Two Boks in line for JWC prize

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content on 19 Jun 2012 at 18:41
Tagged with : , ,

Three players at this year’s Junior World Championship have been nominated for the coveted IRB Junior Player of the Year Award, including two members of Dawie Theron’s SA Under 20 side.

Flanker Shaun Adendorff and centre Jan Serfontein have been nominated for the prestigious prize, alongside Ireland’s JJ Hanrahan. Both Adendorff and Serfontein have been consistently good for the Junior Springboks and were two of the few players to stand out even when the team was performing poorly.

For the first time, members of the public can submit their votes too, which will be taken into consideration alongside those of the real judges. This can be done via the official Facebook page here.

The IRB have produced a little video with footage of the three candidates, which you can see below.


  • I think Serfontein will take it.

  • Comment 1, posted at 19.06.12 19:23:02 by Ben Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Author
  • @Ben (Comment 1) : I hope he does… I think he deserves it

  • Comment 2, posted at 19.06.12 19:25:21 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • @robdylan (Comment 2) : Think so too. He has been a stand out in every game he has played for me.

  • Comment 3, posted at 19.06.12 19:30:05 by Ben Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Author
  • My heart says Glenwood Old Boy Adendorff but my brain says Serfontein, he is class! Adendorff is a rough diamond that needs to develop a bit more.

  • Comment 4, posted at 19.06.12 19:48:58 by Grasshopper Reply

  • Come on guys, the Irish bloke is far ahead with votes. Please vote for either Shaun or Jan here;!/questions/328198410592863/
    Spread the word quick!

  • Comment 5, posted at 19.06.12 20:57:51 by Grasshopper Reply

  • @Grasshopper (Comment 5) : Your link doesn’t work? Takes me to my Facebook homepage.

  • Comment 6, posted at 19.06.12 21:07:05 by Ben Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Author
  • @Ben, copy the full link above including all the forward slashes etc;!/questions/328198410592863/

  • Comment 7, posted at 19.06.12 21:12:53 by Grasshopper Reply

  • OR try here;!/irbjuniorworldrugby

  • Comment 8, posted at 19.06.12 21:30:46 by Grasshopper Reply

  • @Grasshopper (Comment 7) : @Grasshopper (Comment 8) : Doesn’t work. You know there is a link in the article right??

  • Comment 9, posted at 19.06.12 21:41:30 by Ben Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Author
  • @Ben, yes I am aware but if you copy the full URL and past it into a browser it will work. Otherwise just search for IRB Junior World Cup on Facebook and the voting option is on that page. The Irish bloke is miles ahead on votes

  • Comment 10, posted at 19.06.12 22:04:34 by Grasshopper Reply

  • Jan Jan Jan is die soul van die span!

  • Comment 11, posted at 20.06.12 03:58:17 by RuckingFun Reply

  • I voted for Shaun Adendorff, because plain & simple, he saved our behinds against England, and has been consistently good.

    No, he doesn’t have the ‘star power’ of Jan Serfontein, and will find it hard breaking into a CC team in a country with so many talented loosies, but I love the way he plays.

    I see that JJ Hanrahan is running away with it in voting. Obviously the Irish have done a better job of advertising the Facebook polling. Need News24 & Keohane to put up some links hey!

  • Comment 12, posted at 20.06.12 08:39:52 by hendrikp Reply


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.