Benjamin returns for Cheetahs

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Cheetahs, Currie Cup, Original Content on 21 Sep 2011 at 07:12
Tagged with : , ,

Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske has opted to change a winning tem, in making two alterations to his run-on side for this weekend’s Currie Cup match against Western Province at Newlands.

Veteran winger Rayno Benjamin – a stalwart on the international sevens team of late – comes in at wing for Riaan Smit, while former (and soon to be again) Blue Bulls lock Wilhelm Steenkamp comes in at lock in the place of Francois Uys. This second change is an interesting one, in that Steenkamp’s brother, De Kock, is likely to be named in the opposing jersey for Western Province. There will be plenty to talk about around the Steenkamp family dinner table on Sunday afternoon, I’m sure.

The Cheetahs, currently lying in fourth, are now a scant two log points behind the second-placed Province and with the home side suffering a debilitating injury crisis, Drotske and his mean will know that a good win here, to follow their thorough beating of the Sharks last week, will do wonders to advance his side’s semi-final aspirations and could even move them into the top two, should the Sharks stumble again.

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 Robert Ebersohn, 12 Philip Snyman, 11 Cameron Jacobs, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Ashley Johnson, 7 Boom Prinsloo, 6 Pieter Labuschagne, 5 Izak van der Westhuizen, 4 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Marcel van der Merwe.

Substitutes: 16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Francois Uys, 19 Johan Wessels, 20 Tewis de Bruyn, 21 Sias Ebersohn, 22 Andries Strauss.


  • Any news on WP Nel and Corne Uys? How long will they still be out?

  • Comment 1, posted at 21.09.11 08:22:01 by JarsonX Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
  • im thinking Vheetahs to take this one .

  • Comment 2, posted at 21.09.11 08:24:00 by Zibbie Reply
    Friend of SharksworldCompetition Winner

    15 Jaco Taute

    14 Deon Van Rensburg

    13 Doppies La Grange

    12 Alwyn Hollenbach

    11 Michael Killian

    10 Elton Jantjies

    9 Michael Bondesio

    8 Joshua Strauss (c)

    7 Derick Minnie

    6 Cobus Grobbelaar

    5 Franco Van der Merwe

    4 Michael Rhodes

    3 Patric Cilliers

    2 Bandise Maku

    1 JC Janse van Rensburg


    16 Martin Bezuidenhout

    17 Jacobie Adriaanse

    18 David Bulbring

    19 Warren Whiteley

    20 Rudy Paige

    21 Burton Francis

    22 James Kamana

  • Comment 3, posted at 21.09.11 12:27:22 by Zibbie Reply
    Friend of SharksworldCompetition Winner

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.