Now I know the title of my article is quite windgat and the Lions could do to us what they did to the Sharks a few weeks ago but I am rather confident of a Stormers victory this weekend!!
Allister Coetzee made a few changes to the side to take on the team coached by John… oh wait, Um, Carlos Spen… no, let me try again, Johan Ackerman.
Andries Bekker returns to the second row but this time he will be partnered by De Kock Steenkamp who replaces the slightly injured Eben Etzebeth, who rightly deserves a break having played all three tests against the English.
Another youngster that has played non stop rugby this season is young loosehead prop Steven Kitshoff – he is replaced by the former Sharks prop Deon Carstens.
Bryan Habana seems to have been ‘rested’ and will warm the bench along with regular hooker Tiaan Liebenberg.
Here is the team:
15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Gerhard van den Heever, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Siya Kolisi, 7 Don Armand, 6 Tyrone Holmes, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Deon Carstens.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Quinn Roux, 19 Jebb Sinclair, 20 Louis Schrueder, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Bryan Habana.

Let’s go Stormers Let’s go!! ๐ ๐
@wpw (Comment 1) : At least if the snoiL beat your Streamers, the Sharks loss will be loooooooooooooong forgotten.
Go snoiL ๐
Go the Lions!!! ๐
Very inexperienced loose trio for the Stormers..
Not the best tight five either..
Could be on the back foot in the set pieces!
@wpw (Comment 1) :
I hope this heading comes back and bites you in the ass! ๐
@Pokkel (Comment 5) :
Well, then that BITE would have to be HUUUGGGEEEE!! ๐
@wpw (Comment 6) :
Logic says the Stormers should lose…
Sharks beat Stormers, Lions beat Sharks so that means Lions should beat Stormers!! ๐
@Pokkel (Comment 7) :
Earlier this season the Waratahs beat the Sharks. We beat the Waratahs.
What does that mean?? ๐
@wpw (Comment 8) :
Tikkel tokkel…… ๐
@Pokkel (Comment 9) :
That’s the name of my son’s creche! ๐
@wpw (Comment 10) :
is sy naam ook Pokkel?? ๐
@Pokkel (Comment 11) : ๐
‘Stormers name team for this weekendโs bye’
So that means the Sharks didnt even get points on the bye … how sad ๐
@wpw (Comment 10) : ๐ฏ Meanwhile, Stormers wing Danie Poolman will be moving to Irish club Connacht at the end of the season. Coetzee said that the move will be long term and that Poolman intends to become eligible for the Ireland national side.
@Megatron (Comment 14) : bliksem – bit of an Irish land grab going on…
Marcell is in die kak nou, hier kom die Ratel ๐
Heinrich Brรผssow says he is determined to get back into the Springboks fold but stressed he wonโt change his style of play to achieve that.
โNot making the squad for the England series hurt, especially since Iโve been there before and know what the environment is like. Thereโs nothing like playing Test rugby and to miss out on that was disappointing,โ
โHow I respond now is crucial. I didnโt see it as a negative thing entirely though. It is a challenge for me to play well enough to get back there. But I wonโt change my style of play. Iโm not the ball carrier they are looking for, thatโs not my strength. I could bulk up but then Iโll compromise my strength โ my ability to get to the breakdown quickly and contest the ball. Itโs the way Iโve played my entire professional career and I canโt change now.โ
โThey did really well playing with the type of openside the coach prefers, so Iโm in no position to complain,โ he said. โBut the key for me is to become so efficient at what I do that it makes it very difficult for the selectors to ignore me. That means Iโve worked very hard on my speed, so that I get around the park quicker, which in turn would potentially give me that half second more to get to the breakdown first and turnover or slow possession.
โSpeed, timing, anticipation and sharp decision-making is crucial for any opensider. If I can get those areas of my game to where I want them to, I hope it will force a rethink for the Springboks.โ
@Megatron (Comment 16) : Great attitude!
@Megatron (Comment 16) :
It might be more of a problem for Spies. Marcell could take over the no8 position.
@robdylan (Comment 15) :It’s bad Dougall, really bad..
WP/Stormers:
Rohan Kitshoff
Nick Fenton-Wells
Quinn Roux
Danie Poolman
Pieter Louw (decided not to make a come back)
Pollard
Cheetahs:
WP Nel
Izak van der Westhuizen
Ashley Johnson
Sias Ebersohn
Johan Wessels
George Earle (Griquas)
Bulls:
CJ Stander
Wynand Olivier
Sharks:
Kankowski
Skeate
@Megatron (Comment 19) : Pollard?
@Pokkel (Comment 18) : not with heyneke as coach.. ๐ ๐
@Megatron (Comment 19) : Pollard’s going to the Bulls, mater…
@Ben (Comment 20) : going to the koeie…apparently the bulle have offered him 2 bar for 3 years which translates to R55k a month…for an 18yr old that’s a lot of dosh and i don’t think wp will match..
that’s if the speculation is true
@Megatron (Comment 23) : that is frankly a criminal amount of money to give to an 18 year old. They’ll have another Hougaard/Sadie on their hands in no time.
@Ben (Comment 17) : Yes, great attitude now, but does it also mean that he has been coasting so far this season?
@robdylan (Comment 24) : tell me about it… ๐
@Pokkel (Comment 18) : sam cane > marcell coetzee!
@Megatron (Comment 27) :
I’m talking at 8th man not at openside.
@Pokkel (Comment 28) : i know, heyneke does not rate marcell as a 8th man, there’s spies, vermuelen, alberts, burger in front of coetzee in that position, so openside is his shot! sam cane trumps him imo.
@Megatron (Comment 29) : You won’t put money on Marcel winning the Durban July…he’s a work horse, he does that which does not get much lime light, he’s not flash but he’ll out-graft any player on any rugby field any day.
Too many show ponies on the field these days – Pierre Spies being culprit number one, we need more guys willing to work hard on the field so that the team can get the victory.
@FireTheLooser (Comment 30) : working hard is one thing, working smart is another. cane can match marcell in terms of graft – rackles made, rucks hit – but where he trumps him is in linking and passing ability, go look at messam’s try against the oirish and see cane offload off the tackle.
Funny article Weasel! ๐
@Megatron (Comment 31) : Who’s to say Marcel won’t be able to do the same in the NZ team?
They always have support runners around them, whereas the Boks are all standing around waiting for a kick to chase or a ruck to clear.
Just a thought. ๐
@firethelooser: marcell hasn’t displayed an offload game the whole season, even sharks fans (the honest ones) know that! Marcell barges through, he carries vociferously but intelligence & finesse are not part of his repertoire!
@Megatron (Comment 19) : Is that a Father Ted reference?
@Megatron (Comment 34) :
refer to the other thread.
@vanmartin (Comment 35) : no, the Bells scotch advert.
but i enjoy the show too ๐
@Megatron (Comment 37) : One of my favourites!