Trompie swaps sides for Vodacom Cup knock-out

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Bulls, Original Content, Vodacom Cup on 3 May 2012 at 08:30
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

An injury to fullback Jurgen Visser has opened the door for veteran former Sharks XV centre Jerome “Trompie” Pretorius to start against his former team-mates in this weekend’s Vodacom Cup quarter final.

Pretorius, while not born in KZN was certainly raised there, attending Voortrekker Hoërskool in Pietermaritzburg before going on to the Sharks Academy and the Sharks junior set up, where he played for both the under 19s and under 21s. Two years of Vodacom Cup rugby with no prospect of a senior call up in sight saw him move to Pretoria at the end of last year; he has since gone on to play a starring role at outside centre for Tukkies, who won the Varsity Cup and has been drafted into the Bulls Vodacom Cup side based on that campaign.

Ulrich Beyers, who started at 13 last time the Bulls ran out, has moved to fullback to replace Visser, with Pretorius moving up from the bench for his first start.

Three others in the match 22 for the Bulls have Natal roots of some sort, with flyhalf Wes Dunlop no stranger to Durban having attended the Sharks Academy and played junior and Vodacom Cup rugby for the Sharks. On the bench, both utility forward Daniel Adongo and flyhalf Willie du Plessis have spent time in the Sharks junior ranks too, with both opting to move to Pretoria in the last year.

The Bulls have included two of this year’s SA Under 20 squad in their 22 as well, with flyhalf Tony Jantjies and flanker (and captain) Wiaan Liebenberg both on the bench.

Blue Bulls: 15 Ulrich Beyers, 14 Sampie Mastriet, 13 Jerome Pretorius, 12 Jan Serfontein, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Wesley Dunlop, 9 Ruan Snyman, 8 Gerrit-Jan van Velze (capt), 7 Jono Ross, 6 Warwick Tecklenburg, 5 Cornell Hess, 4 Franco Mostert, 3 Rayno Gerber, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Morné Mellett.
Reserves: 16 Zane Botha, 17 Basil Short, 18 Daniel Adongo, 19 Wiaan Liebenberg, 20 Lohan Jacobs, 21 Willie du Plessis, 22 Tony Jantjies.

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.