Ice

Kaplan Yellow Carded?


Written by Iza Loubser (Ice)

Posted in :Original Content, Six Nations on 15 Mar 2011 at 09:54
Tagged with : , , ,

If the reports in “The Guardian” is to be believed, then one of the most respected and most capped referees in rugby will be “carded” for the try incident this past weekend.

Reports are that the IRB will issue an apology to Ireland and Jonathan Kaplan and the assistent ref, Peter Allan will be “down-graded”. This incident was where Matthew Reese was allowed to make a quick throw- in resulting Wales’ Mike Philip to score – with the wrong ball.

Law 19, section two, clause C states: ‘For a quick throw-in, the player must use the ball that went into touch. A quick throw-in is not permitted if another person has touched the ball apart from the player throwing it in.

He asked the assistant ref if the correct ball was used. He got an affirmative answer from Allan. That in my books was good enough….but the other camp, despite technology being limited to in-goal decisions, insists Kaplan could have asked the television match official, Geoff Warren, of England: ‘Is there any reason why I cannot award the try?’

“We were robbed,” said Ireland skipper Brian O’Driscoll.

“You have a service available to cover all bases. That’s what the TMO is there for. What’s the point if you don’t use him?

“Everyone is human and wrong calls are made the whole time. That one was a hugely illegitimate try which, in the end, has made all the difference between winning and losing.

“Everyone in the stadium knew the ball had been touched by a ball-boy. It beggars belief. If I was in the wrong on something like that, I’d be embarrassed.”

Now – I am not the rugby-guru, but I have watched the incident…to my knowledge Kaplan did the correct thing under the circumstances.

What is your take on this?


46 Comments

  • They are full of crap! The TMO cannot go that far back, he can only review goal line decisions, even if he asks “Is there any reason”

    I call this justice for when Smit was told to talk to the Bokke and the Irish took a quick tap with our backs turned.

    Suck it Ireland.

  • Comment 1, posted at 15.03.11 09:59:06 by PTAShark Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Author
    Dragnipur
     
  • stop whinging ireland, you got a free win against the boks when stuart dickenson awarded a try that was scored when time was off. round abouts and slides.

  • Comment 2, posted at 15.03.11 10:01:16 by try time Reply

     
  • Who or What is the IRU? And why are THEY apologising to the Irish?

  • Comment 3, posted at 15.03.11 10:05:22 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
     
  • think that should be IRB not IRU..

  • Comment 4, posted at 15.03.11 10:07:03 by stevo Reply

    stevo
     
  • IF Kaplan had asked the TMO then he would not have been able to comment on the ball anyway. The TMO can only advise on anything that happened during the act of scoring the try.

    The Irish must get over themselves. next thing we know they will be asking for a rematch like they did when they got knocked out of the Soccer World Cup.

  • Comment 5, posted at 15.03.11 10:08:36 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
     
  • @stevo (Comment 4) : IRA could be good too! :mrgreen:

  • Comment 6, posted at 15.03.11 10:08:53 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Ice
     
  • @try time (Comment 2) : That wasn’t Dickenson… it was a Kwiw ref whose name has escaped me for the moment…

  • Comment 7, posted at 15.03.11 10:09:56 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylan
     
  • Did the Irish say, “okay that try doesn’t count” when they scored against the Springboks while John Smit was talking to the Team?

    fuck ’em (I would usually censor that but am so pissed at the arrogant O’drolskil that I have left it uncensored)

  • Comment 8, posted at 15.03.11 10:11:50 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
     
  • @robdylan (Comment 7) : Paul Honiss. I knew I’d get it soon

  • Comment 9, posted at 15.03.11 10:13:38 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylan
     
  • paul honiss was his name

  • Comment 10, posted at 15.03.11 10:13:57 by stevo Reply

    stevo
     
  • Cry me a river…BOD… 👿

  • Comment 11, posted at 15.03.11 10:13:59 by Charlie Reply

    Charlie
     
  • @stevo (Comment 10) : I beat you to it by 19 seconds 🙂

  • Comment 12, posted at 15.03.11 10:14:54 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylan
     
  • i see that…you very quick today…

  • Comment 13, posted at 15.03.11 10:15:27 by stevo Reply

    stevo
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 8) : “O’drolskil” – now THAT is a GEM!!! 😆

  • Comment 14, posted at 15.03.11 10:16:01 by Ice Reply
    Competition Winner Ice
     
  • @stevo (Comment 13) : it won’t last… never does 🙂

  • Comment 15, posted at 15.03.11 10:19:28 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
    robdylan
     
  • Saw comment from Andre Watson Kaplan not dropped He Kaplan asked for a 2 week break on Tuesday last week which was granted

    IRB will not take any action
    saw this on 365

    “The Irish protested and the referee, Jonathan Kaplan of South Africa, asked his assistant just one question. He asked him twice if it was the correct ball. The assistant, Peter Allan of Scotland, affirmed that it was the correct ball.

    Was seeing if it the touch judge’s job to see if it was all right for the ball to be thrown in quickly?

    Law 6.B.5 (d) When to lower the flag. When the ball is thrown in, the touch judge or assistant referee must lower the flag, with the following exceptions:

    Exception 3: When, at a quick throw-in, the ball that went into touch is replaced by another ball, or after it went into touch or it has been touched by anyone except the player who takes the throw-in, the touch judge or assistant referee keeps the flag up.

    It was part of the touch judge’s primary function to keep his flag up to indicate that the ball was not available to be thrown in quickly.

    The suggestion that the television match official be consulted is not on at all.

    The International Rugby Board has a protocol for how the TMO may or may not be used. On protocol states:

    The areas of adjudication are limited to Law 6. 8 (b), 6.8 (d) and 6.8 (e) and therefore relate to:

    Grounding of the ball for try and touch down
    Touch, touch-in-goal, ball being made dead during the act of grounding the ball.

    This includes situations where a player may or may not have stepped in touch in the act of grounding the ball on or over the goal line.

    The TMO could therefore be requested to assist the referee in making the following decisions:
    Try No try and scrum awarded 5 metres
    Touch down by a defender In touch – line-out
    Touch-in-goal Ball dead on or over the dead ball line Penalty tries after acts of foul play in in-goal All kicks at goal including dropped goals.

    The TMO must not be requested to provide information on players prior to the ball going into in-goal (except touch in the act of grounding the ball). The TMO must not be asked to assist in any other decision other than those listed. The referee must make an effort to make an adjudication. If he is unsighted or has doubt, he will then use the following process (4).

    It is clear that the throw in many metres down the field does not fall within that area of jurisdiction allowed in consulting the TMO.

    In the case of this try the referee had no right at all to consult the TMO and the TMO had no right at all to make the call”

  • Comment 16, posted at 15.03.11 10:24:12 by Fattmann Reply
    Competition Winner
    Fattmann
     
  • kappie is a great and highly professional ref who had no ill intent,but seems to get plenty bad press.Any info on this ksa as he was our local no1 but hasnt done a final in a long while??

  • Comment 17, posted at 15.03.11 10:27:27 by ruggabugga Reply

    ruggabugga
     
  • @Fattmann (Comment 16) : brilliant fattmann proves kappie knows his stuff

  • Comment 18, posted at 15.03.11 10:30:22 by ruggabugga Reply

    ruggabugga
     
  • @ruggabugga (Comment 18) : he sure does

  • Comment 19, posted at 15.03.11 10:35:15 by Fattmann Reply
    Competition Winner
    Fattmann
     
  • I’ve always maintained that BOD, regardless of his playing abilities, is a “huildoos”, so too it seems the rest of the Irish… Buggers. I agree, its justice!

  • Comment 20, posted at 15.03.11 10:43:24 by Crock Reply

    Crock
     
  • Brian Moore (believe it or not) wrote a great piece on this game, told BOD to grow up.

  • Comment 21, posted at 15.03.11 12:07:10 by Morné Reply
    Author
    Morné
     
  • @PTAShark: jip, o ‘driscoll has it wrong when he says (rants?) that “they have a system that covers all bases”.

  • Comment 22, posted at 15.03.11 12:10:39 by bergshark Reply

    bergshark
     
  • The system o’discoll is appealing to ,is flawed ( if I have my facts right).

  • Comment 23, posted at 15.03.11 12:12:11 by bergshark Reply

    bergshark
     
  • Just a matter of time before we heard from Brain I could have died O’ Driscoll whinging again !

    He may be class but he will forever be remembered for the biggest whinger in modern rugby.

    Kaplan did what any ref would do, if anything why not point fingers at the Welsh for unsportmanship ..they certainly knew what they were doing ..

  • Comment 24, posted at 15.03.11 12:22:18 by CoffeeshopBok;-) Reply

    csb
     
  • Not fair to drag Kaplan into this. He asked the TJ, got an answer, confirmed it and continued with the game.
    Now if he had summoned the TMO to make a call then he would also be in the dogbox, this time rightly so.

  • Comment 25, posted at 15.03.11 12:27:09 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the Subtle
     
  • @CoffeeshopBok: indeed! Good point,missed in the hulaballoo over the “refereeing incident”..the Welsh acted outside of the laws (and therefore,the spirit of the game),they should be brought in-front of the judge.
    Same as with the thierry henry incident: why the appeal for tecnology in a case that is all about the character of the player ,individual?the spirit of the game was broughr into question,ultimately,and not the lack of technology .( Scenario not the same as 1966 wc final eng vs wg or the 2010 game eng vs ger).

  • Comment 26, posted at 15.03.11 12:29:55 by bergshark Reply

    bergshark
     
  • Perhaps the outcome of this will be greater scope for the tmo to be brought in .. Or perhaps even whisper in the ref’ ear if he has picked up an incident.

  • Comment 27, posted at 15.03.11 12:37:50 by bergshark Reply

    bergshark
     
  • @robdylan (Comment 9) : Yep…that’s him. I was at that game and won’t forget it. Not to mention the Irish attitude afterwards!

  • Comment 28, posted at 15.03.11 12:38:45 by Villie Reply
    Competition Winner
    Villie
     
  • Would be great to give tmo the ability to bring dirty play to the attention of the ref.

  • Comment 29, posted at 15.03.11 12:38:50 by bergshark Reply

    bergshark
     
  • @Villie: guess what goes around ,comes around for the irish then..?

  • Comment 30, posted at 15.03.11 12:41:24 by bergshark Reply

    bergshark
     
  • @Villie (Comment 28) : Hey…I’ve only just noticed the trophy above my avatar now. Thanks…I like it!!

  • Comment 31, posted at 15.03.11 12:56:09 by Villie Reply
    Competition Winner
    Villie
     
  • Don’t know who can recall this, sharks scored a try like this a few years ago, I think it was against the Hurricanes. Ball went into the crowd and we used another ball for the quick throw in and we scored a try. Try was given.

  • Comment 32, posted at 15.03.11 13:29:02 by Ben Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Author
    Ben
     
  • Okay sounds like big whoops!
    But to be frank, Kaplan needs to stop refereeing with the heart of an artist and focus on getting his calls accurate and on the money every time. Yes it’s nice to see the game flow and some would be penalties ignored, until it’s the sharks he is doing it against!!!

  • Comment 33, posted at 15.03.11 13:46:40 by Talent Reply
    Author
    Talent
     
  • Betty O,Driscoll is bleating again. They were happy to accept the illegal try against the Boks but as soon as it happens to them Betty is crying a river. Payback is a bitch.

  • Comment 34, posted at 15.03.11 15:55:11 by lostfish Reply
    Valued Sharksworld Supporter Competition Winner
    lostfish
     
  • Kaplan was also involved in this incident last year.

    Austalian Garratt Williamson was the assistant referee in the match between the Crusaders and the Hurricanes in 2010, when the Crusaders took a quick throw-in outside of the laws and scored a try.
    “Williamson did not act against a quick throw-in by Crusaders scrumhalf Andy Ellis in the first half even though the Hurricanes reserve players and Conrad Smith had touched the ball before Ellis threw it in. The quick throw-in resulted in a try by Zac Guildford”

    Altho he wasn’t blamed, in the NZ TV interview after the game Kaplan said that that Ellis was the first player from the Saders to touch the ball (Canes’ Conrad Smith did not carry the ball into touch but had handled it after it went out) and therefore could take the quick lineout throw. I’m not sure if did this to protect the touch judge, but either way, he was WRONG!

  • Comment 35, posted at 15.03.11 17:21:39 by beet Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    beet
     
  • @beet: good evening,sir.heard on the news last nite that the dangerous little stepper from wp craven week side2010 has been included in sa 7s team for hong kong.mbavana?

  • Comment 36, posted at 15.03.11 17:27:33 by bergshark Reply

    bergshark
     
  • Him and paul jordaan could wreak havoc !

  • Comment 37, posted at 15.03.11 17:28:17 by bergshark Reply

    bergshark
     
  • @beet (Comment 35) :

    So it seems Williamson favours the Saders. 😛 And he is reffing us against them.

  • Comment 38, posted at 15.03.11 17:38:32 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
     
  • @bergshark (Comment 37) : Tsjoe! They could be an awesome duo coming off the bench in the 2nd half. Can’t wait to see what Mbovane version 2011 has to offer. Thanks for the info.

  • Comment 39, posted at 15.03.11 17:39:29 by beet Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    beet
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 38) : Forget the Crusader lucky charm bit, just the thought of an Aussie reffing makes me cringe these days 🙁

  • Comment 40, posted at 15.03.11 17:42:47 by beet Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    beet
     
  • Here is the clip for anyone to see who hasn’t already.

    http://rugbydump.blogspot.com/2011/03/mike-phillips-controversial-try-sets-up.html

  • Comment 41, posted at 15.03.11 17:43:26 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
     
  • @beet (Comment 40) : He’s a kiwi.

  • Comment 42, posted at 15.03.11 17:44:08 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 42) : Seriously!!!

  • Comment 43, posted at 15.03.11 18:01:06 by beet Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    beet
     
  • @beet (Comment 43) : YIP!!!

    http://www.sharksworld.co.za/2011/03/14/super-15-match-officials-rnd-5-8/

  • Comment 44, posted at 15.03.11 18:03:15 by KSA Shark © Reply

    KSA Shark ©
     
  • @KSA Shark © (Comment 41) :

    The ball-boy hands the ball to the player in plain view.

    Very poor mistake by the referees. Both of them.

  • Comment 45, posted at 15.03.11 18:52:06 by fyndraai Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    fyndraai
     
  • Could anyone clarify:

    According the the law-book, a quick throw-in can only be taken where the ball crossed the touchline? Is that right? So, if a kick goes full into touch from outside the player’s 22m, a quick throw-in can be taken at the point (or behind) it crossed the touchline (19.2 b)), or else a formal line-out is to be formed in line with the kicker’s position when he kicked the ball?

    http://www.irblaws.com/downloads/EN/Law_19_EN.pdf

    So a quick throw-in cannot be taken in line with the kicker’s position when he kicked the ball out?

    From what I’ve read, Kaplan was asking the AR about the quick throw-in, whilst the AR was assuming the line-out had been formed (hence not calling the wrong-ball [his call]). If the formal line-out was supposed to have formed (it seems so), then Kaplan should have penalised Wales for a) not having enough players in the line-out, b) not throwing straight. The AR could also have blown the hooker for having a foot in-field.

    KSA?

  • Comment 46, posted at 15.03.11 22:39:56 by Frisbee Reply

    Frisbee
     

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.