Loosie reshuffle for Kings

Written by Pierre McLeod (pierre_mackie)

Posted in :Currie Cup, EP Kings, Original Content on 2 Oct 2014 at 09:15
Tagged with : , , ,

Eastern Province head coach, Carlos Spencer has made minimal changes to his team that went down 24 – 53 against the Cell C Sharks in Durban on Saturday.

There is still uncertainty around the availability of veteran locks Steven Sykes and Darron Nell as both are struggling with injury niggles, and a decision will only be made today whether they will be included on the bench for Saturday’s match against the GWK Griquas in Kimberly.

“Darron Nell is currently battling with a calf strain and will undergo fitness tests on Thursday, if he passes he will move to the bench, otherwise Steven Sykes will come onto the bench in his place,” said Spencer.

The only changes to the starting lineup are Cameron Lindsay replacing Darron Nel at lock, and a reshuffle amongst the loosies where Paul Schoeman will move from eighth man to flank to replace Stefan Willemse, who is out for the rest of the season with a shoulder injury.

Tim Agaba who had an impressive game against the Sharks when he came on as a replacement will start at eighth man. Agaba previously represented the Sharks at both junior and Vodacom Cup level.

“This is an important game for us and we’re excited. We feel if we just stick to the plan, and look after ourselves, I’m sure we will do fine,” said Spencer.

Spencer continued saying that the biggest challenge for the team was the first fifteen to twenty minutes, where the opposition managed to get a head start.

“Our focus is on those first ten to fifteen minutes, it is important that we get ourselves into the game and just stick to the plan,” he said.

Spencer hasn’t decided on a captain yet, but will do so later today.

EP Kings:

1 Charles Marais 2 Martin Ferreira 3 CJ van der Linde 4 Cameron Lindsay 5 Steven Cummins 6 Paul Schoeman 7 Devin Oosthuizen 8 Tim Agaba 9 Tobie Botes 10 Gary van Aswegen 11 Ntabeni Dukisa 12 Shane Gates 13 Tim Whitehead 14 Ronnie Cooke 15 Siviwe Soyizwapi


16 Albe de Swardt 17 Charl du Plessis 18 Darron Nell / Steven Sykes 19 Thembelani Bholi 20 Kevin Luiters 21 George Whitehead 22 Scott van Breda


  • Devin or Shane will get the captaincy.

  • Comment 1, posted at 02.10.14 10:46:54 by Ludz Reply
  • @Ludz (Comment 1) : Not CJ?

  • Comment 2, posted at 02.10.14 11:39:19 by robdylan Reply
    Competition Winner Administrator
  • Cooke was named captain

  • Comment 3, posted at 02.10.14 12:26:04 by pierre_mackie Reply
  • Dont think its a bad call, hes really given his all every game

  • Comment 4, posted at 02.10.14 12:30:27 by pierre_mackie Reply
  • (Re)Shuffling the decks chairs on the titanic?

    They need 1 or 2 real bruisers in the second row or loose trio, and the T5 must do more than just scrum.

  • Comment 5, posted at 02.10.14 12:51:41 by Big Fish Reply
    Big Fish

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.