Smith starts for Brumbies

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Super Rugby on 14 Mar 2013 at 12:23
Tagged with : , , , ,

George Smith will replace injured David Pocock in the starting line-up as one of five changes to the Brumbies team named to face the Sharks in Durban.

Among the more interesting selection Jake White has made is the selection of a rookie prop, Scott Sio, at loosehead, where he will come up against the formidable Jannie du Pessis at scrum time. Sio has played for the Brumbies off the bench in the past, but on Saturday will start for the first time. Another front-row change sees Wallaby Ben Alexander shift over to the tight head side, after playing in the number 1 jersey last week.

Other changes see Fotu Auelua (No. 8), Tevita Kuridrani (outside centre) and Joe Tomane (wing) move into the starting line-up, with positional switches for Ben Mowan (number 8 to flank) and Peter Kimlin (flank to lock) completing the picture.


1. Scott Sio
2. Stephen Moore
3. Ben Alexander
4. Peter Kimlin
5. Sam Carter
6. Ben Mowen (capt)
7. George Smith
8. Fotu Auelua
9. Nic White
10. Matt Toomua
11. Joe Tomane
12. Christian Lealiifano
13. Tevita Kuridrani
14. Henry Speight
15. Jesse Mogg

16. Siliva Siliva
17. Ruaidhri Murphy
18. Scott Fardy
19. Colby Faingaa
20. Ian Prior
21. Robbie Coleman
22. Clyde Rathbone

1 Comment

  • When you put the personnel head-to-head, with probably two exceptions, the Sharks are the superior team, man-for-man. That said, JW has this Brumbies side floating on air with confidence and very well drilled.

    I’ve picked the Sharks to win by 3, but I reckon it’ll be nerve-wrecking…

  • Comment 1, posted at 14.03.13 13:00:03 by MerckZ Reply

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.