Six Sharks forwards crack Argentine nod

Written by Rob Otto (robdylan)

Posted in :Original Content, Sharks on 29 Apr 2015 at 15:52
Tagged with : , , , , , , ,

Dawie Theron has named a 28-man Junior Springbok squad for next week’s tour of Argentina; six Sharks forwards have been included among the tourists.

Jean-Luc du Preez and Thomas du Toit, both of whom played starring roles for the SA Under 20 side at last year’s Junior World Championship in New Zealand, are unsurprisingly back in the mix this year. Du Toit has, of course, gone on to play much Currie Cup and Super Rugby for the Sharks (without even so much as a sniff of age group action), while du Preez made his Vodacom Cup debut this season. Twin brother Daniel du Preez, who missed out on last year’s tournament due to injury, is also in the squad and will look to build on the great form this season that has seen him earn three Super Rugby caps.

Lock Hyron Andrews and prop Mzamo Majola also made their first appearances for the Sharks XV this season, after excelling at under 19 level in 2014. Prop Ruan Kramer, who captained the under 19 side, has yet to taste senior action (and seemingly has yet to convince the selectors that he has moved to Durban, since they insist on listing him as a Free State player).

Congratulations to all the boys selected – and commiserations once more to Inny Radebe, who would have been there but for injury.

Forwards (17)
Hyron Andrews (Cell C Sharks)
Dan du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
Jean-Luc du Preez (Cell C Sharks)
Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)

Joseph Dwebe (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
Njabulo Gumede (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Jason Jenkins (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Ruan Kramer (Cell C Sharks)
Hanro Liebenberg (Vodacom Bulls – captain)
Mzamo Majola (Cell C Sharks)
Ox Nche (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)
Abongile Nonkontwana (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
RG Snyman (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Jan van der Merwe (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Frans van Wyk (DHL Western Province)
CJ Velleman (EP Kings)
Jacques Vermeulen (DHL Western Province)

Backs (11)
Daniel du Plessis (DHL Western Province)
Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Grant Hermanus (DHL Western Province)
JT Jackson (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings)
Marco Janse van Vuuren (Golden Lions)
Khanyo Ngcukana (DHL Western Province)
Ernst Stapelberg (DHL Western Province)
Brandon Thomson (DHL Western Province)
Ivan van Zyl (Vodacom Blue Bulls)
Leolin Zas (DHL Western Province)


  • Is it just me or do the backs look fairly average?

  • Comment 1, posted at 29.04.15 15:56:18 by SheldonK Reply
  • Congrats boys!

  • Comment 2, posted at 29.04.15 16:02:11 by vanmartin Reply
    Friend of Sharksworld vanmartin
  • @SheldonK (Comment 1) : no Sharks, so I can’t say i even read the names

  • Comment 3, posted at 29.04.15 16:41:09 by robdylan Reply

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.