Richard Ferguson

Rugby Championsip 2012 – Australia vs New Zealand

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :All Blacks, Original Content, The Rugby Championship, Wallabies on 1 Aug 2012 at 10:30
Tagged with : , , , ,

The Rugby Championship kicks off with a cracker match between Bledisloe Cup foes Australia and New Zealand, the first of two matches between these teams in two weeks.

Australia will hope to make a positive start in the competition, with a team that shows a large resemblance to the team that played against Wales in the June internationals.

For the All Blacks, they will want to continue in their amazing winning streak, which won them a World Cup last year and continued against Ireland in the June window. Sonny Bill Williams will be playing his second last rugby union game, and will have an impact, no doubt.

Even though this match takes place in Australia, New Zealand are favourites to win this, and by quite a margin as well!

Australia: 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Anthony Fainga’a, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Will Genia, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 David Pocock (captain), 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Sitaleki Timani, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.

Replacements: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Radike Samo, 20 Michael Hooper, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Drew Mitchell.

New Zealand: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Ma’a Nonu, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (capt), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.

Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Brodie Retallick, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Ben Smith.

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.