For a change we have some Friday night entertainment, even though it is not the most exciting game in the world, taking into the account both these teams’ defensive records, we could see a few tries being scored.
Dylan Des Fountain makes his Lions debut at outside centre in the place of Murray, and Burton Francis starts ahead of both Andre Pretorius and Elton Jantjies, and Rory Kockott also gets a start with Jano Vermaak moving to the bench.
Over at the Cheetahs we see little change to their team and they will have some confidence after beating the Brumbies at home last weekend. This should keep the rugby fans happy until we see the big games tomorrow.
Lions: 15. Michael Killian, 14. Lionel Mapoe, 13. Dylan Des Fountain, 12. Doppies la Grange (Captain), 11. Deon van Rensburg, 10. Burton Francis, 9. Rory Kockott, 8. Warren Whiteley, 7. Joshua Strauss, 6. Cobus Grobbelaar, 5. David de Villiers, 4. Wikus van Heerden, 3. Kevin Buys, 2. Edgar Marutlulle, 1. JC Janse van Rensburg
Replacements: 16. Martin Bezuidenhout, 17. Pat Cilliers, 18. Franco van der Merwe, 19. Michael Rhodes, 20. Jano Vermaak, 21. Elton Jantjies, 22. Jaco Taute
Cheetahs: 15. Riaan Viljoen, 14. Philip Burger, 13. Robert Ebersohn, 12. Corné Uys, 11. Riaan Smit, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Davon Raubenheimer, 7. Ashley Johnson, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4. Francois (FS) Uys, 3. WP Nel, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Coenie Oosthuizen
Replacements: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Lourens Adriaanse, 18. Waltie Vermeulen, 19. Kabamba Floors, 20. Tewis de Bruyn, 21. Naas Olivier, 22. Hennie Daniller

Well went with the Cheets on this one just hope they win by 5 🙂
Go Cheetahs 😛
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 2) :
Cheetahs are going to take this comfortably IMO.
One LMS Death already today.
At least two more coming in this game, 2 picks for each team.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 5) :
i don’t know what happened to me this year but i was kak in that comp 😳
This is a bit of topic, but does anyone read rugbyvibe? First time I went to the site and was quite impressed. They have a few South African players writing blogs for them. JLP even writes for them.
@Mocho (Comment 7) :
me old Chaz is a SW BABE 😉
C’mon Lions.. Put one over the Cheetahs..
Both teams out on the field
here we go
Lions mean business
Go Cheets
@chaz (Comment 8) : Lol. Its completely different site to Sharksworld though.
may the best team win 😳
@Mocho (Comment 11) : maybe 😉
Cheetahs first on the board
Lions 0 – 3 Cheetahs
3 minutes
Cheets 3
Lions 0
3 min
Ebersohn doing the kicking for the Cheetahs btw..
@Mocho (Comment 7) : Nope never been there.
Cheetahs try!!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 18) :
Or maybe not.. penalty instead..
Lions 0 – 6 Cheetahs
6 minutes
@KSA Shark © (Comment 17) : Someone pointed it out to me so I can read Brian Mujati’s blog. By far he is the best player blog I have read. They also have Peter Grant, Conrad Jantjies and a sevens player who I can’t recall right now.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 18) :
how do you get that one right the score say 6 to the cheetahs 😕
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 19) : 😉
Lions get their own penalty opportunity, but hits the bar..
Lions 0 – 6 Cheetahs
8 minutes
Josh Strauss TRY!
@Mocho (Comment 20) :
Would you mind not punting another on here?
😆 😆 😆 😆 😆 😆
Conversion over by Francis
Lions 7 – 6 Cheetahs
11min
@KSA Shark © (Comment 24) :
Are you watching?
Im following commentary on SuperSport, can you do updates?
@Greg (Comment 26) :
I’ve backed your team.. bring them home please!
Ebersohn goes for a DG from the 10m line misses and the Cheetahs get a PK which they will go at goal with anyway.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 28) : Yip I’m watching will do commentary. No worries.
@Greg (Comment 26) : long time no see my Lions friend,
sorry but i back the cheetahs so well shall see who is the better team
good luck
Ebersohn puts it over
Lions 7 – 9 Cheetahs
15min
Josh Strauss knocks it on as he tries to score and Johnson clears
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 25) :
@KSA Shark © (Comment 34) : Not REALLY a knock. It was well ripped by Johnson
@KSA Shark © (Comment 31) : thanks KSA
will catch up got gran kids to bath
@chaz (Comment 35) : Not really funny. 🙂
We try our best to run a site and don’t like being told how good other sites are. rather tell us how good WE are. 🙂
@KSA Shark © (Comment 31) :
Thanx uncle..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 29) : We gonna try! 😆
@KSA Shark © (Comment 38) :
Was I mean?
@Greg (Comment 40) :
Shot uncle..
Okay time to change the black lips avatar. I’m no longer in mourning.
Lets see what I have in my folder.
Brussouw over
TMO. Try no try?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 44) :
Please no try..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 41) : Nope not in my opinion, but I’m pretty damn thick skinned. 🙂 😉
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 45) : You got it.
NO TRY! Excellent cover tackle by v Rensburg from the Lions.
LO to the LIons 5m from their line
@KSA Shark © (Comment 46) :
Go advertise on another site.. We have Super Rugby players’ dads on our site.. beat that!!
Cheetahs penalty by Ebersohn..
Ebersohn slots a PK
Lions 7 – 12 Cheetahs
22min
Lions 7 – 12 Cheetahs
22 minutes
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 48) : 😛
@KSA Shark © (Comment 52) :
I like the new lips.. much happier looking..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 53) : 🙂
Have edited the happy lips quickly to increase the visible size 🙂
Riaan Viljoen over
TMO : Try no Try.
MAYBE held up
Based on the evidence it is not clear to see if he grounded it.
5m Scrum.
This is where the League system of a BENEFIT OF DOUBT try comes in handy
@KSA Shark © (Comment 55) :
Ag no man.. Where are the Lions?
Corne UYS TRY!!!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 25) : NP man 🙂
@KSA Shark © (Comment 56) :
And I breathe again..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 58) :
Then they get it anyway..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 58) : NICE little back pass from Brussow 7m out and UYS goes over un touched with the Lions looking amazed that he scored.
or is it amazed that nobody touched him?
Conversion Over
Lions 7 – 19 Cheetahs
31min
@KSA Shark © (Comment 62) :
Oh well.. Well done to the Cheetahs..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 56) : Why don’t they just put those fancy 1000 frame a second camera’s that they use at the cricket on the goal line. Most of the time when judging those tries they always seem to be one or two frames short of a divisive decision
In Punters pool on SB i have a 12 margin for the Cheetahs.
I am also the highest margin.
I’m HAPPY at the moment 🙂
@KSA Shark © (Comment 66) :
Well played boet!
@Mocho (Comment 65) : Agreed.
in THIS case though the ball was obscured and only an X-Ray would have helped. 🙂
Lions need to come back into this game now!
Ebersohn slots a PK 6 from 6
Lions 7 – 22 Cheetahs
36min
@KSA Shark © (Comment 70) :
Looks like this game might be over..
Cheetahs Butcher a try by trying to pass over the top and pass into touch with a 3 on 1 overlap 5m from the Lions line
Lions carry the ball back into their in-goal
Attacking 5m scrum Cheetahs
@KSA Shark © (Comment 73) :
And its just getting worse!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 71) :
if not then it is going to be in a minute.
Viljoen TRY!!!!!
Pretorius feeds him coming on the angle into the line.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 75) :
You might finish this game on your own here.. lol
Conversion over
Lions 7 – 29 Cheetahs
39min
@KSA Shark © (Comment 76) :
The Lions decided that tonight is a game of touchies..
Robert Ebersohn TRY!!!!
Lions investors must be thinking: ‘Money well spent’. 🙄 😆 😈
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 77) : 😆
Conversion Over
Lions 7 – 36 Cheetahs
@McLovin (Comment 81) :
Hahaha!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 83) :
Unbelievable..
@McLovin (Comment 81) :
Bwhahahahahahahahhaha
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 85) :
Believe me!!! I saw it with my own eyes. 😛 😉
I wonder if the Lions will come out of the change rooms in the second half..
Mitchell is out of his job..
Lets see if the Lions investors can buy Jake from the Brumbies.. Or maybe Chester?!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 68) : Lol, that won’t be a bad idea. I’m sure they can build an x-ray or heat detection system to decide if the try has been scored. They can build anything these days. IRB should look into it.
@McLovin (Comment 81) : lekke man
The Lions are finished, finished I tell you!! Robert Eberson is coming right. Imagine Juan de Jong and Eberson as our 12 and 13?…I’m still allowed to dream.
What about using Hot Spot from cricket . . The one where they pick up if the ball has been nicked.
I really feel sorry for the Lions fans, to be honest..
Half time stats
Lions
Tackles made 53
Tackles missed 10
Cheetahs
Tackles made 27
Tackles missed 7
@KSA Shark © (Comment 95) :
Percentage wise, the Cheetahs are actually worse?!
Lions just cant capitalise?!
@Mocho (Comment 93) : Hot spot relies on the friction/pressure from the ball and bat impact to create heat, thus the HOT spot, there won’t be a hotspot when the rugby ball touches the ground.
best thing to do is go with the league system where the benefit of doubt goes to the attacking team.
In Union there is no benefit of doubt so then it actually BECOMES benefit of doubt to the defending team.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 96) : Lions Just don’t have the ball if you look at how few times they ran at the Cheetahs (had to make them make tackles)
@KSA Shark © (Comment 38) : agree with you that is why i said me an SW Babe well ok you got me and OLD SW babeto be exact a SW gran
I hear that the lions team management already started an petition against this game… Nobody told them that tackling is aloud….
Kockott gives away a PK for holding the ball on the ground.
Ebersohn slots the PK
Lions 7 – 39 Cheetahs
42min
Commentators are trying their best to jinx Ebersohn. They are carrying on constantly about how good he is kicking (100%) tonight
And the lead just stretches..
@franshark (Comment 100) :
oh soar are they
go Cheetahs 😳
Lions on attack. get 10m out and Brussouw steals it. 🙁
At a Lions LO, Johnson is shouting while the Lions are trying to make their LO call.
Joubert tunes him: “Show the guy some respect, keep quiet while he is making his call” 😎
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 94) : its like my team your team they chose to be Lions fans they can always become Shark Fans
but you are right i am bleeding for them ok sorry for them 😳 😉
gee i think i should of gone for like 40 + for the Cheetahs
@KSA Shark © (Comment 105) :
Thats a first..
Lions give another ball to the Cheetahs
Turnovers conceded
Lions 8
Cheetahs 1
50min
Blame it all on the players Mitchell!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 109) :
Thats a shocking stat!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 108) : Johnson tuned him something back and he told him to “chose your time, not when he is trying to call”
@KSA Shark © (Comment 112) : choose not chose 😳
@KSA Shark © (Comment 112) :
Hehe..
@Ben (Comment 110) : if he does well that is why they can’t make it to the top they arn’t a family 😕
@Ben (Comment 110) : Are the turnovers his fault?
@KSA Shark © (Comment 116) : They do okay on attack and then lose the ball at the ruck. Can’t blame the coach for the players not defending the rucks.
The lions only have one backline move. Send the ball to the second receiver who inside passes to the first receiver. Honestly that’s the only one they do.
ok now i get it for SB cheetahs have enough point on the Score B
now its Lions chance
GO LIONS GO 😳
😉
8 phases Cheetahs 5m out
10 phases and they knock
Cheetahs are just and to strong and are playing the ball lions on the other end well i don’t want to go there i’m always in deep K 🙄
@Mocho (Comment 118) : I’ve actually been watching since you made the comment and haven’t seen it once 🙂
The problem with Mitchell is that when things went wrong, he did not have consistentsy in his team selections. Now he got bigger problems. He needed to choose 5 or 6 players and play around them.
look at it this way Cheetahs after to night well at least for one night the point diffs is 2 points in SA conferance
@KSA Shark © (Comment 123) :
The Lions probably didn’t have the ball.. hehe..
61min
Lions 7 – 39 Cheetahs
Lions on attack 10m out
They just did it. . . They did it more in the first half.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 126) :
Bwhahahahahahhaha, they actually ran about 4 or 5 phases 😀
@KSA Shark © (Comment 127) : 10 phases and then they turned it over. 😕
@KSA Shark © (Comment 129) :
they got past the second phase?! Well done to them..
Viljoen BP TRY!!!!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 130) :
Is Brussouw having a good game?
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 131) : 🙂
@KSA Shark © (Comment 132) :
Oh well.. now all hope is lost..
Ebersohn converts his 10th for the day (100%)
Lions 7 – 46 Cheetahs
65min
I suppose some of these players will have to make the Team of the Week..
Olivier on for Ebersohn
Michael Rhodes TRY!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 136) :
I thought they had the bonus point try earlier..
All those penalties are killing the Lions..
Great kicking from Ebersohn!
@KSA Shark © (Comment 139) :
Finally !!!
would it be great if the Cheetahs are ahead of the Bulls in the SA conferance
Lions at last a try 🙂
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 137) : Ebersohn for his kicking AND general play IMO. Will see how Pat and Grant do tomorrow.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 139) :
Comeback of the century on the cards?!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 133) : I haven’t heard his name much. looking at the PC mostly and listening to the TV
@KSA Shark © (Comment 143) :
Do you mind popping me a mail with a name or two?
Ebersohn depending on Pat (Grant not playing)
Brussow depending on Schalk’s game..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 145) :
Will try catch a highlights package or a replay at some point over the weekend..
9 phases Lions on the Cheetahs 22 now
14 phases 15m out
@KSA Shark © (Comment 148) :
Get another try Putty Cats!!
18 phases and the Cheetahs get it and knock on.
scrum Lions 7m out
now i need help (just a nock on play on) a NO is a PK is it not 😕
Not sure on the numbers, but the commentators have just mentioned that the cheetahs have overtaken the Lions in tackles made. 😯
This is slightly of topic but its not like their is going to be a article up for this. Good luck to all the Man U fans out there for Sunday. May the best team win. Go Chelsea!!!
@chaz (Comment 152) : a Knock on results in a scrum
@KSA Shark © (Comment 155) : ok that i know but why say play on
@Ben (Comment 154) :
Man Utd winning the league on Sunday.. My condolences..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 151) :
The scrum has still not taken place. Subs and all sorts of shit going on.
okay started now
What is SB community picks for this game? I picked Cheetahs, but I’m way out with my margin though.
@chaz (Comment 156) :
The other team gets advantage..
@chaz (Comment 156) : Because he has to play advantage in some situations.
Cheetahs knocked on, Lions were 5m from the try line they would prefer the advatage and maybe score a try to a scrum
oh another thing somebody 😕 help we got a rugby thing going on in Mooinooi and need of somebody to ref for the U06 up till U 08 any body near to help out
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 159) :
67% on Cheetahs
33% on Lions
3 Tries to Viljoen 😎
@KSA Shark © (Comment 161) :
thanks
On the 5th phase the Lions knock it on in the Cheetahs 22 and Riaan Viljoen dribbles it from inside his 22 to fall over the tryline and score. 😯
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 157) : We will see about that!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 163) : Our SW pool is heavily in favour of the lions though 🙂
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 163) : Wish it was reversed 😎
@KSA Shark © (Comment 166) :
Team of the Week right there.. Wrapped up..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 161) : i sound sometimes well most of the time a know nothing and some just don’t like it but young or old somewhere one has to learn,
but thanks
Olivier converts
Lions 14 – 53 Cheetahs
79min
@chaz (Comment 171) : No Worries. 🙂
@KSA Shark © (Comment 168) :
You are going to be doing some catching up in my pool.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 168) :
@KSA Shark © (Comment 168) : so my place goes a bit up does it 😆
Martin Bezuidenhout TRY!!!!!!
Well done Lions a try 🙂
Conversion Missed
Lions 19 – 53 Cheetahs
@KSA Shark © (Comment 177) :
They needed a few of those in the first half..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 179) :
Thanx for the updates KSA..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 179) : Dit is ‘n Swart pakslae 😆
I’ve got the matches tomorrow morning sorted..
Then I will have the TV to myself..
Thanks for the updates KSA 🙂
Well done Cheetahs 🙂 I think the Lions should only get a picture of a wooden spoon, they don’t deserve anything else 😉
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 185) :
And to think Mitchell thinks they are going to win the Currie Cup?!
What a joke?!
Well done to the Cheetahs got 3/7 so far
Lol crap but the Lions suck.
53 points and they only scored 5 tries. 😕
Priester and The Crocks die on LMS.
Down to 5 alive
@KSA Shark © (Comment 189) :
Taking the thee points quickly adds up to 18 points..
Good thinking!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 186) :
We must be carefull
we don’t want the eggs to hatch before there time
🙂
next week it’s the Crusaders v Cheethas.
50 plus points again, but for who? 😉
@Ben (Comment 188) :
you kow that hole that one diggs well they are eating the fruit 😳
@KSA Shark © (Comment 193) :
That can only go one way!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 183) : Cool.
I’ll be here for the afternoon ones when I’m back from work.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 193) : if cheetahs win that one i will eat my hat etc
@KSA Shark © (Comment 196) :
I wont be able to do the Stormers game, I will be at the Tank then..
And the Sharks game is done by everybody anyway..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 198) : got sth on my heart can i e-mail you
@chaz (Comment 199) :
Sure.. go for it Chaz..
Speak up Robert Gumede!!! Nobody can hear you.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 198) : No Worries I’ll keep the ball rolling for the Stormers game.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 200) : thanks
@KSA Shark © (Comment 202) :
We make a good tag-team..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 198) :
And the Sharks game is done by everybody anyway…
Oh Yes. I’ll have to babysit Klempie again 😆 😀
@KSA Shark © (Comment 205) :
Hahahahaha!!!
Anyway.. Im out for the night..
Had a long enough day on the site..
Cheers..
@McLovin (Comment 81) : LMFAO!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 200) :
done 😉
@KSA Shark © (Comment 205) :
cheers till 2 morrow 😉
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 198) : No it isn’t! It always falls to me. 🙄 The rest of you clowns only give score updates.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 205) : Eh? 😐
Hmmmm…. So THIS is what tenderpreneur money gets you…
Ebersohn bros, especially the 10 , have grown into great attacking players ,decent forwards and a dangerous backline …these guys should be higher on the log
@KSA Shark © (Comment 117) : Gosh aint that the truth ,except for sharks players they cant take the blame!!
Not too long ago you guys claimed both Ebersohn brothers were not good enough for the Sharks and that u had enough talented youngsters coming thru the ranks.
And yet you have a 36 year old outside centre who should have retired yonks ago.
Sias Ebersohn is proving to be a real good prospect. So much for being overrated! 😈
@wpw (Comment 217) : funny thing is though straeuli was strong arming those kids to sign contracts outside of the transfer window 🙄 one can’t keep up with the hypocrisy mate.
@Megatron (Comment 218) : What world are you living in? Since when do Teams buy players inside the transfer market?
@Ben (Comment 219) : hehehe why were the sharks threatening to report ulster to the IRB for approaching ruan outside of the window? hypocrites much?
@Megatron (Comment 220) : You win some you lose some. All is fair in love and war.
@Ben (Comment 219) : decent teams like the bulls! not everyone is slimy like your union ben10, they were interested in mapoe BUT said since he is still contracted to the cheetahs they won’t mess with him, the sharks on the other hand went looking for holes in his contract.
in anycase the point was about the ebersohn twins & how some here didn’t rate them not so long ago
@Ben (Comment 221) : no, you can’t take cheapshots in a fight and cry to the authorities when you get some of ur own medicine back..that is disingenuous!
@Megatron (Comment 222) : I’ve been keeping an eye on them for a while, I mentioned it at our SW meet and greet at Joburg a while ago. Everyone just looked at me in a funny way. 🙂
By the way the Sharks handle the transfer stuff the same way they handel their player management. Not to well I must admit.
Hey Ben.
The consensus on SW was that they are not that good. I’ve always rated Robert since his time with the Sevens Boks and now his younger boet is also proving to be a real talent.
If I remember correctly it was said the Cronje twins should be given a chance to prove their worth and yet both have not even had a sniff of Super rugby.
@wpw (Comment 225) : The Cronje twins have got no future at all at the Sharks imo. Howzit Wes?
@Ben (Comment 226) : Not even at Currie cup level. They just aint good enough and have zero x factor that I can see. I’m not as biased as you think I am Wes! 😉
I’m good bro. 😎
I think if they were rated by your coaches they would have played by now. Maybe they’re just not good enough after all.
@wpw (Comment 228) : I expect both of them will move to a smaller union in the next 2 years or so.