Bulls lose Kruger

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Bulls, Currie Cup, Original Content on 24 Aug 2011 at 07:30
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

The Blue Bulls, who will want to build on their first really good win of the season last week (they beat Griquas by 24 points at Loftus), will head to Phokeng take on the Leopards with a largely unchanged side this week.

Lock Juandre Kruger picked up a minor ankle injury in the big win over the men from Kimberley and will sit this week’s game out, in the hope of being fit to face the Sharks next weekend at Loftus. Pretoria Boys High boy Mtunzi Mabeta – better known as Fudge – will relish his “shot at redemption” this week, after rumours suggest he has fallen out of favour with the coaching staff due to a string of sub-par performances earlier in the season.

With the World Cup squad announcement having made last night, the Bulls are now in a much better position than they were earlier in the season, knowing that players like Flip van der Merwe, Wynand Olivier, Zane Kirchner and Bjorn Basson will be available for the remainder of the Currie Cup. This should give the coaches the ability to do a bit more forward planning and establish some continuity.

Blue Bulls: 15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Zane Kirchner, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Louis Fouché, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Arno Botha, 6 Warwick Tecklenburg, 5 Fudge Mabeta, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha (captain), 1 Dean Greyling.
Replacements: 16 Willie Wepener, 17 Rossouw de Klerk, 18 Gerrit-Jan van Velze, 19 Jono Ross, 20 Dustin Jinka, 21 Marnitz Boshoff, 22 Francois Venter.

Meanwhile, yet another loose forward who has represented the Sharks at junior level will make his Currie Cup debut in the match. Siya Mdaka, who left Durban two years ago after playing for the Sharks under 21 side in 2009, has been named to start at open side flank for the Leopards this week. He joins George Tossel, Jovan Bowles, Wes Dunlop and Luvo Lusaseni in the side, all of whom played their junior rugby in Durban before seeking greener pastures elsewhere.

Leopards: 15 George Tossel, 14 Hoffman Maritz, 13 Jovan Bowles, 12 Joubert Engelbrecht, 11 Vainon Willis, 10 Wesley Dunlop, 9 Whestley Moolman, 8 Morné Hanekom (captain), 7 Luvuyiso Lusaseni, 6 Siya Mdaka, 5 Brad Mockford, 4 Brendan Snyman, 3 Stefan Bezuidenhout, 2 Jacques Moller, 1 Bennie Uys.
Replacements: 16 Marius Fourie, 17 Dewald Coetzee, 18 Roan van Heerden, 19 Robert Kruger, 20 Johan Laker, 21 Hennie Skorbinski, 22 Clayton Durand.


  • Come On leopards!! Stoof Bezuidenhout to stoke the fire up front! :mrgreen:

  • Comment 1, posted at 24.08.11 11:49:35 by Original Pierre Reply
    Original Pierre
  • Great to see Arno Botha getting a chance in the seniors. This guy looks like the real deal.

    Also good luck to Siya, the George Campbell Old Boy. Hopefully he’ll beable to make the position his own.

  • Comment 2, posted at 24.08.11 16:50:25 by beet Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.