Let’s figure out which of the losers is the best one!
Kick-off is at 10pm SA time.
South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Jannie du Plessis, 19 Lodewyk de Jager, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein.
Argentina: 15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Santiago Cordero, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Nicolas Sanchez (captain), 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe, 7 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6 Javier Ortega Desio, 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matías Alemanno, 3 Ramiro Herrera, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Juan Figallo.
Replacements: 16 Lucas Noguera, 17 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 18 Santiago Garcia Botta, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Facundo Isa, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, 23 Juan Pablo Socino.

I’m going to watch…but I’m not particularly excited…
@pastorshark (Comment 1) : lol good for you we going to jam at the beach got my guitar and food 😛
@Poisy (Comment 2) : Enjoy!
Most of this squad is contracted to the argentine superrugby franchise.not there : figallo, amorosino,lobbe,leguizamon,cordero (though my info is a few months old).
@50shadesofshark (Comment 4) : They are going to be really tough to beat!
Apparently quite wet underfoot at the venue…
@pastorshark (Comment 3) : will do thanks. Pretty humid in durbs tonight
@Poisy (Comment 7) : I’m about to crack open a “Brauhaus am Damm” craft beer and try and get myself excited for the game…
Ashwin: Pollard has been crap (not quite those words…but close)…
Here come the teams…
Anthems…
Jeepers these Argies get worked up!
Just about kickoff time…
Here we go…Pollard to kick off…
The good news is that for the first move Burger was not at flyhalf…he has been moved to centre…
The bad news is he was immediately turned over…oh boy!
Very good first Bok scrum…
In the fourth minute an Argentinian gets a yellow card…
Boks don’t take the kick at posts…
Good maul, quick rucks and JP is in…
Lack of class by SA! Lambie’s 50th and he didn’t get to lead the team out! Disgusting!
TMO to check…
Try time…
Very good start Boks!
Pollard nails the conversion and it is 7-0…
Terrible take – or non-take – by the Boks at the kickoff…
Boks have a lineout on their own 22…
Good defence Pietersen…
Despite a few dicey passes some good running by the Boks…
Has Habana got the record…TMO to Check…
The Argentinian got there first. Good play Boks. Where has this been in the last few weeks?
JP almost in again…great hands by the Boks…it just makes me angry why they haven’t been doing this before..mmy word!
Boks get a penalty dead in front and will take the shot…
Pollard nails it…
10-0 after 13 mins…
Better take by Vermeulen at the kickoff…
Boks run it from their 22…
We have already gained 134 meters in 14 mins…
Poor de Allende pass gives Argentina a scrum…
The Argentinian scrummie is back on…
Another good Bok scrum earns them a penalty…
Pollard misses touch… 😯
Argentina take it through a few phases…
Pienaar has been very good tonight…
Kriel with a great little break but he loses it in the tackle…
Habana half intercepts gets away and then loses the ball…
Habana did well to swipe that ball at the breakdown…
Another very good Bok scrum…the front row is doing brilliantly…
We’ll scrum again…
Now the Pumas get a free kick…
Wonderful run by Cordero but de Allende just catches him and the ball is knocked on…
Burger is penalised…
10-0 after 24 minutes…
Argentina with a great kick right onto our tryline. Defensive lineout Boks…
Argentina getting into the game a bit…
Great break Pumas and they almost score…
Vermeulen does brilliantly and the Boks win the turnover penalty…they tap and go from their own 22 and look dangerous until Louw knocks it….
Etzebeth has taken two lineout balls… 😯
Pollard is through a small gap but his pass is a bit too high and Habana can’t take it…
Boks put pressure on in the 22 as Argentina try to clear…
Finally they manage to clear it…
The pumas take out the halfback and we get a penalty…
Pollard will take a shot…
Pollard nails it and it is 13-0 after 32 mins…
Better gather and exit by the Boks…
Argentina attack nicely…the Boks turn it over and Habana kicks and chases…Habana is penalised for pulling down the Puma…
Pumas getting a bit of momentum…
Boks lucky to get away with that as the Pumas attacked hard!
The Pumas got close but the ball popped out to us..m
Boks win a penalty…
They kick to the corner and attack hard before winning another penalty…
This time they take the shot and it is 16-0…
That is halftime…16-0…
All in all that was a good half for the Boks and that is a deserved lead…
Some mistakes, but certainly less…and a whole lot more adventurous…
@ChrisS (Comment 21) : Sigh!
@pastorshark (Comment 31) : Good question, that said, we are being afforded a lot more space, than what NZ and Wales gave us around the set pieces.
You can only play as well as what your opposition allows at times.
Scrums good, lineouts much better…
@KingCheetah (Comment 77) : Sure…that is true…but we are certainly showing more adventure…
@pastorshark (Comment 79) : For sure, and it is great to see.
@KingCheetah (Comment 80) : Definitely…
We are about to get underway again…
Argentina start the half with a drop goal as the Boks don’t handle the whole kickoff thing well…
16-3…
Have the Boks scored…TMO to check again…
Etzebeth scores in the corner…
The conversion is wide and it is 21-3 after 44 mins…
Habana spills an easy ball…oh dear!
More good play be Pienaar and Vermeulen earns us another penalty…
The Pumas are penalised again and the Boks will take the simple shot…
He nails it and it 24-3…
After 48 minutes…
And after 48 minutes Bissie is replaced by Strauss…
Argentina wins a penalty and kicks it to the corner…
The Boks get the ball and manage to clear…
Nyakane is also on…early changes in the front row…
Argentina win another penalty after numerous phases…
Argentina take the points this time and it is 24-6…
Burger also replaced by Alberts…
So every replacement and his dog is getting 30 minutes…except the bloke who will be earning his 50th cap… 😯
Another penalty to Argentina…
This time good Bok defence earns them a scrum…
Argentina turn our ball over and attack but then lose it…
24-6 after 57 minutes…
A bit of scrappy backwards and forwards…
Louw wins a turnover penalty…
20 minutes left and Jannie is on…
20 minutes left and still no Lambie…HM is a toss!
Boks kick a penalty to the corner…
Boks attack hard within 5m…
Pollard cocks that up…Argentina will have a defensive scrum…
Now there is some handbags stuff…
Matfield off…still no Lambie…
Boks concede a penalty at the breakdown this time…
Here comes Pat…Willie hurt his ankle and Pat will come on at fullback…
Pollard misses a tackle and the Pumas attack…
Lacey plays so much advantage to Argentina, but to the boks, it’s advantage over, almost immediately.
@KingCheetah (Comment 117) : Yup…
Argentina’s final pass doesn’t stick again…
Great tactical kick Boks…
And good defence leads to a Bok scrum…
Habana replaced…that is just odd!
Just odd, odd, odd…
Boks get a penalty and they go for poles…huh?
And Pollard misses it from basically in front…
Just some bizarre decision taking in the last few minutes…what the hell!
Oh my word…Pollard shocker!!
What a shocker by Pollard! Has become a scrappy affair now.
This time he tried to kick a penalty to the corner…kicked it about 10m never more than 1m off the ground straight to an Argentine…shocker!
Come on HM…stop being a twerp and let Paige get on the field…
Pollard has certainly not lived up to expectations in this world cup. Unfortunately we will never know whether Lambie could have made a difference…
Ja Bokke is dragged down to the sloppy play of Argies!!!
Scrappy, uninspiring end to our world cup…*sigh*
That’s great HM…very sensible to give Paige his 2 or 3 minutes…well done!
@pastorshark (Comment 131) : ja boet Pollard is having a bad game but Pat is on for Willie!?!?!?!?
@JD (Comment 132) : We’ve been crap in the last 25 minutes all on our own though!
@JD (Comment 135) : If Willie hadn’t hurt his ankle Pat would only have got 3 mins at the end…why not celebrate his 50th test like he had spent most of his test before then…
Argentina attacking at the end…
Willem Alberts totally ineffective. He really offers nothing.
And Argentina wrap things up with a well deserved try…
That last quarter just about sums up the disappointments of our world cup…
24-13 full time…
Well it started sprightly enough, and then got progressively worse. Thank goodness that is over!
@pastorshark (Comment 141) : Sums up SA rugby in general.
Unbelievable that Hey nee can’t even give Lambie more time for his 50th cap. It’s not like we were ever going to lose this game after halftime. I would have brought Paige and Lambie on at half time. Really hope we don’t have to deal with his bais for another 4 years.
Ai…
@KingCheetah (Comment 143) : Yup…
@Spirit of Rugby (Comment 144) : Yup…
Dont recall Lambie touching the ball in 15 minutes
@Letgo (Comment 145) : Yup…
Just calling it … maybe someone will hear
“Pollard is kuk”
@byron (Comment 149) : He didn’t made one tackle. Paige also didn’t touch the ball.
Ag…I just need to get away from this for a month or two…I’ll be all ready for Super Rugby in a bit…
that was effing TURGID.
Why is Pollard so KAK?
@Letgo (Comment 152) : Neither did Jan… oh no he made a poorly timed kick.
@pastorshark (Comment 131) : Pollard lived up to my expectations of him
Why the hell did he take Habana of?
That was on miserable game of rugby.
@robdylan (Comment 156) : Yeah made one break and then continued to try to make a break of every ball after that. Missed a sitter penalty and missed touch more than one, and a few tackles. No surprise.
@byron (Comment 151) : The poor has potential…but he had a shite Rugby Championship and he had a shite World Cup. At least we all know now that Lambie will never be backed…if he isn’t backed this season, he never will be…
@robdylan (Comment 154) : Aggg…
Can’t wait for another 4 years of this.
@Seth101 (Comment 158) : Promising for 20 minutes…miserable for 60…
@Letgo (Comment 157) : Why the hell did he do several things?
To be honest i dont care if lambie plays or not. Seriously in the history of modern springbok rugby has a flyhalf not put a ball out to touch twice in a match.
@robdylan (Comment 156) : All season…and in a world cup year he was just backed and backed and backed…*sigh*
“We had a brilliant world cup” HM 2015
That’s it Naas…”it’s not really working”…
@Seth101 (Comment 167) : Translated … we enjoyed the beer
Aggg…
I’m going to bed…see ya!
We need a new coach fullstop
Look…third was better than many expected…but man we can play so much better than some of the turgid (good word, Rob) shite we dished up…
@robdylan (Comment 156) : He really does manage to keep surprising me, just when I think he can’t play any worse and still be HM’s first choice FH, he goes and kick a penalty straight into the hands of the guy on the touchline…but what do I know, Pollard is the future of springbok rugby…
@pastorshark (Comment 173) : I think Rob simply misspelled turdshit.
I’ve never ever ,gentlemen,second place is first loser so why the hell did you all bother and what exactly where you all expecting ,this is Bok rugby under Huge Mistake,it will always be more of the same
@Spirit of Rugby (Comment 175) : Hahahahaha!!!
@HeinF (Comment 174) : It was how he did it too…that ball travelled not 15m and never went higher than a meter off the ground… 😯
The guy doing the rugby365 ratings feels very much the same as all of us here…he sounds a bit grumpy…
http://www.rugby365.com/opinion/second-phase/69782-player-ratings-no-spring-in-the-bok
@pastorshark (Comment 177) : cops came to see what we were doing and joined us for a jam
looks like I had a better night than you lol now for my morning jog
@Spirit of Rugby (Comment 144) : Played out and run out of gas…yup. Change is needed.
Wow that was shocking,pisspoor to only give Lambie that last couple of minutes,Pollard’s goalkicking isn’t bad,but out of hand he cant kick for shit!
Le Roux…3/10 (alot of mistakes)
Habs….1/10 (did he manage to catch a ball)
Kriel….2/10 (can he pass?, no defense)
Damien…5/10 (tackled well)
JP….5/10 (basically for the try and some defence)
Pollard…3/10 (only for goalkicking,cant tackle or kick out of hand)
Pienaar…5/10 (seemed eager to play quickly,better service)
Duane…7/10 (tackled well and competed at breakdown)
Burger…4/10 (made tackles but otherwise went dead with ball too often)
Flouw…4/10 (made tackles but back chatting to ref alot)
Matfield…6/10 (alot of tackles,in backline too often)
Etzebeth…8/10 (Was a absolute beast in every aspect,my MOTM)
Malherbe…6/10 (good solid performance,scrummed well)
Bissie…4/10 (lineout great,the rest not so much)
Beast…3/10 (was he playing?held his own in scrum)
This is my own opinion after a 12 hour shift and watching the game at 4am…..and still up!too shocked to sleep 😯
@KingCheetah (Comment 76) : Why “sigh”? Don’t you feel that someone earning their 50th cap for their country should be honoured?
@coolfusion (Comment 181) : I enjoyed the more expansive style but it looked like the guys didn’t have the fitness to sustain the tempo they were trying to play at.
@Letgo (Comment 145) : I agree with you. Will Paige even want to be associated with the Boks after such shoddy treatment?
A bit of a slap in the face for him! I liked his play against the USA and wanted to see more from him yesterday!
@ChrisS (Comment 184) : @ChrisS (Comment 186) : Thats Meyer for you – give the token Engelsman and the token “tiny darkie” in the squad a few minutes in a nothing game and all will be good. 😈
@Salmonoid the Subtle (Comment 187) : c’mon, don’t make me moderate.
@robdylan (Comment 188) : Sorry, was just venting after I read in the Burger that Meyer is on a 5 million a year contract for the next 4 years. Please delete if you feel its necessary.
Some interesting comments, most basically repeated over the last year or so. Im not sure what we thought we could gain from this game other than a moral boosting win. The future of Bok rugby wasnt going to change after 80min if 1 or 2 guys got more game time. Take this game for what it was…to see who ends 3rd in the world at the end of the year- thats it. We won, ended 3rd. So in terms of that game its job done. Yes not everything is perfect in Bok rugby and yes there is plenty to work on. BUT we did finish 3rd as opposed to a QF loss in the last RWC. There are lots of positives happening in some Unions in terms of style of play and players coming through. So for me im interested to see what the future holds and i choose to be positive. I know thats not everyones choice but hey at the end of the day its only a game and entertainment
@SheldonK (Comment 190) : The entertainment bit was missing.
@Salmonoid the Subtle (Comment 191) : Comedies are entertainment too not just dramas…
@ChrisS (Comment 186) : I believe that no player will get a fair shot with Meyer as coach.
He has his own personal quota system, which is probably based on selecting players with strong breeding links to the Meyer clan. – never hath a Lambie “known” a Meyer and bore its offspring 😈
@SheldonK (Comment 192) : 😆 yes but I find monologues mostly boring.
@Salmonoid the Subtle (Comment 194) : u must have loved Shakespeare at school haha