Richard Ferguson

NZ walk away with Awards

Written by Richard Ferguson (Richard Ferguson)

Posted in :All Blacks, Original Content on 14 Nov 2016 at 08:24
Tagged with : , , , , , , , , ,

The World Rugby awards were held on Sunday evening in London and the awards were dominated by New Zealanders, as expected.

Players of the Year went to Beauden Barrett while Steve Hansen took home Coach of the Year. The Team of the Year award also went to the All Blacks, who secured a new World Record for 18 consecutive victories.

Two South Africans walked away with prizes, Seabelo Senatla deservedly took home the Sevens Player of the Year, scoring 66 tries in the season as well as winning a Bronze medal at the Olympic games.

The other local was Rasta Rasivhenge, who shared the Referee Award with Alhambra Nievas.

There was one unexpected South African in amongst the awards – Jean de Villiers was awarded the Award for Character, a Special Merit Award.

Congratulations to all winners.

World Rugby awards for 2016 announced in London on Sunday:
Men’s Player of the Year – Beauden Barrett (NZL)
Women’s Player of the Year – Sarah Hunter (ENG)
Team of the Year – New Zealand
Coach of the Year – Steve Hansen (NZL)
Breakthrough Player of the Year – Maro Itoje (ENG)
Men’s Sevens Player of the Year – Seabelo Senatla (RSA)
Women’s Sevens Player of the Year – Charlotte Caslick (AUS)
Referee Award – Alhambra Nievas (ESP) and Rasta Rasivhenge (RSA)
Vernon Pugh Award for Distinguished Service – Syd Millar
Award for Character – Rugby Opens Borders, Austrian Rugby Union IRPA Special Merit Award – Jean de Villiers (RSA)
IRPA Try of the Year – Jamie Heaslip (IRL) against Italy in the Six Nations
Olympic recognition – Fiji and Australia


  • 2 years ina row we have had the 7s player of the year. We really missing a trick in not using the 7s to push through exceptional players to the 15s.

  • Comment 1, posted at 14.11.16 09:29:31 by SheldonK Reply
  • @SheldonK (Comment 1) : Very different game Sheldon

  • Comment 2, posted at 14.11.16 12:39:37 by Vonno13 Reply
  • @Vonno13 (Comment 2) : Different yes but those 7s players could only add value. Kok, Senatla and Kwagga Smith have all shown an impact in the 15s

  • Comment 3, posted at 14.11.16 12:59:55 by SheldonK Reply
  • How the hell did Rasta win the award?!?!?! Did I miss something as I really don’t even think he’s the best in SA or was it for 7’s?!?!?!

  • Comment 4, posted at 14.11.16 16:07:51 by JD Reply
    Friend of SharksworldCompetition Winner Administrator

Add Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.