Busy program for u20 hopefuls

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content on 26 Mar 2014 at 13:31
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A group of nearly 70 under 20 players will gather in Stellenbosch on Sunday for a training camp that will allow Junior Springbok coach Dawie Theron to select a strong squad for this year’s IRB Junior World Championship in New Zealand.

Trial matches on Monday and Wednesday next week will allow Theron to filter down the group, with approximately 40 players then staying on to form the core of the JWC squad. Those players will remain in camp until 16 April, returning a week later on 23 April for a second camp, which culminates in three matches against Argentina in May.

After a further week back with their unions, the players selected for JWC duty will again report for a “holding camp” on 23 May and from this date right up until the end of the JWC tournament (20 June) they will remain with the Junior Bok squad.

In short, Theron is taking no chances this year and will look to earmark his players early and work with them intensively until the tournament has run its course. There appears to be little leeway for Vodacom Cup participation for these players, although the likes of Andre Esterhuizen, Handre Pollard and Jesse Kriel have been excused from the camps due to Super Rugby commitments; it’s likely that all three will feature in the final squad.

The following group of players will assemble in Stellenbosch on Sunday:

Vodacom Blue Bulls:
Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Dan Kriel, Pierre Schoeman, Duncan Mathews, JP Smith, Corniel Els, Wilco Louw, Dayan van der Westhuizen, Abongile Nonkontwana, Arno van Wyk, Leighton van Wyk, Janse van Rensburg, RG Snyman, Heinrich Viljoen, Kobus Marais, Warrick Gelant, Ganfried May, Marcus Kleinbooi, Chris Massyn, Nqoba Mxoli

Golden Lions:
Malcom Marx, Michael Hazner, Ramone Samuels, Jaco Van der Walt, Jano Venter, Thabo Mabuza, Victor Sisekete, Christiaan Meyer, Pieter Scholtz, Stephan Vermeulen, Cyle Brink, Dylan Smith, Kock Marx

GWK Griquas:
Hillford Clarke

Dean Stokes, Lloyd Greef

Toyota Free State:
Ox Nche, Joseph Dweba, Mthokozisi Mkhabela, Nicolaas Lee

EP Kings:
Aidon Davis, Sergeal Petersen

Cell C Sharks:
Thomas du Toit, Gideon Koegelenberg, Chris de Beer, Jean-Luc du Plessis, Dan du Preez, Jean-Luc du Preez, Neil Maritz, Sandile Khubeka, Cameron Wright, Ayron Schramm, Ray Williams, Sias Koen, Alrin Eksteen

DHL Western Province:
JD Schickerling, Jacques Vermeulen, Ernst Stapelberg, Daniel du Plessis, Jarryd Sage, SP Ferreira, Justin Phillips, Dewald Naude, Chad Solomon, Frans van Wyk, Jan Uys, EW Viljoen, Rikus Bothma.


  • Rob….didn’t you mention something about a Bismarck article you were planning for today?

  • Comment 1, posted at 26.03.14 13:33:34 by FireTheLooser Reply
  • @FireTheLooser (Comment 1) : well, not about him specifically… more about the seniors in the pack standing up.

    I’ll wait for after the team announcement though

  • Comment 2, posted at 26.03.14 15:10:18 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • some players are going to have a tough few weeks.

    SARU has made the following arrangements to assist the players gain as much game time as possible in the next few weeks:

    · Players competing in the Varsity Cup Young Guns final will be requested to report for duty in Stellenbosch on Tuesday, April 1, 2014.

    · Players selected in their respective provincial union’s starting lineups in the Vodacom Cup competition for the weekend of the (April 4/ 5) will be released back to their unions on Thursday, April 3 in preparation of these fixtures.

    · Players representing their Universities in either the Varsity Cup promotion/ relegation fixture or the Varsity Cup final, which will both take place on the April 7, 2014, will also be released on Thursday, April 3 in preparation for those matches.

  • Comment 3, posted at 26.03.14 15:16:33 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Good to see fullback EW Viljoen has now made the squad after missing out on the first squad

  • Comment 4, posted at 26.03.14 15:16:40 by Saffex Reply

  • looking at our group, Cameron Wright and Koegies are both going to play the Varsity Shield Final on Monday – and if they don’t win that, will need to play Varsity Cup promotion game the following Monday.

    Thomas du Toit, Neil Maritz and Sandile Khubeka are all in the Vodacom Cup match 23…. I’m assuming the loss of Zeilinga to the Sharks means Jean-Luc du Plessis will also be.

  • Comment 5, posted at 26.03.14 15:18:10 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • @robdylan (Comment 2) : Dankie Oom 😉

  • Comment 6, posted at 26.03.14 15:20:35 by FireTheLooser Reply


Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.