The Sharks open their Super Rugby campaign away from home against the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein this afternoon, hoping to start the season on a high note.
The Cheetahs team named is filled with players we have seen with the squad for a while now, with the only new face being Johann Sadie making his debut. Johan Goosen will be the catalyst for the Cheetahs should he be able to fire from the start, and his exchanges with Lambie in terms of the kicking boot should be interesting to follow.
The Sharks also have one new face in their line-up, the on loan France van der Merwe slotting into the second row. Cobus Reinach has been selected ahead of Charl McLeod, in what coach John Plumtree calls a like-for-like selection, and will relish the opportunity to show what he can do. Frans Steyn will captain his first Super Rugby match in the hope of getting his new role off to a winning start.
Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Piet van Zyl, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Frans Viljoen, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Waltie Vermeulen, 19 Boom Prinsloo, 20 Sarel Pretorius, 21 Elgar Watts, 22 Ryno Benjamin.
Sharks: 15. Louis ludik, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Frans Steyn (c), 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Marcell Coetzee, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Craig Burden, 1. Tendai Mtawarira
Reserves: 16. Kyle Cooper , 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19. Jean Deysel, 20. Charl McLeod, 21. Meyer Bosman, 22. Odwa Ndungane

Go Sharks!!!!!!!!!! Whooooo!!!!!!
I can not wait anymore. 😛
Come on Shhhhhhhaaaaarrrrkkksss!!!!
Whoo hooo!!!!! That time again….feeding time. i can wait. only problem is im at work. anyone got a good stream? or uploading to youtube….i only finnish tommorow morning..cant wait that long
20mins to go!
VRYYYYYSTAAAAAAAAT!!!!! 😈
Go Sharks!!!!! Hope Lambie will be his old attacking self like we know him
15mins
Kyle Abbott destroying Pak on debut. 6 for 27.
5mins!! Whoooohoooo!!!
@klempie (Comment 8) : Thats cool but keep the cricket for yourself for now 😉
@SteelShark (Comment 10) : 😐
Boys on the field! Sharks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
@klempie (Comment 8) : ABBOTT!!!!!
Whooooooohoooooo make that 7 wickets on debut …….
Woo hoo! soo excited for my boytjies. Been a disappointing weekend for me with Superbru….hoping the Sharks make me forget my pain…
And he finishes with 7 for 29. Pak all out 53 short of the follow on. 😎
Biffy boy is making ’em bat again. 😎
hey please give us updates on the rugby . much appreciated
Oh no…first couple of minutes seem to indicate that Plum hasn’t learnt a damn thing after three campaigns! 🙄
The pitch looked like a proper Bloem field….
I’m depressed already.
Goosen miss with a 54meter PK….
hows the sharks playing….what game plan
@DBOY (Comment 21) : The usual close-your-eyes-and-kick shit that Plum starts every season with…
whats the score????????
VS with good position after a hack forward…. and they go over from the line out….
van der Walt pushed over in right hand corner from a 5m lineout.
ai klempie so speel ons weer tot ons die helfte van super15 speel tot ons desperaat word en weer meer attacking speel
Cheetahs try..waiting for conversion
Philip(8) awarded with the try
Cheetahs 5 Sharks 0 9mins
Goosen misses conversion.
Cheetahs 5 – 0 Sharks
9 mins
Conversion missed
VS 5 – 0 Sharks
10 min
oh no whats happening with my boys….we should hav the upper hand in mauls… 🙁
@DBOY (Comment 26) : Presies so…
That try was way too easy.
JP yo doring…Loving the pressure he is putting in the cheetahs.
didnt look forward to me…. 😥
we need to step up and show them
Basic error rate is pretty high.
@Just a Fan (Comment 36) : ok maybe 😀
Steyn gets a wicket on first ball of second innings. 😆
@rhineshark (Comment 38) : the manne will settle down soon. first game of the tournament….its just nerves.
Ag no, are they now go a again go on and on about Rhule….
hows the scrums and line outs? or is it too early to ask
@DBOY (Comment 43) : Scrum seems ok. Haven’t paid much attention to lineouts.
how many steals have them made from us… 😥
who is msking the steals
making sorry
How is it that EVERY year for the last three years, we play the Currie Cup with traditional running Sharks rugby, and then start Super Rugby with this kak? Someone find me my Prozac please…
We’re pissing away possession like there’s no tomorrow. 🙁
@rhineshark (Comment 49) : Don’t worry….give it about 7 or 8 weeks…. 😕
score?
@klempie (Comment 48) : Ek voel jou pyn. Elke donnerse jaar.
There’s a penalty against the Cheetahs for someone being off his feet. Lambie puts it over.
Cheetahs 5 – 3 Sharks
21 mins
Cheetahs 5 Sharks 3 20mins
Lambi PK 5-3
we should aim for top 4spots….not ending 5th or 6th
FUCK MAN!!! STOP KICKING IT AWAY!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!
@DBOY (Comment 51) : Cheetahs 5 -Sharks 3 (22mins)
we need some tries to get the momentum going
The Sharks are into the Cheetahs 22 for the first time after a quick throw in.
Beast 2 metres out.
who is doing the kicking?
Hands in the ruck on defence. Lambie lining up.
we need to get points when in the opp. 22
Cheetahs 5 sharks 6 25mins
@DBOY (Comment 62) : Everyone. JP’s kicked it, Lambie, Ludik…
Fokvoort rugby and hope for something to happen. FFS!
5-6?
Cheetahs 5 – 6 Sharks
25 mins
@DBOY (Comment 62) : Lambie is do the kicking for points.
Ludik kicks it down field again when he’s under no pressure whatsoever. I think I’m going to have a long cry.
here we go Sharks!!
Ludick probably trying to outplay side show Bob with his kicking
Cheetahs 5 Sharks 9 27MIns
Beautiful kicking by Lambs…….
Another penalty. Lambie puts it over.
Cheetahs 5 – 9 Sharks
28 mins
Good thing Pat has the place kicking boots on.
Mvovo over with an opportunistic try.
Mvovovoom!!!!
Volvo…. at speeeeeeeed
BEAUTIFUL try by Mvovo!!!
LwaziXpress in the house!!!
Excellently worked set phase try!
Yes baby……..
Cheetahs 5 Sharks 16
30mins
The Sharks lineout is a mess and it ends up bobbling around on our side of the lineout. It bounces into the path of Mvovo which also happens to be a path right through the Cheetahs line and he’s through. Converted.
Cheetahs 5 – 16 Sharks
30 mins.
Lambie rattling Goosen… 😆
@rhineshark (Comment 83) : HA! 😛
YAY! A glimpse of running rugby here!
gone is the nerves…go Sharks
This is better now. Backline taking it into contact now.
The guys in the week said…. watch out for Goosen…. I said the only thing his getting out of today’s game is a rugby lesson from Lambi…. learn Goosen Learn….. we need you on the bench for the boks…..
Steyn must learn when to pass, otherwise we might as well bring Halstead back.
they putting too much pressure on Goosen IMO
Cheetahs look clueless at times.
le Roux tries a DG. Not sure why. Was the most penetrating play from the Cheetahs for a while.
Burden off for concussion check.
Cooper replaces him. I really miss Bissie.
Penalty Cheetahs.
Curious. Looks to me like Strauss was holding on.
Cheetahs set up 5m lineout.
The Cheetahs are getting away with blurring the offsides at the breakdowns and rucks…IMO…
when is bissie returning?
Welldone Kanko!
Sharks disrupt the maul and win a turnover.
@DBOY (Comment 103) : Another 7 weeks still
Great work by Kanko to defend the maul!
Cheetahs disrupt the maul and win a turnover.
They’re 7m out.
Hows our loose trio going? do we need deysel early in the 2nd half?
Cheetahs picking and going. Sharks defending well.
Half time
Cheetahs 5 Sharks 16
It eventually went to the backs, but Rhule spills it forward.
HT Cheetahs 5 – 16 Sharks
enough time for Burden to show his worth
Some great defense, but the Cheetahs are their own worst enemies.
And in Centurion Dolphins boytjie Abbott bowled the crap out of Pakistan. Great debut figures of 7-29. 😎
is Steven Sykes injured for the Kings?
we have a bunch off good bowlers now who can also put a 50 odd runs on the board with the bat
@DBOY (Comment 117) : More like 100. Last test Peterson got 80-something. This test Philander gets 74. The rest chip in the other 20-30.
@DBOY (Comment 117) : Jip. Peterson and Philander both decent batsmen. Steyn can also come to the party on occasion.
Here’s the second half…
Three tries please.
Jannie not rolling away from Strauss and Goosen has a penalty from just inside half way.
Right just got to my seat at Kings Force game, what did i miss
Missed.
@pierre_mackie (Comment 123) : Right just got to my seat at Kings Force game
Shame…did you lose a bet?
Sharks have a 5m lineout.
Here comes the maul!
Coetzee is over…TMO has to tell Kaplan why he shouldn’t award it.
Kaplan getting old.
TRY.
Lambie converts from touch.
Cheetahs 5 – 23 Sharks
46 mins
@klempie (Comment 125) : 😆 Funny 😉
@rhineshark (Comment 129) : He has lost his touch a bit.
Lineout cockup by the Cheetahs. Sharks take a scrum.
Sharks are doing just fine i see 😀
can someone hand me the champers
Cheetahs front row goes down. Penalty.
lekke scrummy
Lambie from 4 metres inside Cheetahs territory.
Great kick.
Cheetahs 5 – 26 Sharks
50 mins
Sharks handing out a free rugby lesson in Bloem.
Stop kicking! You’ve got a massive lead now so keep it in hand and step on the gas!
@McLovin (Comment 141) : Howzit, chinabean. Long time no see.
Things looking good atm. Don’t slack off now Sharkies.
@klempie (Comment 143) : Ja bru, good to be back. 😎
can we look at a BP win
Here we go….the Sharks are running again.
@McLovin (Comment 141) : my goodness gracious Mclovin…. its been years boet…. welcome….
@klempie (Comment 147) : Fizzles out as JP runs out of options and grubbers it into touch.
@McLovin (Comment 145) : Oh, so you’ve been away too?
@Franshark (Comment 148) : Dankie Swaer.. 🙂
This is more like it. Sharks struggling to fire on attack, but I am just pleased they are at least trying….and just as I say that, Pat kicks it away and hands the Cheetahs a 60m run. 🙄
Labuschagne over. Sharks defence a bit broken and the Cheetahs loosies on the far side finish it off.
Nice try Cheetahs.
@klempie (Comment 150) : Not really ‘away’. Can’t say too much on the interweb, let’s just say the proverbial turd (the size of a small planet) hit the fan… 😐
But hopefully heading for a happy ending. 🙂
Goosen converts.
Cheetahs 12 – 26 Sharks
60 mins
Cooper is on for Burden.
Sharks shouldnt give away soft tries
@McLovin (Comment 155) : Did you get on the wrong side of the draconian admins around here?
Geez is Odwa still playing for us?
@klempie (Comment 158) : No.. 😆 Nothing to do with this lovely site or admins.
Johann Sadie in the corner. That’s a great try by the Cheetahs.
This game ain’t over by a long shot. Do I sense crocodile tears?
Plum hasnt learned that you dont sub too many players at once. It breaks momentum. 👿
Goosen converts from touch
Cheetahs 19 – 26 Sharks
64 mins
O jinne, are the Sharks about to choke on a mielie?
Was that not falling over from the Cheetahs
Cheetahs all over us now. They have a 5m lineout.
Sharks concede a penalty in the maul.
Going for goal. I think that’s the right decision with 13 minutes left to play.
The first thing Deysel does is run into three defenders and give away the penalty. 🙄
Over.
Cheetahs 22 – 26 Sharks
68 minutes
we cant loose this game…cum on boys?!!!!!!!!
Let’s see how much character this side has.
Cheetahs 22 – 26 Sharks
70 mins
all the subs on ?
PSdT!!!!!
Shit….foot in touch. 🙁
try? @ klempie
Lifetime supply of mielies for Jafta. 😈
@DBOY (Comment 178) : Was but called back for foot in touch.
was it in touch
Cheetahs scrum on their 22. Sharks destroy them.
@DBOY (Comment 181) : At least two studs..
Sharks scrum just inside Cheetahs 22.
Yes
damn..
Sharks 5m out!
beast still on the field?
All over Red Rover for the States.
Penalty Sharks. It’s right in front.
Personally I think that was fine. He was on his feet.
Cheetahs 22 – 29 Sharks
76 minis
We have no idea to create an overlap when we attack near the tryline. Simply go into bash it up mode.
we need the ball in hand. dont kick it!!!
Daniller nearly scores from the KO. Sharks have to clear a 5m lineout.
Plum also shaking his head.
damn listening to radio commentating at work
with a bias commentater
Sharks get a penalty to clear their half. Lineout is just inside their half.
78 mins
how much time left
Valuable away win for the Sharks. Especially as they’re about to lose a home game next week. 😈
They maul into the Cheetahs half and then there’san intercept. Penalty Cheetahs. They take it quick.
PSdT saves the day with a steal.
Now it’s pick and go stuff for the last minute.
who we playing next
Full Time
Cheetahs 22 – 29 Sharks
Thank goodness!
@DBOY (Comment 204) : Stormers
so thats 4points
@DBOY (Comment 204) : The mighty Stormers. 🙂
I suppose a win is a win. We’ll have to get our shit into gear if we want to beat the Stormers.
thanks for the updates
I’ll take the victory, but pretty pathetic performance except for Lambie and the scrum.
Well, I don’t really know what to make of that. There were patches of what we were hoping to see, but still too much pointless kicking. Still, it’s 4 away points against our bogey side. I guess I won’t pass judgement until after next week.
@McLovin (Comment 209) : welkom terug.
MY LIEWE FOK, that was too close.
@robdylan (Comment 214) : Thank you sir. 🙂
nice cameo’s by Herbst and Deysel. But shit… we’ve lost a lot of leadership and composure.
@McLovin (Comment 215) : listen, if you leave again I’m going to come and actually hunt you down in person 🙂
@robdylan (Comment 217) : I certainly don’t get that kind of treatment… 😐
@robdylan (Comment 217) : Will keep that in mind.
@klempie (Comment 218) : Yes, but I’m nice.. 😉 😆
Well done to Jannie and Beast ……u totally scrummed the cheeaths to hell and back…wian too
Good away win Sharks.
The tjietas fight back started the moment Odwa replaced Mvovo, Odwa’s defense was SHOCKING!
tjietas will do well at Rugby League, but sadly for them real rugby still requires skills such as scrumaging and lineouts
Well done sharks! Happy with that result!
@McLovin (Comment 220) : as McLovin says, he’s not a chop