Seven Sharks make Junior Bok cut

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 7 Apr 2015 at 15:22
Tagged with : , , , , ,

In a frankly staggering return (given the number of contracted juniors) the Sharks have delivered no fewer than seven members of Dawie Theron’s reduced squad of 37 players, from which the final group of 28 for this year’s Junior World Championship will be selected.

The Blue Bulls (10) and Western Province (12) are the only provinces to boast more representatives than the Sharks, but given that each of those unions regularly contract three to four times as many players at under 19 level, the Sharks have plenty to smile about in terms of player identification.

Flyhalf Inny Radebe – fresh from his Varsity Shield winning exploits with the UKZN Impi – is the only Sharks back in the mix, while the duo of Thomas du Toit and Jean-Luc du Preez return from last year’s squad. Dan du Preez, who missed out due to injury last year but has since earned a smattering of Super Rugby caps, joins his twin brother in the mix. Props Ruan Kramer and Mzamo Majola and lock Hyron Andrews complete the Sharks contingent.

The Junior Springbok training group is:

Forwards (20)

Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)
Joseph Dweba (Toyota FS Cheetahs)
Frans van Wyk (DHL Western Province)
Abongile Nonkontwana (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
RG Snyman (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
CJ Velleman Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Jean-Luc du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
Hanro Liebenberg (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Ox Nche (Toyota FS Cheetahs)
Jan van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls
Conrad van Vuuren (Toyota FS Cheetahs)
Jason Jenkins (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Hyron Andrews (Cell C Sharks)
Jacques Vemeulen (DHL Western Province)
Rikus Bothma (DHL Western Province)
Mzamo Majola (Cell C Sharks)
Reinach Venter (Toyota FS Cheetahs)
Ruan Kramer (Cell C Sharks)
Dan du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
Walt Steenkamp (Leopards)

Backs (17)

Justin Phillips (DHL Western Province)
Brandon Thompson (DHL Western Province)
Leolin Zas (DHL Western Province)
Daniel du Plessis (DHL Western Province)
Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Jinx Molapo (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Grant Hermanus (DHL Western Province)
Ivan van Zyl (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Ernst Stapelberg (DHL Western Province)
Khanyo Ngcukana (DHL Western Province)
Adrian Maebane (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
JT Jackson (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
EW Viljoen (DHL Western Province)
Marco Janse van Vuuren (Xerox Golden Lions)
Innocent Radebe (Cell C Sharks)
Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings)
Remu Malan (DHL Western Province)


  • 9 backs from the WP 😯

  • Comment 1, posted at 07.04.15 17:03:05 by JarsonX Reply
    Competition WinnerCompetition WinnerCompetition Winner
  • This is where we get it so wrong. No focus on backline players.

  • Comment 2, posted at 07.04.15 17:34:52 by GreatSharksays Reply

  • @GreatSharksays (Comment 2) :

    at least the sharks have done contracting …. 😯

  • Comment 3, posted at 07.04.15 18:42:27 by Zibbie Reply
    Friend of SharksworldCompetition Winner
  • @Zibbie (Comment 3) : And it seems as if the contacting has been pretty effective. Well done! Time for this sort of effectiveness in contracting at the higher senior level?

  • Comment 4, posted at 07.04.15 20:16:39 by pastorshark Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Administrator
  • I like the quality over quantity approach, seems to me we need to put more focus on backline players though. Who are the next generation of great wingers and fullbacks?

  • Comment 5, posted at 08.04.15 03:57:49 by RuckingFun Reply

  • sad times at the Lions

  • Comment 6, posted at 08.04.15 07:39:32 by Zibbie Reply
    Friend of SharksworldCompetition Winner
  • The other difference between the sharks and other unions is that all 7 of those players have a very good chance of playing in the senior team.

  • Comment 7, posted at 08.04.15 07:43:50 by byron Reply

  • Chuffed for our 2 Kings players, Cyril-John Velleman and Malcolm Jaer, both quality players!!!

  • Comment 8, posted at 08.04.15 08:16:47 by Ludz Reply

  • Congrats to all that were selected.

  • Comment 9, posted at 08.04.15 16:09:56 by Ben Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Author
  • Is it jst me or malcom marx & ruan ackerman are not selected,how old is the younger marcel coetzee?

  • Comment 10, posted at 08.04.15 17:00:45 by Chippa Reply

  • @Chippa (Comment 10) : The younger Marcel Coetzee turns 20 this year…

  • Comment 11, posted at 08.04.15 21:32:01 by pastorshark Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld Administrator

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.