The weekend wraps up in Bloemfontein where a resurgent Cheetahs outfit, fresh off consecutive wins, take on a Crusaders team that will be brimming with confidence after toppling a strong Stormers outfit in Cape Town last weekend.
Most of us will be supporting the Cheetahs in this match, purely to level up the log standings and prevent the Crusaders from pulling away at the top of the log, but I honestly donβt think an upset is on the cards here. Crusaders to win by a good 10 points.
Kick off is at 19h00
Cheetahs: 15. Riaan Viljoen, 14. Riaan Smit, 13. Robert Ebersohn, 12. CornΓ© Uys, 11. Rayno Benjamin, 10. Sias Ebersohn, 9. Sarel Pretorius, 8. Davon Raubenheimer, 7. Ashley Johnson, 6. Heinrich Brussow, 5. Wilhelm Steenkamp, 4. Francois (FS) Uys, 3. WP Nel, 2. Adriaan Strauss (Captain), 1. Coenie Oosthuizen
Replacements: 16. Ryno Barnes, 17. Lourens Adriaanse, 18. Waltie Vermeulen, 19. Kabamba Floors, 20. Tewis de Bruyn, 21. Naas Olivier, 22. Hennie Daniller
Crusaders: 15. Tom Marshall, 14. Robert Fruean, 13. Ryan Crotty, 12. Sonny Bill Williams, 11. Zac Guildford, 10. Dan Carter, 9. Willi Heinz, 8. Kieran Read, 7. Richie McCaw (Captain), 6. George Whitelock, 5. Chris Jack, 4. Luke Romano, 3. Owen Franks, 2. Corey Flynn, 1. Ben Franks
Replacements: 16. Quentin MacDonald, 17. Wyatt Crockett, 18. Joe Wheeler, 19. Matt Todd, 20. Steve Kenneth Alfeld, 21. Matthew Berquist, 22. Brent Ward

Got the Saders by 14. And 8 players in my starting xv.
VRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!!!!!!!!!!!!
kom vrystaat
back in time to catch the Cheetahs game. Go Cheetahs!!!
Cheetahs coming off consecutive wins?!?!?!?!?!?!? π―
Have we EVER been able to say that in Super Rugby before? π
Good evening all..
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 1) :
I have seven..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 7) : I’m hoping for a lot of tries π
I could do with 5 Fruean tries..
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 8) :
3 each for SBW and Robbie Fruean will do me just fine.
margin of 43 for me.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 9) :
And one each for all the front row players..
And Dan Carter needs 12 conversions and maybe a try or two..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 9) : @KSA Shark Β© (Comment 10) : Sonny, Fruean, Guildford, Carter, Read, McCaw, G.Whitelock and B.Franks. Franks with a hatrick will be appreciated.
Im expecting quite a few tries..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 12) : Carter is my Capo π
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 13) :
Each with a try? lol..
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 15) :
Same here..
Steyn scored a few points for me, hoping I went with the correct captain..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 16) : Or most of them π
Okay this game is crap.
4minutes and no tries yet. π
Cheetahs lead after a Ebersohn penalty..
Cheetahs 3 – 0 Saders
4 minutes
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 19) :
Hahahaha!!
Saders having a go at goal from 50m out..
Carter misses it..
Cheetahs 3 – 0 Saders
7 minutes
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 19) :
Very slippery under foot..
Players slipping all over the place
Guildford try!!!
Freuan with a great break..
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 13) : thers your first one…
Guildford nice try after excellent break by Fruean.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 26) : @franshark (Comment 28) : π π 7 more needed.
Carter with the conversion..
Cheetahs 3 – 7 Saders
10 minutes
Wonderful defence from the Cheetahs. π π
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 30) :
Good evening guys, a long hard days work behind, at leased settling down now and watching some rugga.. π
Petoors looking good
Carter going for another three points..
Slots it
Cheetahs 3 – 10 Saders
16 minutes
I’m in durbs for the game next week, anybody els?
Robert Ebersohn try!!
Sias converts
Cheetahs 10 – 10 Saders
18 minutes
Good stuf cheats
Why the **** are the Crusaders not penalised for obstruction when blocking players from getting to the oke fielding the up & under? πΏ
@McLovin (Comment 42) : also have noticed that
@McLovin (Comment 42) :
And the Cheetahs got penalised for running into the blocking players..
Brussow off with a hamstring injury..
Come on Startin XV! π
Ebersohn lining up a penalty..
And slots to take the lead..
Cheetahs 13 – 10 Saders
28 minutes
Saders kakking off at the breakdown..
Another Cheetahs penalty at breakdown.. Surely another three points..
Ebersohn stretched the lead
Cheetahs 16 – 10 Saders
31 minutes
Hehehehehehhe Are you still so happy about so many crusaders in your teams guys π
Come on Saders!
Cheetahs putting a lot of pressure on the Saders..
Very impressive!
nervous moments for the Saders there in their 22.
Can you just imagine all the new bloggers if the Cheetahs win π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 51) :
Not particularly.. But great stuff for the Sharks this!
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 51) : Eks kak af di laaste ruk. π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 54) :
Hahahaha!!
Carter try!!
Dan Carda TRY!!!!
A few phases put together by the Saders, looking dangerous..
My margin of 10 points looking decent!
Carter converts
Cheetahs 16 – 17 Saders
38 minutes
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 61) : for now.
For now my 43 looking a bit large π³ π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 51) : I’ve got one cheat in my starting xv, and brusow is watching from the side π
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 61) : I’ve got the saders by 22
Another breakdown penalty for the Cheetahs..
Who the F%^& is this Marius Bosman who Andy Capastagnio is refering to? π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 63) :
You never know what happens..
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 67) :
Chop!!
@franshark (Comment 64) : Where are you on the FL log?
Cheetahs 16 – 17 Saders
Wow, half time already
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 70) : 39
@franshark (Comment 64) : That’s why you’re in 39th position. π π π
I see I’m ahead of Richard?!?!?!?!?!?! When did that happen?
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 74) :
Last weekend.. Congrats!
I’ve been nowhere this season.. Been in 20th for a while and now 15th hoping for a top ten finish..
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 70) : about 300 points behind u, π³
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 74) : ja, my first time playing, have 17 sharks in my team, but learned how to play, will be more up there next time…
@franshark (Comment 77) :
The Currie Cup one is always fun, although I seem to suck at it!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 58) : @KSA Shark Β© (Comment 59) : El Capo π
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 78) : and normaly with the boks coming in at the second half of the comp must have been interesting, this year no changes like that, same players playing right tru
@franshark (Comment 77) : I’m just giving you a hard time π
Aaah lekke ne, sonny not playing in 2nd half, another fl player off π
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 79) : You know he only scored ONE try hey? π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 82) : I know π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 83) : He has 40mins to score more π
That tackle from Steenkamp on McCaw wasn’t high???????????/
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 86) : justice
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 86) :
And then at the NEXT tackle Bryce lawrence says that’s two tackles around the neck.
Then why didn’t you blow the other one you twat??????????
Although the twit in the Commentary Box (Skinstad) sommer decides to say the ref said 3. π― π― π―
At least 2 more Starting XV tries please.
Ebersohn takes back the lead
Cheetahs 19 – 17 Saders
51 minutes
Dan Carter off the park..
And there goes another, carter off, maaaaaaannnnn!!!!!
Sias Ebersohn slots a PK from halfway
Cheetahs 19 – 17 crusaders
51min
How long can the dream last?
Crusaders seem to be missing their injured players..
Crockett on the field now.. another Starting XV..
Squadie crockett on!!!!!
Sias Ebersohn scores a fantastic runaway try!!!
Ebersonnnnnnnnn
EBERSOHN TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What a try!!! Siasssssss!!!!
I’m Glad Ebersohn isn’t from the cape or else we’d be hearing Springbok justifications all week π
cheeetttttttaahhhhhss!!!!!!
Beautifull π
Sias slots the conversion as well!!
Cheetahs 26 – 17 Saders
57 minutes
@Jarson (AddicteD) (Comment 103) :
Saders are in trouble here..
Wobbling like a certain Stormers team..
Sias has got some gas. Suprised me there, knew he had some pace but that looked very good.
The Sharks could end the weekend 1 point behind the Stormers AND the Crusaders..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 106) : to early to say that IMO
Jhonsen tackle, ooooh..
South African teams coming to the fore this weekend.. great stuff!
The cheetahs are playing well. Carrying on from last week. Lets hope they cool off a bit again before they play the Sharks.
Berquist to go at goal..
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 108) : oh yea π
Cheetahs 26 – 20 Saders
62 minutes
6 points in it…. 18 togo
Cheetahs defence looking very strong here..
Expect a huge onslaught from the Saders in the last 15mins.
Fokus vrystaat fokus
The trouble is, The Sharks have to play each of the winning South African teams away in the last three weekends..
@Ben (Comment 118) : That’s why I said it was to early to say they are wobbling.
This crusaders team can score twice in the last 3minutes.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 120) : very true π
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 120) : Exactly, although the Lions only won because both teams couldnt lose.
Ebersohn attempts the drop goal, pushes it left..
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 123) :
The Lions played much better today than they have all season..
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 123) :
But you are right, one of them HAD to win!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 125) : Agreed, but thats not exactly elevating them to the realms of excellence, especially against the Australian Lions.
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 123) : π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 5) : And Andy Capastagnio confirms that it is in fact a 1st ever for them π
Is it me or is the game getting scrappie now
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 127) :
Agreed..
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 129) :
Could it be three in a row?!
If the Cheetahs lose this in the last seconds I’m tearing the Free State out of my world map. π
CHEETAAAAAAAAHHHHHHSSSSS!!!!!
Johnson TRY!!!!!!!!!!!!
YYYYYEEEEEESSSSSS!!!!!!!!
What a try!! What a win!!!
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 132) : Now it certainly can and will π
Where is Megatron when you really want him?
Cheetahs 33 – 20 Saders
74 minutes
VRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 139) :
Wonder if he will show face?!
@McLovin (Comment 133) : Very little risk of that NOW. π
It’s official, my FL strategy sucks and should not be tried again….ever π
Screw the fantasy league.. what a great performance this is!!
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 139) :

Tackle Vrystaat tackle!
Saders knock the ball with an open tryline..
it looks like bryce is trying his best to help the Saders here.
Hurrying Ebersohn for the kick
Silly penalties
etc.
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 142) : Naaah it no fun trolling when your team has just lost.
Saders playing to get the losing bonus point now..
Actually wouldn’t mind a Crusaders try.
Only picked the Cheetahs by 5 on SB.
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 150) :
Thats one way of brnging him back down to earth after the Stormers win..
What a result for the Cheetahs! Well done!
@McLovin (Comment 152) :
You bugger!?
Three in a row for the Cheetahs!! Well done guys!!
Who are thay playing next?!
Excellent stuff by the Cheetahs here.
The little kid close to the sound mic is having a ball π
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 155) : You know what they say about a blind squirrel.
Cheetahs 33 – 20 Crusaders
@McLovin (Comment 158) :
Haha.. Well done mate!
yessssssssss!
Well done Vrystaat!!
π 
Megatroll was right. The Crusaders were the underdogs and are going home with their tails between their legs! π
Yebo Gogo!
Crusaders the Cheetahs’ bunny in Bloem? π
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 156) : Rebels in Bloem next week.
4 in a row?
@Richard Ferguson (Comment 156) : The Rebels. They should make it 4 in a row!
@McLovin (Comment 152) :
π π π
Rob’s article dreams almost came true!!
Cheetahs are going to be a problem! The Eberson twins are causing havoc on the field. Sias…wow!! The skills you have my boy…
I’m sommer van vooraf the bliksem in with the Stormers. πΏ
well done cheetahs…i tipped you for this one π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 166) :
They will kill the Rebels next week!!
A big thank you to the cheetahs and chiefs from the sharks
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 168) : When are you going to give the Sharks their deserved 4 points on the log? π
@Megatron (Comment 172) :
Bad luck Mega.. The game last week took it out of your team, and injuries were a cruel blow..
Might have a mielie in honour of the Vrystaat later on.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 175) :
Im not in charge of that, but would have done it on Thursday already if it was up to me
@McLovin (Comment 177) :
Enjoy it boet!!
β β β π π
π π
@McLovin (Comment 171) :
@Dancing Bear (Comment 175) : Rob updates those at some stage during the weekend.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 181) : Enough playing with emoticons…..go update the log and give the Sharks their 4 points already. π
@Megatron (Comment 172) : Hehehehehehehehehehe
Good man you are, for showing face after this. π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 182) : Sweet, blame it on Rob. π
@McLovin (Comment 177) : lol π
@Dancing Bear (Comment 185) : Shit runs downhill π π π
Someone needs to reign in the Reds. And soon.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 180) : I hope you’ve watched those dvd’s already!!!? π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 187) : Good thing I still have Voldy bookmarked. At least his log is updated. π π
π π
Sias Eberson…always rated this boy..never understood why Vrystaat didn’t see this boy’s talent! Should have pushed harder RS!
@Ben (Comment 189) : Once or twice. π
@Dancing Bear (Comment 192) : I’m sure! π
@GreatSharksays (Comment 191) : I thought both Eberson boys were superb tonight.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 190) :
Best log on display IMO.
http://supersport.com/rugby/super-rugby/logs
They also show a byes column
@Ben (Comment 193) : Sarel Pretorius was a defensive machine tonight, and at the moment has the best pass from the base.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 194) : Sias certainly deserved his motm award!
Can the Cheetahs still make the play-offs?
Agree with you McLovin, The Reds are nuts! The things Cooper, Digby, Higabothem (spelling), Genia and co. do on the field!!!madness! They have a bye next week so that’s 4 points and then the Crusaders.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 195) : Is theirs updated? I mean Sharksworld log is just fine……if it were up to date.
π π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 195) :
Interesting that all the New Zealand teams stil have a bye to come!
@Dancing Bear (Comment 196) : Yeah Sarel is by far the best 9 in the Country at the moment. Thought Ashley Johnson had a great game. Defence especially.
@Ben (Comment 197) : He certainly deserved it. The thing is I kept thinking he would be so much better at 12. His distribution skills at first receiver are not up to the level of the best 10s, like Lambie usually plays. His best play for the match seemed to be running off other distributors, where he was just fantastic. His kicking is excellent too. A future Bok backline with Lambie, and the Eberson boys is something to look forward to possibly.
Anyway guys..
I’m off.. thanx for a great day of rugby viewing..
Enjoy your Sundays!!
Just saw the Lions game highlights. Elton Jantjies had a blinder???
@Ben (Comment 202) : Johnson was excellent, also thought Floors was very strong defensively. Not the threat Brussow is as an opensider, but did very well under the circumstances.
I also like Adriaan Strauss as a captain. He seems to be a good leader and also has a very good understanding and feel for the game. I hope he is around for a long time to drive Bissie onto even greater heights once John is gone.
@Ben (Comment 205) : Honestly, I just watched the first half, and in my opinion, the Brumbies were just very poor.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 203) : @Dancing Bear (Comment 206) : I see what you’re saying about Sias. I think his distrubutions skills can only get better from here. Think he will do well on 12. Both of those boys have got heaps of talent.
Kabamba was pretty solid yes.
@Ben (Comment 205) : It was basically Giteau against the Lions team. He never seems to play poorly, and I find him one of the most irritating players around, but he never does poorly. It is kind of nice to have a small guy be as successful as he has been, and he has mostly avoided injury through his career.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 208) : Didn’t see the game at all. Just saw the highlights now.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 210) : Is Butch there yet?
Well done Tjietas!
What awesome defence and commitment.
Ashley Johnson take a bow.
@Ben (Comment 209) : Both brothers show an excellent understanding of the game for such young guys, they are excellent positionally. In my opinion, some of the distribution skills just can’t be learned. Lambie seems to have the natural ability as a distributor and he is a year younger than the brothers. It is kind of like SBW and his offloads. Sure we can all watch and try to emulate what he does, but the ability to enter the tackle in exactly the right position so his hands are free to make the offload is also critical, and those are the skills that are so hard to learn, if even possible.
Well in my opinion anyway, you may think differently. π
@Dancing Bear (Comment 210) : As for Matt Giteau, I’ve seen him having some real shockers over the years.
@Ben (Comment 212) : Didn’t see or hear mention of him. EJ was OK, but not nearly on the level Sias played, and I think Sias could have done even more at 10.
@Ben (Comment 215) : I’ve seen him have shockers with the boot, but his general play always seems good, in my opinion.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 214) : I do think differently. Imo his distribution skills isn’t that bad and he can even get better in that department.
Dancing Bear, I said it last week mate. Lambie @ 10, Sias @12 and Robert @ 13. However, Sias also offers you accuracy with the boot and the up and under so Sias @ 10, Lambie @ 12 and 13, in fact Sias and Lambie can interchange.
@Ben (Comment 218) : Not saying he isn’t good Ben, just saying that Lambie is ahead in the distribution skills and he is a year younger.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 217) : I think you’re being generous DB! π where do you think he will be played in the WC? If in the starting team.
@GreatSharksays (Comment 219) : Without a doubt they can interchange. I just think Lambie has better distribution skills than Sias, and given they are twins, and have played together for so long, I can not imagine a more “in tune” centre pairing. With Lambie at 20 and the Ebersons 21, we could have 12 great years of Bok rugby from these boys. Something to look forward to.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 220) : I agree with that. You said It cannotbe taught so I’m just saying he’s already got good distribution skills and can improve on it.
@Ben (Comment 221) : 21
π π π π
I also think both Eberson brothers are excellent defensively. This kind of win, and seeing some young players playing so well can make one excited for the future of Bok rugby.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 224) : Think that might be the case yes! π
@Ben (Comment 223) : Sometimes it is just how a player thinks and interprets the game. Sias seems more interested in finding gaps and running into space, whereas Lambie seems more interested in drawing as many defenders and distributing to his teammates with space to operate. This is why I think Sias is a better 12 than Lambie and Lambie a better 10 than Sias.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 225) : I have thought about it a bit and now I’ve decided. Sias at 12 for the Boks is a big no no. That spot is being reserved for Paul Jordaan!
@Ben (Comment 226) : π all I know about Giteau is that every time I watch him play, I am supporting his opposition, and he always irritates me to no end, and usually those players that get under my skin like that, it is because they are playing well against a team I support. π
@Dancing Bear (Comment 227) : Yip don’t get me wrong its still early days but at the moment Lambie is a far superior flyhalf imo.
@Ben (Comment 228) : Would you say that if the Sharks sign the Eberson brothers when their contract ends with the Cheets the end of this season. π
@Dancing Bear (Comment 229) : Does that mean he always plays well against the Bulls?? π π
@Ben (Comment 230) : Notice how SBW and Carter were almost competing for he first receiver channel? I think it is because SBW is a better distributor than Carter, Carter just has a much more educated boot.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 231) : Only time will tell buddy. Paul Jordaan still has a hell of a lot to prove.
@Ben (Comment 232) : πΏ πΏ πΏ πΏ πΏ πΏ πΏ Not even funny in the slightest little way……
Although I would still support the Bulls against the Brumbies most of the time. π
@Ben (Comment 234) : That’s OK, always good to have more than one player pushing, drives both players onto greater heights. Which is why I hope Strauss stays on for a while, he will make Bissie better in the long run.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 233) : Then Sonny has to be extraordinary. Because Carter’s distribution is great imo.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 235) : Not sure what I am going to do when Giteau leaves the Brumbies though, might just start supporting them π
DB what would your Aussie backline be for the WC? Let’s say Drew Mitchell is fit.
@Ben (Comment 237) : SBW Is extraordinary. As I mentioned in an earlier post, it is not just about his offloads, it is about how he draws so many defenders and is still able to enter the tackle area with his hands free to distribute the ball, Carter seems to be better with space to operate.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 238) : Wonder if Jake White wants to keep him?
@Ben (Comment 239) : I kind of like the Cooper/Beale 10/12 combination. Still a little up in the air about the rest.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 184) : hehehe..cheetahs defended well & made a mess of the breakdown…great game from them allround…
Now the question is, who is going to make way for the Kings between Lions & Cheetahs π
@Ben (Comment 241) : I thought Giteau already signed a contract with another Aussie team from next season. Could be wrong, will have to check. At the least his contract with the Brumbies ends this season.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 236) : Which is exactly the case with Keegan Daniel. Healthy loose forward competition has pushed him to a higher level.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 244) : He has signed for Toulon for their next season (post world cup)
@Dancing Bear (Comment 242) : Here’s mine.
9. Genia
10. Quade
11. Drew
12. O’Conner
13. Ashley-Cooper
14. Digby
15. Beale
Not quite sure about 14. Only doubts I have
@Dancing Bear (Comment 246) : Okay cool, didn’t know or I might have forgot. π
@Ben (Comment 247) : Could just as easily play Beale at 12, O’Connor at 13 and Ashley-Cooper at 15.
@Ben (Comment 248) : Or else you just didn’t care enough to remember π π
@Dancing Bear (Comment 249) : The scariest part about that Aussie backline is not RWC 2011 but rather the future, they are all young, and have a long time to give to Aus Rugby.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 249) : I think Beale is more destructive when running from the back. I’d surely put him in on 15.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 250) : Maybe…
@Dancing Bear (Comment 244) : there’s no way sbw is a better distributor than carter…as you mention sbw is better in the tackle situation as he has a background in League where the aim is to keep the ball alive
@Dancing Bear (Comment 251) : I agree. Its very scary indeed.
@Ben (Comment 252) : Ashley-Cooper is strong running from the back as well, and maybe has a little more speed? I also think Beale is a better distributor in space than Ashley-Cooper (why can’t he have one damn name) and Ashley-Cooper a slightly slinkier runner. Am I way off base? π π
@Megatron (Comment 254) : SBW also played at first receiver in League. I think he does better drawing the players and Carter is better with space to operate.
@Megatron (Comment 254) : Have to agree Mega.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 256) : Imo yes you’re way of base. Kurtley Beale has got some wheels, that boy can motor! Very good sted as well.
In the modern game, the skills required at 10 and 12 are far more similar than 12 and 13. The NZers have this right in calling them first and second five eighths. The question is do you want to draw the defenders into the 10 channel or the 12 channel. I like it when the first receiver draws the defense, it gives those outside more space to operate.
@Ben (Comment 259) : π OK π
Thought the cheetahs may give the saders a go ! and ol megatron asked me if it was wishful thinking ,now why couldnt sharks do that?? Just goes to show teams will always beet individuals .
Sias was great and elton also was great ,boks coahces must have a headache now .
@Dancing Bear (Comment 257) :
@Dancing Bear (Comment 261) : That’s my side of the story. Maybe you think Adam is faster. Can we arrange a foot race between the 2?
@Ben (Comment 264) : It is relatively close, but I also think Beale has better distribution skills.
@Talent (Comment 262) : Imo the Ebersohn twins have started shining to late. Won’t make the world cup. As for Jantjies, Nah. π
@Dancing Bear (Comment 257) : well distribution is not only about drawing opposing would-be tacklers, the fine line of anticipation and when exactly to release the ball is a nuance carter has perfected. I haven’t seen sonny make skip passes that exploit an overlap…
Go watch the twickenham match and see who was putting sbw on to ravage the sharks with well weighted passes π
@Dancing Bear (Comment 265) : And that’s why you’d put him at 12?
@Megatron (Comment 267) : You’re probably right it is nice to have more options at first receiver. It is just nice if you can also draw the opposition and give your outside backs even more space. I’m sure you will see SBW used at first receiver more than once. π
@Ben (Comment 268) : That was my thinking, I just think him and Cooper could be devastating at 10/12.
@Ben (Comment 268) : Anyway, the Aussies problems for the future are gong to be in the front row and the second row. They have very little depth at prop, hooker and lock. They are blessed with some great young loosies though.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 270) : Can I just add that O’Conner’s distribution is right up there as well. He’s played a fair few games at flyhalf for the Force this Season and has done pretty well imo in a otherwise struggling team.
Alright high tide, need to go check on one of my boats, make sure it survives this crazy flood tide. Cheers everyone.
@Ben (Comment 272) : You’re right, O’Connor is an excellent rugby player as is Beale. I think the Aus backline is scary either way.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 271) : Yip the loosies are right up there. Agree with you in in front row and lock department.
@Dancing Bear (Comment 273) : Cheers DB, have a good one.
@Ben (Comment 275) : They have one at most two players at TH, LH, Hooker, and Lock that can truly compete at the international level. And none are very young.
Cheers.
what an awesome weekend of results. Not upset about Stormers game, but chuffed that The Lions found some balls; and very proud of Cheetahs; ja sure there is this and that and the next thing, I will take the victories…
There are some boytjies playing some real rugby out there. I love this game…
@Dancing Bear (Comment 269) : graham henry did it with sbw against scotland on the eoyt, that’s why they use the terms 1st & 2nd 5 8th as u mentioned…this is what plum was hoping to do by getting bosman – previously he had donkeys like strauss & swannie – but he didn’t bet on meyer being a turnstile… π
this is why the blues have brett & mcalister interchanging! The aussies cooper & giteau/barnes – because of deans!
Lambie’s been silent this year (could the service he’s getting from Mcleod), he needs to step up his game against the Bully Boys. Sias wants to make the Bok 10 jersey his. CompetitioΓ is tough. Lambie, Sias,Cronje, Elton, Gary, Burton..
VRYSTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT!
1 or 2 good games and Bok chants…OMW !!!
WTF β I just saw this result and thought I must be in a parallel universe… What happened to the Saders?
Henry soiled himself last night …
He must have gone to slepp with night [email protected]lostfish (Comment 284) : Got dominated by the cheetahs ,cheetahs where pumped up for this one .
I heard whispers of this not being the saders strongest side ,well firstly mcaw ,carter ,sbw , reid ,todd(the next mcaw),freuan ,franks bros all played …
And if the saders where understrengthed what where the cheetahs with out juan smith andries strauss burger philip vd walt -injuries on both side -and loosing juan smith (and brussouw half way ) is worse than loosing maitland or dagg .
Well done cheetahs
@Charlie (Comment 283) : I was dreading that.
I was actually going to post a “please don’t start calling for Bok inclusions” comment last night.
Seems maybe I should have. π
this is great the mighty Saders was won but our Cheetahs