The match we have all been waiting for. A clash that will go a long way in determining the momentum of these two teams going forward and their spot on the South African Conference log.
The Sharks have made a single change to the team that beat the Cheetahs, bringing in Jean Deysel to counter the physicality of the Stormers loose trio. The Sharks are expecting a tighter and tougher match today, and will do well to stay unbeaten in the conference.
The Stormers have stuck with Elton Jantjies after his miserable start against the Bulls, while sticking Peter Grant on the bench following his return from Japan. Jaco Taute misses out due to injury and Joe Pietersen starts at fullback. Frans Malherbe has been brought into the front row to match up with Tendai Mtawarira and stabilise a wobbly looking Stormers scrum.
Sharks: 15. Louis Ludik, 14. JP Pietersen, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Frans Steyn (c), 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Pat Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Franco van der Merwe, 4. Anton Bresler, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Craig Burden, 1. Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Wiehahn Herbst, 18. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 19. Jacques Botes, 20. Charl McLeod, 21. Meyer Bosman, 22. Odwa Ndungane
Stormers: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Rynhardt Elstadt, 6 Siya Kolisi, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 De Kock Steenkamp, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Deon Fourie, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Replacements: 16 Martin Bezuidenhout, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Don Armand, 19 Nizaam Carr, 20 Louis Schreuder, 21 Peter Grant, 22 Gerhard van den Heever

Roses are red
Violets are blue
Some poems rhyme
This one doesn’t
STOOOOOOOOOORMEEEEEEEEEERS!!!!!!!!!
😀
Got this feeling Deysel will have a big impact on the game. We have the forwards to win this game. Sharks by 7. Plz Beast and Jannie give the Stormers a srumming lesson
Sharks and Stormers have met 9 times in Durbs.
Sharks 5 – 4 Stormers
Sharks have won 4 of the last 5 clashes in Durbs.
Average score: 21-20 to the Sharks
Stormers have scored 22 tries to the 19 of the Sharks.
Biggest win for Sharks: 32-17 in 1998
Biggest win for Stormers: 16-6 in 2011
An elephant has only 2 knees.
On it’s hind legs.
It’s front ‘legs’ are actually arms. Which as we all know have elbows and not knees. 😀
Can someone run over Fourie…a nice hand off from Burden will do.
Good luck ladies & gents. Enjoy! 🙂
Hows the weather like? Crowd?
@McLovin (Comment 9) : That reminds me of the Useless Fact of the Day I used to deliver on SharksRugby back in the day. 😛
Come Sharks. Dispose of these poofs.
Great take Fransie!
JP has a ‘tache.
Beast steals one from the lineout. Penalty Stormers. Didn’t see for what. Stormers choose a lineout as they are quite far back on touch.
Stormers put quite a bit of pressure on Sharks scrum, but the Sharks hold them.
Aplon was through for a try from a Jantjies up and under and then spilled it. 😳
Lucky Aplon dropped that!
Here’s another scrum.
Lambie with a stab through, but it bobbles into touch. The Sharks are deep in Stormers territory for the first time.
Nice grubber… but coughed up possession
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 23) : I don’t think there was much else on in that instance. Too close to the touch line.
Lots of spills happening.
First Stormers scrum just inside Sharks half
Jantjies having a good kicking game.
Sharks lineout 15m from their line
@klempie (Comment 27) : He is. Sharks looking flat with ball in hand.
Stormers are dominating territory and possession.
Sustained pressure by stormers here. Sharks better get this lineout right
Sharks have a lineout on their 5m.
Fuck Marcell! What was that? Wins the ball and then just flicks it into nowhere! 🙄
Nice Louis!
Okay…the Sharks have lineout on the Stormers 10m line.
I need a site to stream from. Fast. Please. 🙂
And Burden drifts it towards the Stormers side… 🙄
Rare attacking chance for the sharks here. Come on guys
http://www.firstrow1.eu/watch/172267/1/watch-sharks-vs-stormers.html
Sharks scrum in the middle of the field just inside Stormers half.
Penalty at scrum time. First chance for points here
Penalty! 😯 Stormers front row going straight down.
Missed right. Can’t believe he missed that.
missed…
Yay! Jordaan runs it and suddenly we look dangerous.
@Ben (Comment 36) :http://livetv.ru/en/allupcomingsports/33/
Sharks handling has been poor.. the passing not great either
Stormers scrum just inside their half.
Jeez, we look clueless with the ball. Maybe kicking everything would be the lesser of the evils.
Ludik is frikkin amazing at fullback.
not watching but my sources say its been a boring 20 min?
Great work by Frans to recover his kick, but a stupid pick and drive turns the ball over.
@Captainsharkboy (Comment 51) : I wouldn’t say boring. Patchy. It’s an arm wrestle alright.
@Captainsharkboy (Comment 51) : I think the whole game has been played between 10 m lines
Ball back on the half way for a sharks lineout
Ah geez Kanko! It’s frikkin LYING there! 🙄
Sharks just cant hold onto the ball. How many knock ons is that now?
@Captainsharkboy (Comment 51) : 2 parts kak : 1 part boring
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 57) : They train in these frikkin conditions. Playing games at home in the early season with the humidity should be an advantage! Like playing at altitude for the Lions and Bulls
@rhineshark (Comment 58) : You would think they were playing in pouring friggen rain!
@Pablo Dinero (Comment 57) : They train in these frikkin conditions. Playing games at home in the early season with the humidity should be an advantage! Like playing at altitude for the Lions and Bulls.
@klempie (Comment 59) : Agreed.
Attacking line out just outside stormers 22.. can we do something finally
The Sharks have a lineout just outside Stormers 22.
Stormers tackling the forwards back.
@klempie (Comment 65) : And eventually they steal the ball.
Sharks don’t have a backline, pass it on.
Stormers steadily drove sharks back towards halfway, then force the penalty. Poor poor play by sharks
need some score on the board to settle the nerves….my nerves!
The Stormers forwards are doing really well defending at the breakdown.
@Big Fish (Comment 67) : To who? Plum?
Penalty to sharks just inside their 10 m. Stormers defense stifling sharks. Sharks need to vary play.
Frans tried a penalty from 60m out. Short.
Dumbass rugby of the highest order.
another promising bit of luck ending in misery. Shocking stuff
Burden sucking in a massive way today.
How was Mvovo offside there?
Stormers on attack with lineout just outside sharks 22
Stormers into our 22 for the first time in ages. We haven’t been in THEIRS yet…. 😕
that wasnt offside
As the top two SA sides this is an embarrassment.
Penalty Sharks. Fourie not binding.
Sharks set lineout in halfway between Stormers 10 and 22.
surprise surprise… ball on the 10m again, sharks win penalty
Sharks maul the shit of the Streamers.
The 22 is tantalisingly close… 🙄
…and the Stormers steal it. 🙁
aweful aweful stuff bu sharks coughing up the ball yest again.
Both sides looks too scared too lose and not excited enough to win
Even the charge downs arent working for us
Burden charge down but he knocks on immediately as he tried to get his fingertips to it. Stormers scrum on Stormers 22.
HT Sharks 0 – 0 Stormers
😕 😕 😕 😕 😕
Who is going to blink first? 😎
0 – 0 half time. Very poor
Edge of the shithouse seat stuff.
Hectic, reminds me of last year’s second game of the season….slow and not much happening.
Someone please tell me why we got penalised at that last scrum before half time?
“Don’t tell mom!”

Thanks guys but I’ve given up.
Bring PSDT and McLeod on.
@Ben (Comment 96) : …on the stream or the Sharks?
I wanna see the territory stats.
Deysel’s looking good thus far
@klempie (Comment 95) : Only when dad takes you to Loftus 😆
Let’s hope the next half is better. I’d be pretty pissed if I paid to watch this. Like expecting to watch Apocalypse Now and seeing Out of Africa.
@FireTheLooser (Comment 101) : 😆
@rhineshark (Comment 102) : kekekekekeke
can we please play “SUPER” rugby 2nd half
I hate these Outsurance ads…
if we wana top the Rsa log we need to win the home games
@klempie (Comment 106) : Outsurance ads teaches us one thing, you have to be spineless to work for them 😆
Call it a draw and send both teams home to practice
@klempie (Comment 98) : The stream. If I was watching the game it might have been the other way around. 😆
bending backwards….
@FireTheLooser (Comment 108) : 😛
Here’s the second half.
Need Mcloed on…he cant be worse tonight
Vuilgat Jannie punching Fourie and getting away with it. So far. Hopefully gets cited. 😈
here we go….Feeding time i hope
Penalty Sharks. Goalable.
I’m not really sure why we got that penalty.
he should have punched him harder. Go lambie!!!
FINALLY! The deadlock is broken.
Sharks 3 – 0 Stormers.
42 mins
@klempie (Comment 118) : Apparently one of the Stormers handled the ball offsides.
Now it’s the Stormers kicking arse on the maul.
well penalties like that is sometimes for you and sometimes it goes against you….referee penalty. stormers mauling us??? wtf
Penalty Stormers. Sharks offsides in that maul.
Stormers mauling the shit out of the Sharks. 😉
Joe is going to take an easy chip.
Deon Fourie is by far the best player on the field.
@McLovin (Comment 125) : Yes, yes. I already said that. 🙄 😛
gehoor wat een van die stormers nou gese het? “boys dis hoe ons hulle gaan wen”
Sharks 3 – 3 Stormers
45 mins
@klempie (Comment 128) : 😆 I know 😆 Couldn’t resist.
Capostagno is tweaking big time. Calling this a ‘good, honest SA derby’.
Streamers are keeping ball in hand more.
Sharks scrum just outside their 22.
penalty sharks. head and shoulders. lambie with good line out kick
They win a penalty. Owen seems perplexed.
The Sharks are into the 22 for the first time people.
Forwards smashing the Stormers defence.
looks better
Penalty. Stormers not rolling away. Will be a doddle.
penalty Sharks.
Kiwi sides watching this and licking their lips.
Sharks 6 – 3 Stormers
52 mins.
That was the closest either of the two teams have got to a try.
Lambie converts 13m out
@rhineshark (Comment 142) : Nah, we’re going to smash ’em. The whole lot. 😈
Sharks need to keep this up!!!!
@rhineshark (Comment 142) : I’m feeling sorry for the the kiwis who got up at what time in the morning to watch this trash.
Mvovo!!!!!! so close. penalty sharks
Penalty Sharks. 48ish metres out in front.
Slow poisen…..
Stormers blinking constantly now. 😐
Lambie converts ! 9 – 3
It’s there!
Sharks 9 – 3 Stormers
55 mins.
Kitshoff was offside which is what got us the penalty.
lmao @ mclovin
Penalty Stormers. Ruck formed. Hands in.
stormers penalty. hand in ruck. kickable
Joe is setting up on the Sharks 10m line.
Again we give them a chance to kick a penalty straight after we scored.
Converts. 9 – 6
Sharks 9 – 6 Stormers
57 mins
Joe djou beauty.
this is too close for comfort
Shame. Mvovo is making Aplon his bitch tonight. 🙂
Penalty Sharks. Sacking in the lineout.
Een vir jou, een vir my….. 😐
Mvovo really on song tonight. Penalty Sharks
een meer vir ons
Aplon outstanding so far. 😈
Sharks 12 – 6 Stormers
60 mins
Lambie jou yster
Aplon creating havoc
Great kick from Ludik.
6 man lineout.
Shit. The Stormers have a lineout deep inside Sharks 22 thanks to Ludik clearing on the full because he didn’t know the ball was carried back.
Penalty Sharks. relieve
Reinach saves the day by forcing them to hold on.
bad lineout
That was lame… 😕
aweful lineout. what the hell!
Knock on Sharks. need a big scrum
Sharks big scrum!!!
Sharks scrum wins another penalty.
Anyone know how to refresh on a S3 without having to scroll all the way to the top?
If only our lineouts can be on the same level as our scrums
Another lineout fluffed….
Sharks lineout on halfway.
Sharks lineout 5m inside #Sharks territory
@rhineshark (Comment 183) : Shake it up and down.
HAHA…Mvovo now makes Aplon his bitch while in possession. 😎
Herbst on for JduP
Aplon, the bug on Mvovo’s windscreen.
Mvovo looking good. Scrum Sharks. Herbst replacing Jannie
Good scrum!
WHAT?? That was fucking knocked on first! Kaplan you twat!
Jp offside. Habs take it quickly
double knock. sharks scrum.
@DBOY (Comment 195) : The Streamers lost it forward before that.
@klempie (Comment 194) : No it wasn’t. 😈
Too much errors
Sharks have a defensive scrum just inside their 22.
@McLovin (Comment 198) : Blind as a Tafelberg bat.
scrum down. reset
Oh well. 1 point is better than nothing I suppose. 😐
70 mins.
@Ben (Comment 188) : Cheers! 😎
another big scrum. kanko messes it up. penalty to the Sharks
Crumbs, wat ‘n gemors. 🙄
Reinach fluffs the gather from the back of the scrum and the Stormers pounce. Luckily the Stormers turn it over.
PSdT on for Wolla.
good kick by lambie. deysel of Psdt on
@rhineshark (Comment 205) : Did it work?
burden off cooper on
Congrats to the Sharks. Some valuable points gained today.
botes on
Botes and Cooper are also on.
game not over
@McLovin (Comment 213) : Shut up you! 👿
@DBOY (Comment 216) : @klempie (Comment 217) : All over red rover.
Scrum for the Sharks. need a big one 12 – 6.
7min left
I wonder if we can get four tries against the Kings next week…
sharks dominating the stormers scrum time
@McLovin (Comment 218) : Whatever! Stop trying to psyche is otu.
good kick by groom
@klempie (Comment 220) : 4 Penalties seem more likely…
Sharks have a defensive lineout just inside their 22.
@Ben (Comment 211) : Nope
Screuder on
76 mins
Mvovo raping Aplon
@klempie (Comment 222) : Stormers won’t score a try. Haven’t got close all match.
@rhineshark (Comment 226) : 😆
stormers knock on
Sharks have the ball just outside Stormers 22.
stormers penalty. 2min left
12 – 6
Helter skelter and the Stormers have a penalty to set up a lineout on their 10m line. It’s now or never for them.
78:30
@rhineshark (Comment 226) : Did you shake it up and down repeatedly? 😆
Seriously now. Well done Sharks.
Easy 5 points next week.
Things looking good for the Sharks.
10m inside stormers territory
79 mins
Shit man! We are clueless on how to turn an absolutely dominant attacking situation into tries.
Pick and go now you muppets!
Jp!! so close. good kick lambie
Stormers lineout 5m inside Sharks territory. Siren goes.
They’ve mauled it to the 10m line.
penalty stormers.
Stormers penalty on the 10m line.
aplon off. vd heever on
Sharks win!!
FT Sharks 12 – 6 Stormers
Sharks win it!!!!!! Black and White. Nothing else matters
Thankful this KAK is now over.
Oh well, there’s always next year.
It wasn’t a pretty game….but boy that was a hectic tussle.
I’ll take the points against last year’s top loggers.
Lambie my MOTM
i would rather a win an ugly game than loose a pretty game
Our rugby is in ‘glowing health’ according to Capostahno. I really want the stuff he’s snorting.
Next up Kings… who is the Stormers playing ?
@DBOY (Comment 255) : amen
Now the pressuare will mount on Allistair and co. Cape press wont be kind. 0 from 2.
Reinach was pretty damn average tonight – as slow as McLeod.
Those stupid mistakes we constantly make to lose the ball once we’ve murdered the opposition in the scrum/lineout/breakdown is driving me crazy 😡
@DBOY (Comment 257) : Chiefs, Brumbies, Crusaders….. 😯
Well done on the win Sharks. Rather relieved I managed to miss this one.
@DBOY (Comment 255) : Everyday of the week.
@FireTheLooser (Comment 260) : I agree. He’s not the player he was in CC.
why does Nkumane say “the ideal result would have been a draw”?
@Ben (Comment 262) : Was brilliant. Champagne rugby. 😉
@McLovin (Comment 261) : Damn! 😯
Looking at a possible 5 straight losses.
@klempie (Comment 267) : Bru, it gets worse. Then it’s Cheetahs away, Sharks at home, Canes & Blues away… Excuse me while I go sit in a darkened room and weep.
@McLovin (Comment 261) : Where?
@Ben (Comment 269) : Nuweland.
Jean Deysel man of the match. Big season coming…
Awful game. Still, I’m happy we ended second-worst.
Guys like Diesel, Beast, Lambie and Mvovo really stepped up for us. I also thought JP had some magic moments on both attack and defence. Too bad he doesn’t get more attacking opportunities.
Quite enjoyed Mallet’s scathing opinion on both teams’ gameplan.
@McLovin (Comment 266) : The more champagne, the more brilliant the game? 🙂
so this is ok…. shit game, but a good defensive performance and our work at the breakdown really improved a lot.
Next weekend, we go top of the SA log
@robdylan (Comment 265) : Rob, sometimes we tend to forget these blokes work for Supersport. Excuse them.
@Big Fish (Comment 272) : I thought Pat was average, TBH. Reinach didn’t help him though. A bit loskop…
@McLovin (Comment 268) : Shame. 😛
@robdylan (Comment 271) : you changed your pants yet? LOL!
@King Shark (Comment 278) : I wore the brown ones today… so no need 🙂
@robdylan (Comment 276) : It’s important we give them a hiding. Remember, like we and the Kiwis complained that the Aussie teams had an advantage playing the Force and Rebels twice, we can now thank SARU for giving us the same opportunities.
@robdylan (Comment 271) : Where is Cody? Should see him soon.
Naas hammering Reinach…
@Ben (Comment 273) : Exactly, I’m having some Irish champagne. Guinness. Vintage stuff.
Naas agrees with me about Reinach
@klempie (Comment 280) : based on how they did against the Force, I reckon the Kings are more competitive than the Lions.
@klempie (Comment 277) : I know. Might as well buy a Bulls jersey. 😈
@King Shark (Comment 282) : @robdylan (Comment 284) : He’s really disappointed after the CC, but maybe Plum’s kick or bash gameplan has meant he’s slow at the ruck in order to let the forwards gather.
@robdylan (Comment 285) : Nah. They overperformed, and the Force came unprepared. Today’s game showed that.
@McLovin (Comment 283) : I’m missing my Namibian champagne.
@klempie (Comment 287) : seriously? A player has a dip in form so we blame Plumtree?
Sharks in the pound seats at the mo. As dour as this was, it’s a huge result. Worth 8 points really.
gotta say peeps… 2 from 2 feels better than 0 from 2, which is where we were this time last year.
@robdylan (Comment 290) : I gave a completely plausible rationale. Counter it.
@McLovin (Comment 286) : No need to go through the trash. A black jersey should suit you fine. 😈
@klempie (Comment 288) : It must be lovely to live in your blinkered little world 🙂
@McLovin (Comment 291) : Just soften the Brumbies and Saders up for us please.
@Ben (Comment 294) : 😆 I’d rather walk around naked than wear a flou blou top. 😈
@robdylan (Comment 295) : I think you’ll find that if Reinach knows he’s got a backline itching to get their hands on the ball, delivery speed will improve.
@klempie (Comment 296) : Sure no problem. I’ll mention it to Mr Coetzee in the Monday morning debrief.
You okes shouldn’t be too hard on your team. They played the way they had to play to get the win. Four points in the bag against a fellow conference side. Invaluable.
@McLovin (Comment 297) : Ditto! 😆
@McLovin (Comment 300) : Yeh but we didn’t dominate you guys the way Joel likes to be dominated by forward packs.
@McLovin (Comment 300) : I agree. But I’m still happy I missed the game.
@klempie (Comment 302) : Doesn’t matter. I know people like to pretend the Stormers have a light five etc. But it’s simply not true. Sharks did a great job tonight. I’ll stick my neck out and say this result is going to have a huge impact on the SA conference.
Sharks to top SA conference. Seriously.
@McLovin (Comment 304) : I’ll make my call later in the season after we’ve played the Bulls.
Couple of seasons ago I felt that the Stormers had the Sharks’ number. Now the shoe is on the other foot. Despite the Currie Cup final last year, Sharks have the Stormers number. They’re not going to thrash them, but they’ll beat them 9 times out of ten.
Bulls will come back to earth soon. They’re not nearly as good as they think they are.
Love you Bulle.
Does PE have the same sort of humidity issues as Durban? I imagine not.
@klempie (Comment 307) : No.
@McLovin (Comment 308) : Yeh, it’s on the same latitude as CT.
@klempie (Comment 309) : Yeah but they have the warm ocean still, but still nowhere near Durbs humidity.
@McLovin (Comment 310) : Best of both worlds.
@klempie (Comment 311) : Nah, it’s a shithole. 😆
Only joking. Love you PE.
Night all.
@robdylan (Comment 295) : Hard for me to say but think kings might do better this year than I thought. Sharks need to do some work if the want to win the super 15. Had some bad flashbacks of the cc final tonight.
@klempie (Comment 313) : Sweet dreams.
@JD (Comment 314) : How dare you?
@klempie (Comment 313) : xoxo
@klempie (Comment 311) : @McLovin (Comment 312) : lots of wind………… and now I’m not talking about luke. 😈
@Ben (Comment 316) : …..do what?
Will Owen Nkumane ever get over his disdain for the Sharks…or at least just tone it down during international broadcasting? 🙄
@FireTheLooser (Comment 320) : yes during some parts of the game they were praising the super stormers so much that I watched it mutted and must say it was a whole lot better than to listen to some of the garbage that those guys were talking.
@JD (Comment 321) : Well apparently he’s supporting the tjietas this year, it fits in perfectly well with his hatred for the Sharks.
Judging by tonight though, it seems as though Owen will support any team playing against the Sharks. 🙄
@FireTheLooser (Comment 322) : ja boet… seems to me as if most of super sport support that team. But hey we did not need their support in the past and know we don’t need it in the future.