Same again for Kayser

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 15 Aug 2013 at 11:40
Tagged with : , , , , ,

Currently enjoying their best tournament start in some years, Deon Kayser has again kept his Sharks under 19 starting team unchanged as they seek a third successive away victory against Western Province.

With a narrow home reversal against the Lions the only blot on their copybook thus far, Kayser’s team are on something of a roll, following up their big win against Free State with a far tighter victory against the Leopards last week. Currently third on the overall log, they’ll face a Western Province team at Newlands on Saturday who have endured a torrid start to their own campaign and have won just once in four starts.

Chris de Beer leads a Sharks team with very few big names – and none in the pack – but who have pulled together as a unit to record some nice wins. They’ll know that the competition’s big guns are still to be faced, but will take things one step at a time and also hope for an injection of fresh talent in the form of the du Preez twins once the schoolboy season has run its course.

This weeks match 23 sees two changes on the bench; Wion Robbertse takes over from Alex Banfield as utility back, while Lotter Pretorius will be the back-up scrumhalf ahead of Arrie Vosloo. Both incoming players represented Paarl Gimnasium last year, where they played in the same backline as one Handre Pollard.

The Sharks Under 19s
15. Colin Willemse, 14. Michael Cloete , 13. Neil Maritz, 12. Sandile Kubheka, 11. Alrin Eksteen, 10. Jean-Luc du Plessis, 9. Cameron Wright, 8. Ray Williams, 7. Barend Potgieter, 6. Joseph Jones, 5. JP Grobler, 4. Hendrick Botha, 3. Bart Le Roux, 2. Chris De Beer (Captain), 1. Stephan Morkel
Replacements: 16. Roan Dalzell, 17. Michael Downer , 18. Stefan van Schalkwyk, 19. Pierre Greyling, 20. Jonas Mikalcius, 21. Lotter Pretorius, 22. Wion Robbertse, 23. Nkululeko Marwana

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.