The last of the round robin games sees the table topping Lions taking on the Sharks in Durban, in what should be the match of the weekend. The Lions have named a slightly weaker team, but will want to keep their momentum ahead of the semi final match at Coca Cola Park next weekend.
The Sharks have made full use of the returning Springboks, naming two in the starting line up but filling the bench with a further four, who are all certain to get a run in the second half. Craig Burden and Ryan Kankowski both return from injury to add even more depth in the forwards, both of which will want to have cracking games ahead of the play-offs.
The Lions have named their only returning Springbok on the bench, with Butch James covering the centre spots from the bench. Elton Jantjies has also been given a rest with Burton Francis getting a run.
The Sharks: 15. Patrick Lambie, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Stefan Terblanche, 12. Marius Joubert, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Frederic Michalak, 9. Conrad Hoffmann, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Marcell Coetzee, 6. Keegan Daniel (Captain), 5. Ross Skeate, 4. Jean Deysel, 3. Wiehahn Herbst, 2. Craig Burden, 1. Eugene van Staden
Replacements: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. Jannie du Plessis, 18. Willem Alberts, 19. Jacques Botes, 20. Ross Cronje, 21. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 22. JP Pietersen
Lions: 15. Jaco Taute, 14. Deon van Rensburg, 13. Dylan Des Fountain, 12. Doppies la Grange, 11. James Kamana, 10. Burton Francis, 9. Michael Bondesio, 8. Warren Whiteley, 7. Joshua Strauss (Captain), 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Michael Rhodes, 4. Wikus van Heerden, 3. Jacobie Adriaanse, 2. Martin Bezuidenhout, 1. JC Janse van Rensburg
Replacements: 16. Bandise Maku, 17. Pat Cilliers, 18. Franco van der Merwe, 19. Derick Minnie, 20. Elton Jantjies, 21. Butch James, 22. Michael Killian

Lions u21 lead 16-8 at halftime. The visitors definitely brought their A-game.
As usual Gouws Prinsloo has been a standout with Sithole not far behind.
The Lions have gone to sleep in the 2nd half. We now lead 21-16.
Come on Sharks!!!
Sharks u21 draw 26-26. A fair reflection of the game but like our u19 that lost 23-22, we missed too many kicks at goal.
Come on Sharks! I know you can beat the Lions.
Go SHARKS Go!!!!
Mmmmmm….the Durbs wildlife. π π
Sharks should win a weaker Lions side against a full strength Sharks
This is my favourite part of the weekend. When I can just sit back and enjoy a game without worrying about how it will affect us. Still, if the Lions get knocked about a bit, it might soften them up for next week. My money is on the Sharks though.
Wonder when my pizza’s getting here?
There is a rain scare apparently. π―
DAMN We’ve got a good side today. π π
beautiful shirts the sharks practicing in
warming up in, actually
@Leviathan (Comment 9) : intercept π
The Hawera Cup coming back to Durban tonight and staying here on the 29th.
I must say, the new Sharkie is a lot cooler than the old one.
Game on
hope that was the last base kick from Hoffman πΏ
Sharks kicking ass from the start π
sharks on lions 22
GodDAMNIT Frogman!! πΏ
what’s with the kicking
penalty lions, lions line out sharks 10
Jaco Taute cocks up a definite try with a knock-on 8m from the line. π
what a knock, good for you taute
Marius Joubert knocks on 10m from our line. π
Hmmm Klempie…so far the B team is making all the play… π
Penalty Lions. van Staden off his feet. Great start guys. π
Francis from 30m, 10m from left hand touch.
PK Francis
Lions 3
Sharks 0
7min
Great tackle by Fredie just to be messed up by Van Staden with his 2nd ruck penalty in 6 min…
marius joubert what can i say
Lions 3 – 0 Sharks
8 mins
that was close,
Poor call…should have been a Sharks 5 meter scrum…
Nice storming run by Kanko. van Heerden blown up for not releasing. Lambie goes for a lineout.
sharks taking the line out for a penalty
Sharks 8m out.
KANKO!!!!
It’s being TMO’d
TMO, kanko try….
Should be given.
Looks like a knock…should be 5 meter scrum to Lions
Oh what the fuck EVER!!!!
@Hmmm (Comment 42) : STFU. That was a try. π
what’s he smoking, that’s a try
Sharks counter ruck and win a penalty. They take a quick tap.
Fred!!!

Think the Fredie attempt is a try at first look
Try Michelak
I don’t know how he managed to squirm through all those bodies but that’s good!
So was it a try or not?
TMO Mich try, better
Sharks 7 – 3 Lions
15 mins
So was it a try?
Sharks 7
Lions 3
15min
daniel PAAAAAAAAASSSSSSS
Geez okes. Keep it simple. Kanko passes into touch after we turned the ball over. π
Sharks turn the ball over again. π
Fuck it man! πΏ How many knock ons now? πΏ πΏ
A lot of knocks
Handling (pass and catch) seems to be poor all round…seems playing conditions not all that good…
Forwards dominating. Backs cocking it all up.
Joubert doesn’t release, and Francis has an easy kick for goal.
PK Francis
Lions 6
Sharks 7
20min
Sharks 7 – 6 Lions
21 mins
Burton converts Sharks 7 – 6 Lions
A moment’s excitement as ST puts Odd One away with a sneaky quick restart, but Japhta’s not having it.
aaag bulltwang man
Thanks for the updates doods. π
Marius Joubert is PATHETIC!!! Sorry now I feel better.
Very sneaky but good quick kick off by Stef…but not the right ball and the Lions all not behind 10 (never knew about the behind 10 rule)
van Heerden tackles Deysel without the ball. ST makes a 22 lineout out of it.
@Hmmm (Comment 71) : Actually, the replayed showed they WERE past the 10m. But still diff ball.
@Hmmm (Comment 71) : on the replay they were all back, don’t know about the ball thing
@klempie (Comment 11) : Are you still sure about that?
Score still Sharks 7 – 6 Lions 26 min
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 75) : Yes.
This is feeling like the quarter final…
We need another try this half.
@klempie (Comment 78) : accept, both can loose and still go thru
@Franshark (Comment 80) : true
Yellow Rhodes for a spear
Come on Sharks. Two tries while he’s off.
Rhodes off for spear tackle…will make it tough for Lions for remainder of first half…
4 red or 5 red???????????????????????? π π
Lions can be thankful that irish/french halfbreed isn’t reffing the game. πΏ
WTF is Japhta doing?
hit the rode rhodes
Sharks have a 6m lineout
The Sharks are fucking pathetic.
@klempie (Comment 86) : jafta is right this time
@Franshark (Comment 90) : No I mean the bloody delay afterwards.
Is Marius deaf or what?!
Sharks conceding a lot of ruck penalties….a yellow is def in order π
@Ben (Comment 92) : bald and deaf. π
Sharks jump way before throwing but Jafta let’s it go…
FINALLY!!! π π
mj did goooooood
Try Kanko
Joubert just had his moment of the season before putting Kanko away.
Kanko! Happy birthday buddy!
@Hmmm (Comment 95) : And you’re STILL going to lose in the final….IF you get there. π
@klempie (Comment 91) : oh, ok
Really not a marius joubert fan. But great to see kanko is back!!!
Sharks 14
Lions 6
34min
Which possession at the lionout results in a try with a great break and pass by Joubert
Sharks 14 – 6 Lions
35 mins
@klempie (Comment 101) : he knows, that’s why his so grumpy today
Who’s that Lion lying all over the ball?? πΏ
@klempie (Comment 101) : π
Why was Bryce lawrence not reffing the breakdown the way Jaftha is!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!!?
Kanko REALLY cannot pass…
π π
Sharks screw up a 5m lineout.
@Hmmm (Comment 111) : None of them can.
7 points for Sharks in Rhodes absence
comom SHARKS!!!
Sharks really not playing well come ruck time…
Siren’s gone. Lions still playing.
I see our are still kak!
Halftime
Sharks 14
Lions 6
HT Sharks 14 – 6 Lions
We should be 15 points up.
2 more tries in the 2nd half…… needed π
Sharks had all the luck…
Lions to bring on replacements and in by 2…
when are these players going to deliver according to their talent?
@Hmmm (Comment 123) : dude… please either talk sense or go somewhere else π
I’m worried here, hey… we should be further ahead. Plum’s got to being the Boks on at half time
@robdylan (Comment 125) : He lost me as well.
Cody007…I think the Sharks are playing above their potential guy…
the bonus point should be wrapped up by now. But cant wait to see bissie, alberts, deysel and kanko on the same field again
@robdylan (Comment 126) : I’ll forgive them ONLY if they win with a BP, and ONLY because they haven’t had much time to re-integrate.
@Ben (Comment 118) : I see you still don’t put all the words in your sentences. π
any1 got a decent stream going, mine aint working??
hmmm you have not seen anything yet.
@klempie (Comment 127) : he’s actually just being an idiot… either not watching the game, or actually stupid.
@RuckingFun (Comment 132) : I’m watching supersport via SA proxy and it’s choppy to say the least
you guys see the halftime ad by Imperial Select? They spelled Daihatsu “Diahatsu”, FFS!
@robd 125 the Sharks have a good bench…gonna be tight to the end…
Don’t think the Lions have conceded 4 tries all season…but they not being all that smart with possession…
@robdylan (Comment 134) : Hey, I thought I was the only one on SW that had shit-giving rights. π
ST kicks off into touch for the umpteenth time.
@RuckingFun (Comment 132) : I have been searching everywhere. Buggerall to be found π₯
the big boys are out to play
Odd One gets a warning for a dangerous tackle.
Odwa should get a yellow for dangerous play…consistency come on… π
Confused by that penalty. π KSA, care to comment?
@klempie (Comment 138) : No dude, you have receiving rights that’s about it.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 145) : π
Alberts being big in def…
Where is RuckingStats with the knock-on count?
sighs
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 131) : Still? Haha I actually typed lineouts and somehow it got deleted. π
@klempie (Comment 144) : NO, because if you remove all the profanity i’ll have f&*(all to say.
I need to start a website that has video clips every Monday morning and expose all the pathetic decisions for discussion. πΏ
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 150) : The one after which Marius got 10m for chirping right?
Mvovo does not have good handling…
Bissie improving the Sharks ruck play…
good scrum boys
@Hmmm (Comment 152) : Thanks peanut.
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 150) : You would have to give up your day job. π
@Hmmm (Comment 128) : And I think you should stop blogging while you are drunk..
http://kostatz.webs.com/index.htm is up and running!!!! awesome quality
BLATANT cock ups today.
The ref in the WP game not blowing when the ball was carried over and dotted down.
Jaco Peyper overuling Jaftha and saying we charged a kick down.
“High tackle” on a ducking Kamana
Red card by the irish/french half-breed.
@klempie (Comment 151) : that was 50/50 i was still fuming about the PK against Odwa.
@RuckingFun (Comment 157) : Sweeeeeet!!! Thanks!!! Awesome Quality!!
Alberts is over the line.
Being TMO’d
AR steps in and it’s awarded.
Try Alberts
TRY ALBERT!!!
Wille Willem!!!
Alberts playing a big game…
Fred from 9m from left hand touch, 28m out.
Sharks 21 – 6 Lions
50 mins
Sharks 21
Lions 6
50min
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 159) : I didn’t actually have a problem with that. WOULD have if he’d been carded. Indidentally, what DID Japhta interpret in that 50/50?
PK Francis
Lions 9
Sharks 21
52min
Are the Lions trying to lose on purpose? Kicking for goal!?
@klempie…you saying you never noticed or do you chose to ignore?
so weird seeing butch at kings park in a lions jersey
eeeeaaaaahh
GO SHARKS GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
oh my Evening SW
no that is what i call a hideing in ST if i may sharks are on their top form lets just hope we win by 5 points and a home semi is all what we need
@Hmmm (Comment 172) : What are you talking about???
Someone please put him out of his misery! π π
geeeeeeez that was too close
Sharks have the ball on th 5m after a 5m lineout.
Lions def not playing to win…
Sharks should not feel to proud of this win…
@Ben (Comment 171) : yes i think so lets just hope they want to loose next week end i think and correct me wrong if we win it will be the 1st time won the CC twice in a row π
@Hmmm (Comment 178) : We’ll feel proud when we beat Province in the final.
Kamana high on Daniel!!!!!!!!!!!!
@Hmmm (Comment 178) : agree they have sth up the sleeve i say π
Ball is over the line…but under a pile of bodies.
Butch didn’t need a lot of time to make his impression! π
Butch already in trouble
Sharks have a 5m scrum, 18m from right hand touch.
@klempie (Comment 180) : AMEN
@klempie (Comment 180) : π
Lions can feel pretty aggrieved about the Boks being allowed to play. they would have been a sure thing for the trophy had it not happened, but TOUGH TEKKIE!!!!!!!!
GO WP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Lions scrum penalised. Sharks take another.
@Mutley (Comment 185) : butchie is getting old the bones won’t do it all
Kanko!
Kanko try no 2
KANKO OFF THE BACK OF THE SCRUM!!! Classic Kanko. π
5 points
eeeeaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh is all we need
jeaaaaaaaa baby,
Good try by Kanko…
Sharks 28
Lions 9
57min
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 188) : I said earlier, you have to feel sorry for the long suffering Lions supporters. Flying high through the entire season, light at the end of the long, long dark tunnel….and then WHAM, the door slams shut as they get to the other side. π π
now to show some dominance
I think in all we cound’t get the WC2011 but we better get the CC 2011
Kanko is starting to look like his old self! That’s the biggest positive for me from this game!
@klempie (Comment 198) :
yes seem to agree with you now how will this look work so hard but to loose the CC 2011
π
How the hell was Fred offside there? π
@Klempie…you called me peanut after I made mention of Mvovo’s handling…
You sure you ok?
@Ben (Comment 201) : oh yes but that is Kanko π
@Hmmm (Comment 204) : Yes peanut.
Sharks steal the ball on their own line. π
@klempie (Comment 198) : or as will be the case next week
the light is a freight train coming towards them π
Hahaha Lions can’t buy a try.
noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo πΏ sharks noooooooooooooooo
yes baby
sorry KSA but it felt good like boeing i must say π
Alberts monster in defense…
And the Sharks the 1st team to score 4 against the Lions…
But I cannot help to think it is a John to John favor…lol
@klempie (Comment 206) : oh i see you are your own self again
@Hmmm (Comment 211) : Think all you like. Now that the Boks are back, the natural order is being restored.
next week will be a case in point for you guys.
Try Peterson
JPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
JP intercept. Easy peasy. π
JP u boytjie!
No comparison JP and Mvovo…makes a huge dif in def and attack…JP really playing well this year…
@Ben (Comment 209) : They’ve actually just sold one. π
JPP reads the pass like a gay boy reads a twilight book! π
@Hmmm (Comment 211) : i agree with you (the Snoils have sth)
YES MBSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
Now the CC final and the Snoils lost next week end will be just great

Sharks 35 – 9 Lions
66 mins
Sharks 35
Lions 9
66min
@Ben (Comment 220) : As Rob would say it, badada-DISH π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 219) : free of charge i guess
@klempie (Comment 224) :
@Hmmm
Please remind us all what the try counts for this game are. π
Fred has a kick fot dangerous play I think.
Is it just me or does Rhodes like playing dirty? Remember he almost ripped a guys neck off in SupeRugby.
Ha-ha…you the dumbest chirper I spoken to in some time…love it…like watching dumber and dumber and you playing both roles…lol
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 219) : ur avatar tells all for tonight and next week
PK Michelak
Sharks 38
Lions 9
70min
@klempie (Comment 227) : Will it be okay if I just remind you of some grammar rules?
π π π π π
Sharks 38 – 9 Lions
71 mins
Now, let’s go after the half century.
Fredie kick very well today…
Rhodes very lucky not to have a red
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 233) : Fixed. π
@Hmmm (Comment 230) : We’d have a clue if you told us who you were speaking to????????????????/ π π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 238) : π
PK Michelak
Sharks 41
Lions 9
73min
The last time JLP cut his hair is about the same time as his last game for the Sharks. Sounds about right?
@Hmmm (Comment 230) : who u i guess π³ i’m sorry i forgot you are a Snoil may the best team win and tht will only be at the final π
I’m feeling a lot better now. I retract my “That Sharks are fucking pathetic” statement earlier. Second half has been brilliant.
Ha-ha…Rhodes calling lineout vall in afrikaans..
@ KSA…when I use the @ sign the comment is at someone…no @ sign a general comment… π
Try Botes
BOTEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSS!!!!!! π π π π π π
Job well done Sharks. Pretty much our best performance of the season. Thank you Australia! π
Fred converts
Sharks 48 – 9 Lions
79 mins.
Come on Sharks. One more.
sharks should go for 4 tries playing in the semi too, we playing much better
@Ben (Comment 248) :
Amen π³
@Ben (Comment 248) : Correction! Thank you Bryce Lawrence!
@Ben (Comment 248) : π
Siren’s gone. Lions still playing. Sharks turn it over.
Nice meaningless run for the Lions…serious game next week…
Lions turn it over.
@Ben (Comment 252) : πΏ πΏ π
ST!!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!
That was forward to Stefan π
yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

now that is the way i know our BOYS
Great play by JLP…Terblanch try
So what’s that, 6 or 7 tries to 0? I lost count. Hmmm can you help? π π
Forward pass to Terblanche. BUT WHO CARES!? Oh wait I’m sure Hmmm will care. π
Bissie, you legend!!!
Try Terreblance
Fulltime
Sharks 53
Lions 9
@Hmmm (Comment 255) : eat that lion π
Doppies played well at 9…has Mitch been using this game to try players in new positions…
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 259) : oh well i don’t really care it happens to all π³ π its the winning that tells us all now we must just win the rest
@Franshark (Comment 266) :
It must really suck to be a Lions supporter today! KNOWING that your demise is imminent, whether it be next week or the week after. π
@Hmmm (Comment 245) : I suggest you read your comment again, it was directed at an individual. π
@klempie (Comment 262) : @Ben (Comment 263) :
what a performance by the sharks!!!!!
wow even the most loyal sharks supporter realises that bissie should have started before smit. Man bissie u are immense.
@Hmmm (Comment 261) : say it, say it, its cause the ref did not see that forward pass, that’s why they lost π
sharks hit form at the right time!
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 271) : π
Bissie Alberts and JPP made a great dif to the Sharks…
The with exception of Deysel…the players the replaced looked like school kids in comparison…
Great play Sharks will see you again in the final
ross skeate is playing really well, the guy just looks like he really enjoys himself out in the field
@Mutley (Comment 279) : You mean the conference game in the Super 15 right? π
@Franshark (Comment 275) : as is in the S14 against the BB
just sorry it wasn’t against the BB π³
GO SHARKS
@klempie (Comment 281) :

what ever as long as the SHARKS wins!!!!!
FUCK ME! THAT WAS AWEZUMMMMM!!!!
@Hmmm (Comment 278) : dude…. what happened to Lions by 2? #onceamaroon
Well well well.
I was expecting a Sharks win, but nothing in that margin.
I was wondering how the Lions would cope with the return of the Boks, now I know.
Two good semi-finals coming up and after this performance I’m backing a repeat of last year.
This win feels great onTOP OF THE WORLD
Sorry Cheets to SHARKS TANK YOU WILL GO
π
dont wanna get carried away but we could very easily see a repeat of last years final. sharks vs province at Kings Park. Boom!
@chaz (Comment 282) : Chazzles! How is the hubby feeling after this game? π
@robdylan (Comment 285) :
yes it was great and top form i must say the best even if we lost the WC a blessing if i may say so π³
Bwahahahahaha! The Lions are so crap. I hope we thrash them next week! π
Nah fransharks…the ref was good…no complaints…
WELCOME BACK SHARKS! Man I missed you!
@Ben (Comment 290) : well he is a cheetah and workingNight shift and don’t care as long as we win he owns be big time big time as long as its a SHARKS WINS eish
hhhheeeaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
well played sharks . Lions where no where
Robd…language…lol
@wpw (Comment 292) : AMEN and we kick ur’ s the week end after
We gonna have some fun with WP next week then a tough one against Sharks at Coke park…
@Zibbie (Comment 296) : Thanks Zibbie
home final here we come
@Hmmm (Comment 299) : don’t swell ur head to quick the Province seem to kick when they want tooooo
@cody007 (Comment 301) : IF ur a SHARKIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
@Hmmm (Comment 293) : π
The Shark-train ran right over the Lion-bicycle!
That is how I like my rugby. π
ok – let’s go completely bos tonight then start to come down to earth tomorrow when we contemplate the Cheetahs in the semi… Visions of 2009?
Will JLP win the game for US this time?
@Franshark (Comment 304) : Thats a first
@robdylan (Comment 306) : just go and have a look at the comment on the bottom of the recent comments list π
@robdylan (Comment 306) : Oh i just hope he has a turn around for the SHARKS otherwise he is a gonner as PDV i hope β
@robdylan (Comment 306) : jlp played pretty well, he’s deserved a shot more than some others
@robdylan (Comment 306) : The Question is will he win it for THEM again? π
@KSA Shark Β© (Comment 311) : πΏ nooooooooooooooo he just better win it for the oppsitions of 2009
chaz, that i am.
@robdylan (Comment 306) : Well said, we can’t expect every game to be like this. The Lions had no reason to win this game anyway.
But still, more to be excited about now.