Five Sharks make Junior Bok squad

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 22 Apr 2014 at 12:30
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Huguenot connection seems to be paying rich dividends for the Cell C Sharks, with four of the five young men from that franchise named in Dawie Theron’s final 2014 Junior Springbok squad boating names beginning with “du”.

The 28-man group was announced this morning and will leave for the IRB Junior World Championship, in New Zealand this year, on 26 May, after competing in a home series against Argentina early next month. The Blue Bulls, as always, provide the bulk of the squad, including Handre Pollard, Daniel Kriel and Jesse Kriel, who were part of the squad in 2013.

Headlining the Sharks contingent is “odd man out” Andre Esterhuizen, who boasts a Super Rugby cap earned earlier in the year at Loftus. The big 20-year-old from Klerksdorp has been included in the squad on the basis of his exploits at Super Rugby and Vodacom Cup level, since these commitments prevented him from attending Theron’s trials earlier this month. 18 -year-old prop Thomas du Toit, who is also a member of the Sharks Super Rugby squad, although he is yet to play in that competition, has also made the grade.

The other three “du’s” are players of serious pedigree, being the sons of Springboks themselves. Flyhalf Jean-Luc du Plessis is the progeny of former Bok “prince of wings” Carel, while Robert du Preez’s younger sons, twins Daniel and Jean-Luc, complete the Sharks’ gang of five. The older du Preez brother, Robert Junior, played for the Junior Springboks alst eyar as a Sharks junior, but has since opted to further his career with Western Province.

The full squad is:

Cyle Brink (Golden Lions, flank)
Aidon Davis (EP Kings, No.8)
Jean-Luc du Plessis (Cell C Sharks, flyhalf)
Jean-Luc du Preez (Cell C Sharks, flank)
Dan du Preez (Cell C Sharks, lock)
Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks, prop)
Joseph Dweba (Toyota Free State, hooker)
Corniel Els (Vodacom Blue Bulls, hooker)
Andrè Esterhuizen ( Cell C Sharks, centre)
Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Blue Bulls, fullback)
Lloyd Greef (Leopards, wing)
Dan Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls, centre)
Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls, fullback)
Wilco Louw (Vodacom Blue Bulls, prop)
Thabo Mabuza (Golden Lions, flank)
Malcolm Marx (Golden Lions, hooker)
Duncan Mathews (Vodacom Blue Bulls, wing)
Mthokozisi (Zee) Mkhabela (Toyota Free State, scrumhalf)
Ngobisizwe Mxoli (Vodacom Blue Bulls, prop)
Abongile Nonkontwana (Vodacom Blue Bulls, lock)
Sergeal Petersen (EP Kings, wing)
Handrè Pollard (Vodacom Blue Bulls, flyhalf)
JD Schickerling (DHL Western Province, lock)
Pierre Schoeman (Vodacom Blue Bulls, prop)
Victor Sekekete (Golden Lions, flank)
Justin (JP) Smith (Vodacom Blue Bulls, scrumhalf)
Dayan van der Westhuizen (Vodacom Blue Bulls, prop)
Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg (Vodacom Blue Bulls, lock)


  • Congrats to all the players who made the squad. Hope they do well in NZ!

  • Comment 1, posted at 22.04.14 12:37:22 by vanmartin Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Author
  • Pity to see Chris de Beer out with a leg injury.He was phenomenal in trials.Sure he will be back firing for the under 21 season.

  • Comment 2, posted at 22.04.14 12:51:41 by bigwinner25 Reply
  • congrats to all the players that made the squad. Good Luck to the team.

  • Comment 3, posted at 22.04.14 12:59:51 by JD Reply
    Friend of SharksworldCompetition Winner Administrator

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.