Unrecognisable Rebels for Cheetahs

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Super Rugby on 27 Feb 2014 at 10:18
Tagged with : , , , ,

If you, like me, get the feeling that the Melbourne Rebels tend to start each new season virtually from scratch, then the first team announcement from (new) coach Tony McGahan, featuring no fewer than eight new faces, will do little to dispel that perception.

The Australian Rugby Union has always been a little more relaxed with their newest franchise in terms of the number of foreign players they may pick and this year, All Black Tamati Ellison will line up for them, along with fellow New Zealanders in prop Toby Smith and hooker Steve Fualau.

Sean McMahon, Ben Meehan and Max Lahiff are all uncapped at this level of the game, with the former starting at flank and the other two benched, while Tom Kingston and Colby Fainga’a are also new to the side, having represented other Australian franchises in 2013.

Scott Higginbotham captains the side from number 8 in a rare piece of continuity for the side.

Melbourne Rebels: 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Lachlan Mitchell, 13 Tamati Ellison, 12 Mitch Inman, 11 Tom English, 10 Bryce Hegarty, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Scott Higginbotham (captain), 7 Scott Fuglistaller, 6 Sean McMahon, 5 Luke Jones, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Pat Leafa, 1 Toby Smith.
Replacements: 16 Steve Fualau, 17 Max Lahiff, 18 Paul Alo-Emile, 19 Cadeyrn Neville, 20 Colby Fainga’a, 21 Ben Meehan, 22 Angus Roberts, 23 Tom Kingston.

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.