regain his form. But a complete break should do him the world of good!
@klempie (Comment 85) :
Gee he kicked well last night at goal….. can’t do anything else unfortunately for him ! 😯
Weepee still leading 🙁 .. 😉
@bergshark (Comment 82) : Season starts tomorrow Bergshark. George Campbell host Kearsney and Hilton are up against Northwood.
Hello all, sorry I’m late.
@klempie (Comment 90) : 😛
@McLovin (Comment 86) :
No after the violent nect lock ! NOT ….On the ground what happened…. ?
Looks like he’s [acking himself on the chair next to Hoeata…. may have to pull a back injury !
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 92) : I’d like to introduce you to Lyndy_in_Mtl. A fellow Highlander fan and Jimmy Cowan groupie. And Canadian to boot. 😛
@Villie (Comment 91) : 😎
Mackintosh (captain) also threw a clear punch at Bekker.
Hope the citing commish is watching with both eyes open.
@Lyndy_in_Mtl (Comment 95) :
Hey Stranger. or should that be “traitor” 😉
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 97) : Can’t strangle another player and you certainly can’t punch a player. Check the laws.
@beet: thanks,sir.any idea on teams to watch out for this season?
@McLovin (Comment 102) : KSA learnt his reffing in SA. Standard fare. 😈
@klempie (Comment 98) : You can also introduce me as your arch frenenmy.
Pen Landers
@Lyndy_in_Mtl (Comment 105) : KSA already did the honours in comment #101. So there! 😛
@KSA Shark © (Comment 101) : Hey KSA! Is klempie misbehaving as per the norm on this site?
More off the ball stuff 😕
Anne vermeulen trying to make up for not being involved earlier.
C’mon Girls.
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 92) : Seems Robbie can’t do anything else OR kick either! 😆 😆
Robinson misses another PK
bring on Brown
Pen to landers..again
@Lyndy_in_Mtl (Comment 108) :
I would say “you are so perceptive” but you don’t need to be perceptive to get that one right. 🙂
@KSA Shark © (Comment 109) : Anne vermeulen. 😆 😆
@klempie (Comment 107) : Deep down KSA likes me… He knows I have stayed away from the Sharks for good reasons. You have never appreciated all that I’ve done for your team. 😉
Bobby jou drol “The highlanders will be attacking about halfway into the Springboks 22” 😆
Pen to weepee now..listening on radio
@McLovin (Comment 102) :
you sound a little rattled ! 😕
This feels a lot like the Cheetahs game last week. :yawn:
@Lyndy_in_Mtl (Comment 115) : Hey it’s not even deep down. I just like you. 😛
Twbc on the field
@KSA Shark © (Comment 116) : Damn I missed that. Haven’t missed the “ball and all” though. 🙄
Down town Tony Brown 😎
Tony brown on the field
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 123) : What a legend. 😎
@KSA Shark © (Comment 120) : WOOO! It’s nice to be liked. 😳
@Lyndy_in_Mtl (Comment 126) :
Radio commentator reckons weepee wanna tire landers in the scrum..
Knock-on by weepee.
@klempie (Comment 125) : 36 😯
29min left ..12-6
line-out to weepee
Pen to weepee
J d jongh tackled without the ball.
PK Stormers
Walsh trying to squint through his inebriation to understand Peyper’s explanation of why his flag was out.
Landers gonna lose this game
Grant slots it.
Stormers 15 – 6 Highlanders
55min
Cowan about to be nailed for rucking
15-6
@KSA Shark © (Comment 139) : There was advantage but he did nothing about it eventually ❓
Weepee wins the ball..pen to stormers .. 🙁
@bergshark (Comment 103) : Too early to say. But Glenwood+College should be the odds on favourites coming in. We have a better side than last yr and DHS’s experienced side will be the dark horses, so the big guns will get a run for their money at least.
C’mon landers!!!!!!!!!!!
Penalty. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWN.
Grant misses
Grant misses his 1st for the evening
Stormers 15 – 6 Highlanders
57min
Ricky january on
Stormers don’t know how to score tries!! 😈 🙄
PK Conceded
60min
Stormers 10
Highlanders 12
5 phases and the Stormers steal the Highlanders ball 7m from the Stormers line.
grant clears.
@beet: thanks .hope we get to see some of the local derbies on fnb classic clashes again.
C’mon landers!
Here we come … have they pulled golden oldie scrums 😯
Landers!
the last few minutes is all Highlanders.
How long will the Stormers be able to defend.
Scrum Highlanders 15m from Stormers line
63min
Dammit. I need to Highlanders to win. 😥
Weepee subs
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 154) : I think they are about to 😕
that’s a disgrace
excellet D by the Stormers
what position does that wee fat guy play that came on !
Weepee to make it 4 in a row vs landers ?
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 160) : More of a disgrace is that the guy who cam on is their Hooker sub but supposedly he can’t play Front row. 😳
Go Stormers 😛
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 162) : Hooker!!!!! 😯 So there are 2 hookers and a prop in the front row but it is uncontested. 👿
Almost intercepted by habana
When was the last time the Stormers scored a try? 😕
Landers shouldve left kade poki in the team
looks hard now 😳
@KSA Shark © (Comment 166) : Ricky is a prop, isn’t he? 😳
PK Stormers.
grant going at posts
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 171) : 😆
@bergshark (Comment 169) : injured 😥
@klempie (Comment 168) : They’ve given up tries for lent.
prefer to progress by 3’s
gran slots it
Stormers 18 – 6 Highlanders
71min
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 174) : ❓ ❓ ❓ They said he was dropped as rotation?
i think he pissed in a hotel pot plant or elevator or something and has been dropped for disciplinary reasons.
I need the H’landers to score a try, now!
Stormers ALL over the Landers.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 176) :
need the bonus point now !
Landers unbeaten run gonna come to an end..
Stormers 118
Highlanders 61
Tackles made
Who’s joining me for the cricket tomorrow? Oubaas?
@klempie (Comment 183) : Work mate.
Highlanders held up over the line.
Goalkicking wins matches..
Landers!! 🙁
Sounds like treeby got 2 big hits in like 1 min
Game over!
Stormers 18 – 6 Highlanders
Good defence Stormers …good win …all the best for the rest of the season ! 😉
@hertford: sorry bout that..goalkicking..
That was uber crap. Bulls are gonna eat the Mountaineers for breakfast after all the tackles they had to put in this week.
I like updating the log for Stormers games. I don’t have to keep count of the tries.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 194) : HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 191) : Sorry mate, your guys did good though. 🙂 Hows your FL doing, I think I did ok.
Dammit.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 194) : 😛
Goodnite all of you 🙂
@bergshark (Comment 199) : Cheers.
Only two undefeated teams on the log. Both Saffas.
how long will this last? 🙁
@KSA Shark © (Comment 201) : If today’s performance is anything to go by, one week. 😈
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 196) :
Not as well as you !
However you will feel the heat when the Sharks lose !
How did they win that last night !
Chiefs and Crusaders will be tougher ….
….. with 19 players on the bye i’m expecting to disappear to about 50th this week ….. but maybe back ! 😎
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 203) : If I get far enough ahead, the damage wont be that bad 😛
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 203) : Got one less Shark now, traded Sean Maitland in for JP Pieterson. Best trade ever 😛
I’m out, night all 🙂
Happy with the win.
Rather disappointed with the Highlanders initial dirty tactics.
@McLovin (Comment 207) : Pull it in ! 😈
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 208) : 😆 I’ll save some moaning for next week when no-one gets cited.
Not really looking forward to the Loftus trip next week. 🙁
@McLovin (Comment 209) : I better go and mow the lawns…… well done congrats,sleep well ! 😎
@McLovin (Comment 210) : 😯
I don’t think the Sharks will be looking forward to the next fortnight either or their trip home to the waiting Stormers !
@Hertford Highlander (Comment 211) : Happy mowing, man from the future. 😉
Plenty picked Highlanders on SB, but helped me boggerol it seems. 😐
@McLovin (Comment 214) :
Slipped up to 23rd ! 😎
Congrads Stormers…
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 205) :
@Hmmm (Comment 216) : 😉
As I thought. The 1st time this season I actually pick the Landers to win on SB, they go and lose.
@Ben (Comment 219) : 😆
good morning.hows the game looking so far