History is being made tonight with the 1st ever Super Rugby match being played in the Northern Hemisphere.
This game would have been hard for the Sharks no matter where it was being played. We will see tonight whether or not this move has helped us or hampered us.
Ref: Steve Walsh (Australia)
ARs: Wayne Barnes (England), Stuart Terheege (England)
Venue: Twickenham – London
Kick-off: 17:00 SA Time
Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Quentin MacDonald, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Chris Jack, 19 Jonathan Poff, 20 Kahn Fotuali’i, 21 Matt Berquist, 22 Adam Whitelock.
Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanche, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 John Smit (captain).
Replacements: 16 Eugene van Staden, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Gerhard Mostert, 19 Jacques Botes, 20 Conrad Hoffmann, 21 Adrian Jacobs, 22 JP Pietersen.

GO SHARKS!!!!!
Should be a great game if the weather holds up..
I hear it is sunny..
Good luck Sharks.
WE BELIEVE
GO SHARKS
Good luck Sharks.
GO SHARKS.
Go sharks! Hope it is an epic.. With the sharks victorious after the final whistle..
.. As a team,and not as individuals..
@bergshark (Comment 7) : The operative word. We don´t have the hot-ass names in the backline, but hopefully we can play as a team the way the Black Caps did against our much-vaunted cricket ‘team’.
And the “good” news is, my daghter is sick and we can’t go to Jim Valley.
She knows i didn’t poison her. 😛
sun’s shining so brightly I can’t see my screen!
Pictures coming through now show a very bright Twickenham!
19 Jonathan Poff – Rather unfortunate surname..
GO SHARKS!!!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 11) :
Who are the commentators on Supersport?
I’m hoping to have kiwis or Poms. will know in a minute or two
woohoo! We won the toss at least
@KSA Shark © (Comment 14) :
Not sure yet..
They had Darren Scott and Breyton Paulse in studio, no commentary yet..
@robdylan (Comment 15) :
Good start!
Is Kick-off on the hour or 10 past? ❓
We have Pommie commentators..
I have POM commentators. 😎
Seems like its 10 past..
They are still going to sing anthems!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 20) :
Probably the same blokes..
Good luck Sharkies
boys are on the field…
So Excited !!! 😆
Pitch looks awesome, POM Camera work is something to look forward to.
and so are the mighty Cru
Saders by 12 !!!!!
Sorry boys.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 20) : It is the legendary Stuart Barnes, the world greatest commentator and his sidekick Miles Harrison. No rugby fan on earth could ask for more.
Barnes will provide spontaneous technical feedback unlike anything we are use to here in the Republic.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 22) : Yip.
I’m glad you guys have them as well rather than Saffas.
WHO KNOWS WHAT THE SADERS THEME SONG’S TITLE IS?
DEATHLY SILENCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Poms showing us up on the behaviour front. 😎 😎
I have a bad feeling about this…
@KSA Shark © (Comment 30) :
No idea
@beet (Comment 29) :
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/pages/Stuart-Barnes-is-a-disgrace-to-English-Rugby/121903474538233
😈
Wow ! What a feeling singing the Anthem !!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 30) : It’s that Disney tune man. Haven’t you heard it.
Whats the official attendance?
NOT a very loud resposnse to the “c’mon New Zealand” from the guy singing their anthem 🙂
Did anyone say HOME GAME?
@beet (Comment 36) : I KNOW the tune, I don’t know the title, but doubt it is Disney.
More to do with the Crusade side of the crusaders IMO.
man – what a feeling it is to be here!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 38) : They really need Alvin and the Chipmunks as singers to do justice to that anthem.
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 32) : Don’t voice it until after the final whistle.
it’s on like donkey kong 2!!!!
@robdylan (Comment 40) :
Soak it up mate!!
Alberts v SBW = Draw
Alberts and SBW meet up. 50/50 result
Big Alberts greeting SBW 😈
@KSA Shark © (Comment 42) : Sharks all the way baby!!!! but…
OH MY WORD!!!!!!!!!!!!! CAN WE BUY THESE COMMENTATORS??????
He said KankoWski and not Kancowski like the Kiwis do. 😎
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 45) : @KSA Shark © (Comment 46) :
SNAP!!!!!! AND THE TIME STAMP
Scrums pretty even!
ALberts can tackle anything!
We shouldn’t let these guys run at us.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 49) :
What a pleasure it is!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 52) :
Agreed, could be a long afternoon!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 52) : I agree. They cut up some decent territory there.
The Occassion
HD
Commentators
Camera work
I am so glad I am PVRing this
Fantastic break by SBW..
He is a frikkin great player!
Poor attempt by JLP on SBW. 🙁
Jeez. The Saders are really up for this. Hope your boys can hold on.
JLP had no chance of stopping SBW there..
You gotta go low!
Carter Pk
Crusaders 3 – 0 Sharks
6min
SBW!!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 61) : Bit worrying how they are slicing up the midfield already…
Some big hits being put in..
Good to watch!
@Megatron (Comment 62) : Had your prematch viagra to enjoy your SBW experience?
Did JLP dye his hair?
Kak kick by JLP..
Must be nerves..
JLP misses a PK from the 10m
Crusaders 3 – 0 Sharks
9min
I’m not so sorry to burst a few miserable facebooking Pommie bubbles, Stuart Barnes IS the best in the world period.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 66) : I think the blonde was the dye, this looks more natural.
We better get more guys to the breakdown!!
Alberts try surely!!
Alberts gets close and is stopped but then the ball is recycled and he SCORES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Try should be awarded..
Great stuff boys!!
Alberts is so good he even gets credited with an assist on his own try.
JLP nails the conversion!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 60) :
The real problem was the 10/12 communication and gap.
We need to win this amongst the forwards, with the loosies playing a huge game. We can’t come close to matching their centres.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 75) :
Double FL points there?!
This is making me smile 🙂
JLP
slots the conversion
Crusaders 3 – 7 Sharks
13min
Sharks looking good so far guys
@Big Fish (Comment 77) :
Agreed.. They havent played together enough..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 78) :
Nice try. But even a blind squirrel finds a nut in its lifetime.
Good penalty by Carter..
Got to watch our penalties!!
I realy miss lambs
Carter PK
Crusaders 6 – 7 Sharks
15min
@Speed7 (Comment 84) :
Thats mean and funny at the same time..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 87) : Carter finally found his kicking shoes this year… more discipline needed.
yet ANOTHER good offload from SBW in the tackle
Awesome try by Maitland!
Midfield problems 🙁
There is so much SA wings can learn from these Crusaders wings when it comes to drifting and workrate.
To easy……mannnnn
Saders make it look so easy as they score. 😕
that’s that Saders rugby 😀
@Charlie (Comment 92) : That was a PROP that he beat.
We need to keep possession!!
Conversion over by carter
Crusaders 13 – 7 Sharks
19min
If there was any doubt about the Sharks midfield defense this game will answer that emphatically
Oupa and Bosman gonna have a very long day today…
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 98) :
Keep it amongst the forwards..
Build phases and stay in their territory!
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 100) : Precisely why Jacobs must come on early to show how good his tackling is. 😛
Poor scrum by the Sharks!!
Carter scores under the poles!!
Carter TRY!!!
Get John Smit off. Your scrum is now weak !!!
Ouch
@KSA Shark © (Comment 103) : Thats just crazy talk… but it cant be much worse!
And so it begins… Been saying for ages – our midfield is not close to being up to scratch.
Sharks flling to pieces..
Slow it down and don’t panic!!
Geez the sharks midfield defense is being exposed here… Smitty at prop too.
@Big Fish (Comment 109) :
And the youngsters coming through arent much bigger?!
No defence in the midfield
So when does the game start? Poor so far!
Crockett showing up Jannie there!!
Sharks penalty.. take the points boys!!
20 points in 20 mins 🙁 I agree, it needs to be slowed down. You dont want to chase a game against this team!
champagne rugby from sbw…
@Ben (Comment 114) : yea my smile was wiped….very fast
JLP gets a good penalty kick through!
Well done mate!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 119) : Every bit helps
Terrible kick off receive there..
Poor stuff
Come on sharks we still believe 😉 forget these pro new zealand commentators they must get they tongues off new zealands bum 😛
JLP slots the PK
Crusaders 20 – 10 Sharks
25min
Been saying for a while now we need to work on our defense! Finally we play a team that exposes our pathetic defense!
Magnificent running rugby!!
English commentators are flabbergasted at how the Southern Hemisphere teams play!!
Smit is being buckled !!!!
Dagg try. 😕
Stef misses another tackle.. This could be a long day
Obstruction by Crusaders time after time, this is ridiculous!!
Defence in tatters there..
They don’t know what is happening around them!
How was that NOT obstruction. The Crusaders centres were like an NFL defensive line
dagg for the score…
@robdylan (Comment 81) : eish… I take that back
@KSA Shark © (Comment 127) : As I said. I have a bad feeling about this.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 112) :
Its not just about size, its about talent and ability. I’d back Andries Strauss to have an effect here, but Bosman is not a renowned tackler, and Oupa is too slow and won’t pose attacking threat to cause doubts in their minds.
carter slots it
Crusaders 27 – 10 Sharks
28min
This could get ugly 🙁
Come home Sharks. Stormers are waiting here for you.
Go sharks! Come on boys tackle!! Where’s smit and his captancy!
Smit is kak,what is he even doing in the team
Centres-what defence
@KSA Shark © (Comment 136) : Chasing 17 points is probably already to much. I agree, the Crusaders backline is teaching the sharks a very tough lesson.
Mvovo twice now caught not taking a man!!
It was obstruction…seems like MvoVo is fast asleep 🙁
Sharks looks clueless on attack..
Slow it down boys!
Jeez Mvovo!! Catch the friggen balL!!
Guildford BP try. 😳
Try from a Mvovo knock..
Bonus point already!!
The Sharks came here for a long weekend holiday. Certainly didn’t come to play Rugby..
And honestly.. I cant see that Lambie would have had much of an effect here!
Heavy stuff. Saders have peaked.
Carter converts
Crusaders 34 – 10 Sharks
33min
JLP try!!
Well played mate!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 145) : Well, that probably the ball game and the Sharks aura goes up in flames.
Come on guys stay positive we are losing yes but let’s support our team,we gettin shredded on the field no use doing the same with our tongues we can do that 2morrow if we lose but for now let’s support to the bitter end!! Come on go sharks! Try!!! Yeah baby!
JLP TRY!!!!!!!!!
Oops…forward pass there from Carter…
Lekker Pottie!!
GREAT try JLP!!!!
We need that..
We need to score four tries and try keep within 7 points for 2 bonus points here..
@Poisy (Comment 152) : AMEN TO THAT!!!!!
Pottie jou lekke ding 😆
JLP Misses the conversion
Crusaders 34 – 15 Sharks
36min
Sharks need to remember that intensity without accuracy is not worth much.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 160) : Pity, it wasnt far out.
Briliant from jlp and then miss a easy kick… Ai
Look for the Saders to switch off soon. Sharks do have a great bench.
Take the points boys..
Every three point counts right now!
Well done JLP!!
wow…. we’re being shown what running rugby looks like
JLP PK
Crusaders 34 – 18 Sharks
Carter not even sweating?!
34-18
I don’t know if any side in world rugby would have been able to hold this Crusaders team defensively the way they played this first half.
Halftime…14 points given by ref through 2 forward passes…but The Sharks needs to get Adi and JPP on the field…
@war1 (Comment 172) :
Can’t argue that..
A full strength International team would have battled!
Half time team chat:) bet beast coming on now,no offence to smit but we need our best front row right now and as captain he should do what’s right for the team and and willingly volunteer to sit out the 2nd half.and our centres need some talking to about tackling 2,but all in all wasn’t as bad as the commentators made it out to be but the boys gotta play for that jersey now:) come on sharks we love u!! Go sharks!
Getting drilled in the scrums, exposed in the midfield and our back 3 taught a lesson on support and work rate. Not pretty!!
Come boys..need to make our first time tackles in the 2nd half or else the score will be embarassing!!
Yes, its been an ugly half for the sharks. They have learned some lessons. Unfortunately Im not sure where the midfield remedy lies. They can boost the scrum in the 2nd half, but thats not going to solve the problems.
Sonofabitch! I thought this started at 6pm SAST for some reason. 👿
Oh well, looks like I’ve missed a first half mauling.
We must win scrums and shut down their midfield simple(tounge in cheek)!!!!
Good finish by the Sharks there.
While the centres are being torn apart, let’s not miss that our front row is getting porked big time, and Carter is playing beautiful, intelligent, rugby.
We need to sub John (sorry buddy) and ask Keegan to aim for Carter all the time.
Adi is not a better tackler than Oupa, but he can read the game well, interfere with set moves, and create some opportunities on attack – that would be my call.
Klempie you amateur !!!
get jpp on the field to intercept the ball when sbw offloads.
@Speed7 (Comment 181) : I know, I know!! 😳 😳
@Big Fish (Comment 180) :
Agree with the scrums.. that is our base, we need it to be strong!!
Carter is having the game of the tournament so far!!
Murray if you read this know that Iam laughing hard at you !!
First and foremost, we need to keep the ball away from their backs..
Keep it tight Sharks!!
Kieran Read off.
Another spectacular offload by SBW
SBW is unbelievable.
@Speed7 (Comment 185) : your team would have conceded about 150 so far, mate…
How long before they wake up that SBW ALWAYS looks to offload. Surely they should have caught on by now. Doesn’t look like the backs have done their homework well.
SBW offloads another good pass in the tackle. 😯
@Villie (Comment 190) : yeah – he is like the anti-Wynand Olivier
We allow the Crusaders to play like this…
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 187) : That SBW is a freak of nature, what a player!
Well done Ludik! Amazing take there!!
@war1 (Comment 194) :
Amazing hey.. One of the best in tackle situation!!
@robdylan (Comment 189) : Don’t know who his team is…but no other team would live with the Saders in this mood!!
Sharks scrum taken apart!!!
Bring on the Beast..
Smit off. FFS !!!!
Did our Bok front row just see their asses?
scrum demolished!!!
Our scrum just got killed and the Saders win a PK. 😥
That’s just plain ugly
Time to get Smit off. Its that simple
Carter slots the PK
Crusaders 37 – 18 Sharks
47min
19 point lead. Sorry but what team is playing the Saders?
And to think the sharks major chance was to dominate up front. Thats a bloody joke
Lineouts a mess too. WTF is going on??
Look on the bright side you cant say the sharks choked
HARGRAVES!!!
Sharks look so much better when they build the phases..
Big Al has scored a try here!!
Try baby! 😛
Hargreaves stretches and it’s OVER!!!!!!
being refered
If we keep ball in hand, we can do this!!
JLP you gotta get this!
@war1 (Comment 194) : Yes he is good but we are making him look even better. He can put his team under pressure with his offloads if he’s getting smacked with big hits and not allowed so much time! Witness some of the earlier Saders games.
Well done Big Al!!
Better better better
AWARDED!!!!!!!!!!!!
His 1st Super Rugby try!
Beast on 😉
TRY! Well done Hargs! Sharks look MUCH better on attack.
Beast on finally!!
JPP also there..
Bringing on the big boys!!
Missed. Damnit.
If we just keep playing our game, not panicking and plugging away, we will at least leave with dignity and a bonus point, and perhaps more.
Showing true grit in the last few minutes.
Missed conversion..
We need those points!!
JLP misses the conversion
Crusaders 37 – 23 Sharks
52min
Great turnover!!
GREAT SHARKS!!
ODWA!!!!!!
Sharks turnover on Saders cock up lineout….and it ends with Odwa over in the corner!!!
ODWA TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 more for a bonus, and we NEED that!!
Rob – we aren’t watching my team. Are we ?
Game back on, cmon jlp do what ur payed for
That was stupid by the Crusaders!!
Good on the Sharks for taking advantage!
Come on Meyer!! Shit he’s missed.
Fuck yes fuck yes!!! Do u asses believe now?!! Huh? Huh? GO SHARKS!!! 😀
What an advert for rugby this is. Nick Evans in the studio said this is the difference between SH and NH rugby….everything!!
ODDERS!! goalkicking is not looking so good though.
Missed conversions are costing us dearly!
Bosman kicking now and he also misses
Crusaders 37 – 28 Sharks
55min
JLP off – ADI on!
MVOVO!!!!
Sharks subs are making a huge difference!!
No jlp, meyer does the same….misssssss
Yes this is Sharks rugby!!
Sharks steal the line out!!
Much better from the Sharks!!
This is amazing rugby.
Holy shit…who turned on the SWITCH?! 😯 😯
Now this is a game!!
Please somebody cite SBW.
Barnes: “South African backline player…..They never know when they’re beaten” 😛
SBW taking out Kanko Butch-style!!
SBW gonna catch a few weeks’ break. Dirty shot that.
SBW is a filthy Leaguer!! 👿
@Speed7 (Comment 251) :
A YC against him would have helped us there. 🙁
Stupid kick from McLeod!
Sharks showing so much character here. Good to watch.
Lets not throw this away boys..
Bugger! Bis skew lineout throw. 🙁
Watch the work that Adi does off the ball – on the shoulder: his reading can hopefully create opportunities.
Stormers are going to take a pounding next weekend!!
@Big Fish (Comment 261) :
Back to his best!!
Sharks need more players at the breakdown!!
What a fightback! Keep on fighting boys!
Mtwaara 🙂 They may have got Kankowski right but they are butchering this one 🙂
Stupid pass that!! Whoever it was!!
Sharks win a Saders lineout in their own 22. But then turn it over.
Carter wobbling..
That is a shame!!
Carter off, with a calf or Achilles injury
Carter off. Game on.
Lots of scrambling results in Odwa touching down in goal.
Sharks are at it again!!
Beast is one strong mother!!
Beast playes like a beast
Fruean also off now..
Come on okes!! 15 mins!! Stef….do the pep talk!!
Um someone tell me again why beast didn’t start?
Sharks bench going to have to win this for us!!
Much better than their Red counterparts!
Looks like Mostert is also on the field!
Beast is all over the place!!
Shit.
Sharks doing the running rugby thing just as well as the Saders!
maitland try
Come on sharks don’t let that try get you down we behind u boys keep going play for that jersey!!
Ai Tereblanche…
Good try by the Saders.. Wel deserved!
Well, that’s the game.
Better scrums,line outs and less ball to saders backs !!!
Conversion over by Berquist
Crusaders 44 – 28 Sharks
69min
Umm….why didn’t Charl go for a lineout? 😕
Oh well, it was a gutsy fight. A better first half and maybe the Sharks could have done it. Still, an extra bonus point still possible
Great comeback from the Sharks.
They have not let us down!
I take a lot of heart from this game!!
Crusaders going down like flies..
They know they have been in a game today!
camera work is awesome
Smit was a massive problem. Beast came on and momentum shifted. Euthanasia Clinic in Switzerland time.
We must have been pretty poor in the first half. Glad I missed it.
Hoffmann gets another 8 minutes of game time!!
Next week Beast starts. Simple. Next, we reshuffle the midfield. This game is finishing better than I hoped, but a loss is still a loss and we need to sort out the weak points.
Come on, 2 scores for the extra point
Great tackle by Odwa..
The man can cover tackle!
I like how you can hear all the on-field chat in this production.
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 300) :
What would you do in the midfield?
I would start Adi..
Fantastic offload by Keegs.
@klempie (Comment 303) :
The TV work is so much better up there!
KEEP FIGHTING BOYS – NO SHAME HERE!!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 306) : They DO have a lot mor cash to splash tho.
Good to see JPP back in action..
Looking forward to him starting next week!
Let’s get the last score LADS!!
@Big Fish (Comment 307) :
Great 2nd half by the Sharks..
Im glad we didn’t just give up!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 304) : Its worth a bash. We need to sort out the midfield issues and Adi deserves a go.
Crusaders all leaving the field injured..
We should have won this game.
But the crusaders won’t be able to top this performance from them,so I guess we should win the next game between us.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 304) :
Easy selection call that – even though neither of our present captains should start. Step up Ali H.
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 312) :
I agree.. time for Stef to take a rest I think..
The Sharks have done some other teams a HUGE favour with all these injuries.
We need a Heineken top 2 v Super Rugby top two tournament.
@Big Fish (Comment 315) :
Have to agree..
Our midfield agaisnt a strong Stormers centre combo needs to be better than today!
@klempie (Comment 317) : Saders have a bye next week. they will be fine by their next game.
Amazing how complimentary the commentators are of Super Rugby!!
SHARKS 5m out.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 316) : Maybe time to look at JLP as an inside center option too. Bosman has not impressed me too much so far.
What a great tackle by Daniel!!
Amazing stuff this!
Was that turnover legal? I guess he was on his feet, but it felt offsidish?
@klempie (Comment 325) : never
Tired bodies out there!
Northern Hemishpere fans will be begging for more SuperRugby games!!
2.30 minutes into stoppage time!! What a game!!
Great game of rugby. Goodnight fellow losers.
Amazing game boys!!
Well done!!
Crusaders 44 – 28 Sharks
Not the best display in the 1st half but certainly came back and can keep their heads high.
Well we lost, but I am so SO proud of you boys!!
Game over but man what a game,go sharks! Forever your LOYAL SUPPORTERS WIN OR LOSE 😉 behind you all the way!
Well done ADI JACOBS !!! YOU’VE SHOWN GREAT HEART !!!
I dont feel that bad losing to such a great team..
Game of the SuperRugby so far!
@Charlie (Comment 334) :
Deserves a starting spot!! Absolutely!
This was a great game, loss and all. Best game of the weekend
@klempie (Comment 332) : There is a comment for you on the SA v NZ cricket thread 🙂
@KSA Shark © (Comment 338) : Which is?
@klempie (Comment 325) : Yeah..didn’t seem legal to me. Walsh actually had a very good game to me…missed that one in my opinion!
Good result for my SuperBru at least..
Great comeback – let’s just hope we take the lessons regarding centres and front-row: Beast and Adi were immense!
Well done Crusaders.
@Villie (Comment 340) :
Agreed.. A lot was said about him before the game, but he was pretty good!
Well done Sharks. Brave comeback. Gives me great heart that we can klap the Stormers at home. Our bench was very impressive. Mostert made some brilliant carries when he came on.
Stormers gonna see their asses next week.
Okay onward and upward.
We need to beat the Stormers by 15 points to go top of the log next week 😛
a loss to any team in the competition can never be a ‘blessing in disguise’…now the sharks have lost 2 on the bounce and about to meet the peaking stormers… 🙂
@Big Fish (Comment 342) :
Stormers game should make or break our season!
@klempie (Comment 339) : Which is something for you to go look at.
@Megatron (Comment 347) :
Its going to be HUGE!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 348) : Stormers still need to tour. Our tour is over. 😎
Kak Fantasy League weekend for me at the end of the day..
Not looking forward to slipping even further back!
SBW “I’ve never played against the African boys” 😯
i didn’t realise that is his 1st game against the Saffas.
Excellent game, good advert for Southern Hemisphere rugby. What a fightback from the Sharks and hopefully that bodes well for the rest of the season. However, I honestly don’t see anyone stopping the Crusaders from winning the title this year unless Carter’s injury is serious.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 351) :
I reckon we can easily finish top of the log..
But then again, Sharks can’t rest on their laurels!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 353) :
Good point!
He still has to meet the better South African centres..
Well done Sharks a great spectacle of rugby!!
Glad to see Hoffman had a good bit of game time against a very good team. I just hope Plum saw he can’t leave Beast on the bench.
Both LMS players are still alive having chosen a bye and the Stormers.
What a great game of rugby. Imagine the Sharks playing this brand of attacking rugby every week. I must admit I do like kicking for touch from penalties in or need our own 22m tho.
john must retire…
@KSA Shark © (Comment 358) :
Yeah, their Byes are going to come in handy now..
@beet (Comment 359) :
Can you imagine us taking that game to the Bulls..
Okay peeps..
Im out, long day tomorrow!
Don’t think Adi will start, his defence is not up to par with Stefan Terblanche…ask KSA Shark he knows 😉
The compliments for the quality of play are are flowing thick and fast on FB by my frineds in the UK who have seen this game.
What a game!Very proud of the boys. The positive is that we started playing the rugby we played last year CC.Just hope that the boys will recove soon for the game against the Stormers. MB @ 10 is awesome!Dan Carter take a bow, you and SBW are a special combo.Sorry John Smit but it’s time you call it a day, I respect you and what you’ve achieved but no. We need to dominate our opponents upfront and JS needs to look at himself in the mirror and ask himself if does he still make the cut and contribute on the field. Well done boys, I’m very proud to be SHARK!
@Charlie (Comment 364) : No I don’t know. I have been asking for him to start so that we can see how good his defence is. 😛
Goodnight supporters and to the haters fuck you very much sharks rule nd if you don’t like it u cn suck it! Don’t care if they remove this post 😛 coz of cursing but must be said!! I’m sick of the negativity towards the sharks everytime we lose take it on the chin and be a real supporter and be here for the bad times 2 ,you won’t be alone you have all of us 🙂
Heartening to see that only one team has scored more tries than us on the log and that is the crusaders.
What an awesome game of rugby!! About time the Poms get shown what it´s all about.
Unfortunately class will beat guts 9/10 times and if we´re honest we´ll admit that from 9-15 the Crusaders have class to burn while we looked just sort of adequate. It doesn´t happen often that I applaud the opposition´s tries like our own, but today´s display by Carter, SBW and Co. in the first half was simply sublime.
Our comeback was impressive, but we didn´t keep doing what worked and started kicking stupid little kicks, passing to static runners, getting lazy at the breakdowns on attack and defense and generally running out of gas. Having said all that, if I was the Stormers I would be worried, because we showed that we can run sides ragged when we play to ours strengths and get quick ball. And we can keep up the intensity for 80 minutes.
No shame in losing to this Crusaders outfit. But we can´t afford to lose many more games if we want to challenge for the title.
GO SHARKS !!!
Finally saw what RS and Plum saw in Conrad Hoffman. Welcome to SHARKS young man. Lovely quick pass also helped by the fact that he was clearing the ball quickly.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 349) : It might help if you chucked out rotten pears separate from rotten apples. That Smith is out of form with the bat, is beyond question. Since when did batting equal captaincy? The only time a captain is involved during the game, is when the team is FIELDING! And he makes the odd batting order change in consultation with the team management. Biff’s decisions on the field during that game were the most innovative and effective I’ve seen from any captain post-apartheid. Yes. I used the A-word. But only cos you’re trying to wind me up, so I’m returning the favour in kind. 😎
Great game of rugby and it was one of those games where the ball bounced for the Saders not taking anything away from them We missed 2 or 3 conversions and 1 penalty they had a few forward passes that led to tries we had one SBW should have been carded and will/will not get cited Keegs might also get cited
The front 3 did not work this game however i think beast to start john to hooker-that way we will win our lineouts-bizzy on after 50 mins
JLP was ok but the line was so much better when Bosman went to F/H JLP runs accross the field instead of straight and if he does that against the stormers we will have a long afternoon So if Pat cant play i dont think he will Bosman or Guy starts at F/H
We were a few meters off the pace and that needs to be looked at Straightening the defensive line will help a lot
On thing is for sure if Dries was there SBW would have seen his butt!!!!!!
So at the end of the away leg we have 12 points for 4 games with the bye still come
Bring on the Stormers we will take that by 10
Well done boys! You lost to a very very good Saders team, but fought back! Also, amd this is on record, well tried JLP – you had IMMENSE pressure + ex try!
I do believe, as much as I love the guy, that this game could have been wone with the right forwards, should have started with beast. Still love the boys to bits!!!
Well the SBW and Carter off loads was never to be stopped, what we miss was the fact that tackles on the supportive running players, one player was good enough to keep them busy in the tackle why did a second Shark player commit there aswell…
@Ice (Comment 375) : It will be interesting to see what impact this game has on the career of John Smit the prop.
@Charlie (Comment 376) : They had the magic to pull our defenders – I was actuallu deurmekaar at a stage as to where te fricken ball was just looking! the Saders were masters….they ran our boys dizzy and even the spectators – well done to them for pulling that off. Having said that – when our boys caught on, the defense sharpened, but I fear too late. BTW – thought Adi had a good run 😉
@beet (Comment 377) : yip beet – i love the guy – but really felt he should have perhaps been on the bench….catch 22 for PDiV?
Time I think for John Smit to revert to hooker. The prop experiment has been shown up. He should be used as backup to Bismark.
@Villie (Comment 379) : Vills, my take is: John is the better LH than hooker, but put him on the bench. He shed too much, because he was “going to play hooker” – but we all know who is boss there. I reckom to go out for a few burgers and sit out perhaps on the bench for Beast…
@Ice (Comment 380) : To me the switching between prop and hooker has not done him any good. He’s a good hooker but sadly only a mediocre prop at this level. We can get away with him playing prop against the average sides but he is exposed against the very top. We can’t pin all the scrum problems down to John..but I’d prefer to see him concentrate as a hooker…he still has plenty to offer.
@Villie (Comment 381) :
Agree.
@Villie (Comment 381) : I disagree..perhaps a year or two ago.
Smit should be Burdens back up.
Well when smit was replaced,the problems also disappeared.