Saturday morning kicks off with the first of the South African teams taking the field for the weekend, of which the Stormers are the leaders in their conference, and will look to make the most of their first tour match, kicking things off on a positive match.
The Chiefs have had a good last few weeks, picking up some important wins and suddenly finding themselves back in the chasing pack, and with a few results that could go either way, who knows who we will see at the end.
The Chiefs will do the rest of the South African teams a huge favour by beating the Stormers, but I think that is unlikely and that the Stormers will walk away victors by 8 points. Kick off is at 09h40.
Chiefs: 15. Mils Muliaina (Captain), 14. Lelia Masaga, 13. Richard Kahui, 12. Dwayne Sweeney, 11. Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10. Stephen Donald, 9. Brendon Leonard, 8. Fritz Lee, 7. Tanerau Latimer, 6. Liam Messam, 5. Romana Graham, 4. Craig Clarke, 3. Ben Afeaki, 2. Hikawera Elliott, 1. Toby Smith
Replacements: 16. Aled De Malmanche, 17. Sona Taumalolo, 18. Isaac Ross, 19. Sam Cane, 20. Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 21. Tim Nanai-Williams, 22. Jackson Willison
Stormers: 15. Conrad Jantjes, 14. Gio Aplon, 13. Jaque Fourie, 12. Jean de Villiers, 11. Bryan Habana, 10. Peter Grant, 9. Ricky Januarie, 8. Duane Vermeulen, 7. Francois Louw, 6. Schalk Burger (Captain), 5. Andries Bekker, 4. Rynhardt Elstadt, 3. Brok Harris, 2. Deon Fourie, 1. Wicus Blaauw
Replacements: 16. Tiaan Liebenberg, 17. Steven Kitshoff, 18. De Kock Steenkamp, 19. Anton van Zyl, 20. Dewaldt Duvenage, 21. Lionel Cronje, 22. Juan de Jongh

Wonder if I’m going to see ANY rugby this weekend. Missed the games yesterday. On my way to Joburg today to buy a car. 🙁 Ecstatic about the car though. 🙂
Nice Ben. What car?
@robdylan (Comment 2) : Renault Clio Sport. 🙂 adrenaline junkie!
Come on you Chiefs! Good buying Ben; enjoy matey…
@DarkDestroyer (Comment 4) : Thanks buddy.
125kw in that small body is bound to offer some fun! 🙂
Stormers by 6 😛
@Ben (Comment 6) :
Nice. I also likes the hot hatches. Cornering is also good fun.
I’ve taken on a few Clio Sports – they are very nippy.
Do none of you watch Top Gear?
Renault’s always finish bottom in the customer satisfaction surveys..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 9) :
The French cars are always bottom of the pile..
But enjoy it Ben, should make for some good fun!
Im looking forward to this game, to be honest..
Good to see Grant and Habana back for the Stormers..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 10) : Thanks Rich!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 10) :
That’s a subjective matter – and the Clio is a specific type of car: hot hatch owners seldom participate in bourgeois customer surveys.
French cars in SA do suffer from bad after-sales service, but that is fast improving.
While SA public perceptions of the cars aren’t great, their safety ratings, price and performance can’t be sneezed at.
For the record, I own a German car, but I strongly considered buying the Megane F1, and would consider a French car.
I also quite liked the Peugot 207GT – very sexy car.
@Big Fish (Comment 13) :
Im not down playing the French cars as being terrible..
I agree that those hot hatches with the bulging intakes are very good looking indeed..
I own a piece of shit silver car, so I cannot really talk
@Ben (Comment 3) : IS that the little jackrabbit that doesn’t have a back seat cos of the mid-mounted engine? 😎
CHIEFS!!!
what time is kick off
@klempie (Comment 16) :
The gambler in me came out for this match..
I would love the Stormers to lose, but should they win, I will pick up the SuperBru points.. Win/Win..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 9) : Yeh but Clarkson was gushing about it when he took it around the track.
@juba_fan (Comment 17) :
Now..
Morning all. Lets hope this is the first of 4 great SA games…
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 18) : Something of a hedge that, isn’t it? 😛
@klempie (Comment 19) :
They seem to be in love with that Fiat 500 Abarth though..
@klempie (Comment 15) : Nope that’s the V6 one.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 14) : What model piece of shit?
@klempie (Comment 22) :
Hedge betting it is.. lol!
@Ben (Comment 24) : Ah.
@klempie (Comment 25) :
Opel Corsa lite..
Okay 1st the Rugby and then the car.
1) Happy Birthday Morne, I hope you don’t get a Birthday Present from the Stormers. Other than that I hope you enjoy the day. 🙂
2) Renaults have good high revving motors but they don’t last very long. I would enjoy driving the Clio or Megane Sport but it wouldn’t last long.
Clarkson summed it up best when testing a Renault. “My children will have the interior in component form before I can get to the center of London”
Stormers 10kg heavier in the pack..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 23) : I don’t get it. I think it’s ugly. Looks like a Nissan Micra.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 29) :
Thanx for bringing that up..
Happy Birthday Morne!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 28) : No shame in that mate. VERY good value for money. Good build quality and safety ratings.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 28) : The lite side of life.
@klempie (Comment 31) :
I got it real cheap, so for a student, that was very important..
Now I have to try and sell it..
@Ben (Comment 24) : I feel slightly deflated now. 😛
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 35) :
That was meant to be a reply to comment 33..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 35) : You should get a good price for it. They are in big demand as second hand cars go. I was trying to source one for my mom last year and they were like hen’s teeth.
Happy Happy Morne! Don’t get plastered today! 😉 😛
Im no fan of Fiat to start off with..
@klempie (Comment 38) :
Mine is a bit old now.. 2004 model..
But its still in decent nick..
Great running rugby from both teams!!
Helter skelter stuff atm!! 😯 Charles Manson would be proud.
Penalty to the Chiefs right in front the goalposts..
Donald strikes
Chiefs 3 – 0 Stormers
9 minutes
Bekker penalised for playing the ball on the ground, more or less on his own 22. Donald puts it over.
Chiefs 3 – 0 Stormers
10 mins.
Stormers penalty now, also right in front..
Reverse penalty for I’m not sure what. Grant from his 22, just to the right of the posts.
Chiefs penalised for pulling the player into the ruck..
Grant strikes back
Chiefs 3 – 3 Storemrs
11 minutes
Chiefs 3 – 3 Stormers
11 mins
Januarie with a decent start to the game..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 51) :
He is looking lively..
Chiefs putting a lot of pressure on the Stormers at ruck time..
Good counter rucking from the Chiefs, causing a turnover..
TACKLE HIM FFS!! 👿
What a break from Deon Fourie!
Running about 35m after breaking from the maul..
Chiefs blown up for coming in from the side. Should be three pointer.
Stormers penalty right in front again.. Chiefs offside..
Grant nails
Chiefs 3 – 6 Stormers
16 minutes
And is.
Chiefs 3 – 6 Stormers
16 mins.
Long kick off from Donald, goes out in goal..
Stormers scrum on half way
What an Aplon try!!!
From the halfway scrum!!
Runs through the entire Chiefs team!!
Aplon with a blistering run from inside his own half and steps around about 5 players to get to the line. Stupid defensive running by the Chiefs.
Only got 3 Stormers in my FL, hope I can get a try or 3 😛
Best try I have seen this season..
Awesome individual play!!
Grant converts
Chiefs 3 – 13
19 Minutes
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 60) : @Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 62) : In my starting xv 😎
Very entertaining game so far..
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 64) :
Well done mate!!
I see you are catching third spot in the other fantasy league..
The best 13 in the world unceremoniously dumped into touch. 😛
Kahui penalised for a late tackle on Grant.
@klempie (Comment 68) :
That wasn’t late.. it was 2 phases early..
And it was a shoulder with no arms..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 66) : Havent bothered to much with that one, as I’m way behind, but I’ll be sure to join the CC one 😎
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 69) : Hadn’t seen the replay before I typed that. 😉
Stormers on attack in the Chiefs 22m..
Stormers get a penalty and take the 5m lineout..
Surely going to maul it over now..
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 70) :
Should be fun!
Schalk Burger try!
Try Burgher. Mauled off a lineout from about 8 metres.
Chiefs very frustrated and a few handbags thrown around..
Grant converts..
Chiefs 3 – 20 Stormers
26 minutes
Stormers are dominating and the Chiefs are battling to not concede panalties..
Ag well. Looks like we will have to accept travelling for the playoffs. 🙁
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 73) : Indeed, I think they have one for the 3N’s as well.
@klempie (Comment 79) :
Stormers won’t beat the Blues next week..
Im still positive of a top finish for the Sharks..
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 80) :
The Tri Nations one is also fun, I play that one every tournament..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 82) :
And they have some awesome prizes!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 82) : Cool. We’ll get a league going again then.
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 84) :
For sure..
And we will have everyone start at the same time 😉
Stormers defence is just awesome!!
Chiefs build 10 phases and go 15 meters backward..
Chiefs 3 – 20 Stormers
35 minutes
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 85) : 😛
2 minutes to play..
The game is in a bit of a lull at the moment..
Chiefs 3 – 20 Stormers
Stormers defence very impressive, as well as their mauling..
Great try by aplon, but his defence has been poor! Stormers are playing well and their scrum after initially looking shakey has been good
Stormers have made twice as many tackles as the Chiefs in the first half!
Juan de Jongh is on for Jacque Fourie
Chiefs try referred to the TMO
This should be a penalty try.
Aplon shoved Kahui in chaseing after a kick through..
Might be a penalty try here..
@klempie (Comment 96) :
He pulled his jersey!
Penalty try. 😎
Aplon off.
Penalty try awarded..
Aplon yellow card!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 98) : And grabbed him around his arm and chest. I agree with Dickinson.
Chiefs 10 – 20 Stormers
42 minutes
@klempie (Comment 101) :
Absolutely a fair call that..
Agreed..
Rubbish call. 😈
Stormers conceding a few too many penalties here..
Chiefs back in the game now..
@McLovin (Comment 104) :
How can you say that?
If Aplon wasn’t there pulling him down, he would have scored..
Chiefs getting lucky again. 👿
Sivivatu scores a try!!
YES!!!! A Donald chip kick bounces around Jantjes and Sivivatu pounces!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 106) : Aplon barely touched him & and he messed up the grounding all on his own.
Chiefs 17 – 20 Stormers
46 minutes
@klempie (Comment 109) :
It was a terrible bounce that..
Stormers are looking a bit tired as well..
@McLovin (Comment 110) : He would NOT have messed up the grounding if Aplon hadn’t restriced his arms. Suck it Mountain boy!
Duvenhage on for Januarie..
@klempie (Comment 114) : How’s things down in 6th place? 😈
Chiefs on constant attack now..
Stormers battling with 14 men..
Woooooooo. Duwenage pressured into touch 7m out! 😎
@McLovin (Comment 116) : 5th.
@klempie (Comment 114) : And it’s brokeback mountain. 😈
@McLovin (Comment 116) :
Much rosier than 20 minutes ago.. 😉
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 100) : That’s not good for my FL 😳
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 121) : Stormers’ wheels wobbling a bit. 😐
Stormers defence winning them a turnover..
They can clear from deep inside their 22..
And Grant miskicks it and a Stormers lineout on the 22m..
@McLovin (Comment 120) : That’s what I was alluding to! 😈 Hence “Suck it”. 😈
Duvenhage making quite a difference here..
Donald attempt at goal..
Aplon back on the park now..
Looks like Dickenson’s cheque cleared at half time. 👿
SCORES LEVEL!!! YES!!

Chiefs 20 – 20 Stormers
53 minutes
Tsk. Penalty Stormers off the kick off for holding on. 👿
Stormers penalty and Grant will aim at goal..
Chiefs not releasing at the breakdown..
Chiefs 20 – 23 Stormers
56 minutes
Over.
Chiefs 20 – 23 Stormers
56 mins.
Stormers bravely run it out of their own 22m
C’mon CHIEFS!!!
Chiefs pressuring the Stormers defence now.
NEARLY a try, but it will be a 5m scrum after Habs pushes it over the dead ball line.
Chiefs with a 5m scrum on attack..
Stromers offside.. advantage to the Chiefs..
Chiefs try referred to TMO..
Chiefs are over the line!! TMO call!
O jinne. 🙁
That’s a try.
Looks a certain try..
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

Try awarded!!
Chiefs 27 – 23 Stormers
60 mins
And converted!!
Chiefs 27 – 23 Stormers
60 minutes
I’d like to know McLovin’s thoughts on the matter. 😎
Stomers are starting to look ragged.
@klempie (Comment 149) :
Haha.. Shame..
@klempie (Comment 150) :
They look completely out of it..
@klempie (Comment 149) : Sad if you have to pin your hopes on foreigners to do the job for your side. 😈
Penalty Chiefs for maul infringement!
Chiefs penalty.. Donald taking aim..
He slots it
Chiefs 30 – 23 Stormers
65 minutes
@McLovin (Comment 153) : Swings in roundabouts. You’ll be doing the same when we pass you on the conference! 😈 😈
YES IT’S OVER!!

Right now it looks like I’m going to have a very bad round in FL 🙁 I couldn’t even manage 15 fit players to start with, allready got a yellow card as well 😥
@McLovin (Comment 153) :
You guys will be hoping the Bulls do you a favour!!
Peter Grant knocks on his 22. 😆
@klempie (Comment 156) : Not going to happen. 😉
Seems like this will be a good result for the Sharks.. If they do not score the bonus point, we draw level!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 159) : Won’t be needed. 😈
Chiefs are swarming ALL OVER them! 😈 😈
Stormers having to rush a kick away..
Chiefs looking potent..
That should have been a penalty for high tackle!
Stormers in possession now.. and they lose it..
Handling errors costing the Stormers..
Kitshoff knocks on.
Chiefs 30 – 23 Stormers
10 minutes to play
Could do with a penalty right now. 😛
How many tries have the Stormers got? 3?
Stormers threw this game away..
@klempie (Comment 171) :
Two..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 173) : Good.
Stormers look ‘klaar’.
Not good. Oh well.
Obladi oblada.
@McLovin (Comment 175) :
Its a sad loss though.. You guys were in a good position..
Ag man. Kak call from Dickenson.
HAHA Grant misses touch off a penalty.
Grant now not finding his touch..
And he has dropped it twice..
Not a good game back from him..
Come on Chiefs. One more score!
5 minutes to play..
Chiefs lineout on Stormers 22.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 176) : You can’t play as badly as the Stormers did in the 2nd half and expect to win.
Fair play to the Chiefs, they took advantage and then some.
What a pathetic DK. 🙄
Sivivatu attempting the drop goal.. And his aim is slightly off as he hits the corner flag..
3 mins. Come on Chiefs!!
This screws with my SB 🙂 Man I’m sad 🙂
If it’s any consolation to the Stormers fans. We know how you feel.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 185) :
@McLovin (Comment 183) :
A few 50/50 calls that went to the Chiefs..
But the Stormers have not been in the game at all in the last 40..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 185) : 😯
My superbru is on track, baby!!
Hahahaha.. the ball shibobo’d Habana..
@Ice (Comment 191) :
You gonna overtake me tannie!!
IT’S ALL OVER!!
Chiefs 30 – 23 Stormers
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Well done Chiefs. 🙂
What a comeback. 😎
Deserved winners.
Stormers get 1 point for finishing within seven points..
So the Sharks are one point behind the Stormers on the log. 😎
Yebo Gogo!! And they have the Blues next weekend!
@klempie (Comment 199) : Go Bulls! 😛 😉
Oooooops, sorry mclovin, this means I’m still on track with my wishfull thingking predictions, oh ja and a margin point for me thanks
@klempie (Comment 199) :
And both have now played 11 games..
1 from 3 on SB. 🙁
Bad for my SB and FL, but great for the Sharks.
@McLovin (Comment 201) :
If the two Bulls vs Sharks games go either way, win for the home team each time, will pull you guys back in..
what the hell was that. Brilliant comeback from the Chiefs.
@franshark (Comment 202) : Oh well, such is life. 🙂
@McLovin (Comment 201) : nooooooo, dude 🙁
Now for the Brumbies slaughtering of the Lions..
@McLovin (Comment 201) : You’ve also got them waiting for you when you get back. 😈
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 203) : But 1 of them still has 3 tour matches left……
Sharks better take advantage of this, and get the wins. No more chances and no more excuses.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 204) : 2 out of 3 and 2 margin points, darn blues
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 206) : What do you mean ‘back in’? 😐
We’re still top aren’t we. 😈 😛
@KSA Shark © (Comment 212) : Yeh. 😈
@klempie (Comment 211) : You have them twice. Could easily end in tears. 😛
@McLovin (Comment 215) :
Hehe..
After your loss against the Blues next week, you will no longer be.. 😉
3 from 3 on SB, all within 7 of final score.
Bonus point 🙁 . Aplon was shocking today ,grant was poor and we didnt see much of the two springbok centers either. Grants biggest problem is that he cant kick well out of hand …with his good foot .
Well done chiefs good win ,they needed that win to keep their hopes of play offs alive so perhaps their mind was in it more in the 2nd half.
Flo and Burger outstanding but all their tackling and breakdown finesse couldnt stop a rampant chiefs effort .Mistakes at crucial times cost them aswell
@KSA Shark © (Comment 212) :
I doubt they will lose more than 2 games on tour..
The Stormers are too good for that..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 218) : We’ll see. After your loss to the Bulls it won’t make any difference. 😉
@klempie (Comment 216) : As I said to Vinnie when he gave me stick for losing to the Stormers.
“Enjoy the tour”
To the other Stormers fans. “Hard luck guys, we know how you feel”
The Chiefs seem to enjoy playing the SA teams in Hamilton..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 221) : Yip.
The 2 Aussie games are points in the bag.
Just a reminder, if we don’t finish in the top 2, then we will still have to travel for the semies.
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 226) :
Good point..
It is definitely game on!!
Hey I just realise we can’t drop any places on the log for the rest of the weekend.
In fact, if memory serves, we were 6th coming into the weekend, which means we actually went up a spot doing bugger all. Shit, we’re good. 😎
Over reliance on senior players..SA’s biggest downfall. I said last week that I rate Lionel Cronje and that Sadie boy…didn’t watch the game but judging from the comments, the 2 should have started today.
@KSA Shark © (Comment 223) :
As I said to Vinnie when he gave me stick for losing to the Stormers.
I remember it well. 😎
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 226) : Yes, but you won’t have to travel for the pre-semis (or whatever they’re called) if you finish 3rd or 4th.
What the hell! When I last looked just after halftime, the Homos were leading by more than 10! 😯
@klempie (Comment 231) : True.
@Big Fish (Comment 232) : And then a Male streaker came on and their minds were just not on the game anymore. 😉
@Big Fish (Comment 232) : Awesome hey? 😎
@klempie (Comment 231) : Virtually no chance of a top two finish for SA imo. 😐
@McLovin (Comment 236) :
Our only chance a slip up by the Reds somewhere..
Should the Blues mess up, the Crusaders will take their top spot..
@KSA Shark © (Comment 234) :
😆 😈
@McLovin (Comment 236) : Agree.