The Lions take on the Pumas at Coca-Cola Park tonight, in the game that will kick off the 2011 Currie Cup season, which will be a rather watered down competition without the Springbok stars and all the second stringers who will doing Tri Nations duty.
The Lions are the least disrupted top 5 team with only Elton Jantjies and Butch James not available for selection, and in the last watered down Rugby World Cup affected Currie Cup in 2007, they actually made the final, so the motivation should be there for the Lions to have a decent season.
The Pumas have a massive task ahead of them this season as they will try to achieve the impossible and finish above two other teams and so remain in the Premier division next season as the Currie Cup changes its ways again, returning to a Top 6 league.
The match kicks off at 19h00.
Lions: 15 Jaco Taute; 14 Dylan des Fountain, 13 Alwyn Hollenbach, 12 Doppies la Grange (capt), 11 Deon van Rensburg; 10 Burton Francis, 9 Jano Vermaak; 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Baywatch Grobbelaar, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Wikus van Heerden, 3 Jacobie Adriaanse, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Pat Cilliers.
Reserves: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Johan Snyman, 19 Dries van Schalkwyk, 20 Michael Bondesio, 21 Hein CronjΓ©, 22 Michael Kilian.
Pumas: MJ Mentz; Ashwin Scott, JW Jonker, Pieter Engelbrecht, Deon Scholtz; Ricardo Croy, Shaun Venter; Doppies le Roux, Jaco Bouwer, CornΓ© Steenkamp (capt), Marius Coetzer, Rudi Mathee, Ashley Buys, Pellow van der Westhuizen, Dawie Steyn.
Reserves: Torsten van Jaarsveld, Brett Nel, Boela Serfontein, RW Kember, Tian Meyer, Tiaan Marx, Carl Bezuidenhout.

WHOOP WHOOP CURRIE CUP
rrruuuuuuggggbbbbbyyyyyy!!!
Got Lions by 11. Might be too small π
chances of being allowed to watch this live are zero… thank heavens for Sky+… will watch it later tonight when the wife’s in bed
@robdylan (Comment 4) : Got a feeling I’m going to be missing all the rugby this weekend π
Looking forward to Newlands tomorrow. π
@molly (Comment 5) : oh no – why’s that?
@molly (Comment 5) : Thats a lot of rugby to miss
@Clayton(PJLD) (Comment 6) : stiekuit virrie GRIEKWAS manne!
@robdylan & @Clayton(PJLD) (Comment 8)
Got a mate visiting from JHB, and he isn’t a rugby fan π and we’re gonna be in Hermanus for the weekend at his place, so not feeling too good about my chances.
@JarsonX (Comment 3) : I dunno, hopefully not coz I got Lions by 14…
@molly (Comment 10) : sounds like you might have some other stuff to do? π
Or not *that* kind of mate?
Eugene Van Staden just tweeted that he is out of tomorrows game!
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 13) : I quote: “Cant believe it, just pulled my hamstring in captains run! Out for tomorrow game, but hopefully ready by next week!”
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 14) : it’s just gone up
Go LIONS
@robdylan (Comment 15) : Ja i see.
Anybody have a clue where Johan Jackson will be playing this season?
@Ben (Comment 18) : wing… or maybe outside centre…
Lions U21 beat Valke 70 – 3
and U19 beat SWD 64 – 13
Good start, hope the senior team can carry that through!
@Greg (Comment 20) : that’s 134 – 16 ouch π
Half an hour now to go to the kick-off of the 2011 “watered-down” Currie Cup competition which will again provide South Africans with some mind blowing rugby moments as well as a chance to see the youngsters in our country shine and show their goods.
Here’s to a great 2011 Currie Cup campaign!
@franshark (Comment 21) : I bet you had to use your calculator to figure that one out π
@franshark (Comment 21) : A similar score in the way game would not go amiss!
@Greg (Comment 24) : way game????
That should of course be MAIN game π³
Lets see if the snoiL can do this! π I’ll be following and not be watching anything this weekend. π
YEAH BABY 3 CC Games this weekend over here and one of them is the Sharks game. π π π
Game 1: Lions v Pumas: Lions by 28
Game 2: Western Province v Griquas: Western Province by 11
Game 3: Cheetahs v Leopards: Cheetahs by 28
Game 4: Sharks v Blue Bulls: Sharks by 9
Pumas beat the Lions last year π―
Not often that the temperature is higher than the attendance. π
@JarsonX (Comment 26) : Lions will be in the top 3 at the end of the season IMO.
12 of this team were in the team that drew with the Sharks.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 29) : And cost me LMS πΏ
Stuey!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@JarsonX (Comment 32) : π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 31) : Sharks will be right up there π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 28) : Lions by 14, Province by 9, Cheetahs by 26 and Sharks by 5. I reckon you slightly more optimistic than me. π
Here we go CC2011
I’m busy with other stuff will only give major incidences or score commentary
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 38) : I can
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 31) : Yet the most important one, the architect of the draw, isn’t there. Underestimate the loss of Butch James (and Elton Jantjies to a certain extent) at your peril!
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 27) : You’ll be covering the commentary then this weekend? All the games?
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 30) : π π π
First Pk for lions, at scrum time
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 33) : ???
PK Lions
Lions 3 – 0 Pumas
3 min
Lions 3 – 0 Pumas
4min
PK by Francis
@franshark (Comment 45) : Lions go for points early on… thats interesting! But a good choice indeed.
@JarsonX (Comment 44) : Stuart Berry a very good friend of mine is the ref.
If possible give names where needed, like when my FL players score tries π
Vermaak takes PK quikly, and a forward pass kills the trie oppertunity
Taute almost score my first FL points but is called back for a forward pass.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 46) : An easy penalty kick or was it from far or at angle (or both)? Don’t quite know Francis’s goal kicking skills yet.
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 47) : always good to have something on the board
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 52) : easy
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 51) : 1st try for me, Burton scored my 1st points π
@franshark (Comment 53) : Yeah thats why I said it was a good choice. I thought it was interesting though for a running team like the Lions and also coz I’m sure they’ll want a bonus point. Anyways still plenty of time left to get a BP.
After a PK to Pumas they on attack for the last min or 2
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 52) : not to far out reasonable angle. Francis used to kick damn well when still a Bulls.
Puma drop goal, recardo
Croy DG from the 22
Lions 3 – 3 Pumas
10min
Lions 3 β 3 Pumas
11min
kak pass by Englebrect for the Pumas costs them a try.
MJ Mentz’s father is the president of the Pumas π―
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 58) : Well obviously as if u are a bulls flyhalf u need to know how to kick and not pass and u are gauranteed the jersey π π
@franshark (Comment 61) : @KSA Shark Β© (Comment 62) : Seems like u 2 are both trying to commentate at the same time. People gonna think things have happened twice in the match! π
Not a bad Lions side….
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 65) : You’ll get used to it, watch 6 people shout try at once π
But lets hope they start better as last year….
TMO for possible Lions try
TMO for trie for Lions
Trie awarded
Try Awarded to Jacobie Adriaanse
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 69) : @franshark (Comment 70) : lmao…
@JarsonX (Comment 67) : Its gonna take some getting used to!
@franshark (Comment 70) : Will have to say that @KSA Shark Β© (Comment 69) : has much better spelling π
Conversion over from in front by Francis
Lions 10 – 3 Pumas
15min
Convertion over
Lions 10 β 3 Pumas
15min
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 72) : Not in my FL squad
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 73) : his English, and I thought his busy π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 74) : Thats more like it Lions! π Need ’em to win by 26.
Shaun Venter #9 for the Pumas has an awesome bullet pass and he doesn’t step before passing. π
@franshark (Comment 77) : Hy [email protected] Jou ek is Afrikaans. π HTS Kroonstad matriek ’86.
@franshark (Comment 77) : Yeah busy commentating π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 79) : something Charl should look at π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 51) : I turned the TV on just as that was happening and got excited.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 80) : Matriek ’86 jy’s oud boet! π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 80) : π³ My bad, OK I can’t spell π
Okay Frans will you please continue with the commentary let me finish my stuff quickly and then I’ll be back. π
Try!! π π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 84) : That’s why his nickname is ‘Oubaas’
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 84) : Why do you think they call me Oubaas? π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 84) : 1886. π π
@McLovin (Comment 87) : Who???
So then nobody commented on the Pumas try by Ashwin Scott
Lions 10 – 10 Pumas
22min
@McLovin (Comment 90) : π π π
@McLovin (Comment 87) : Sorry Mc did comment. π³
Ok we lost it here, there was a try Pumas
Lions 10 β 10 Pumas
21min
@McLovin (Comment 90) :

@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 94) : Was actually joking, but then they really did score. π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 92) : McLovin did but he didn’t give the details. I think I scared franshark off after insulting his spelling :twisted:, the Pumas are putting up a good fight!
possesion
Pumas 59%
Lions 41%
25min
Its an entertaining game
@franshark (Comment 95) : Well done on your spelling. You’ve learnt a thing or two from Oubaas I see! π
@McLovin (Comment 97) :
Make sure you don’t talk them into another score please? I need the Lions to win WELL
PK Francis
Lions 13 β 10 Pumas
27min
@franshark (Comment 100) : Pity not many people are there to see it live π
@franshark (Comment 103) : What was the transgression?
Francis slots a PK
Lions 13 – 10 Pumas
26min
Frans carry on from here please I’ll be back after half time.
@franshark (Comment 103) : 3 FL kicks thus far π π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 99) : Interesting stat. The Lions are being made to defend!
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 104) : The story of the Tincan π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 105) : hand in the rug
@franshark (Comment 110) : *ruck – what the hell is a rug? You mean they had a fur mat on the field that one of the Puma players stuck their hands into???
I’ll also be back in a bit, please keep the detail coming.
Lions 13 – 10 Pumas
30mins
Penalty Pumas for comming in by the side, short
Lions 13 β 10 Pumas
30min
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 111) : ja that thing π
@franshark (Comment 113) : Guess the so called “title-contending” Lions don’t look so title contendars now… how is their performance in general franshark?
Lions running from their 22
Engelbreght Try
Pumas 12 under the sticks πΏ
Some vrot tackling from the Lions. π
Convertion over
Lions 13 β 17 Pumas
35min
@franshark (Comment 116) : @franshark (Comment 117) : I guess running from the 22 wasn’t the best of ideas… this is not going to be a good start for my Currie Cup on SuperBru! π Hopefully the Lions can turn it around…
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 115) : On attack they look dangerous, but poor on defense
Everytime I see the poo about to get tackled I always hope it is the type of tackle Brian Lima put on Liefling at the World Cup in 03
@franshark (Comment 120) : *conversion – nearly there with the spelling! π π
PK lions
Lions 16 β 17 Pumas
37min
@franshark (Comment 125) : PK was for offside
@franshark (Comment 125) : Thats more like it! C’mon Lions, score some bleedy tries now man! π
@franshark (Comment 126) : I taught you well π π
Same score
@robdylan (Comment 12) : π not THAT kind of friend
Mitchell are gonna whip some asses now π
I’m just gonna look for dai woordebook I have lost years ago π
The Springboks have just landed… back in JHB!!! One of their engines blew apparantly. Oh dear…
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 128) : your a tough costumer, but I like π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 133) : Hope they can be on their way soon again !
@franshark (Comment 132) : I found Google Translate works just find as well! π
@Charlie (Comment 135) : Ja they need as much recovery and training time as they can get and nothing is worse than sitting around and waiting at an airport!
I quote @Al_Hargreaves: “The Springboks have just landed… In joburg. One of the engines failed and we had to turn around. Beautiful start to the trip! #hack”
Big 2nd half needed from the lions to show their worth
Score?
@franshark (Comment 138) : After the last 2-and-a-half years I’m starting to doubt that they have any worth… πΏ
Pumas playing with different jersey in 2nd half
@Hmmm (Comment 139) : Lions 16 Pumas 17
Marius Coetzer scores easy try
@franshark (Comment 141) : Wonder why? Maybe they think it’ll boost their performance somehow… π
Oops, seems the half time tongue lashing by Coach Mitch did not work that well.
Conversion over
Lions 16 β 24 Pumas
43min
@franshark (Comment 143) : This is going pear-shapped for the Lions and (more importantly) for my superbru… π π Trust the Lions to do you any favours… π‘
Taute off, Killian on
The LIONS need to wake up…
They had 4 weeks off since their last S15 game…
@war1 (Comment 145) : It hasn’t worked for the whole Super 15 season what’s different now?
Knock on from Lions, they getting worse by the minute
@franshark (Comment 141) : They did the same last year and I think the year before as well. Maybe pulling on a clean jersey at half is a psychological thing that they feel fresher than if they had run out in a sweaty jersey.
@franshark (Comment 151) : Lions getting worse… they can get worse? πΏ
I just remembered that I picked the Lions on LMS oooooh shhhhooot
@war1 (Comment 152) : That makes sense.
typical.i went for the snoils in ls
Doppies intercept, mapoe tackled out
@franshark (Comment 141) : @The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 144) : @war1 (Comment 152) : @The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 155) : Maybe it really does boost their performance π and right now it seems to actually be working! π
@war1 (Comment 152) : CLean yes, different must by to confuse opposition
@franshark (Comment 157) : Time elasped frnashark?
Not Good π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 27) : Mom coming along to the game to keep your seat warm for you, just 10 more days π
Francis intercept try
Starting XV Burton Francis try!!!!
Conversion over
Lions 23 β 24 Pumas
54min
I think Burton Francis just became a Lions hero. Still some way to go though. C’mon Lions you’ve got it from here! π
Are the Pumas playing well or the LIONS just playing bad?
Penalty for Lions, Pumas offside
Lions regain Lead
Lions 26 β 24 Pumas
56min
@Hmmm (Comment 167) : A mixture of both.
1 starting xv try and 6 kicks π
damn – Lions hit the lead… come on Pumas!
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 136) : find? Make sure you’re perfect before you tune others. π (I’ve learnt the hard way)
@Hmmm (Comment 167) : Lions looking a bid more oiled now, also Killian more involved than Tuate
@robdylan (Comment 172) : hai no Rob the Lions must keep building! I need a good win from them! π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 170) :
Oh ok….the Pumas can turn on anyone when they put their minds to it….
Puma PK for high tackle
@robdylan (Comment 172) : 34 LMS lives lost if the Pumas win. I wont be one of them π
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 162) : Check if they fixed the bolt that should stop it from going all the way down? π
Over
Lions 26 β 27 Pumas
60min
@Hmmm (Comment 167) : You don’t need to play well to beat the Lions.
Does that answer your question? π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 173) : Ah c’mon Oubaas that was a complicated mistake involved the tense of the word not a basic spelling mistake
π π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 166) : He is playing well, even a few good tactical kicks
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 181) : π
@JarsonX (Comment 178) : Plus 6 non picks π π
15 min to go
@franshark (Comment 183) : Well the tactical kicking comes from the Bulls and the Lions have taught him how to run with the ball. The emergence of all our young flyhalves is a great prospect. We have Patrick Lambie, Elton Jantjies, Gary Van Aswegen, Burton Francis, Lional Cronje, Sais Ebersohn… the list goes on and on. The Bok number 10 jersey is going to be fiercely competed for in the near future!
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 182) : It was a spelling mistake. Find and fine are completely different.
Found was fine. it was find that was not fine. π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 182) : π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 179) : Will do π
Lions on attack
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 181) :
Ja you just draw with them… π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 188) : Oh dear I just went and made a bigger fool of myself! π³ I’m really having quite a few of these ‘moments’ here on Sharksworld – first Kyle Brown then Julia Redlinghuiys (spelling?) and now this… π³ π³ π³
Try scored by Hollenbagh
Hollenbach try!
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 188) : @franshark (Comment 189) : Ok guys I get the picture, I’ll stop tuning Franshark about his spelling… π
@Hmmm (Comment 192) : YIP we didn’t play well and we didn’t beat them. π
Conversion Missed
Lions 31 β 27 Pumas
70min
@franshark (Comment 194) : @JarsonX (Comment 195) : Now that is what I want to see from the Lions! C’mon they need to score at least one more converted try then I will be happy! π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 196) : π
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 190) : Heya Kette long time no see π
@franshark (Comment 198) : @The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 199) : Actually no, an unconverted try and a penalty/dropgoal and I’ll get a BP on SuperBru!
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 199) : A converted try will suit me as well π
Penalty for the pumas, Lions in from the side
@franshark (Comment 204) : Hope they don’t convert… π‘
@JarsonX (Comment 201) : Hey, yup now that I don’t need to fight KSA for access …. Get tired of being thrown off with cowboys when commenting at home so … π
Good to see some of the SW regulars are still around and of course plenty new faces – although maybe they are not so new considering my absence π π
Pumas goes for line out, good defense from lions and they get to put the ball in by scrum
@JarsonX (Comment 203) : Actually checking my superbru a converted try and penatly will suit me. thought i picked by 12 but actually picked by 14… π³
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 206) : There’s still a lot of us around but the newbies has become regulars as well
@franshark (Comment 207) : How long? Hope the Lions pull this one through!
4min to go
@franshark (Comment 211) : Guess my hopes for a BP are gone but I might still get a MP… π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 208) : Got 11 points.
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 208) : @JarsonX (Comment 209) : newbie like me, good to meet the better half of KSA π (hope he does not read this)
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 197) :
And we all knew the 2nd half was going to be against the LIONS as they were a mere 3 days in JHB before the game…
2min to go and the Pumas Scrumhlaf kicks turnover ball away. π― Do they not WANT to win?
Give Mapoe a wheel chair!!!!!!!!
he runs like a 60 year old.
The best player we never bought
@franshark (Comment 214) : He better read it, this is one of the places I know I can find him
π
30 seconds, Puma ball Last scrum
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 216) : I am hoping that is the case π
@franshark (Comment 214) : come to Dbn to get your T-shirt and you can meet her in the flesh. π
@franshark (Comment 219) : C’mon Lions don’t stuff it up now!
Lions 31 – 27 Pumas
Lions 31 β 27 Pumas
Well done Lions. No. It was not well done. Congrats with the win though.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 221) : How many have we got for each of the games ?
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 221) : you bet I wanna π
@franshark (Comment 224) : Damn… Guess I can consider myself lucky I got a WP. Knew I should not have picked such a high margin but all this talk about the Lions being title contendars went to my head! π π
Well done to the Pumas for putting up a good fight and to the Lions for winning in the end! π π
@JarsonX (Comment 225) : π
@The Sharks Sharkie (Comment 228) : I’m very releaved, I’m stil alive on LMS
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 226) : As far as everyone else is concerned 6 or 7. π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 231) : What does that mean …. As far as everyone else is concerned ?? Does that mean additional to us ?
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 231) : And remember, I’m watching you! π
That silly intercept try by Burton Francis costing the Pumas π
@franshark (Comment 230) : 6 deaths on LMS.
Why enter if you are going to forget to pick even the 1st round?
@Charlie (Comment 234) : And saving my life
@Charlie (Comment 234) : π
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 232) : They think there is 6 or 7 but probably about 9 to 11.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 235) : just thought they picked Pumas shoe!
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 238) : I know I confuse relatively easily but …. π π³
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 240) : the less there is the more we want it, getting us to the game is the objective
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 240) : Well I originally had only about 6 or 7, but have since asked the guys to print a few extra because of the interest and wanting to leave a few with Clayton and Richard as give aways for this that and the other through the year.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 242) : And mine if I can not make it to the game π
@franshark (Comment 243) : If you don’t make it to the game then you don’t have one. π³ π
Kannie is dood van Kruiwa stoot. π
Well I am off to get some shut-eye, busy day tomorrow doing our 67minutes of service to others and then head to The Stadium π have a good evening guys, and KSA – love you my babe
@KSA Sharkette (Comment 245) : Love you as well. See ya soon.
Enjoy the game tomorrow, tell the girls to wear their Sharksworld T-shirts π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 244) : Ok that’s clearer now π π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 244) : I know, I know !!
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 246) : Will do
Well…the LIONS won…
Let’s just hope they get better in the season…
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 80) :
nice .. same year i was born ..
@Hmmm (Comment 250) :
oh yes please .. not a good game at all .. Mitch will have to drill the guys … hoping for a vastly improved performance against the kwas ..
The handeling of the ball let the Lions down to much knocks and dropping the ball, hope it just rust cause they haven’t played in 4 weeks
We will see next week if they were rusty or do realy suck
@Mutley (Comment 252) : I was concerned that they gonna struggle in the flyhalf position, but Francis had a good game IMO