Five years on and only five remain

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks, Super Rugby on 2 Aug 2012 at 13:09
Tagged with : , , , , , ,

The Sharks team named to face the Chiefs in Saturday’s Super Rugby Final has changed substantially from the outfit that last battled for the title, back in 2007.

Only two players that were in the starting line up that day are named to start again five years later, with Ryan Kankowski the only one to do so in the same jersey number. The rangy number 8 has never worn any other starting jersey for the Sharks in his career there, although the same cannot be said of JP Pietersen, who starts at 13 this time around after being on the left wing in 2007.

Jacques Botes was the open0side flanker that day, but this year will have to make do with a spot on the bench, while two other current stalwarts have moved the other way; Bismarck du Plessis and Tendai Mtawarira will be wearing the low numbers on Saturday, whereas they both played off the bench in 2007.

One other player who was in that starting line up, Frans Steyn, is also still (or once again) with the Sharks, but is not eligible to play in this game. The other 16 players have all moved off to other pastures – or in many cases retirement.

Here is the match 22 that played that day, together with their current wherabouts:

1 Deon Carstens (WP)
2 John Smit (Saracense)
3 BJ Botha (Munster)
4 Johan Ackermann (Retired – Lions coach)
5 Johann Muller (Ulster)
6 Jacques Botes
7 AJ Venter (Retired)
8 Ryan Kankowski
9 Ruan Pienaar (Ulster)
10 Butch James (Lions)
11 JP Pietersen
12 Brad Barritt (Saracens)
13 Waylon Murray (Lions)
14 Frans Steyn (Unavailable)
15 Percy Montgomery (Retired)

16 Bismarck du Plessis
17 Beast Mtawarira
18 Albert van den Berg (Retired)
19 Warren Britz (Retired)
20 Bob Skinstad (Retired)
21 Rory Kockott (Castres)
22 Adrian Jacobs (Retired)


  • And one of them is now an England international!

  • Comment 1, posted at 02.08.12 13:20:41 by Die Kriek Reply
  • This brings shivers down the spine. Hand on heart I think our current crop are man for man better than the class of 2007.

    My only wish is that FS was eligible 🙄

  • Comment 2, posted at 02.08.12 13:23:11 by Bayshark Reply
  • I think we stuck with the best of the bunch.

    Always thought Keegan was part of that 22, and didn’t realise Beast was on the bench nor did I know Kockott was part of the Sharks back then already.

    A lot has changed in 5 years.

  • Comment 3, posted at 02.08.12 13:28:32 by FireTheLooser Reply
  • Adi Jacobs 🙁

  • Comment 4, posted at 02.08.12 13:33:30 by JarsonX Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
  • Weren’t there speculations not so long ago that Butch James want to rejoin The Sharks or something in that line?

  • Comment 5, posted at 02.08.12 14:07:25 by Boiki04 Reply

  • I honestly believe the Team of 2012 – Has the ability and self believe to play winning rugby for 85mins…from 1-22

  • Comment 6, posted at 02.08.12 14:13:01 by Boiki04 Reply

  • @Bayshark (Comment 2) : I agree!

  • Comment 7, posted at 02.08.12 14:19:25 by markm Reply

  • Awesome team. How did we not win?! 👿

  • Comment 8, posted at 02.08.12 14:36:00 by Original Pierre Reply
    Original Pierre
  • @Original Pierre (Comment 8) : Two words….Steve Walsh.

  • Comment 9, posted at 02.08.12 14:41:38 by klempie Reply

  • @Bayshark (Comment 2) : don’t think I agree – some good names there.

    let’s hope that as collective the Sharks will do better this time. 😛

  • Comment 10, posted at 02.08.12 14:42:29 by rekinek Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition Winner Author
  • @klempie (Comment 9) : you beat me to it :mrgreen: but let’s not hold grudges (if he reedems himself – that is 😆

  • Comment 11, posted at 02.08.12 14:44:03 by rekinek Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition Winner Author
  • @klempie (Comment 9) : 😥 i feel ill at the thought since he is reffing again on saturday!

  • Comment 12, posted at 02.08.12 15:01:24 by Just a Fan Reply

    Just a Fan
  • @Just a Fan (Comment 12) : He did pretty well when we played the Streamers, mostly informing the players when they are about to infringe.

    And this time around he’s a reformed ozzie alcoholic, as apposed to 2007 when he was a kiwi alcoholic :mrgreen:

  • Comment 13, posted at 02.08.12 15:22:32 by FireTheLooser Reply

  • @Just a Fan (Comment 12) : @rekinek (Comment 11) : I just watched the 80:42-80:50 again. Thiart gets tackled and isolates himself, I think it’s Skinstad that does the work. Bis assists and is on his feet contesting for the ball, which Thiart is holding onto (imo penalisable). Then the balls pops out of the ruck, which could have been caused in two ways. Either Thiart ruks the ball out of Bis’s hands (this seems the more likely scenario), or Bis ruks it out of his. The ball bobbles towards the Sharks side of the advantage line, and then Thiart’s flailing hand reaches out for it and knocks it on. Should have been Sharks scrum. After that, Alberts secures the ball and takes it back into the ruck…then mysteriously, the ball comes out on the Bulls side. Even Blades said that he doesn’t see how that could happen. 👿

  • Comment 14, posted at 02.08.12 15:47:14 by klempie Reply

  • How about debating the best 15 of all time? I think I will put mine out there:
    15. Andre Joubert
    14. James Small
    13. Pieter Muller
    12. Trevor Halstead
    11. JPP
    10. Henri Honeyball
    9. Craig Davidson
    8. Gary Teichman
    7. A.J. Venter
    6. Wahl Bartman
    5. Mark Andrews
    4. Vleis Visagie
    3. Guy Kebble
    2. John Smit
    1. Beast

    16. Bismarck
    17. B.J. Botha
    18. Steve Atherton
    19. Shaun Sowerby
    20. Ruan Pienaar
    21. Brent Russel
    22. Stefan Terreblanche

    Sorry if I missed some big names.

  • Comment 15, posted at 02.08.12 15:47:37 by Bite me Reply

    Bite me
  • @FireTheLooser (Comment 13) : I’m hoping he will be paying the NZRU some retribution. 😈

  • Comment 16, posted at 02.08.12 15:48:48 by klempie Reply

  • @Bite me (Comment 15) :

    Don’t go there…..Megatron will just love it!! 🙄

  • Comment 17, posted at 02.08.12 15:50:56 by Pokkel Reply
    Friend of SharksworldCompetition Winner Author
  • @Pokkel (Comment 17) : Oh No 😯

  • Comment 18, posted at 02.08.12 16:13:55 by FireTheLooser Reply

  • there were some good players there. pity about how some have gone, but we have improved loads on our centres. JP is a wing though.

  • Comment 19, posted at 02.08.12 16:53:23 by Dunx Reply

  • @klempie (Comment 9) : 2 more words…
    Frans Steyn!!!

  • Comment 20, posted at 03.08.12 02:50:39 by pienaar111 Reply

  • @pienaar111 (Comment 20) : He shouldn’t have been given that kick at 19 years of age.

  • Comment 21, posted at 03.08.12 09:14:34 by klempie Reply

  • @klempie (Comment 21) : was he given it, or did he take it without it being offered while AJ was buried at the bottom of a ruck?

    Where was the leadership?

  • Comment 22, posted at 03.08.12 09:20:14 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • @pienaar111 (Comment 20) : @klempie (Comment 21) : @robdylan (Comment 22) : We might as well get over that and look to the future – being tomorrow. 😉

  • Comment 23, posted at 03.08.12 09:30:36 by FireTheLooser Reply

  • @robdylan (Comment 22) : The ruck clears long before a penalty is taken, boeta. 😐

  • Comment 24, posted at 03.08.12 09:35:09 by klempie Reply

  • @FireTheLooser (Comment 23) : Rob started it with this article. 😛

  • Comment 25, posted at 03.08.12 09:35:50 by klempie Reply


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.