Lubbe: “Red card was wrong”

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Currie Cup, Original Content, Sharks on 3 Oct 2012 at 08:30
Tagged with : , , , ,

The full findings from Pieter Dixon’s Monday night disciplinary hearing have been released and the further good news for the Sharks hooker is that Advocate Jannie Lubbe seems to agree with the majority of right-thinking people who saw the incident happen: the decision to red card Dixon for an accidental incident was the wrong one.

There’s a fair bit of legalese involved, of course, with Lubbe using terms like “balance of probability” and “could not exclude the possibility” and so forth, but to my mind, the Judicial Officer’s findings are pretty clear. He doesn’t feel that Dixon should have been carded at all and based on the evidence presented (which, by the way, is pretty much the same evidence that TMO Johan Meuwesen spent about five minutes poring over on Friday night) there was a far stronger likelihood that the so-called “kick to the head” was completely accidental than it was intentional.

The clearest indication, though, of the strength of Lubbe’s feeling in this regard is the decision to expunge the red card from Dixon’s record. That is about as close to an apology as you’ll ever get from the officials who ruled this game of ours and for Dixon, I think it’s probably sufficient vindication. Never before in the player’s long career has he received a red card and at least now he can go back into retirement with that record intact!


  • But what would have happened if the red card did affect the outcome what then?

  • Comment 1, posted at 03.10.12 10:19:30 by Dunx Reply
  • 😈 So be fair, TMO Johan Meuwesen and /or his superior Eugene Daniels should be sited to appear before a commissioner! Are they not all professionals? 😈

  • Comment 2, posted at 03.10.12 10:20:12 by KILLER SHARK Reply
    Valued Sharksworld Supporter
  • @Dunx (Comment 1) : Nothing – a result would not be reversed based on this finding as refs get it wrong all the time.

  • Comment 3, posted at 03.10.12 12:42:22 by vanmartin Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Author
  • How often are TMOs getting it wrong lately? I cant think of 4 massive calls in the last few weeks that they got badly wrong.

  • Comment 4, posted at 03.10.12 12:55:33 by SheldonK Reply

  • Glad for Dixon, it was the obvious outcome after viewing the incident. How the hell the officials cocked it up will remain a mystery.

  • Comment 5, posted at 03.10.12 13:19:03 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the Subtle
  • @SheldonK (Comment 4) : Rapport had an article on Sunday in which Plumtree spoke openly about the influence of TMO’s on the game. here is a link

    Plum is pretty outspoken these days when it comes to the officiating of the TMO, – against WP he was interviewed at half time and made no bones about how poorly he thought Veldsman was doing his job and now this newspaper piece.
    I say good for him, criticise when its justified.

  • Comment 6, posted at 03.10.12 13:40:13 by Salmonoid Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld
    Salmonoid the Subtle
  • @Salmonoid (Comment 6) : Yeh i read that article on Sunday and i must say i agree with him. The constant referrals to the TMOs take forever and the guy still gets it so wrong when the whole country can see what the call should be. Its getting pathetic.

  • Comment 7, posted at 03.10.12 14:10:02 by SheldonK Reply


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.